Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Stam, David.
Title:	David Stam Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1854-2016
Quantity:	17 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence, manuscripts, published material and memorabilia of the American librarian, scholar and author.
Language:	Majority in English; a few items in Spanish and Japanese.
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

David Stam (1935-2023) was an American librarian, scholar and author specializing in book history and polar exploration, whose service to the library profession spanned more than fifty years.

Stam was one of seven children (brothers Paul, John, James, and Robert, and sisters Ruth and Mary). He attended Wheaton College (1951-1955) where he was for a time the editor of the college paper, the Wheaton Record, whose journalistic independence he fiercely defended. On his father's side Stam came from a tradition of missionary work and active church involvement, and following graduation he took several courses at the University of Edinburgh's Divinity School but did not earn a degree. He served a tour in the United States Navy (1956-1958) as a Journalist 2d Class, which took him to (among other places) Antarctica and thereby launched a lifelong fascination with polar exploration.

Upon leaving the Navy Stam went to work for the New York Public Library (1959-1964) as a clerical assistant, later becoming assistant editor for library publications, reference librarian, and Manuscript Cataloger. While at NYPL he earned his Master's in Library Science from Rutgers University (1962). In 1964 he accepted a position as Librarian at Marlboro College in Marlboro, Vermont (1964-1967), where he served as Librarian and taught courses in English literature and printing history. He served as Head of Technical Services and then Associate Librarian at the Newberry Library in Chicago (1967-1973), and as University Librarian for Johns Hopkins University (1973-1978), during which period he earned his PhD in History from Northwestern University. He returned to the New York Public Library as Andrew W. Mellon Director of the Research Libraries (1978-1986), and then served as University Librarian for Syracuse University (1986-1998). After his retirement he was awarded the rank of Librarian Emeritus, and continued to write and teach.

Stam served on numerous boards and committees over the course of his career, including leadership roles with the Research Libraries Group (Board of Governors, 1978-1986; Board of Directors, 1992-1998), the Independent Research Libraries Association (Chairman, 1981-1986), the Associatin of Research Libraries' Preservation of Library Materials (Chairman, 1975-1985), and Syracuse University Press (Board of Directors, 1992-1998). His scholarship spanned topics as various as research library management and frostbite; his book Adventures in Polar Reading: The Book Cultures of High Latitudes (Oak Knoll, 2019) draws together his two lifelong passions.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David Stam Papers contains biographical material, correspondence, memorabilia, printed material, subject files, and writings by Stam and others.

Biographical material includes assorted items from Stam's childhood, his c.v., a history of the Stam family, and some personal files of his father Jacob Stam.

Correspondence contains incoming correspondence from family members, friends, and colleagues. The latter includes coworkers from the Newberry Library, New York Public Library, Marlboro College, and Johns Hopkins. Also represented are professional friends and colleagues from other institutions, such as the Morgan Library, the Bodleian, the British Library, and the National Libraries of Ireland and Scotland.

Memorabilia covers most of Stam's personal life and career, including his time in the United States Navy, his numerous awards and recognitions, clippings about him and his work, events wherein he was the featured guest or honoree, and so on.

Most of the Printed material is either by or about the various institutions where Stam worked, including Johns Hopkins University, Marlboro College, the New York Public Library, and Syracuse University. These include reports, informational brochures, invitations to special events, and clippings about the institutions.

Subject files reflect Stam's personal and professional research interests, such as libraries and librarianship, preservation, and polar/arctic exploration. Included here is research material for the 2006 Grolier Club exhibit, "Books on Ice."

Writings contains a range of scholarly and professional work, beginning with Stam's academic work as an undergraduate, library school, and PhD student, including his dissertation entitled "England's Calvin: A study of the publication of John Calvin's works in Tudor England." There are articles, book reviews, books, course material from his teaching at Syracuse University, course notes taken as a student in Edinburgh and elsewhere, encyclopedia entries, letters to the editor, library evaluation reports, speeches, and miscellany. Also included here are several works (articles, lectures, etc.) on the subject of polar exploration, including case and item labels and the catalog for Stam's 2006 Grolier Club exhibit, "Books on Ice."

