Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Stone, Donald Crawford, 1903-
Title:	Donald C. Stone Papers
Dates:	1926[?]-1992[?]
Quantity:	45 linear ft.
Abstract:	American educator and planner for the Roosevelt and Truman Administrations.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Correspondence, conference papers, curricula, articles, diaries, speeches, a few photographs and videotapes.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Alan K. Campbell Papers and the records of the Interuniversity Case Program

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Donald C. Stone Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: -
Revision history: 23 Jun 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 19 Jul 2006 - minor changes to subject headings (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

	Background information
Box 1		Biographical information
Box 1		Family correspondence

	Correspondence- Subject Files
Box 1		Afghanistan
Box 1		Africa
Box 1		Alabama
Box 1		Alaska
Box 1		Albuquerque, New Mexico
Box 1		Alcoa Foundation
Box 1		Algeria
Box 1		Allegheny County, Pennsylvania (1 folder of 3)
Box 2		Allegheny County, Pennsylvania (2 folders of 3)
Box 2		American Consortium for International Public
Box 2		American Consortium for International Public Administration (5 folders of 6)
Box 3		American Consortium for International Public Administration (1 folder of 6)
Box 3		American Management Association
Box 3		American Public Works Association
Box 3		American Society for Public Administration
Box 3		Anaheim, California
Box 3		Ancaster, Ontario
Box 3		Argentina
Box 3		Arizona
Box 3		Arkansas
Box 3		Association of Professional Schools of International Affairs
Box 4		Atlanta, Georgia
Box 4		Australia
Box 4		Austria
Box 4		Babcock - Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundation
Box 4		Baltimore, Maryland
Box 4		Bangladesh
Box 4		Barbados
Box 4		Belgium
Box 4		Belize
Box 4		Bepko, Gerald
Box 4		Blumstein, Alfred
Box 4		Bolivia
Box 4		Botswana
Box 4		Brazil
Box 4		Brookings Institution
Box 4		Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Box 4		Buffalo, New York
Box 4		Buncombe County, North Carolina
Box 4		Burundi
Box 5		California
		Campbell, Alan K.
			See United States. Executive Office of the President. Office of Personnel Management
Box 5		Canada
Box 5		Carnegie Mellon University
Box 5		Carnegie Mellon University. Donald C. Stone Symposium on Public Administration June 13, 1992
Box 5		Carnegie Mellon University. School of Urban and Public Affairs
Box 5		Carnegie Mellon University. Volkswagen Project
Box 5		Carroll, Michael A.
Box 5		Carrollton - Township of Carrollton, Michigan
Box 5		Carter Administration transition (2 folders)
Box 6		Center for Excellence in Government
Box 6		Central America
Box 6		Cities and towns
Box 6		Chairs
Box 6		Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Box 6		Charlotte, North Carolina
Box 6		Chattanooga, Tennessee
Box 6		Chicago, Illinois
Box 6		Chile
Box 6		China
Box 7		Christianity and government
Box 7		Chronicle of Philanthropy
Box 7		Clark County, Nevada
Box 7		Cleveland, Harlan
Box 7		Cleveland, Ohio
Box 7		Clinton, William J.
