Charles Wharton Stork Papers An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Papers of the American poet, playwright, novelist, editor of Contemporary Verse, 1917-1925, translator of Scandinavian verse, educator. Collection includes correspondence, mostly in connection with Contemporary Verse; and writings, in manuscript and published versions, including essays, novels, plays, and poems; photographs; and extensive family and literary correspondence (1899-1970).

Language:

English

Repository:

Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Charles Wharton Stork was an American author, a graduate of Haverford and of Harvard, and taught in the Department of English at the University of Pennsylvania. Stork produced poems, plays, novels, and translations of Scandinavian verse, and was the editor of Contemporary Verse from 1917-1925.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Wharton Stork Papers consist of manuscripts, published material, legal papers such as wills and deeds, clippings, scrapbooks, photographs and correspondence. The vast majority of the collection consists of writings, both manuscript and unpublished. The inventory below includes a small original accession and a substantially larger 1993 accession; there are also smaller additions that do not appear on this finding aid. The collection has not been processed and remains in original order; following is a box list only.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has not been processed and remains in original order. The original accession contains BOTH manuscripts and published material; these items are listed separately below but are intermingled in the boxes. Note that box numbering restarts with the 1993 accession so box numbers are not unique; please specify accession and box number when requesting material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Stork, Charles Wharton, 1881- Archives.

Associated Titles

Contemporary verse.

Subjects

Authors, American.

Dramatists, American.

Little magazines -- United States.

Novelists, American.

Periodical editors -- United States.

Poetry -- Periodicals.

Poetry, Modern -- 20th century.

Poets, American.

Women poets, American.

Places

United States -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Essays.

Manuscripts (document genre)

Photographs.

Poems.

Translations.

Occupations

Editors.

Educators.

Novelists.

Playwrights.

Poets.

Translators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Wharton Stork Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: Feb 1996
Revision history: 15 Nov 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Writings (original accession)

Manuscripts

See Published material below for a list of books contained in Boxes 1-7.

Box 1

Alcibiades: A play of Athens in the Great Age - typescript

Box 1

"T.S. Eliot Revises His Creed" - typescript, 20 pp.

Box 2

The Egoist - typescript, 180 pp.

Box 2

Falstaff on Broadway - typescript carbon, 66 pp.

Box 2

Walt: The Pageant of an American - typescript, 113 pp.

Box 3

Early Reflections of Ezra Pound - typescript, 18 pp.

Box 4

"Recalling a Breton Sailor" - typescript, 4 pp.

Box 4

"A Visit to Pandit Nehru" - typescript, 4 pp.

Box 4

"The Western Lake, Hangchow" - typescript, 3ppp.

Box 4

"Coffee With Sibelius" - typescript, 4 pp.

Box 5

Published material

See Published material below for a listing of Box 5 contents.

Box 6

"Personal Impressions of Bernard Shaw" - typescript, 16 pp.

Box 6

"The Later Yeats Revisited" - typescript, 9 pp.

Box 6

"Three Variations" - typescript, 8 pp.

Box 6

"When You Go to Oxford" - typescript, 6 pp.

Box 6

"The Homebreaker" - typescript, 37 pp.

Box 6

"Of Food and Eating" - typescript, 13 pp.

Box 6

"The Ball of Twine" - typescript, 17 pp.

Box 7

Alcibiades - Galleys.

Published works

See Manuscripts above for a list of manuscripts contained in Boxes 1-7.

Box 1

The Poetic Year for 1916: A critical Anthology by William Stanley Braithwaite. CWS poem included.

Box 1

Modern Swedish Masterpieces. New York: E.P. Dutton Co., 1923

Box 1

The Dragon and the Foreign Devils by Johan Gunnar Andersson. translated by CWS. Boston: Little, Brown and Co.: 1928

Box 1

William Rowley. Philadelphia: Publications of the University of Pennsylvania, 1910

Box 1

"A Vision of Misjudgment" Brochure issued at New York by The Fine Editions Press: 1958

Box 2

"Verse translation from the Modern Scandinavian," Scandinavian Studies XX, No. 2 (May, 1948)

Box 3

Second Contemporary Verse Anthology, edited by CWS. New York: E.P. Dutton, 1923

Box 3

The Golden Year: The Poetry Society of America Anthology (1910-1960). New York; The Fine Editions Press, 1960. poem of CWS included.

Box 3

Hearts and Voices. Boston: Christopher Publishing House, 1949

Box 3

Navpac. New York: Bookman Associates, 1952

Box 4

Gustaf Froding: Selected poems. translated by CWS. New York: The Macmillan Co., 1916

Box 4

Anthology of Norwegian Lyrics. translated by CWS, Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1942

Box 4

The Lyrical poems of Hugo Von Hofmannsthal. translated by CWS. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1918

Box 4

Day Dreams of Greece. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott Co. (19U)

Box 4

Anthology of Swedish Lyrics (1750-1915) translated by CWS. New York: American Scandinavian Foundation, 1917

Box 4

Sea and Bay: A poem of New England. New York John Lane Co., 1916

Box 4

On Board Old Ironsides (1812-1815). Mill Valley: The Wings Press

Box 4

Arcadia Borealis: Selected poems of Erik Axel Karlfeldt, translated by CWS. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1938

Box 4

Sweden's Laureate: Selected poems of Verner von Heidenstam. translated by CWS. New Haven: Yale University Press. 1919

Box 5

The Charles Men by Verner von Heidenstam, translated by CWS. New York: American-Scandinavian Foundation, 1961

Box 5

Sweden's Best Stories: An Introduction to Swedish Fiction. translated by CWS. New York: W. W. Norton, 192

Box 5

Contemporary Verse Anthology 1916-1920, Edited by CWS. New York: E.P. Dutton, 1920

Box 5

The Tales of Ensign Stal by Johan Ludwig Runeberg. translated by CWS. New York: The American-Scandinavian Foundation; 1960

Box 5

The Motherless by Bengt Berg. translated by CWS. Garden City, Doubleday, Page and Co., 1924

Box 5

Martin Brick's Youth by Hjalmar Soderberg. translated by CWS. New York: Harper and Brothers: 1920

Box 5

I Sit Alone by Waldemar Ager. translated by CWS. New York: Harper and Brothers, 1931

Box 5

A Second Book of Danish Verse, translated by CWS, Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1947

Box 6

Alcibiades. Syracuse: Syracuse University Press, 1967

Writings (1993 accession)

Box 1

A Daughter of Boston - typescript

Box 1

Alcibiades - typescript

Box 1

Ninon - typescript

Box 1

Ninon - typescript

Box 1

The Connoisseur - typescript

Box 1

Semele - original typescript

Box 1

Semele - carbon typescript

Box 1

The Egotist - carbon

Box 1

In Earthen Vessels - carbon fragment

Box 1

Renee - typescript

Box 1

Drawbacks - draft

Box 1

Falstaff on Broadway - carbon copy

Box 1

Tristan the Nero - typescript

Box 1

The Idiot - original typescript

Box 1

Whispered in the Afternoon

Box 1

Interdependence (Manche Frelich)

Box 1

The Two - typescript poems

Box 1

Misc. fragments

Box 1

Misc. poems

Box 1

The Poetry of Verner Von Heidenstam - typescript essay

Box 1

Aphorisms on Portraiture - typescript

Box 1

Poetry Reviews - typescript

Box 1

How a poem Won a Friend - typescript essay

Box 1

Memories of England - typescript title page, contents page, acknowledgements

Box 1

The Attack on the "Speedomania" - typescript essay

Box 1

A Voice from the Crowd - typescript essay

Box 1

Take What the Earth Can Offer - poem

Box 1

Misc. poems and Christmas Cards

Box 1

National Solidarity: A Doubtful Idea - typescript essay

Box 1

Early Recollections of Ezra Pound - typescript essay

Box 1

Notebook containing misc. essays and notes

Box 1

R.L.S. Comes Britain's Parnassus and The Mermaid Tavern poem

Box 1

Misc. fragments

Box 1

King Ardamenes - typescript poems

Box 1

Article on ?? - holograph essay

Box 1

The German Spirit - typescript essay

Box 1

Robert Browning: How to Know Him - holograph essay

Box 1

Personal Memories of Owen Wister - typescript essay

Box 1

A Keats-Shelley Complex - holograph poem

Box 1

Unidentified ms. fragment

Box 1

The Words Complain to the Modern Poets - poem

Box 1

Israel's Christmases - typescript essay

Box 1

Misc. fragments

Box 1

The writing of Social Poetry - typescript essay

Box 1

The Chinaman - typescript essay

Box 1

The New Spirit of American Poetry - typescript essay

Box 1

The Influence of the Popular Ballad on Wordsworth and Coleridge - typescript essay