A small amount of Writings by others, many of which are signed and/or inscribed to Stam, concludes the collection.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged with family first, followed by others. Writings are subdivided by type (articles, book reviews, etc.) and within that are alphabetical by title. All other material is alphabetical by type or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Four published items were removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. To locate these items, please refer to Libraries Search .

• International Dictionary of Library Histories, edited by David Stam (Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2001, two volumes)
• Grolier 2000, includes an article by Stam (Grolier Club, 2000)
• Dictionary of American library biography, Second Supplement, includes an article by Stam (Libraries Unlimited, 2003)
• Famous, infamous, and forgotten: Political cartoons from the collection of Anthony J. Mourek (Grolier Club, 2013)

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

David Stam Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of David Stam, 2014. 2017.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2014
Revision history: 7 Apr 2021 - processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Childhood 1935-1951
Box 1		Curriculum vitae - several versions, going back to late 1960s
Box 1		Stam family history
Box 28		Stam, Jacob, personal files - includes copies of his will and a few pages of financial notes

	Correspondence
		Family
Box 1			"Love letters" undated
Box 1			Stam, Deirdre (wife) 1975, 2005, undated
Box 1			Stam, Jacob and Deana B. (parents) 1935, 1943-1957, 1965, 1970-1972, 1979, undated
Box 1			Stam, Jacob, to/from others 1931-1937, 1940-1941, 1954-1955, 1958, 1961, 1963, 1972
Box 1			Stam, Jim (brother) circa 1956-1962, 1975, 1981, 2000 - vast majority undated; includes two pieces of writing by James and a few letters from his wife Liga (2 folders)
Box 1			Stam, John (brother) 1985, 1989-1998 - includes several articles by John, some in Spanish and a few letters from his wife Doris
Box 1			Stam, Paul (brother) 1943, 1972-1975, 1978, 1984-1985, 1989, undated - includes some from his wife Jane
Box 1			Stam, Robert (brother) 1959-1960, 1969
Box 1			Stevens, Ruth (sister) and Steve 1984, 1990, 1995-1998, 2009
Box 1			Stam family, miscellaneous 1935, 1955, 1985, 1987, undated
Box 1		Albion 1979, 1982, 1985-1986 - North American Conference on British Studies (NACBS); Stam was on the Publications Committee
Box 1		Allen, Robert 1962-1964
Box 1		American Academy in Rome 1994-1997
Box 1		American Historical Association 1992 - includes notes for a letter to the editor from Stam
Box 1		Association of Research Libraries (ARL) 1973, 1998, 2001
Box 2		A, misc
Box 2		Baker, Phil 1972, 2002
Box 2		Banks, Paul 1974, 1978
Box 2		Barber, Nicholas 1972, 1975, 1977, 1988, 1998, 2000, 2004
Box 2		Baur, Siegfried 1998, 2007
Box 2		Belanger, Terry 2001, 2013-2014
Box 2		Berger, Tom 1977, 1992, 1994
Box 2		Bidwell, John 2014
Box 2		Bodleian Library 1970-1975, 1978, 1998, 2002
Box 2		British Library 1986-1996, 2007
			See also Wilson, Alex.
Box 2		Brown University Library 1988-1995
Box 2		Buffalo and Erie County Public Library 1986-1988
Box 2		B, misc
Box 2		Commission on Preservation and Access 1990-1994
Box 2		Council on Library Resources 1983, 1991 - related to their Task Force on Preservation
Box 2		Couper, Richard 1977-1981, 1985, 1990, 1993, 1998-2006 - includes background material for and draft of memorial article by Stam for American Antiquarian Society (2 folders)
Box 2		Crook, Arthur 1972
Box 2		Cropp, Martin 1973, 1986
Box 2		Curley, Arthur 1986, 1992, 1994, 1998 - includes obituary, "in memoriam" article by Daniel Ring
Box 2		C, misc
Box 2		Davisson, William Porter (Bill) 1968, 1986, 1996, undated
Box 2		Dean, John 1973, 1976, 1990, 2007
Box 2		D, misc
Box 2		Edinburgh University Library 2002
Box 2		Edwards, George 1993, 2000, 2003, 2005
Box 2		Erdman, David 1960, 1963, 1971, 1973, 2001, 2003, 2008 - includes Stam's remarks at memorial service
Box 3		E, misc
Box 3		Fallows, Geoffrey 1972-1973, 1986-1989, 1999-2007, 2010, undated
Box 3		Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) 1960
Box 3		Fern, Alan 1989-1990
Box 3		Ferriero, David 2007, 2009
Box 3		Floyd, Carlisle 1997, 2005
Box 3		Fussell, Charles 2002-2004
Box 3		F, misc
Box 3		Gallup, Donald 1998-1999
Box 3		Gardner, Philip 1958-1961, 1967-1968
Box 3		Gregorian, Vartan 1987-1994, 2001
			See also New York Public Library and Printed material : Gregorian, Vartan.
Box 3		Gugolz, Alfred 1956-1962, 1986-1987
Box 3		G, misc
Box 3		Harvard University 1972-1977, 1987, 1989
Box 3		Herzog August Bibliothek 1986-1988, 1997
Box 3		Huntington Library 1977, 1989
			See also Moffett, William (Bill).
Box 3		H, misc
Box 3		Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) 2003-2004 - relating to Stam's service on grant evaluation committee (4 folders)