Box 7		Club of Rome
Box 7		Coalition to Improve Management and Performance in Government
Box 8		Coalition to Improve Management in State and Local Government (5 folders of 14)
Box 9		Coalition to Improve Management in State and Local Government (5 folders of 14)
Box 10		Coalition to Improve Management in State and Local Government (4 folders of 14)
		Coalition to Improve Management in State and Local Government:
Box 11			City/County Guide
Box 11			Community Affairs Project (2 folders)
Box 11			Dispatch #5
Box 11			Dispatch #6
Box 11			Dispatch #7
Box 11			Dispatch #8
Box 11			Dispatch #9
Box 11			Dispatch #10
Box 11			Dispatch #11
Box 11			Dispatch #12
Box 11			Guides 1-5
Box 11			Guide 9
Box 12			Infoshare 1-5
Box 12			Infoshare 6-10
Box 12			Infoshare 11
Box 12			Infoshare 12
Box 12			Infoshare 13
Box 12			Infoshare 14
Box 12			Infoshare 15
Box 12			Infoshare 16
Box 12			Infoshare 17
Box 12			Infoshare 19
Box 13		Cobb County, Georgia
Box 13		Colombia
Box 13		Columbus, Ohio (2 folders)
Box 13		Colman, William
Box 13		Colorado
Box 13		Commission on American State and Local Public Service
Box 13		Committee for Economic Development
Box 13		Common Cause
Box 13		Conference on the Public Service
Box 14		Connecticut
Box 14		Contra Costa County, California
Box 14		Cook County, Illinois
Box 14		Cord, Steven
Box 14		Cosmos Club
Box 14		Costa Rica
Box 14		Cuba
Box 14		Cuomo, Mario
Box 14		Cuyahoga County, Ohio
Box 14		Czechoslovakia
Box 15		Dade County, Florida
Box 15		Dane County, Wisconsin
Box 15		Dayton, Ohio
Box 15		Delaware
Box 15		Denmark
Box 15		Denver, Colorado
Box 15		Disarmament
Box 16		Ditchley Foundation
Box 16		Duquesne Light Company
Box 17		Economic Cooperation Administration
			See also Marshall Plan
Box 17		Ecuador
Box 17		Egypt
Box 17		Energy and the environment
Box 17		England
Box 17		Episcopal Diocese of Pittsburgh
Box 17		Erie, Pennsylvania
Box 17		Erie County, Pennsylvania
Box 17		Equitable Gas, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Box 18		Ethics in government
Box 18		Europe
Box 18		European Institute of Public Administration
Box 19		Federal administration
Box 19		Federal administrative management
Box 19		Fiji
Box 19		Florida
Box 19		Forbes, John E.
Box 19		Ford Foundation
Box 20		Foreign assistance
Box 20		Foreign Service Act of 1946
Box 20		Former students
Box 20		Fort Wayne, Indiana
Box 20		Fort Worth, Texas
Box 20		France
Box 20		Franklin County, Ohio
Box 21		Gardner, John W.
Box 21		Georgia
Box 21		German Marshall Fund of the United States
Box 21		German occupation policy 1946-1950
Box 21		Germany
Box 21		Ghana
Box 21		Gladieux, Bernard
Box 21		Golden, William T.
Box 21		Government Finance Officers Association
Box 21		Governmental Accounting Standards Board
Box 21		Greece
Box 21		Gruenberg Award
Box 21		Guam
Box 21		Gulick, Luther
Box 21		Guyana
Box 22		Hanover County, Virginia
Box 22		Harry S. Truman Library
Box 22		Harvard University, John F. Kennedy School of Government
Box 22		Hatfield, Massachusetts
Box 22		Hawaii
Box 22		H. J. Heinz Company Foundation
Box 22		Howard Heinz Endowment
Box 22		Henrico County, Virginia
Box 22		Henry, Laurin
Box 22		Hillman, Elsie
Box 22		Hillman Foundation
Box 22		Hillsborough County, Florida
Box 22		Hiss, Alger
Box 22		Hong Kong
		Hoover, J. Edgar
			See Uniform Crime Reports
Box 22		Hungary
Box 23		Idaho
Box 23		Illinois
Box 23		Ilchman, Alice Stone
Box 23		Independent sector
Box 23		India (2 folders)
Box 23		Indiana (1 folder of 3)
Box 24		Indiana (2 folders of 3)
Box 24		Indiana University
Box 24		Indiana University. School of Public and
Box 24		Environmental Affairs
Box 24		Indianapolis, Indiana (1 folder of 5)
Box 25		Indianapolis, Indiana (4 folders of 5)
Box 25		Indonesia
Box 25		Institute of Public Administration
Box 25		Inter-American Public Works Conference, San Juan, Puerto Rico, March, 1972
Box 25		Intergovernmental cooperation
Box 26		Intergovernmental Personnel Act of 1969
Box 26		Intergovernmental policy
Box 26		International Association of Chiefs of Police
Box 26		International Association of Schools and
Box 26		Institutes of Administration (2 folders)
Box 26		International City Management Association (2 folders)
Box 26		International Conference on Improving Public Management and Performance, Washington, DC 1979
Box 26		International Institute of Administrative Sciences (2 folders)
Box 26		International Labour Office
Box 27		International Partnership Initiative (2 folders)
Box 27		International Partnership Initiatives Congress, Wolfsburg, Germany SSep 1990
Box 27		International Union of Local Authorities
Box 27		Iowa
Box 27		Iran (2 folders)
Box 27		Iraq
Box 28		Ireland
Box 28		Isabella County, Michigan
Box 28		Israel
Box 28		Italy
Box 28		J (1 folder)
Box 28		Jamaica
Box 28		Japan (3 folders)
Box 28		Japanese-United States cooperation
Box 28		Johnson County, Kansas
Box 28		Jones, Roger W.