Box 1

Recalling a Breton Sailor - typescript essay

Box 1

A Petal on a Lonely Path - holograph essay

Box 1

Fragment

Box 1

Reading Aloud: An Art and a Solace - typescript essay

Box 1

Untitled misc. fragment

Box 1

The New Spirit in American Poetry - typescript essay

Box 1

The Open Secret - poetry

Box 1

Hospital Exigencies and Amenities - typescript essay

Box 1

Verner Von Heidenstam: Swedish Poet and Novelist - typescript essay

Box 1

The Something Else - typescript essay

Box 1

Of Food and Eating - typescript essay

Box 1

Three Variations - typescript essay

Box 1

Notes on Lit. Course

Box 1

Nehru. A Personal Impression - typescript essay

Box 1

Coffee with Sibelius - typescript essay

Box 1

Nehru and Breton Sailor

Box 1

Music in a Crisis - typescript essay

Box 1

Marta af Sillen: Personal Memories of a Modern Swedish Author - typescript essay

Box 1

Exam and Lecture for a Lit. Course

Box 1

What is Originality? - typescript essay

Box 1

Hospital Exigencies and Amenities - typescript essay

Box 1

Reading for Exercise - typescript essay

Box 1

The Factories with Other Lyrics - typescript poem

Box 1

A Voice from the Crowd - holograph essay

Box 1

Personal Impressions of Bernard Shaw - typescript essay and pub. copy

Box 1

John Hall Wheelock, American Poet - typescript essay

Box 1

The Natural Thing - typescript essay

Box 1

The German Spirit - holograph essay

Box 1

Misc. essays - typescript essay

Box 1

Misc. fragments

Box 1

Saving Selma - typescript essay

Box 1

The Western Lake, Hangchow - typescript essay

Box 1

Three Variations on a Theme in the Key of I Major - typescript essay

Box 1

The Code of Munich - typescript essay

Box 1

Under the Lion's Paw - typescript play

Box 1

Addresses of Honorable Carl J. Hambro - pamphlet

Box 1

Fragment of a play - holograph

Box 1

Misc. poems

Box 1

Misc. poems and fragments

Box 1

It Passes in a Moment - musical score words by CWS

Box 1

On the Trail of a Hero - typescript essay

Box 1

Jane Pratt: Counselor at Love - typescript essay

Box 1

No Place for Tourists from "Christian Science Monitor" - clipping

Box 1

Here's Happy Days - Autobiography title page and acknowledgements

Box 1

The Educated American from the Angle of a Writer - typescript essay

Box 1

Toward the Inner Technic of Poetry - typescript essay

Box 1

Misc. fragments

Box 1

The Great and Near Great - typescript essay

Box 1

The Forgotten Word - typescript essay

Box 1

AB: A Modern American Comedy in Three Acts - typescript play

Box 1

AB: A Modern American Comedy in Three Acts - typescript play

Box 1

The Falcon - typescript essay

Box 1

Competition: A Post Emersonian Ramble - typescript essay

Box 1

What it is All About - typescript essay

Box 1

Personal Habits - typescript essay

Box 1

Goethe and Walt Whitman: A Study in Poetic Evolution - typescript essay

Box 1

Meeting in Hong Kong - typescript essay

Box 1

Misc. poems by Jo Johnson

Box 1

Far-Borne Echoes - typescript poem

Box 1

Ninon - holograph review

Box 1

Crecento - printed play by Hans Heinz Ewers

Box 1

The Meeting of Christ and Pan - typescript collection of poems

Box 1

AB: A Modern American Comedy in Three Acts - holograph play

Box 1

Bound book containing misc. essays and poems

Box 1

Old and New Delhi - typescript poem

Box 1

Misc. fragments

Box 1

Being Estelle - typescript essay

Box 1

Songs of Joy - typescript poems

Box 1

Hangchow - typescript poems

Box 1

Misc. poems - typescript

Box 1

Escapism - typescript essay

Box 1

The Ash-Can School of Literature - typescript essay

Box 1

The Eagle and the Sun - typescript essay

Box 1

Misc. poems and fragments

Box 1

Misc. poems

Box 2

Daft Andy: An Ulster Ballad - typescript poem

Box 2

Prescription: One Wife - To be Taken Seriously - typescript poem

Box 2

The Falcon - typescript story

Box 2

New Light on Gustaf Fröding - typescript review

Box 2

The Stars Above - typescript play

Box 2

The Motherless by Bengt Berg - translation by CWS typescript ms.

Box 2

The Motherless by Bengt Berg - translation by CWS holograph ms.

Box 2

Jimmie Jones in Heaven - typescript poem

Box 2

A Spot on a Dress - typescript story

Box 2

Misc. poems and fragments

Box 2

Joseph Hergesheimer, The New American Novelist - typescript review

Box 2

The New Spirit in American Poetry - holograph ms.

Box 2

Frederick W. Taylor and Scientific Management - holograph essay

Box 2

Women in American Poetry Today - holograph and typescript essays

Box 2

The World is too Much for Us Wm. Wordsworth - typescript poem

Box 2

Dear Lord, That Ever Carest by F.M. Fronzen - Translation by CWS poem

Box 2

Saul and David by Gustaf Fröding - translation by CWS typescript poem

Box 2

Recent Volumes of Verse - typescript and holograph reviews

Box 2

To the One Who Has Suffered and Of a Dedication - typescript poems

Box 2

Misc. poems

Box 2

Misc. poems

Box 2

Misc. poems and Reviews

Box 2

Misc. poems and fragments

Box 2

Fragment of Galley Proof

Box 2

New Light on Gustaf Fröding - holograph review

Box 2

Childhood Friends by Verner Von Heidenstam - translation by CWS; typescript poem

Box 2

The Man in Front of Me - typescript poem

Box 2

The Concord of Learning - typescript poem

Box 2

The Death of Orpheus - typescript poem

Box 2

The Other Cheek - typescript poem

Box 2

Misc. fragments

Box 2

Ulysses and the Sirens - typescript poem

Box 2

Laughter: An Ode - typescript poem

Box 2

Misc. poems by Hoffmansthal - typescript poems

Box 2

Misc. poems and fragments

Box 2

The Lyrical poems of Hugo Von Hoffmansthal - translation by CWS typescript – poems

Box 2

Misc. poems

Box 2

Verse translation from the Modern Scandinavian - typescript essay

Box 2

Franz Von Pausinger - typescript essay

Box 2

Misc. poems

Box 2

The Key of Song - typescript poem – 2 copies

Box 2

The Forest of Tears - typescript poem

Box 2

The Wound of Joy - typescript poem

Box 2

The "Gravellotte" Rhapsody - typescript essay

Box 2

A Mirage - typescript story

Box 2

The Explosion of Plato - typescript story

Box 2

The Fatal Friend - typescript story

Box 2

Hyacinth O'Hara typescript story

Box 2

Keppler's Nude - typescript story

Box 2

Thou Lovely One Far Distant by Ludwig Holstein - translation by CWS – typescript poem

Box 2

The Key of Song - typescript poem

Box 2

Chiquita - typescript poem

Box 2

Misc. poems

Box 2

Poetry CWS

Box 2

Poetry CWS

Box 2

The Old Mandarin by Christopher Mosley - review by CWS typescript

Box 2

An Editor Looks at Poetry by Stanton A. Coblentz - review by CWS typescript

Box 2

The Fall of the Magicians by Weldon Kees - review by CWS; typescript

Box 2

The Wind That Shakes the Barley by James Barke - review by CWS typescript and holo.

Box 2

The Future of Freedom in the Orient by Ralph Coniston - review by CWS – typescript

Box 2

Back in High - holograph manuscript

Box 2

April Violets by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS typescript story

Box 2

Fragment of play - typescript play

Box 2

With the Current - holograph story

Box 2

Sympathy by Telephone - typescript story

Box 2

The Butterfly on the Mountain - typescript story

Box 2

The Clown by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS typescript story

Box 2

With an Introduction - typescript essay

Box 2

A Cup of Tea - typescript essay

Box 2

The Parson's Cow by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS typescript story

Box 2

The Portrait by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS typescript story

Box 2

The Accomplished Dragon by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS – typescript story

Box 2

Churchyard Arabesque by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS typescriptstory

Box 2

T.S. Eliot Revises his Creed - typescript essay

Box 2

Collected Lyrical poems by Vivian Locke Ellis - review by CWS typescript

Box 2

The Image and the Law by Howard Nemerov - review by CWS holograph

Box 2

I Am Aware of Cities - typescript poetry manuscript

Box 2

Time Will Teil a Fantasy in Two Acts - typescript play

Box 2

Toward an Honest Answer - typescript story

Box 2

The Misconduct Mark by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS typescript – story

Box 2

The History Teacher by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS typescript – story

Box 2

The Patriarch Papinian - typescript story

Box 2

The Darkness Gathers - typescript story

Box 2

With the Current - typescript story

Box 2

Preface and Contents of Södenberg Collection - holograph

Box 2

April Violets by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS holograph

Box 2

Vox Populi by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS typescript story

Box 2

Fragments of play - typescript and holograph play

Box 2

The Flower Seiler - typescript play

Box 2

Susie's Grandmother - original typescript

Box 2

Notebook - misc. reviews, plays, etc...

Box 3

Translations – mostly Scandinavian

Box 3

Misc. poems

Box 3

Misc. fragments in envelope

Box 3

Misc. essays, Reviews, and poems

Box 3

Misc. writings

Box 3

Misc. writings

Box 3

Misc. writings

Box 3

Misc. writings in envelope

Box 3

Misc. writings in envelope

Box 3

Misc. writings

Box 3

Voices in the Canyon: A Dramatic Phantasy - typescript play

Box 3

Voices in the Canyon – copy with note

Box 3

The Stars Above - holograph play

Box 3

The Stars Above - complete bound copy

Box 3

The Stars Above – incomplete copy

Box 3

The Deathless Don - typescript play

Box 3

Lotus Island - typescript play

Box 3

Lotus Island - holograph play

Box 3

Fragment of a Story

Box 3

Voices in the Canyon - typescript play

Box 3

The Stars Above - typescript play

Box 3

The Message of April - typescript play

Box 3

Fragment of Galley Proof

Box 3

Voices in the Canyon - typescript and holograph play

Box 3

Sea and Bay - typescript poem

Box 3

Masks Off - typescript play

Box 3

Masks Off - typescript play

Box 3

Misc. Poetry - typescript poems

Box 3

Misc. Poetry - typescript poems

Box 3

Susie's Folks - typescript play

Box 3

Gustaf Fröding: Sweden's Greatest Lyric Poet - typescript and holograph essay

Box 3

Misc. Hjalman Södenberg Stories - typescript stories

Box 3

Misc. writings - typescript and holograph

Box 3

Misc. writings - typescript and holograph

Box 3

Misc. Poetry - typescript and holograph

Box 3

Misc. Poetry - typescript and holograph

Box 3

The Discarded Christmas Tree - typescript poem

Box 3

Misc. poems

Box 4

Aunt Elsbettel

Box 4

Misc. plays - mostly holograph

Box 4

Lighthouse Ledge - typescript story

Box 4

Misc. writings - typescript

Box 4

Getting Together

Box 4

Athens was his Mistress

Box 4

The Hell-Fire Club - typescript story

Box 4

Two Bond Salesmen - carbon typescript story

Box 4

Her Son's Room - typescript story

Box 4

Danger Past: A Prose Idyll - typescript story

Box 4

Robert Norwood: A Pastor Poet in Philadelphia - typescript essay

Box 4

Editing a Poetry Magazine - typescript essay

Box 4

Thomas Hardy: The Greatest Living Writer of English - typescript essay

Box 4

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 4

Nationalism in Swedish Poetry - typescript essay

Box 4

Gustaf Fröding, Swedish Lyric Poet - typescript essay

Box 4

ls Our Time Lacking in Literary Productivity? - typescript essay

Box 4

The National Poet of Finland: Johan Ludvig Runeberg - typescript essay

Box 4

The National Poet of Sweden: Verner Von Heidenstam, Winner of the Nobel

Box 4

Needed - typescript story

Box 4

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 4

On a Common Mussel Shell - holograph poem

Box 4

Misc. fragments - holograph

Box 4

A Daughter of Boston - typescript manuscript in brown envelope

Box 4

Misc. fragments - holograph

Box 4

A Daughter of Boston

Box 4

Misc. writings and fragments - holograph

Box 4

Misc. writings - holograph

Box 4

Fragments

Box 4

The Code of Munich - holograph essay

Box 4

People and Personages - typescript and holograph poem in brown envelope

Box 4

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 4

Misc. Correspondence

Box 4

Misc. writings

Box 4

Misc. writings in envelope

Box 4

Misc. writings in envelope

Box 4

Misc. writings

Box 4

Misc. Poetry

Box 4

Fragment of a play - typescript

Box 4

Sunset Harbor

Box 4

Unidentified play

Box 4

A Tutor at Surfside - typescript/manuscript

Box 4

Four Kisses - typescript/manuscript

Box 4

Misc. Reviews by CWS

Box 4

A Little Book by a Big Man: Review of Adventure and Other Papers by

Box 4

Poetry, Imported and Domestic - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