Box 3		I, misc
Box 3		Johns Hopkins University 1973-1978, 1988-1992, 1998, undated - includes photographs (4 folders)
Box 3		Johns Hopkins University Librarian's Reports 1974-1976 - bound volume
Box 4		Johns Hopkins University Management Report 1976 - bound volume
Box 4		Joyce, Bill 1986-1998, 2014
Box 4		Kanazawa Institute of Technology 1985-1992 - mostly corporate Christmas cards
Box 4		Kaufman, Annette 1990, 1997-2006, undated
Box 4		Kjaer, Kjell-G. undated
Box 4		Koizumi, Toru 1986-1987, 1995-1996, undated
Box 4		Kossow, Richard 2001-2006
Box 4		Krummel, D.W. 1966-1967, 1997, 2003-2004 - includes reprint of article by him, signed and inscribed to Stam
Box 4		K, misc
Box 4		LaBalme. Patricia 1993, 1998-2002 - most concerns Sanudo translation project; includes reprint of article by her, signed and inscribed to Stam (2 folders)
Box 4		Le Roy Ladurie, Emmanuel 1994
Box 4		Lemke, Antje 1956, 1986, 1988, 1991, 1993 - includes several pieces of writing by Lemke
Box 4		Library of Congress 1997 - most relates to their "history of libraries" project
Box 4		Linda Hall Library 1994-1995, 2008
Box 4		Lombardi, Tarky 1986
Box 4		London Library 1996-1998
Box 4		Lowman, Matt 1973, 1992 - owner of Brick Row Bookshop; includes essay, "My life with rare books"
Box 4		L, misc
Box 4		Marlboro College 1963-1980, undated (2 folders)
			See also Ragle, Tom; Memorabilia : "Early Voices: An Oral History of Marlboro College"; Printed material : Marlboro College
Box 4		Meiggs, Russell 1969
Box 4		Mills, William, Scott Polar Research Institute undated
		Milton S. Eisenhower Library
			See Johns Hopkins University.
Box 5		Moffett, William A. (Bill) 1984-1985, 1993-1994 - includes remarks to ACRL
		Morgan Library
			See Bidwell, John.
Box 5		Mosher, Paul H. 1985, 2003-2006, undated
			See also New York Public Library.
Box 5		M, misc
Box 5		National Library of Ireland 1992-1993
Box 5		National Library of Scotland 1986-1988
Box 5		New York Public Library 1960, 1975-1992, 2004, undated (4 folders)
Box 5		New York Public Library Center for Scholars and Writers 2004 - application for fellowship
Box 5		New York Society Library 1994
Box 5		New York Times 2005, 2009
Box 5		Newberry Library 1970-1978 (2 folders)
			See also Towner, Bill.
Box 5		Northwestern University 1964-1972, 1978
Box 6		N, misc
Box 6		O, misc
Box 6		Pearson, Lennart (Len) 1942, 1956-1963, 1973, 2002
Box 6		Phelan, Bill 2000-2002, 2007-2011
Box 6		Phillips, Robert (Bob) 2000, 2004, 2006
Box 6		Prochaska, Alice 1972-1976, 1984-1987, 1998-1999, undated
Box 6		P, misc
Box 6		Quarrie, Paul 1987 - Eton College, England
Box 6		Ragle, Tom 1995, 2001, 2006-2007
			See also Marlboro College.
		Rare Book School
			See Belanger, Terry; Writings : Miscellaneous : Consultant's report on the Book Arts Press and Rare Book School
Box 6		Resnik, Regina 2000
Box 6		Rio de Janeiro police department circa 1957
Box 6		R, misc
Box 6		Safire, William 2002
Box 6		St. Lawrence University 1986, 1989, 1992
Box 6		Seward House 2009 - includes certificate of appreciation
		Shackleton, Robert
			See Bodleian Library.
Box 6		SHARP Conference 1996-1997 - includes abstract of Stam's presentation
Box 6		Skeel Fund 1963 - application for funds to develop woodwind bibliography
		Smith, Lacy Baldwin
			See Northwestern University.
Box 6		Sollish, George 1999
Box 6		Stanford University Libraries 1987-1993
Box 6		Stoppard, Tom [2008]
Box 6		Syracuse University 1982-2009, 2013 (3 folders)
Box 6		Syracuse University annual reports 1986-1998 - bound
Box 7		Syracuse University annual reports 1986, 1995, 1998
Box 7		S, misc
Box 7		Taylor, Paul undated
Box 7		Thieme, Paul H. 1956-1959
Box 7		Towner, Bill 1966-1979, 1984-1989, 1992, 2001
			See also Newberry Library.
Box 7		Tremper, Allan 1974-1975, undated - includes paper on Edward Gibbon
Box 7		Truesdell, Clifford 1974-1978
Box 7		T, misc
Box 7		Ugawa, K. 1985-1986, 1993
Box 7		United States Department of Education 1992 - invitation to serve on grants committee
Box 7		U, misc
Box 7		V, misc
Box 7		Wallis, Victor and Inez 1962, 1985, 1989, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2005, 2011, undated - includes a number of articles and other pieces by Victor
Box 7		Wendell, Edward E. 1973, 2014
Box 7		Wheaton College 1953-1954, 1965 - includes some from Stam's time as student and editor of Wheaton Record
Box 7		Whitehill, Walter Muir 1961-1964 - includes reprint of tribute to him
Box 7		Williams, John A. 1997, 2001-2002 - includes photocopy of libretto for opera, Vanqui
Box 7		Wilson, Alex 1986-1991, 1995, 1998, 2000
Box 7		Woodward, David 1974, 1976, 1985-1988, 2004, 2008-2012, 2015 - includes broadsides and other items from the "History of Cartography" project (2 folders)
Box 7		Wynne, Marjorie 1998-2001, 2004
Box 7		W, misc
Box 7		Yale University 2005 - "Global Record" conference
Box 7		Z, misc
Box 7		First name only, A-D
Box 8		First name only, E-W (2 folders)
Box 8		Unidentified or multiple