Box 28		Jordan
Box 29		K (1 folder)
Box 29		Kansas
Box 29		Kauai County, Hawaii
Box 29		Kenosha County, Wisconsin (2 folders)
Box 29		Kent County, Delaware
Box 29		Kentucky
Box 29		Kenya
Box 29		King County, Washington
Box 29		Ethel and Philip Klutznik Charitable Trusts
Box 29		Kolderie, Ted
Box 29		Korb, Lawrence
Box 29		Korea
Box 30		Korten, David C.
Box 30		Kuwait (2 folders)
Box 30		L (1 folder)
Box 30		Laingen, L. Bruce
Box 30		Laurel Foundation
Box 30		Lebanon
Box 30		Leland County, Michigan
Box 30		Lesotho
Box 30		Liberated areas administration
Box 30		Liberia
Box 31		Likert, Rensis
Box 31		Lilly Endowment, Inc.
Box 31		Local Government Academy
Box 31		Los Angeles County, California
Box 31		Louisiana
Box 31		Lucas County, Ohio
Box 31		Lybia
Box 31		MacArthur - John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
Box 31		Madagascar
Box 31		Maine
Box 31		Majewski, Virginia
Box 31		Malaysia
Box 31		Manitowoc County, Wisconsin
Box 32		Marshall Plan (2 folders)
			See also Economic Cooperation Administration
Box 32		Maryland
Box 32		Massachusetts
Box 32		Mauritania
Box 32		Mellon Bank Foundation
Box 32		Richard King Mellon Foundation
Box 32		Mecklenberg County, North Carolina
Box 33		Mexico
Box 33		Michigan (3 folders)
Box 33		Miles, Michael
Box 33		Minnesota (2 folders)
Box 33		Mississippi
Box 33		Missouri
Box 33		Jean Monnet Council
Box 33		Montana
Box 33		Montgomery County, Ohio
Box 33		Morocco
Box 33		Muskie, Edmund S.
			See also Intergovernmental Personnel Act of 1969
Box 34		N (1 folder)
Box 34		National Academy of Public Administration: District of Columbia statehood
Box 34		Nominations
Box 34		Office of Federal Management Project
Box 34		Presidency Project
Box 34		Presidency Report 1980 1980
Box 34		Renewing Our Capacity for Governance Conference 1992 1992
Box 34		Reports
Box 34		National Assistance Management Association
Box 35		National Association of Counties
Box 35		National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration
Box 35		National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers and Treasurers
Box 35		National Association of State Budget Officers
Box 35		National Association of State Personnel Executives
Box 35		National Association of State Training and Development Directors
Box 35		National Association of Towns and Townships
Box 35		National defense - administrative management work
Box 35		National defense reorganization
Box 35		National Institute of Public Affairs
Box 35		National Council of Churches
Box 35		Nebraska
Box 35		Nepal
Box 35		Netherlands
Box 36		Nevada
Box 36		New Hampshire
Box 36		New Jersey
Box 36		New Mexico
Box 36		New York (4 folders of 5)
Box 37		New York (1 folder of 5)
Box 37		New Zealand
Box 37		Nigeria (2 folders)
Box 37		Nord Family Foundation
Box 37		North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)
Box 37		North Carolina
Box 37		North Dakota
Box 37		Ohio
Box 37		Oklahoma
Box 38		Oregon
Box 38		Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
Box 38		Ottawa County, Michigan
Box 38		PPG Industries Foundation
Box 38		Pakistan
Box 38		Pan American Union (2 folders)
Box 38		Papua New Guinea
Box 38		Paraguay
Box 38		Partners for Livable Places
Box 38		Pecora, Frank A.