From Both Sides of the Pond - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Novices and Masters - review by CWS holograph

Box 4

Spring Harvest of Verse - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

A Selection from Modern Swedish Poetry - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Poems of Places - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

A Syrian Humanist - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Recent Books of Verse - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Life and Lyricism - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Books Worth Nothing - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Song and Celebration - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Recent Verse - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Experiment and Mastery - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

An Eastern Western Poet - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Verse Diversified - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Modern Realism with and OId Norse Background - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Recent Verse - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

Books Worth Nothing - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

The Romance of Duty - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

A Sea Hamsun - review by CWS typescript

Box 4

A Thoughtful Experiment in Verse by CWS

Box 5

Poems – Loose

Box 4

Jane Pratt: Counsellor at Love: The Chalmers Case - typescript story

Box 5

Before Love: A Portrait in Comedy - typescript play

Box 5

Falstaff an Broadway - typescript play

Box 5

Tristan the Nero - typescript play in binder

Box 5

Harvard College Class of 1903 - photocopied flyer (not in folder)

Box 5

Semele, A Dramatic Idyll in Two Scenes - typescript play in binder

Box 5

Aunt Elsbettel

Box 5

Aunt Elsbettel

Box 5

Merribel's Afternoon: A Flower Fantasy in One Act - typescript play

Box 5

The Idiot, A Drama in Two Parts: Adapted from the Novel by Fydor Dostoyevsky - typescript play

Box 5

Aunt Elsbettel - typescript play

Box 5

Lisl's – Children's Book - only 76 Pages

Box 5

Mustard Magill - typescript and holograph manuscript in box

Box 5

Sharing: A Christmas Romance-New Style - typescript/manuscript in binder

Box 5

Sharing - in envelope

Box 5

Sharing – in folder

Box 5

Susie's Folks - typescript play in binder

Box 5

Mustard Magill - typescript/manuscript in envelope "Baseball Novel"

Box 5

Getting Together - Novel carbon typescript/manuscript in envelope

Box 5

The Stars Above - typescript play in envelope

Box 5

Misc. play fragments - typescript in envelope

Box 5

Out of the Dark - typescript and holograph play

Box 5

The Flowers Come Alive - typescript play in envelope

Box 5

Watt (Whitman): The Pageant of an American - holograph play in envelope

Box 5

La Donna Velata - typescript manuscript collection of poetry in binder

Box 5

Out of the Dark - typescript play in envelope

Box 6

Poetry by CWS

Box 6

Poetry by CWS

Box 6

The Prayer of the Body - typescript poem

Box 6

The Mystic at the Mast Head - typescript poem

Box 6

Excursion with a Trunk - typescript poem

Box 6

Perjury - typescript play

Box 6

A Live wire - typescript story

Box 6

Ninon 1 - typescript play

Box 6

Ninon II - typescript play

Box 6

Ninon III - typescript play

Box 6

Ninon IV - typescript play

Box 6

Ninon V - typescript play

Box 6

Ninon VI - typescript play

Box 6

Ninon - typescript play

Box 6

Ninon - carbon copy

Box 6

Misc. Poetry

Box 6

Keppler's Nude - typescript story

Box 6

For a Time of Trial - typescript poem

Box 6

Winter Afterglow - typescript poem

Box 6

Second Sight by Per Hallström - translation by CWS holograph essay

Box 6

Poetry by Hugo Von Hofmannsthal - translation by CWS typescript poems

Box 6

Before Day by Hugo Von Hofmannsthal - translation by CWS typescript poem

Box 6

The Youth and the Spider by Hugo Von Hofmannsthal - translation by CWS – typescript poem

Box 6

Misc. poems

Box 6

For a National Poetry Day - typescript poem

Box 6

The Meeting of Christ and Pan - typescript poem

Box 6

The Triumph of Love - typescript poem

Box 6

At the Grave of Perrault - typescript poem

Box 6

As an Affirmation for Walt Whitman - typescript poem

Box 6

A Wissahickon Walk - typescript poem

Box 6

The Wren's Nest - typescript poem

Box 6

The Gossips - typescript poem

Box 6

The Mystic in the Grand Stand - typescript poem

Box 6

Have Faith, America - typescript poem

Box 6

A Seaside Lake in Summer - typescript poem

Box 6

Autumn Acclamation - typescript poem

Box 6

Fellowship Restored - typescript poem

Box 6

A Suite for Kwan-Yin - typescript poem

Box 6

Elaine Psychoanalyzes - typescript poem

Box 6

Acapulco, Mexico - typescript poem

Box 6

Cloud Intimations - typescript poem

Box 6

Benares - typescript poem

Box 6

Hong Kong - typescript poem

Box 6

Ode to Sanity - typescript poem

Box 6

From Gottenburg to Stockholm: A Trip on the Gota Canal - typescript poem

Box 6

1 Will Dance - typescript poem

Box 6

A Boy's Memory of a Stranger - typescript poem

Box 6

Misc. poems - typescript poems

Box 6

To Stones from a New England Beach - typescript poem

Box 6

Athens - typescript poem

Box 6

Tribute to John Masefield from America - typescript poem

Box 6

Reverberations - typescript poem

Box 6

The Discarded Christmas Tree - typescript poem

Box 6

Misc. poems - typescript poems

Box 6

Misc. poems - holograph poems

Box 6

Misc. poems

Box 6

Earth is a Recollection and a Promise - holograph poem – 2 copies

Box 6

Misc. poems - typescript poems

Box 6

Misc. writings - typescript – Danish Poetry

Box 6

Whitman and Wagner: A Comparison and Contrast - typescript essay

Box 6

Music Memories of an Amateur - typescript letter

Box 6

The Burning City by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS typescript story

Box 6

Celia Martindale - holograph story

Box 6

Too Bad About Percy - typescript and holograph story

Box 6

Unidentified play fragments - typescript

Box 6

Swedish Literature - holograph essay

Box 6

Trial by Sonnets - holograph story

Box 6

Whitman and Wagner: A Comparison and Contrast - holograph essay

Box 6

The Educated American: From the Angle of a Writer - holograph essay

Box 6

Ode to American Pointers - holograph poem

Box 6

To Him that Hath - holograph poem

Box 6

Biography and the Human Heart - review by CWS typescript

Box 6

Northland Music - typescript story Shira; typescript poem

Box 6

Escapism - holograph essay

Box 6

Far-Borne Echoes - typescript poem

Box 6

Twice Facing Death - holograph story

Box 6

The Forgotten Word - holograph essay

Box 6

A Defense of Recent American Poetry - holograph essay

Box 6

The Sons and Daughters of the Vikings - typescript essay

Box 6

Walt Whitman Today - typescript essay

Box 6

A Hell of a Critic - typescript essay

Box 6

Swedish Literature - typescript essay

Box 6

A Hell of a Critic - typescript essay

Box 6

Erik Axel Karlfeldt - typescript essay

Box 6

Castle Unrest by E.A. Karlfeldt - translated by CWS holograph poem

Box 6

Bandits by the Bay of Naples - typescript story

Box 6

Archimedes' Point by Hjalman Södenberg - translation by CWS typescript story

Box 6

The Poetry of Weiharen - typescript essay

Box 6

Letter from Miss Patricia Chapness to CWS - typescript

Box 6

Unidentified play fragment - typescript

Box 6

Vermland poems - typescript and manuscript poems and essays

Box 6

Misc. poems - holograph poems

Box 6

Misc. poems - holograph poems

Box 6

Misc. poems - holograph poems

Box 6

Misc. writings - holograph

Box 6

The Ball: A Heroic poem - holograph poem

Box 6

Misc. poems - holograph poems

Box 6

A Poor Monk of Skara - typescript poem

Box 6

Gallery Proof of Fröding's poems

Box 6

Misc. poems - holograph poems

Box 6

Misc. poems - translated by CWS typescript

Box 6

Song of the Figurehead by Kai Friis Moller - translation by CWS typescript poem

Box 6

Summer Dreams at Sea by Holger Drachman - translation by CWS typescript – poem

Box 6

Misc. poems - translated by CWS

Box 6

Karin by Gustaf Geijerstom - translation by CWS typescript story

Box 6

Misc. poems - translated by CWS

Box 6

The Northland by Valdemar Rördam - translation by CWS holograph poem

Box 6

Song After Harvest - holograph poem

Box 6

Oh, Never Ask! - holograph poem

Box 6

The White Dragons - holograph poem

Box 6

Misc. poems - holograph

Box 6

Misc. poems - translated by CWS typescript

Box 6

Misc. Reviews by CWS

Box 6

Creative Unity - review by CWS typescript

Box 6

Thomas Hastings: Architect and Prophet - typescript essay

Box 6

Verse at Opposite Poles - review by CWS typescript

Box 6

Six Volumes of Verse - review by CWS typescript and holograph

Box 6

An Englishman for an Hour - holograph essay

Box 6

The Magic Flute - review by CWS holograph

Box 6

Three Studies in Shelley and an essay

Box 6

an Nature in Words Worth and Meredith - review by CWS typescript

Box 6

Mr. Bennett Near his Best - review by CWS typescript

Box 6

The Gottenburg Exposition - typescript essay

Box 6

Five Poetry Books by Men - review by CWS typescript

Box 6

Untitled Article

Box 6

Part Truth Dispensed by Mr. Orrick Johns - typescript essay

Box 6

A 'New' Definition of Poetry - typescript essay

Box 6

Art for Life's Sake - typescript essay

Box 6

An Artist's Paradise - typescript essay

Box 6

A Review of Magazine Verse in the United States - review by CWS typescript

Box 6

American Magazine Verse for 1917 - typescript essay

Box 6

Misc. Poetry - typescript

Box 6

The Parade - typescript poem

Box 6

Riding Song - typescript poem

Box 6

Ballade of American Poets 1917 - typescript poem

Box 6

Realities of War - typescript poem

Box 6

The Other Cheek - typescript poem

Box 6

Two Types of Heroes - typescript poem

Box 6

Hymn in War Time - typescript poem

Box 6

Charleston, S.C. - typescript poem

Box 6

Box Containing plays "Sharing" and "Getting Together"