	Memorabilia
Box 8		Address lists
Box 8		American Academy in Rome 1994
Box 8		Appointment books 1998-2003, 2005-2007 (4 folders)
Box 8		Awards 1956, 1962, 1964, 1972, 1985-1986, 2005, 2012-2013, undated - includes degrees, certificates of appreciation, academic honors, etc.
Box 8		"Books on Ice" exhibit, Grolier Club 2006 - invitations, reviews, letters of congratulation, etc.; includes remarks from exhibit reception and opening
Box 8		Caricatures and cartoons of Stam
Box 9		Clippings about Stam 1968, 1978, 1981, 1983, 1987-1991, 1996-1998, 2003, 2006, 2012-2015, undated (2 folders)
Box 9		Diaries 1955-1956 - Edinburgh student years
			See also United States Navy : Diary below.
Box 9		"Early Voices: An Oral HIstory of Marlboro College" 2008 (DVD) (ID#: stam_d_001)
		Events
Box 9			Stam as featured guest 1963, 1980, 1992-2009, 2015, undated - speaker, presenter, performer, honoree, etc.
Box 9			Hosted by Stams 1988, 1994-1997, 2000-2001, 2006, 2015, undated - parties, fundraisers, etc.
Box 9			Memorial services 1980, 1983, 1988-1989, 1992-1997, 2000, 2004, 2008-2013 (2 folders)
Box 9			Weddings, anniversaries, birth announcements 1996, 2000, 2010
Box 9			Miscellaneous 1975-1994, 2001-2002, 2006-2007, 2013 (4 folders)
Box 10		New York Public Library album 1986 - presented to Stam on his departure, with farewell notes and well-wishes
Box 10		Photographs
Box 10		Poems - some in Spanish
Oversize 1		Posters for Syracuse Symposium, theme "Journeys" 2003 (2 items)
Oversize 2		Poster, Syracuse University 1997 - aerial view, overprinted with SU mission and vision; signed and inscribed to Stam from Chancellor Kenneth Shaw
Box 10		Postcards
Box 10		"Thoughts on reaching an only 21st birthday" 11 Jul 1956 - Stam's thoughts, handwritten
		United States Navy
Box 28			Deck logs, USS Wyandot 1957-1958 - photocopies, with letter from National Archives
Box 28			Diary 1957 - ports of call mentioned include Spain and Greece
Box 28			Miscellaneous
Oversize 2		Type specimens 2009 - three broadsides printed with specimens of two fonts, Gothic Tuscan Italian and Tusk
Box 28		Wheaton College yearbook, The Tower 1955
Box 10		Miscellaneous