Box 38		Peoria, Illinois
Box 38		Peoria County, Illinois
Box 38		Pennsylvania
Box 38		Peru
Box 38		Philippines
Box 39		Phoenix, Arizona
Box 39		Pima County, Arizona
Box 39		Pitt-Carnegie Center for Planning and Urban Development
Box 39		Pittsburgh Foundation
Box 39		Pittsburgh National Bank Foundation
		Pittsburgh, University of
			See University of Pittsburgh
Box 39		Poland
Box 39		Policy Studies Organization
Box 39		Portugal
Box 39		Public administration education
Box 39		Public Administration Review
Box 40		Public Administration Service (5 folders)
Box 40		Puerto Rico
Box 40		Qatar
Box 40		Reagan Administration
Box 40		Remaking Cities Conference, Pittsburgh,
Box 40		Pennsylvania Mar 1988
Box 41		Report writing technique
Box 41		Returned Peace Corps Volunteers Conference Mar 1965
Box 41		Rhode Island
Box 41		Rockefeller Foundation
Box 41		Rockefeller Brothers Fund
Box 41		Rosentraub, Mark
Box 41		Royal Institute of Public Administration
Box 41		Rwanda
Box 41		Saudi Arabia (s) (2 folder)
Box 41		Schaetzel, J. Robert
Box 41		Schenectady County, New York
		Scott, Hugh
			See Intergovernmental Personnel Act of 1969
Box 41		Senegal
Box 41		Sierra Leone
Box 42		Singapore
Box 42		Soros Foundation
Box 42		South Africa (2 folders)
Box 42		South Carolina
Box 42		South Dakota
Box 42		Spain
Box 42		Springfield College
Box 42		Sri Lanka
Box 42		Staats, Elmer
Box 42		State management programs
		State governments
Box 42			Gubernatorial powers
Box 42			Location of executive functions
Box 42		State municipal leagues
Box 42		Stein, Sydney
Box 42		Stevenson, Adlai
Box 42		Stone, Harold A.
Box 42		Sudan (1 folder of 2)
Box 43		Sudan (1 folder of 2)
Box 43		Surinam
Box 43		Sweden
Box 43		Swaziland
Box 43		Switzerland
Box 43		Syracuse University
Box 43		Syracuse University. Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
Box 43		Taiwan
Box 43		Tanganyika
Box 43		Tangiers
Box 43		Tanzania
Box 43		Tennessee
Box 43		Texas
Box 43		Thailand
Box 43		Thornburgh, Richard
Box 43		Total quality management
Box 44		Tunisia
Box 44		Turkey
Box 44		Uganda
Box 44		UNESCO Preparatory Commission
Box 44		Uniform Crime Reports
Box 44		Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
Box 44		United Arab Emirates
Box 44		United Nations
Box 44		United Nations Association
Box 44		United Nations Development Program
Box 44		United Nations Preparatory Commission
Box 45		United States. Agency for International Development
Box 45		United States. Atomic Energy Commission
		United States. Bureau of the Budget
			See United States. Executive Office of the President. Bureau of the Budget
Box 45		United States. Civil Works Administration
Box 45		United States. Department of State
Box 45		United States. Economic Cooperation Administration
		United States. Executive Office of the President. Bureau of the Budget
Box 45			General (6 folders of 13)
Box 46			General (7 folders of 13)
Box 47			Administrative Management Division (4 folders)
Box 47			Daily Intelligence
Box 47			Drafting Replies to White House Correspondence
Box 47			Government reorganization
Box 48		United States. Executive Office of the President. Office of Management and Budget (2 folders)
Box 48		United States. Mutual Security Agency
		United States. Office of Management and Budget
			See United States. Executive Office of the President. Office of Management and Budget
Box 48		United States. Office of Personnel Management
Box 49		University administration (4 folders of 7)
Box 50		University administration (3 folders of 7)
Box 50		University of Denver
Box 50		University of Georgia
		University of Pittsburgh. Graduate School of Public and International Affairs
Box 51			General (3 folders of 37)
Box 52			General (4 folders of 37)
Box 52			General (4 folders of 37)
Box 53			General (4 folders of 37)
Box 54			General (4 folders of 37)
Box 55			General (10 folders of 37)
Box 56			General (5 folders of 37)
Box 57			General (3 folders of 37)
Box 58			General (4 folders of 37)
Box 59			Bulletins
Box 59			Development
Box 59			Faculty recruitment
Box 59			History (2 folders of 14)
Box 60			History (4 folders of 14)
Box 61			History (5 folders of 14)
Box 62			History (3 folders of 14)
Box 62			Manual of Operations
Box 62			Donald and Alice Stone Fund
Box 62			Ten Year Plans (2 folders)
Box 63		Urban Institute
Box 63		Uruguay
Box 63		Utah
Box 63		Venezuela
Box 63		Vermont
Box 63		Vietnam
Box 63		Virginia
Box 63		Volcker Commission
Box 64		War and peace
Box 64		Washington
Box 64		Wells, Herman B.