Box 6

The Faith of Tristan

Box 6

The Stars Above

Box 7

Getting Together - play in binder

Box 7

Sharing - holograph play in envelope

Box 7

The Deathless Don - typescript play in envelope

Box 7

The Flowers Come Alive - typescript play in envelope

Box 7

Misc. writings

Box 7

Walt: The Pageant of an American - typescript play in envelope

Box 7

Flower Inferno by Ernst F. Löhndorff - translation by CWS typescript/manuscript in binder

Box 7

The Ineffable Name: A Fantasy of the Word War by Waldemar Ager - translation by CWS typescript/manuscript

Box 7

Misc. plays - typescript

Box 7

Misc. plays

Box 7

Misc. writings

Box 7

Misc. writings

Box 7

Misc. writings

Box 7

Misc. writings

Box 7

Misc. writings

Box 7

Why Do We Travel? - typescript essay

Box 7

The Unattained Meredith - typescript essay

Box 7

Misc. Correspondences to CWS

Box 7

Misc. Correspondences to CWS

Box 7

Misc. Correspondences to CWS

Box 8

Misc. writings - holograph

Box 8

Misc. poems - typescript

Box 8

Misc. poems - typescript and holograph

Box 8

An Allegory

Box 8

Rain - holograph poem

Box 8

Winter Sunset: A Prose poem - typescript poem

Box 8

The Queen of Orplede: A Romance - holograph play

Box 8

Poetry vs. the Circumstances of writing - typescript essay

Box 8

Unidentified play fragment

Box 8

Falstaff an Broadway - typescript play in binder

Box 8

The Prize Package - typescript play

Box 8

Murder at Cambridge - typescript play

Box 8

A Daughter of Boston 1 - typescript story

Box 8

A Daughter of Boston II - typescript story

Box 8

Misc. writings - holograph

Box 8

The Magnate - typescript poem

Box 8

The Other Cheek - typescript poem

Box 8

The Death of Hyacinth - holograph poem

Box 8

The Concord of Learning - holograph poem

Box 8

To a Suicide Poet - holograph poem

Box 8

The Convict - holograph poem

Box 8

Hyacinth O'Hara's Profession - holograph story

Box 8

The New Nobel Prize Winner, Vernon Von Heidenstam - holograph essay

Box 8

Misc. poems

Box 8

Misc. writings

Box 8

A Dancer in a Cage - typescript story

Box 8

'The Open Secret" – Chapter III - typescript essay

Box 8

Needed - typescript story

Box 8

How Father God was Snowbound by Rosa Fitinghoff - translation by CWS – typescript story

Box 8

Horne - typescript essay

Box 8

The Nails - typescript poem

Box 8

Misc. poems

Box 8

Misc. poems

Box 8

The Marriage of Burns and Blake - typescript essay

Box 8

A Brook in the Woods - typescript poem

Box 8

Cairo - typescript poem

Box 8

Athens - typescript poem

Box 8

London - typescript poem

Box 8

Buying a Present in Brittany - typescript story

Box 8

Misc. poems

Box 8

Misc. poems

Box 8

School Report and poem by Rosalie Stork

Box 8

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 8

Misc. poems

Box 8

Misc. writings - mostly holograph

Box 8

The Virile Dude (Fragment) - typescript story

Box 8

Celia Martindale - typescript story

Box 8

Celia Martindale - typescript story

Box 8

Faithless Tiliie Gursen - typescript poem

Box 8

The Idiot - typescript play

Box 8

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 8

Misc. poems

Box 8

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 8

Sidney Lanier, A Poet We are Catching Up to - typescript essay

Box 8

Self-Portrait - typescript essay

Box 8

Both Sides of the Curtain - typescript essay

Box 8

Misc. writings in notebook - holograph

Box 8

Misc. poems

Box 8

Hoffmansthal's Lyrics - review

Box 8

The Yankee - typescript poem

Box 8

Can I Let it Go On? - typescript story

Box 8

Don Juan De Placensia - typescript play

Box 8

Misc. writings

Box 8

Fragment - typescript story(?)

Box 8

Misc. poems

Box 8

En Flamländsk Madonna - typescript poem

Box 8

In Praise of Rhyme - typescript poem

Box 8

Person Habits - typescript essay

Box 8

Saving Selma - typescript story

Box 8

The Natural Thing - typescript story

Box 8

The Princess Brier-Rose by Sigfrid Lindstrom - translation by CWS typescript – story

Box 8

The Puritan Confessor - typescript story

Box 8

Northland Magic - typescript story

Box 8

Misc. writings

Box 8

Misc. writings in notebook - holograph

Box 8

Misc. writings - holograph

Box 8

Misc. poems - holograph

Box 8

Unidentified play fragment

Box 8

Misc. writings

Box 8

Misc. Swedish and Danish poems

Box 8

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 8

Being Estelle - typescript story

Box 8

Perfect Transmission - typescript story

Box 8

A Whiff of Tobacco - typescript story

Box 8

A blicket Intrigue - holograph story

Box 8

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 8

Misc. writings

Box 8

Clayton's Kick - typescript story

Box 9

Misc. Children's poems by Elizabeth P. Stork?

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

Letter of Acceptance to Mrs. Stork - manuscript

Box 9

Misc. poems by Elizabeth Stork

Box 9

Misc. writings in binder

Box 9

Tatzlwurm im Heutal by Schulrat Josef Brettenthaler - summary by CWS

Box 9

Vistas by Elizabeth Stork

Box 9

The Intimate Stranger by LeRoy Smith Jr. - published flyer

Box 9

Misc. Correspondences and writings

Box 9

Misc. writings by Elizabeth Stork

Box 9

Jane Pratt: Counsellor at Love - holograph and typescript story

Box 9

A Fishy Ghost - typescript story

Box 9

With Sabres - typescript story

Box 9

Ballad of Octogenarians - typescript poem

Box 9

A Wissahickon Walk - typescript poem

Box 9

The Great Regret - typescript poem

Box 9

Ode for the Tercentenary of Harvard College, 1936 - typescript poem

Box 9

Rachmaninoff - typescript poem

Box 9

The Yankee - typescript poem

Box 9

Man-Brutes - typescript poem

Box 9

Faithless Tillie Green - typescript poem

Box 9

To Stone from a New England Beach - typescript poem

Box 9

Lighthouse Ledge - holograph manuscript in notebook

Box 9

London - typescript poem

Box 9

At the Grave of Perrault - typescript poem

Box 9

Lines for the Season of Poets - typescript poem

Box 9

Beside the Lake of Galilee - typescript poem

Box 9

Fanny Browne Reviews Her Memories - typescript poem

Box 9

Falterings Toward the Unknown God - typescript poem

Box 9

Misc. writings in notebook - holograph

Box 9

Misc. writings - holograph

Box 9

Misc. poems - holograph

Box 9

Unidentified play fragment

Box 9

Misc. writings

Box 9

To Kipling, Poet of Men - typescript poem

Box 9

Misc. poems - typescript

Box 9

A Boy's Memory of a Stranger - typescript poem

Box 9

The Master's Bid Farewell - typescript poem

Box 9

Ballad of Octogenarians - typescript poem

Box 9

Daft Andy - typescript poem

Box 9

Man-Brutes - typescript poem

Box 9

Misc. writings in notebook - holograph

Box 9

For a Time of Trial - typescript poem

Box 9

To George Meredith - typescript poem and clipping

Box 9

Our Heritage - typescript poem

Box 9

Misc. poems - typescript

Box 9

American Bards Through British Eyes - typescript poem

Box 9

To Kipling, Poet of Men - typescript poem

Box 9

A Boy's Memory of a Stranger - typescript poem

Box 9

Apologia - typescript poem

Box 9

Earth is a Recollection and a Promise - typescript poem

Box 9

Shira - typescript poem

Box 9

Beside the Lake of Galilee - typescript poem

Box 9

Breaking (?) Shell - typescript poem

Box 9

Seeking a Personal God - typescript poem

Box 9

Poetry CWS - Martha's Vineyard

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

The Something Else - typescript story

Box 9

Tagore's International College - typescript essay

Box 9

Meeting in Hong Kong - typescript essay

Box 9

The Stars Above - typescript play

Box 9

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 9

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 9

American Painting: Some Adventures in Appreciation - typescript essay

Box 9

On the Reading of History - typescript essay

Box 9

The Magic of Foreign Words: A Retrospect - typescript essay

Box 9

Whitman and Wagner: A Comparison and Contrast - typescript essay

Box 9

At Our Peril - typescript story

Box 9

The Marriage of Burns and Blake - typescript essay

Box 9

Toward the Inner Technic of Poetry - typescript essay

Box 9

The Educated American: From the Angle of a Writer - typescript essay

Box 9

Bandits by the Bay of Naples - typescript story

Box 9

Nature in German Music - typescript essay

Box 9

Misc. poems - typescript

Box 9

Adventures in the Art of Teaching - typescript essay

Box 9

Mustard Magill - typescript poem

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

Ode to Scandinavia - typescript poem

Box 9

Edvard Grieg - typescript poem

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

Ode to Sanity - typescript poem

Box 9

For My Sister - typescript poem

Box 9

A Straight Question - typescript poem

Box 9

The Smile of Unity - typescript poem

Box 9

Apologia - typescript poem

Box 9

Whitsunday Morning at Leksand - typescript essay

Box 9

A Land of Hospitality - typescript essay

Box 9

Keene Valley and Lake Placid - typescript essay

Box 9

Chant for Autumn - typescript poem

Box 9

A Treasure Box - typescript poem

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

Sketches by and 'Athenian' - typescript poem

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

The Taking of the Trireme - typescript poem

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

Misc. writings

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

Poems by Henrik Isben - translated by CWS

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 9

Unidentified poem fragment - holograph

Box 9

Misc. poems

Box 10

Misc. writings

Box 10

Misc. poems

Box 10

Misc. poems

Box 10

Misc. poems in envelope

Box 10

Misc. poems in envelope

Box 10

Misc. poems in envelope

Box 10

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 10

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 10

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 10

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 10

Will's Reformation - typescript play

Box 10

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 10

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 10

The Egoist - typescript play in binder

Box 10

Ninon CWS - (carbon typescript)