	Printed material
		Types of material include pamphlets, publicity, informational brochures, catalogs, clippings (original and photocopies), and so on.
Box 10		Balanchine, George
Box 10		Gregorian, Vartan
Box 10		Johns Hopkins University
Box 10		Marlboro College
Box 27		Marlboro College catalogs 1963-1969 - large bound volume
Box 10		New York Public Library, by 1911, 1955, 1966, 1978, 1983-1989, undated - informational brochures, special event announcements, etc. (2 folders)
Box 11		New York Public Library, about 1854, 1979-1980, 1984-1985, 1990, 2012-2013 - clippings
Box 11		Newberry Library 1891, 1940, 1978-1979, 1995
Box 11		Syracuse University 1990-1993, 1997, 2010
Box 11		Miscellaneous 1952-2015, undated - clippings, reprints, other assorted miscellany (3 folders)

	Subject files
Box 11		American Seaman's Friend Society (3 folders)
Box 11		Archives
Box 11		Baker, Nicholson (2 folders)
Box 12		Bassoons
		"Books on Ice" exhibit, Grolier Club
Box 12			Funding solicitations
Box 12			Item loans - pick lists, loan forms, correspondence, etc., foldered by lending institution (17 folders)
Box 12			Items doubtful or rejected
Box 12			Miscellaneous
Box 12		Burleigh church history
Box 13		Conspectus approach
Box 13		Deaccessioning (3 folders)
Box 13		Historiography (2 folders)
Box 13		Jones, Bassett
Box 13		Kyd, Thomas
Box 13		Lehigh University Libraries - includes report on their rare book collection by Daniel Traister (2 folders)
Box 13		Levine, Joseph M. (2 folders)
Box 13		Librarianship (2 folders)
Box 14		Library of Congress security (2 folders)
Box 14		Library history
Box 14		Psychohistory (3 folders)
Box 14		Rare books librarianship (2 folders)
Box 14		Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS)
Box 14		Rochberg, George
Box 14		Romantics
Box 15		Sassoon, Siegfried
Box 15		"Special collections speech" (3 folders)
Box 15		Towner, Bill
Box 15		Miscellaneous - clippings, photocopied chapters, etc. on various topics (3 folders)