Box 64		West Virginia
Box 64		Westinghouse Foundation
Box 64		Wisconsin
Box 64		Women (1 folder of 2)
Box 65		Women (1 folder of 2)
Box 65		World Bank
Box 65		World Health Organization
Box 65		Writing - composition
Box 65		Wyoming (4 folders)
Box 66		X, Y, Z (1 folder)
Box 66		Yugoslavia
Box 66		Zaire
Box 66		Zambia
Box 66		Zimbabwe

	Writings
		Articles
Box 67			Lists of publications
Box 67			1929-1935 (3 folders)
Box 68			1938-1958 (3 folders)
Box 69			1963-1990, undated (5 folders)
		Books
Box 70			Chicago Police Problems 1931
Box 70			Educating the Innovative Public Manager 1939
Box 70			The Management of Municipal Public Works 1981
		Conference papers
Box 71			Various 1939-1965 (4 folders)
Box 72			Various 1966-1990, undated (5 folders)
		Curricula
Box 73			American University
			Carnegie Mellon University
Box 73				Administration and Management in Developing Countries (4 folders)
Box 74				Advanced Administrative Management (4 folders of 7)
Box 75				Advanced Administrative Management (3 folders of 7)
Box 75				Applied Administrative Management in the Federal System
Box 75				Executive Program
Box 76				Intergovernmental Systems
Box 76				Master of Public Management Program (5 folders)
Box 77			Coalition to Improve Management in State and Local Government (2 folders)
Box 77			Industrial College of the Armed Forces
Box 77			National Academy of Public Administration: Intergovernmental Policy and Program Management (4 folders of 5)
Box 78			National Academy of Public Administration: Intergovernmantal Policy and Program Management (1 folders of 5)
			New York State Public Service Training Program
Box 78				Administration, Course I
Box 78				Administration, Course II
Box 78				Administration, Course III
Box 78				Administration, Course IV (2 folders)
Box 79				Supervision, Course I (2 folders)
Box 79				Supervision, Course II (2 folders)
Box 79				Supervision, Course III (2 folders)
Box 79				Supervision, Course IV (2 folders)
Box 79			Syracuse University
Box 79			United States. Executive Office of the President. Bureau of the Budget
			University of Pittsburgh
Box 80				Administrative Theory and Process
Box 80				Applied Administrative Management (2 folders)
Box 80				Budgeting
Box 80				Comparative University Administration (3 folders of 6)
Box 81				Comparative University Administration (3 folders of 6)
Box 81				Executive Management (3 folders of 6)
Box 82				Planning and Implementation in Developing Nations
Box 82				Public Works and Developing Countries (3 folders)
Box 82				Teaching hints
Box 83				Urban Program Development and Executive Management (3 folders)
Box 83				Westinghouse Cross-cultural Operations Workshop
Box 84		Diaries 1939-1982 (8 folders)
Box 84		Interviews
Box 84		Letters to editors 1975-1991
		Reports
Box 85			Reports 1926-1940 (4 folders)
Box 86			Reports 1942-1964 (4 folders)
Box 87			Reports 1970-1980, undated (5 folders)
		Speeches
Box 88			List of speeches
Box 88			Speeches 1929-1946 (16 folders)
Box 89			Speeches 1947-1958 (12 folders)
Box 90			Speeches 1959-1968 (10 folders)
Box 91			Speeches 1969-1992, undated (10 folders)
		Miscellaneous
Box 92			Miscellaneous 1926-1937 (5 folders)
Box 93			Miscellaneous 1938-1969 (4 folders)
Box 94			Miscellaneous 1974-1992, undated (4 folders)
				See also Memorabilia: Computer diskettes

	Memorabilia
Box 95		Appointment books 1958-1973
		Awards
Box 95			Maxwell Public Service Award Jun 1967
Box 95			United States. General Accounting Office, Public Service Award Nov 1980
Box 96		Clippings
Box 96		Computer diskettes
Box 96		Diploma: Master of Science in Public Administration, Syracuse University Jun 1926
Box 96		Photographs
Box 96		Videotapes (11)

Return to top