Box 10

Fragment in envelope - typescript prose

Box 10

The Loyal Traitor - typescript story in envelope

Box 10

Misc. writings and fragments in envelope

Box 10

Susie's Folks - typescript play in envelope

Box 10

Sparkling and Bright - musical score in envelope

Box 10

Essays and Articles

Box 10

Essays

Box 10

Translations

Box 10

Anthology – Contents

Box 11

Misc. writings - holograph in notebook

Box 11

Walt - play manuscripttypescript and holograph

Box 11

Translations poems and plays at Penn (bound)

Box 11

Play: Sick Child

Box 11

Unidentified play - holograph and typescript

Box 11

Poetry

Box 11

Getting Together - holograph play

Box 11

Danish translations by CWS

Box 11

Norwegian translations by CWS

Box 11

German translations by CWS

Box 11

Swedish translations by CWS

Box 11

Swedish translations by CWS

Box 11

Manuscript of Hoffmansthal's Poetry - typescript

Box 11

Nationalism in Swedish Poetry - holograph essay

Box 11

The Poetry of Verner Von Heidenstam - typescript essay

Box 11

Reviews of CWS's Anthology of Swedish Lyrics - typescript

Box 11

The Poetry of Viktor Rydberg - typescript essay

Box 11

Misc. poems - typescript

Box 11

Riding Song - typescript poem

Box 11

Review of CWS's Anthology of Swedish Lyrics

Box 11

Throw Wide the Window - typescript poem

Box 11

Swedish Poetry To-Day - typescript essay

Box 11

Falterings Toward an Unknown God - typescript poem

Box 11

For the Death of Woodrow Wilson - typescript poem

Box 11

A Feast of Reason - reviewed by CWS typescript

Box 11

Misc. poems

Box 11

Sesqui-Centennial Ode - typescript poem

Box 11

Mr. Noyes and the Bacchus of Emerson - typescript essay

Box 11

Review of CWS's Anthology of Swedish Lyrics

Box 11

Poems of Russian Cities - typescript poem

Box 11

I am Aware of Cities - title page, contents, etc...

Box 11

Poems of Cities - holograph

Box 11

Munich - typescript and holograph poem

Box 11

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 11

Prague - holograph poem

Box 11

Constantinople - holograph poem

Box 11

Paris - holograph poem

Box 11

Cairo - typescript poem and holograph

Box 11

Boston - typescript poem and holograph

Box 11

Washington - typescript poem and holograph

Box 11

Richmond - typescript poem

Box 11

Newport - typescript poem

Box 11

Vienna - holograph poem

Box 11

Stockholm - typescript poem

Box 11

Charleston, S.C. - typescript poem and holograph

Box 11

Thacher School Reunion Song - typescript poem and holograph

Box 11

Philadelphia - typescript poem and holograph

Box 11

Naples - typescript poem and holograph

Box 11

Rome - typescript poem

Box 11

New York - typescript poem and holograph

Box 11

Athens - typescript poem and holograph

Box 11

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 11

Faithless Tillie Green - typescript poem

Box 11

When the Spirit Shall Prevail by Gunnar Reiss-Anderson - translation by CWS – holograph poem

Box 11

The Year After by Gunnar Reiss-Anderson - translation by CWS typescriptpoem

Box 11

Godhead by Bertil Malmberg - translation by CWS typescript poem

Box 11

A Poet's Confession by Bertil Malmberg - translation by CWS typescript poem

Box 11

The Fable of the Caterpillar - typescript poem

Box 11

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 11

Karin - typescript 'Opera' script (play?)