	Writings
		Academic work
Box 15			Undergraduate, Wheaton College 1951-1955
Box 15			Library school, Rutgers University 1959-1962 (2 folders)
Box 15			PhD, Northwestern University 1968
Box 16			PhD, Northwestern University 1969-1972 (3 folders)
Box 16			PhD dissertation 1978 - notes and typescript draft (5 folders)
Box 16			PhD dissertation 1978 - bound copy
Box 17			PhD dissertation 1978 - bound annotated bibliography
		Articles - material for a given article may include notes, research material, drafts, reprints, and published versions
Box 17			British studies at the Newberry Library 1974
Box 17			Donald G. Wing, in Grolier 2000 2000 (2 folders)
Box 17			Wing 10/99 Allworth - files not viewed, but almost certainly connected with entry on Wing for Grolier 2000 (Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch) (ID#: stam_d_002)
Box 17			Elitism and the common cause 1979
Box 17			Footnotes to the history of classification 1979
Box 17			A Glutton for books: Leigh Hunt and the London Library 1998
Box 17			Leigh Hunt and the True Sun: A list of reviews 1974
Box 17			A Modest case against faculty selection 1981
Box 17			Peaks of joy, valleys of despair: The history of the Syracuse University Library from 1871 to 1907 1995
Box 17			"Prove all things: Hold fast that which is good": Deaccessioning and research libraries 1982 - revised version of speech (see below)
Box 17			Think globally but act locally: Collection development and resource sharing 1982-1983 (2 folders)
Box 18			Think globally but act locally: Collection development and resource sharing 1985 - in Library Lit. 15 - The Best of 1984
Box 18			Wheaton Record, miscellaneous 1952-1953
		Book reviews
Box 18			Miscellaneous, A-Z by author 1963, 1980-1984, 1988-1992, 1998-1999, 2001
		Books
Box 18			International Directory of Library Histories, David Stam, ed. - correspondence with contributors, notes, reviews, etc.; for the book itself, please see Libraries Search (3 folders)
Box 18			What happened to me: My life with books, research libraries, and performing arts 2014 - blurb by Stam and reviews only; for the book itself, please see Libraries Search
		Course materials - material relating to courses taught by Stam at Syracuse University; may include bibliographies, notes, assignments, quizzes, syllabi, etc.
Box 18			Polar film course 2009
Box 18			Polar heroes 2007
Box 18			Polar heroes 2008
Box 18			Polar journeys 2003 - taught in conjunction with Syracuse Symposium, theme "Journeys"
		Course notes - notes taken by Stam when he was a student at various institutions, as well as in some cases course related material such as syllabi or reading lists
Box 19			Baillie, Divinity - photocopy of typed notes; probably from University of Edinburgh (2 folders)
Box 19			Edinburgh course notes 1955, undated - typed
Box 19			Edinburgh lecture notes circa 1955 - typed (2 folders)
Box 19			Rutgers library school
Box 19			Torrance, Dogmatics 1955 - possibly from University of Edinburgh
Box 19			U.S. 1969, undated - political philosophy, Western Civ, ethics, etc.; likely from either Wheaton or Northwestern (3 folders)
		Encyclopedia entries
Box 20			"Library", for Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia 1981
Box 20			"Montaigne, Michel Eyquem de" for unidentified publication undated
Box 20			"Nicholas of Cusa," for unidentified publication undated
Box 20			"Scholarly and Research Services," for the ALA Encyclopedia 1979
Box 20			"Towner, Lawrence," for the Dictionary of American Library Biography 2000
		Letters to the editor
Box 20			Miscellaneous 1973, 1978-1984, 2012-2016, undated
		Library evaluations
Box 20			Beineke Library, Yale 2002
Box 20			City University of New York 1977
Box 20			George Washington University 1993 - Gelman Library
Box 20			Institute of Fine Arts Library, NYU 1987
Box 20			Rutgers University, New Brunswick campus 1978
Box 20			St. Louis Mercantile Library 1985
		Polar research
Box 20			Arctic survivals: The restoration of records recovered from lost polar expeditions (with John F. Dean) 2004 - in Proceedings of the 20th Polar Libraries Colloquy
Box 20			Bending time: The function of periodicals in nineteenth-centiry polar naval expeditions (with Deirdre Stam) 2008 - Victorian Periodicals Review
Box 20			"Books on Ice" Grolier exhibit catalog - typescript with text, case and item labels, illustrations, captions, etc. (3 folders)