Box 11

Translated poem and Book Review

Box 11

To — - typescript poem

Box 11

Helsingfors - typescript poem

Box 11

Chicago - holograph poem

Box 11

Prelude - typescript poem

Box 11

Berlin - typescript poem

Box 11

Misc. poems

Box 11

Misc. poems

Box 11

Misc. poems

Box 11

Misc. poems

Box 11

Misc. poems

Box 11

A Henchman of Gustaf Vasq - holograph novel (?) manuscript

Box 11

A Shark at Moonstone Beach - typescript story

Box 11

The 'Gravellotte' Rhapsody - typescript essay

Box 11

Giorgio Vanni - typescript story

Box 11

The Fatal Friend - typescript story

Box 11

A Shark at Moonstone Beach - typescript story

Box 11

The Queen of Orplede - holograph preface, title p., dedication

Box 11

Actaeon - typescript poem

Box 11

Princess Flora - typescript novel

Box 11

Aunt Elsbettel - typescript novel

Box 11

To Edwin Arlington Robinson - typescript poem

Box 11

Misc. Music

Box 11

Poetry by S.M. Bird

Box 11

Misc. poems

Box 11

Misc. poems

Box 11

Winter Scene from a Bridge - typescript poem and holograph

Box 11

Trails - typescript poem

Box 11

Lekha - typescript story

Box 12

Contents and Section Division of Have Faith - typescript book of poetry

Box 12

Article in Old Penn Weekly Review of CWS German translation - typescript – novel

Box 12

Flower Inferno - translation by CWS

Box 12

Pnncess Flora - holograph novel manuscript

Box 12

Living Greece - typescript story

Box 12

Mis-Statement - typescript poem and holograph

Box 12

The Stupid Swede

Box 12

Danish Poetry - typescript essay

Box 12

The Discarded Christmas Tree - typescript poem

Box 12

This Morning, Getting Out of Bed - typescript poem

Box 12

The Death of Orpheus - typescript poem

Box 12

Ulysses of the Sirens - typescript poem

Box 12

A Vision of Misjudgment - typescript essay

Box 12

What's Wrong With Poetry Now? - typescript essay

Box 12

A Hell of a Critic - typescript essay

Box 12

Personal Memories of Owen Wister - typescript essay

Box 12

The Sons and Daughters of the Vikings - typescript essay

Box 12

The Great and Near Great - typescript essay

Box 12

Eduard Mörke, German Lyric Poet - typescript essay

Box 12

Equipment of a Critic - typescript essay

Box 12

S. Lanier, A Poet we are Catching Up to - typescript essay

Box 12

The Unattained Meredith - typescript essay

Box 12

The Flacon by Per Hallstrom - translation by CWS printed essay

Box 12

Bernard Shaw - typescript essay

Box 12

DuBose Heyward - typescript essay

Box 12

Ariel and Endymion - typescript and holograph essay

Box 12

Adventures While Discovering a Novel - typescript essay

Box 12

Portion of a play - typescript

Box 12

An essay on Food and Eating - typescript essay

Box 12

Three Variations - typescript story

Box 12

To Edwin Arlington Robinson - typescript poem

Box 12

Misc. poems

Box 12

Poetry

Box 12

Poetry

Box 12

The Voice, A Key to Character - typescript essay

Box 12

The Ballad in English Literature - typescript book

Box 12

Three Unpublished Anecdotes From the Life of Barrie - typescript essay

Box 12

Whittier Rediscovered - typescript essay

Box 12

Erik Axel Karlfeldt - typescript essay

Box 12

Sketch History of the English Popular Ballad

Box 12

Landor's Conversations - typescript essay

Box 12

A Visit to Pandit Nehru - typescript essay

Box 12

Master to Novice - typescript story

Box 12

A Changeling Transformed - typescript story

Box 12

Unidentified play fragment - typescript

Box 12

Early Recollections of Ezra Pound - holograph essay

Box 12

The White Top Festival - typescript essay

Box 12

Twice Facing Death - typescript essay

Box 12

The Exhilarating Craft of Letters - typescript essay

Box 12

Hemingway and the Exotics - typescript essay

Box 12

Walt Whitman Today - typescript essay

Box 12

Dancer in a Cage - typescript story

Box 12

Fording the Continent - typescript story

Box 12

Siena - typescript story

Box 12

Manuscript, A guest of the Navy - holograph story

Box 12

Misc. writings

Box 12

Published essays

Box 12

Misc. writings

Box 12

On Being an Oriental - typescript essay

Box 12

Violence on Trial - typescript essay

Box 12

The Home Breaker - typescript story

Box 12

Luncheon with W.B. Yeats in his Attic - typescript essay

Box 12

A Henchman of G. Vasa - typescript novel

Box 12

How Old was Miranda - typescript essay

Box 12

West Meets East - typescript poems and holograph

Box 12

Unidentified Story fragment - typescript

Box 12

Misc. music

Box 12

Misc. poems in envelope - typescript

Box 12

Misc. poems in envelope - holograph

Box 12

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 12

Misc. writings and fragments

Box 13

The Home Breaker - typescript story in envelope

Box 13

The Home Breaker - typescript and holograph story in envelope

Box 13

Northland Magic - typescript story in envelope

Box 13

Mason and Dixon's Line - typescript story

Box 13

Misc. poems

Box 13

Back in High - typescript novel manuscript in envelope

Box 13

Misc. stories

Box 13

Swanhild - typescript play

Box 13

Summary of play 'Susie's Grandmother' - typescript

Box 13

A Daughter of Boston - holograph play in notebook

Box 13

Four Kisses - typescript novel in binder

Box 13

Ballads - typescript poems

Box 13

Sonnets - typescript poems

Box 13

Have Faith in America and Other Verses - typescript poems in binder

Box 13

Back in High - typescript novel in envelope

Box 13

Shy Adventurer - typescript novel in envelope

Box 13

Swanhild - typescript play in envelope

Box 13

Renee - typescript play in envelope

Box 13

Aunt Elsbettel - typescript play in envelope

Box 13

Falstaff on Broadway

Box 13

The Death of Orpheus - typescript poem

Box 13

A Quaker Mother - typescript play

Box 13

Erika - typescript opera in envelope

Box 13

Misc. writings and fragments - typescript

Box 14

In Earthen Vessels - typescript novel wrapped in cardboard

Box 14

Misc. poems

Box 14

A Henchman of Gustaf Vasa - typescript novel wrapped in cardboard

Box 14

'Elsa the Precocious' and 'Den Kloka Elsa' - typescript novel and book in box

Box 14

Animals Nobody Knows - typescript children's poems and illustrations in binder

Box 14

Misc. poems inspired by Martha's Vineyard and the New England beach - typescript

Box 14

Misc. poems

Box 14

A Frenchman Pays His Debts - typescript story

Box 14

Needed - typescript story

Box 14

The End of Every Maid's Desire - typescript story

Box 14

The Nails - holograph poem

Box 14

Modern Swedish Poetry - typescript essay

Box 14

Misc. writings

Box 14

Under the Lion's Paw - typescript story

Box 14

Sea Song (words by CWS) - music

Box 14

Alcibiades (?) - typescript play

Box 14

Misc. poems - typescript

Box 14

Untitled poem - holograph

Box 14

A week in the Poconos - typescript essay

Box 14

American Bards Through British Eyes

Box 14

Misc. writings

Box 14

Honor to Abbie Huston Evans - typescript essay

Box 14

An Heir of Prophesy - typescript story

Box 14

Marta of Sillen - typescript essay

Box 14

A Russian Treasure Room - typescript essay

Box 14

A Nile Panorama - typescript and holograph essay

Box 14

Adventures in the Danish Lyric - typescript and holograph essay

Box 14

Misc. writings

Box 14

Misc. essays

Box 14

American Magazine Poetry - holograph essay

Box 14

Reviews by CWS

Box 14

Reviews of CWS translations

Box 14

Misc. writings

Box 14

Misc. writings

Box 14

Translated poems - typescript and holograph

Box 14

Flower Inferno by Ernst Löhndorff - translated by CWS holograph

Box 14

Misc. writings

Box 14

Misc. poems

Box 14

Misc. writings

Box 14

Misc. poems

Box 14

Misc. writings

Box 14

Misc. poems

Box 15

DuBose Heyward: Personal Recollections - typescript essay

Box 15

Three Variations - typescript story

Box 15

With a Mouth Organ - typescript story

Box 15

A Wicket Intrigue - typescript story

Box 15

A. Edward Newton - typescript essay

Box 15

'The Poetic Year' extract, by William Stanley Braithwaite - typescript essay

Box 15

Misc. poems - typescript

Box 15

The Quarter Deck - typescript poem

Box 15

The Birth of Laughter - typescript poem

Box 15

The Quarter Deck - typescript poem

Box 15

Misc. poems

Box 15

A. Edward Newton - holograph essay

Box 15

Luncheon with W.B. Yeats in his Attic - typescript essay

Box 15

Edna St. Vincent Millay, as Poet and as Person - typescript essay

Box 15

Misc. poems

Box 15

Luncheon with W.B. Yeats in his Attic - holograph essay

Box 15

Uncle Ananias - typescript poem

Box 15

The Hosiery Show - typescript poem

Box 15

Ezra Pound to Himself - typescript poem

Box 15

Finding Alice - typescript essay

Box 15

A Mirage - typescript story

Box 15

The Something Else - typescript story

Box 15

The Baffled Grouch - typescript story

Box 15

With Sabres - typescript story

Box 15

Companions of the Bath - typescript story

Box 15

Clayton's Kick - typescript story

Box 15

The Wonder Bird - typescript story

Box 15

Duets - typescript and holograph poem

Box 15

Course materials

Box 15

The Russian Mutineers - typescript poem

Box 15

Misc. writings - holograph

Box 15

Edwin Arlington Robinson - typescript and holograph essay

Box 15

Misc. notes - holograph

Box 15

Reviews by CWS

Box 15

Misc. poems

Box 15

Misc. poems

Box 15

Misc. poems

Box 15

Unidentified play fragment - typescript and holograph

Box 15

Misc. writings and fragments - holograph

Box 15

Streamlined Grandma - typescript story

Box 15

Ferment in the Far East by Mark A. Nourse - reviewed by CWS

Box 15

And Gazelles Leaping by Sadhin N. Ghose - reviewed by CWS

Box 15

Misc. reviews by CWS

Box 15

Pastoral, musical score - words translated from Swedish of Gustaf Fröding by CWS

Box 15

Misc. poems

Box 15

Untitled manuscript - holograph

Box 15

Misc. poems - typescript

Box 15

Byron the Modern, A Re-Appraisal - holograph essay

Box 15

Misc. poems

Box 15

Streamlined Grandma - typescript story

Box 15

Buying a Preset in Brittany - typescript story

Box 15

Summary of 'Susie's Grandmother' - typescript

Box 15

Misc. writings

Box 15

Misc. writings

Box 15

Untitled fragment - typescript story

Box 15

Tercentenary Ode - typescript poem

Box 15

Selma Lagerlof at Home - holograph essay

Box 15

The Day of Judgment - typescript poem

Box 15

The Grand Tour – Columbusing

Box 15

Richard Wagner - typescript essay

Box 15

Georges Bizet - holograph poem

Box 15

Misc. poems

Box 15

The Ash-Can School of Literature - holograph essay

Box 15

Tchaikovsky - typescript poem

Box 15

Claude Debussy - typescript poem

Box 15

Adventures in the Art of Teaching - holograph essay

Box 15

What, No Rhyme for it? - typescript and holograph poem

Box 15

Misc. essays - holograph

Box 15

The Cloud's Brother - holograph poem

Box 15

The Two Dragons - typescript poem

Box 15

Misc. poems - holograph

Box 15

Selection from Moberg's Novel - typescript story

Box 15

Misc. poems - holograph

Box 15

Misc. poems - holograph

Box 15

England Reclaimed by Sir Osbert Sitwell - review by CWS typescript and holo.

Box 15

Lead, Kindly Light by Vincent Sheean - review by CWS typescript and holo.

Box 15

Untitled essay - typescript and holograph

Box 15

Misc. poems

Box 15

On the Trail of a Hero - typescript story

Box 15

Illumination - typescript and holograph story

Box 15

Misc. writings

Box 15

Fragment of play - holograph

Box 15

The Deathless Don - typescript play

Box 15

AB - typescript play

Box 15

Tristan the Hero - typescript play

Box 15

The Countess Valenska - typescript play

Box 15

Aunt Elsbettel - typescript play

Box 15

Sunset Harbor - typescript novel

Box 15

Calantha - typescript play

Box 15

A. Edward Newton - typescript essay

Box 15

Illumination - typescript story

Box 15

Basic Thinking - typescript essay

Box 15

Love and Law - typescript play

Box 15

Unidentified play - typescript

Box 15

The End of Every Maid's Desire - typescript story

Box 15

Edna St. Vincent Millay, as Poet and as Person - typescript essay

Box 15

The Ineffable Name: A Fantasy of the World War - typescript story

Box 15

The Port of Friendly Faces - typescript poem

Box 15

Misc. writings

Box 16

Misc. clippings in "Clipping File"

Box 16

The Egoist - typescript play (1 loose, 1 bound)

Box 16

A Daughter of Boston - typescript novel

Box 16

Will's Reformation: A Dramatic Fantasy - typescript play (2 copies)

Box 16

Dram o' Dream - typescript play

Box 16

A Quaker Mother - typescript and manuscript play

Box 16

The Flower Seller - typescript novel

Box 16

Misc. notebooks

Box 16

Harcum Junior College Yearbook 1943

Box 16

Misc. poems on cities - typescript

Box 16

Mustard Magill - manuscript novel

Box 16

Misc. poems and 'Lyrics and Songs' - typescript

Publications with poems by CWS

Box 17

Presbyterian Life "The Animal's Paradise" p.24 9/15/1963

Box 17

The Stratford Magazine "A Woman's Body" p.23-32 Feb 1926

Box 17

The Personalist "The Tide of Beauty" p.97-98 (removed) April 1925

Box 17

The Haverfordian "Sappho LII" p.128 Dec. 1901

Box 17

The Forum "The Meeting of Christ and Pan: An Easter Ballad" (reprint) April 1924

Box 17

The Bellman "Zuloaga" p.681 6/21/19

Box 17

Germantowne Crier "From Wissahickon Park on a Drab – Afternoon in Early Summer' p.54 and "Golden Blizzard" by – Lisl Stork May 1962

Box 17

Theater Arts Monthly "Actor to playwright" p. 818 (only – title page and poem) Nov 1929

Box 17

The Lyric "Re-Consecration" p.2 Nov 1924

Box 17

The Lyric "To a Turkey Buzzard" p.7 Feb 1925

Box 17

The American Soroptimist "Song in March" p.2 March 1994

Box 17

The Sonnet "The Source of Beauty" p.1 1919

Box 17

Loose poems "To Joseph Sevem" and "Love and Life"

Publications with translations by CWS

Box 17

The Wave "Communion" p.53 Christmas 1922

Box 17

Poetry "The Wooden Castle" p.145-149 (2 copies) June 1923

Box 17

The Orpheus Club "Sea Song" p.11 12/10/30

Box 17

Poetry "Father, Where do Wild Swans Go?" p.73 Nov 1922

Box 17

The American Scandinavian Review "Via Media" p.674 Nov 1922

Box 17

The American Scandinavian Review "The Blunder – Sonata" p.552 Sept 1931

Box 17

The Choir Leader "We Worship Thee" p.10 Sept 1958

Publications with Reference to CWS

Box 17

Contemporary Verse, back cover Aug 1916

Box 17

Play and Poetry Shop Talk p.15 1916-1941

Box 17

American Weave p.65 June 1967

Box 17

The Franklin Inn Club p.24 1956

Box 17

The Indian P.E.N. p.122 8/1/1951

Box 17

The Horace Club (1877-1917) speech by Mr. Stork Jr. p.13-22

Publications with Articles by CWS

Box 17

"The Influence of the Popular Ballad an Wordsworth and Coleridge"

Box 17

"The Poetry of Viktor Rydberg"

Box 17

The Parish News "Philadelphianum in Art" Nov 1922

Box 17

Bonniers Månads Häften "Joseph Hergesheimer" p.16 Aug/Sept 1920

Box 17

The Nation "Frances Barton Gummere" p.109 7/26/1919

Box 17

The Gleam "A Danish Lyric for Autumn" p.12 (2 copies, - 1 with article removed) Oct 1924

Box 17

Athenaeum Annals "Of Libraries" p.1-2 Oct 1956

Box 17

"Verner Von Heidenstam" (incomplete)

Poems Published in The Diplomat

Box 17

"Whistler's Mother" p.16 May 1960

Box 17

"The Philosophic Cannibal" p.63 Feb 1961

Box 17

nothing published Sept 1961

Box 17

"Exult and Repose!" p.45 July/Aug 1964

Scandinavian Studies Magazine

Box 17

"Verse translation from the Modern Scandinavian" by CWS – p.65 (2 copies) May 1948

Box 17

Aug 1952

Box 17

May 1958

Box 17

Adventures in the Art of Teaching - typescript (incomplete)

Wisconsin Poetry Magazine

Box 17

(Mar/Apr Vol. V no. 4) "A Stone is a Person" and Cloud Intimations" by CWS p.12-13 (4 copies, 1 with poems removed)

Box 17

"The Mystic in the Grand Stand" p.4-5 (Issue 7.1) Sept/Oct 1958 (3 copies)

Box 17

"The Veil of Fog" p.31 Nov 1958 (2 copies, both with poem removed)

Box 17

June 1958

Box 17

Letter from Clara Catherine Prince: Founder and Editor

Visva-Bharati

Box 17

Visva-Bharati Quarterly – Education number 1947

Box 17

Visva-Bharati Quarterly "Gustaf Fröding: Sweden's Greatest Lyric Poet" p.290-295 Feb/April 1951

Box 17

Visva-Bharati Quarterly Summer 1958

Box 17

Visva-Bharati Bulletin No. 9 July 1946

Box 17

Visva-Bharati Bulletin No. 10 Sept 1945

Box 17

"The Lyrical poems of Hugo Von Hoffmansthal" - incomplete article by CWS (2 copies)

"Gustaf Fröding: Sweden's Greatest Lyric Poet" (2 copies)

Box 17

Incomplete story - typescript (p.5, 9-13) – American Scandian Review

Box 17

SAAR

ARCHER Magazine

Box 18

"The Life of Vision" p.51 – translation by CWS 3/24/1927 (2 copies)

Box 18

(Numbers 3 and 4) "How Father God was Snowbound" p. 16; "Symbols of the Artist" p.38 – translations by CWS 1929

Box 18

Sea and Bay – A poem: Chiefly Narrative

Visva-Bharati

Box 18

Visva-Bharati Quarterly "The Lyrical poems of Hugo Von – Hoffmansthal" p225-232 by CWS

Box 18

Visva-Bharati Bulletin No. 25 March 1946

Legal Papers

Box 18

Last Will and Testament of Charles Wharton Stork 1940

Box 18

First Codicil to Will of Charles Wharton Stork

Box 18

Deed to the Pennsylvania Co. for Insurance on Lives on Granting Annuities and Other Trustees to John Ennis

Box 18

Agreement between CWS, Pennsylvania Co. and Vivian Orleans

Box 18

Sur Account of the Pennsylvania Co. for Emma B. Stork

Box 18

Title Papers (empty folder)

Box 18

Last Will and Testament of Mary L. Wharton

Box 18

Various Agreements and Adjudications

Poetry books by other authors

Box 18

Herman Salinger

Box 18

Howard Gordon Hanson

Box 18

Florence Earle Coates

Box 18

Martin S. Allwood

Box 18

Leigh Hanes

Box 18

Lillian Elizabeth Turner

Box 18

Sanford L. Peele, Pat R. Willis and B. Tolson Willis

Box 18

Katherine Wisner McCluskey

Box 18

1 Book 1 Leaf of Emma B. Stork

Box 18

Various authors (3 volumes)

Published poems of CWS

Box 18

Delaware Tercentenary 1638-1938 "Tercentenary Hymn" p.4 "The Quarter-Deck"

Box 18

Two Christmas greetings from Christian Science Monitor

Box 18

Boston Transcript "To George Meredith" 2/15/1928

Box 18

"Mont-Saint Michel"

Box 18

"Ten Years of American Poetry"

Box 18

The Saturday Evening Post "Sketches of an Athenian" p.33 and 98

Box 18

Old Penn Weekly Review "Eminent American Poet to Lecture"

Box 18

Erica – A Modern Grand Opera

Box 18

Sweden Speaks

Box 18

Harcum Junior College Yearbook – Vibrations 1936

Memberships Lists

Box 18

Poetry Society of America

Box 18

NY Center P.E.N.

Box 18

Music scores

Box 18

5 Journals and/or notebooks

Misc. literature

Box 19

Poetry

Box 19

Clippings

Box 19

Receipts

Box 19

Drawings

Box 19

Correspondence

Programs

Box 19

"The Flower Seller" by CWS

Box 19

Sculpture Exhibition

Box 19

Society of Friends of Roerich Museum – CWS President Camegie Hall Program

Box 19

"The House That Bert Built"

Box 19

Dinner for Friends of CWS

Box 19

Harcum Junior College Commencement Exercises 1952

Box 19

"Peg o' My Heart" by CWS

Box 19

"Drawbacks" by CWS

Box 19

"Tercentenary Hymn" words by CWS

Box 19

"Time Will Tell"

Box 19

The Mermaid Club Annual Dinner - 1906

Box 19

"The Younger American Poets" - lecture Given by CWS

Box 19

The Compositions of Axel Raoul Wachtmeister

Box 19

The Browning Society of Philadelphia – Manuscript Night

Box 19

The Browning Society of Philadelphia – Author's Night

Box 19

The Browning Society of Philadelphia – 25th Annual Dramatic Performance

Box 19

1 Bank Book and 3 small Notebooks

Box 19

Published poems by CWS

Box 19

3 Newspapers about Nazi sub that halted American vessel 1939

Box 19

Fiyers and newspaper clippings regarding CWS and his work

Box 19

Published essays by CWS

Box 19

Articles, stories, and poems written or translated by CWS

Box 19

Postcards and greeting cards sent to or from CWS

Box 19

Newspaper clippings written by or about CWS

Box 19

Clippings of poetry by CWS and others

Box 19

Clippings of early WWII

Box 19

Clippings of early WWII

Box 19

Published works of CWS before 1920

Box 19

Book of drawings

Box 19

Clippings of many poems by others

Box 20

Scrapbook of several published works by CWS

Writings by CWS

Box 20

"Three Volumes of Recent Verse"

Box 20

"From Olympus to Asphalt"

Box 20

"Personality and Art"

Box 20

A Florentine Fantasy, translated from Swedish by CWS

Box 20

Grand Mothers' Name Day, translated from Swedish by CWS

Box 20

Erik Axel Karlfeldt, Swedish Home-Poet, by CWS

Box 20

Israel's Christmases, translated from Swedish by CWS

Letters and Reviews by CWS

Box 20

An Answer to Mr. D.H. Lawrence, letter

Box 20

Daylight Magic for Old and Young, review

Box 20

Authentic Mood, review

Box 20

Names and Merit, review

Box 20

Bill Boram, review

Box 20

Assorted Creams, review

Box 20

An Anticipatory Vacation, review

Box 20

First Volumes and Anthologies, review

Hot, Cold, Moist, Dry, review

Box 20

The Song of Songs, review

Box 20

Parodists and Half-Masters, review

Box 20

An Answer to Mr. D.H. Lawrence, letter

The Lady in White, translated from Swedish by CWS

Letters and reviews by CWS

Box 20

To Our Friends the Newspapers, letter

Box 20

The Silent Do We, review

Box 20

Recent Verse, review

Box 20

Here are Ladies, review

Box 20

Enameled Surfaces: A Review of 'Ship's Log' by Grace Hazard Conkling, review

Box 20

Post Millay-ism: Review of 'Frontier'by Isabel Fiske Conant, review

Box 20

The Eugenic Aesthete: Review of 'Impressions and Comments' by Havelock Ellis, review

Box 20

Review of Three poems: 'The Mirthful Lyre,' The Light Guitar,' and 'The-Laughing Muse' by Arthur Guiterman, review

Box 20

Conservatives, Volumes of Verse, review

Box 20

The Swallow Book by Ernst Toller and Ashley Dukes, review

Box 20

Volumes of verse reviewed by CWS including 'My Brother's Face,' 'Who Lightly Sips,' 'A Love Lyric,' and 'Platonic Rivals', review

Box 20

America the Fifties, review

Box 20

Volumes of Verse Reviewed by CWS 'Hot, Cold, Moist, and Dry,' 'Sign-Posts' and 'A Harp in the Winds', review

Box 20

Celestial Ardors: Review of 'Jupiter's Moons' by Gertrude Carver, review

Box 20

Poetic Volumes Reviewed by CWS, 'Helen and Others,' and 'Poems,' review

Poems by CWS

Box 20

The Crown and the Rose

Box 20

November Twilight

Box 20

The Surface

Box 20

Progression

Box 20

A Truth Song

Box 20

The Sleeping Cherub

Box 20

The Recompense

Box 20

To a Penitent

Box 20

Dependence

Box 20

Marc Amoris

Poems Reviews by CWS

Box 20

Loves and Losses of Pierrot

Box 20

The poems of Adelaide Manola

Box 20

Harvest

Box 20

Letter sent from Mirror Lake, Essex County New York

Box 20

Music in Industry: A Dramatic Sketch

Box 20

Several poems by Charles Winship

Box 20

On Board Old Ironsides: An Epic by CWS

Box 20

Glimpses of the Far East - collection of poems

Box 20

Mustard Magill, A World Series Idyll - novel by CWS

Box 20

A Dancer in a Gage - story by CWS

Box 20

King Ardamenes - long poem

Box 20

NAVPAC: An Epic of the U.S. Navy

Box 20

Sea and Bay - poem

Box 20

Misc. poems

Box 20

The White Top Festival - manuscript story

Box 20

Falstaff on Broadway – one act play - last page is manuscript

Box 20

The Shudder in "Don Giovanni" - translation

Box 20

Letter, unknown author or recipient

Box 20

Misc. fragments

Box 20

Several poems on Burlington Hotel (London) note paper - manuscript

Rapture Song
Song City
I Live Two Lives
The Reconciliation
The Buccaneer of Beauty
I Do Not Sail Alone
To a Laughter Sprite