Box 21			"Books on Ice" Grolier exhibit catalog - illustration index cards
Oversize 1			"Books on ice" Grolier exhibit case labels - as used in the exhibit
Box 21			"Books on ice" Grolier exhibit item labels - as used in the exhibit; cases 1-5 (5 folders)
Box 22			"Books on ice" Grolier exhibit item labels - as used in the exhibit; cases 6-10 and unidenfied (6 folders)
Box 23			"Books on Ice" talk, Dartmouth Oct 2006
Box 23			By sledge, ski and ship: Early information networking in the cold regions 2005 - in Proceedings of the 21st Polar Libraries Colloquy
Box 23			"Congering" the past: The books of the Lady Franklin Bay Expedition (1881-84), before and after undated - reprint from unidentified publication
Box 23			"Explorer's Choice" reading list 2005 - additional recommended reading, to accompany the "Books on Ice" Grolier Club exhibit
Box 23			Innocents on the ice: The evolution of an exhibition 2006 - Grolier Club
Box 23			Innocents on the ice, or, The joys of (book) collecting 2015
Box 23			Polar show, New York Library Club Nov 2005
Box 23			Polar show, St. Louis Jun 2006
		Speeches - material for a given speech may include notes, drafts, and original/reprint published versions
Box 23			After the ball is hiked: Creativity and conformity in academic libraries undated
Box 23			Anticipating the past, retrospecting the future 2005 - "The Global Record" symposium, Yale University
Box 23			"An army without ammunition": Books and the college library 9 Sep 2005 - Couper Phi Beta Kappa lecture, Hamilton College
Box 23			The Bibliography of modern American literature 1985, 1987 - Kommission für Germanistische Forschung (2 folders)
Box 23			Bibliomania: Disease or destiny? undated - Wells College
Box 23			Bibliotheca Universalis: Some common themes in library history 4 Apr 2001 - Grolier Club
Box 23			Book longevity and the librarian 26 Feb 1981
Box 23			The Business of libraries 1997 - Luncheon Club
Box 24			Can the research library teach? A North American perspective on the teaching library 1 Jul 1997 - LIBER annual conference; includes published version in issue of LIBER Quarterly, Vol 7 (1997)
Box 24			Canon-fodder: The colon's clout 31 Jun 1987 - RBMS pre-conference
Box 24			Carnegie Library centennial 4 Oct 2007 - Syracuse University
Box 24			Caxton Club, untitled 23 Jan 1980
Box 24			Caxton Club, untitled 15 Jan 1986
Box 24			Collaborative collection development and preservation: Progress, problems and potential 1985 - includes versions delivered at Colorado State University and at the IFLA conference, and several published versions (4 folders)
Box 24			Creating the archival future 1 Feb 2008 - Emory University
Box 24			The Doors and windows of the university: Leigh Hunt and special collections 13 Apr 1984 - Leigh Hunt Symposium, University of Iowa
Box 24			Finding funds to support preservation 29 Apr 1983 - ALA/LoC conference
Box 24			An Informal secret history of the conspectus Oct 1986 - ARL conference
Box 24			[Interlibrary loan workshop] undated
Box 24			International programmes in preservation Sep 1986 - Library Association conference
Box 24			Issues of library access to independent scholars undated - American Historical Association
Box 24			[Janus Conference speech] 9-11 Oct 2005 - Cornell University; notes
Box 24			Janus Conference on Research Library Collections [disc 1 of 2] October 9-11, 2005 (DVD; running time 300) (ID#: stam_d_003)
				Full conference proceedings on two discs, with main menu and credits. This disc: (1) Thomas, Stam, Block, Edelman; (2) Saylor, Reagan, Dimunation; (3) Hirtle, Sandler; (4) Walker, Guedon. Each panel is followed by a question-and-answer session. Videos are VOB (with BUP and IFO).
Box 24			Janus Conference on Research Library Collections [disc 2 of 2] October 9-11, 2005 (DVD; running time 90) (ID#: stam_d_004)
				Full conference proceedings on two discs, with main menu and credits. This disc: (1) Atkinson; (2) Schottlaender; (3) Resources, including list of registrants, handouts, breakout group, and a fully-functional static copy of the complete Janus Conference website. Videos are VOB (with BUP and IFO). Resources formats are PDF, HTML, TXT, GIF, CSS, JS.
Box 24			Leigh Hunt and the London Library 1844-46 6 Jul 1997 - SHARP conference
Box 24			The Library in the academic community 16 Feb 1976 - University of Evansville
Box 24			[Library Associates luncheon] 1997
Box 24			"The Many and the one": Implications of conspectus building 1987 - IFLA conference
Box 24			Millionth volume celebration 9 Sep 1980 - Northern Illinois University
Box 24			My life with books, and yours 6 May 1999
Box 24			[NEH 20th anniversary] 6 Nov 1985 - Independent Research Libraries Association
Box 24			A New Jersey boyhood 1990 - New Jersey Library Association
Box 24			On my mind 22 Apr 1991 - New York Three R's Organization (NYTRO)
Box 24			Plus ca change: Sixty years of ARL 22 Oct 1992 - includes published version
Box 25			Plus ca change: Sixty years of ARL 22 Oct 1992
Box 25			[on preservation] 29 Apr 1983 - LC/RTSD Preservation Conference
Box 25			[on preservation] 3 Oct 1984 - RLG conference
Box 25			[on preservation] 7 Jun 1993 - RLG conference
Box 25			"Preservation, and all the blessings of this life" 9 May 1980 - NYLA/SLA conference
Box 25			The Preservation of the human record in a democratic society: Who is responsible? 5 Nov 1978 - NYLA conference; includes copy of NYLA Bulletin with printed excerpt
Box 25			"Prove all things: Hold fast that which is good": Deaccessioning and research libraries Jun 1981 - Deaccession Symposium, Brown University; includes proceedings, with all papers read
Box 25			The Questions of preservation Jun 1984 - Kanazawa Institute
Box 25			Reflections on selectivity from a non-technical perspective 26-27 Oct 1982 - Rockefeller Foundation Symposium on Scientific Information Systems; includes volume of published proceedings
Box 25			[Retirement from Syracuse] 1998
Box 25			RLG and preservation: An approach to a national problem 9-11 Jan 1985 - Colloquium on Technology and African Studies, British Library
Box 25			Sharing resources: Do we have valid models? 1 Sep 1988
Box 25			So, what's so special? 28 Jun 2001 - Keynote address, ARL conference
Box 25			Special collections: An administrative view 7 Jul 1982 - ACRL RBMS pre-conference
Box 25			What does two million books mean? 11 Nov 1983 - University of Oklahoma
Box 25			Why do we still buy books? 4 Nov 1999 - Charleston Acquisition Conference
Box 25			Why libraries matter 2 Dec 1994 - Linda Hall Library Friends
		Miscellaneous
Box 25			Brittle Books: Reports of the Committee on Preservation and Access 1986
Box 25			Consultant's report on the Book Arts Press and Rare Book School 2000
Box 25			[Elizabethan copyright law] undated
Box 26			Further reflections on What happened to me and a diary of further happenings 2014-2015
Box 26			Lists of articles, speeches, reviews undated
Box 26			Marjorie Wynne memorial 30 Oct 2009
Box 26			National preservation planning in the United Kingdom: An American perspective 31 Mar 1983 - report to the British Library Research and Development Department
Box 26			Nine Decades of Scholarship: A Bibliography of the Writings of the Staff of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture 1986 - full volume, for which Stam wrote a brief preface
Box 26			Statement before Congress on NEH grants May 1994
Box 26			Statement at NYC budget hearing 17 May 1979
Box 26			Statement before Joint Committee on the Library 15 Jun 1993 - on security at the Library of Congress
Box 26			Turgenev in English, with Rissa Yachnin 1961 - bibliography
Box 26			Wordsworthian Criticism, with Elton F. Henley 1960, 1965, 1974 - annotated bibliography (4 volumes)
Box 26			Notes, fragments, unidentified

	Writings by others
Box 26		Battin, Patricia, "Librarianship in the Twenty-First Century" 2000 - typescript of lecture delivered at Syracuse University
Box 26		Bell, William, "Signs taken for wonders: An anecdote taken from history" circa 2010 - typescript of essay
Box 26		Henderson, James W., "Going back: A memoir of my years at the New York Public Library" 1998-1999 - typescript of memoir, with letter to Stam
Box 26		Kermode, Frank 1983 - photocopied corrected typescript of lecture; copy of invitation
Box 26		Middlekauff, Robert et al. 1980, 2000 - report of evaluation committee, with list of committee members and brief note from a George Edwards
Box 26		Seibert, Don, "Music, sex, dance, and friendship" circa 2005 - memoir, signed and inscribed to Stam
Box 26		Williams, James, G., "The innocent victim: Rene Girard on violence, sacrifice, and the sacred" 1987 - printout of essay, with brief note from Williams
Box 27		Miscellaneous published items, signed and/or inscribed to Stam (3 folders)
Box 27		Miscellaneous published items, not signed or inscribed to Stam (3 folders)

Return to top