Box 20

Misc. poems

Box 20

Misc. poems

Box 20

Have Faith, America - musical score; words by CWS, music by G.F. Stork

Box 20

Misc. poems and fragments

Box 20

John Hall Wheelock, American Poet - essay

Several short stories or essays by CWS

Box 20

Personal Impressions of Bernard Shaw

Box 20

Gustaf Fröding – Sweden's Greatest Lyric Poet

Box 20

With a Mouth Organ

Box 20

A Petal on a Lonely Path

Box 20

The Baffled Grouch

Box 20

Poems, possibly by Stephen Boylan Bird

Box 20

Misc. poems (some in Swedish/Scandinavian)

Box 20

Terpsichores Lund (in Swedish)

Box 20

Calantha – A Dramatic Idyll

Box 20

Three Episodes in the Life of Ninon - novel

Box 20

Lighthouse Ledge - novel

Box 20

Misc. poems, fragments and translations

Music scores

Box 20

Tercentenary Hymn

Box 20

Hark, Hark the Lark

Box 20

Let There be Light

Box 20

My Father

Box 20

Two Songs: Tempting Waves, Lullaby

Box 20

United We Stand

Box 20

Prelude

Box 20

The Twenty-Third Psalm

Box 20

Father's Beauty

Box 20

Victory March

Box 20

The Soul of the Universe

Box 20

College Days (?)

Poems by CWS

Box 21

The Pianist as Mystic

Box 21

A Painter's Christ

Box 21

Grass Roots

Box 21

The Sentries – a True Incident of the War

Box 21

The Mystic in the Grand Stand

Box 21

For Cynthia

Box 21

The Ballad of Mir Magbool Sherwani, A Modern Kashmiri Ballad

Box 21

Several short poems by CWS

Box 21

Man Brutes

Box 21

Short poems

Box 21

Poems by CWS

Box 21

The Dance is Unity

Box 21

A Tribute to Walt

Box 21

Of Cats and Dogs

Box 21

A Treasure Box

Box 21

The Triumph of Love

Box 21

For a National Poetry Day

Box 21

The Touchstone

Box 21

Several short poems by CWS

Poems by CWS

Box 21

Apologia

Box 21

Portrait of a Centenarian

Box 21

Several short poems by CWS

Box 21

The Head of McClain - poem

Box 21

Toby - long poem

Box 21

Erasmus - poem

Box 21

Small address and notebook

Poems by CWS

Box 21

A Rose Confesses

Box 21

To Stones from a New England Beach

Box 21

Thought and Negation

Box 21

Out of the Dark – a Three-Act play

Box 21

Several short poems by CWS

Box 21

Tagore's International College - short story

Box 21

Several short poems by CWS

Box 21

What is Originality: An Adventure in Criticism - essay

Poems translated from Swedish by CWS

Box 21

Since I'm Born

Box 21

Song to Salome

Box 21

The Cachuca

Box 21

The Night Wind

Box 21

piece from 'Moonlight Night'

Box 21

The Triumph of Love - poem

Poems translated from Swedish by CWS

Box 21

Rest We Beside the Spring Here

Box 21

Yes, You are Heavy, but my Love is Strong

Box 21

The Nixie to the Girl

Box 21

The Laboring Brother

Box 21

Brother and Sister

Box 21

To the Night Wind

Box 21

Nameless and Immortal

Box 21

Several short poems by CWS

Box 21

Short biography of Frances Barton Gummere

Box 21

Poems and contents page by CWS

Box 21

Short poems

Box 21

The Tales of Ensign Stal - book of poems translated from Swedish by CWS

Box 21

Ninon - play in two acts

Box 21

The Egoist - comedy in four acts

Box 21

Falstaff on Broadway - play

Box 21

Shy Adventurer - novel

Box 21

Ode to Sanity

Box 21

The King of Thule

Box 21

The Ballad of Maqbool Sherwani

Box 21

Muckle-Mouthed Meg, a Parable on an Old Story

Box 21

Flying Fish: An Ode - poem

Box 21

London - poem

Box 21

For Americans Mainly, a Moving Picture with Reflections by CWS

Box 21

Memories of England - poems

Box 21

Several short poems by CWS

A Changeling Transformed: A Review of 'The People of Japan' by Pearl Buck - review

Box 21

Several short poems by CWS

Box 21

Poems and reviews by CWS

Box 21

Poems and reviews by CWS

Box 21

Several short poems by CWS

Box 21

Several short poems by CWS

Box 21

A Hint from the Birds

Box 21

The Nails

Box 21

The Man in Front of Me

Photographs (1993 accession)

Box 22

Miscellaneous

Writings (1993 accession)

Box 23

Shy Adventurer - typescript autobiographical novel (2 copies)

Box 23

The Vineyard and the Sea - published book

Box 23

Glimpses of Our Von Pausinger Heritage - published book

Box 23

Misc. writings

Box 23

Books by Lisl Stork

Box 23a

Misc. writings

Correspondence (1993 accession)

Box 24-26

Family

Box 27

Miscellaneous, unidentified

Correspondence-subject files (1993 accession)

Box 28

Ackerman, Barbara

Box 28

Albertson, Charles C.

Box 28

Aldington, Hilda

Box 28

Aldis, Dorothy

Box 28

Aldis, Mary

Box 28

Allen, Frederick Lewis

Box 28

Allen, Hervey

Box 28

Allinson, Francis G.

Box 28

Allwood, Martin Samuel

Box 28

American Scandinavian Foundation

Box 28

Atherton, Percy Lee

Box 28

The Atlantic Monthly

Box 28

Aughiltree, Ruth

Box 28

Auslander, Joseph

Box 28

Austin, Mary Hunter

Box 28

Avery, Claribel Weeks

Box 28

B (2 folders)

Box 28

Bacon, Leonard

Box 28

Bates, Katharine Lee

Box 28

Beebe, William

Box 28

Bell, Ralcy Husted

Box 28

Bellows, Henry Adams

Box 28

Benet, Stephen Vincent

Box 28

Benet, William Rose

Box 28

Benson, Adolph B.

Box 28

Betts, Anna Whelan

Box 28

Bickham, Martin Hays

Box 28

Biddle, Katherine

See Chapin, Katherine Garrison

Box 28

Bimboni, Alberto

Box 28

Bird, Robert Lee

See Bird, Stephen Moylan

Box 28

Bird, Stephen Moylan

Box 28

Bispham, David Scull

Box 28

Black, MacKnight

Box 28

Blyth, Edward

Box 28

Bodenheim, Maxwell

Box 28

The Bookman

Box 28

Bradford, Gamaliel

Box 28

Braithwaite, William Stanley

Box 28

Briggs, LeBaron Russell

Box 28

Brinton, Christian

Box 28

Brooke, Tucker

Box 28

Brooks, Van Wyck

Box 28

Brown, Abbie Farwell

Box 28

Bryce, James Bryce

Box 28

Buchanan, Annabel Morris

Box 28

Buck, Pearl S.

Box 28

Burt, Maxwell Struthers

Box 28

Bynner, Wtter

Box 29

C (2 folders)

Box 29

Carpenter, Edward Childs

Box 29

Carpenter, Rhys

Box 29

Carroll, Ellen M.

Box 29

Carver, Gertrude Nason

Box 29

Champness, Patricia

Box 29

Chapin, Katherine Garrison

Box 29

Coates, Florence Earle

Box 29

Coatsworth, Elizabeth Jane

Box 29

Coblentz, Stanton Arthur

Box 29

Comfort, William Wister

Box 29

Conkling, Grace Hazard

Box 29

Cook, Amory Hare

Box 29

Cunningham, Nora B.

Box 29

Daingerfield, Elliott

Box 29

Dale, Virginia

Box 29

Dalton, Power

Box 29

Dana, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Box 29

Dargan, Olive Tilford

Davidson, Gustav

See Poetry Society of America

Box 29

Davies, Mary Carolyn

Dell, Floyd

See The Masses

Box 29

The Dial

Box 29

Dole, Nathan Haskell

Box 29

Douglas, Hugh A.

Box 29

Draper, John W.

Box 29

Dresbach, Glenn Ward

Box 29

Driscoll, Louise

Box 29

DuPont, Marcella Miller

Box 30

Eastman, Max

Box 30

Eliot, Ethel Cook

Box 30

Eliot, Samuel Atkins

Box 30

England, George Allan

Box 30

Erskine, John

Box 30

Everybody's Magazine

Box 30

Ewing, Amy

Box 30

Farrar, John

Box 30

Ferargil

Box 30

Ficke, Arthur Davison

Box 30

Fitzmaurice-Kelly, James

Box 30

The Forum

Box 30

Foster, Ethel

Box 30

Fox, Mary Lindley

Box 30

Francke, Kuno

Box 30

Frederick, John T.

Box 30

Samuel French, Inc.

Box 30

Frothingham, Robert

Box 30

Galahad, Joseph Andrew

Box 30

Galsworthy, John

Box 30

Garber, Daniel

Box 30

Garnett, Louise Ayers

Box 30

Gessier, Clifford

Box 30

Gest, John Marshall

Box 30

Ginsberg, Louis

Box 30

Glasgow, Ellen

Box 30

Goodwin, Henry Buergel

Box 30

Grant, Percy Stickney

Box 30

Gray, Agnes Kendrick

Box 30

Griffith, Beatrice Fox

Box 30

Guiterman, Arthur

Box 30

Gummere, Francis Barton

Box 30

Gummere, Richard M.

Box 31

Hagedorn, Hermann

Box 31

Haley, Molly Anderson

Box 31

Hall, Amanda Benjamin 1918-1950, undated (10 folders)

Box 32

Hall, Hazel

Box 32

Hallowell, Harriet Hall

Box 32

Hambro, Carl Joachim

Box 32

Hammond, Eleanor

Box 32

Hancock, Walker

Box 32

Hanes, Leigh

Box 32

Haverford College

Box 32

Hearst, James

Box 32

Hergesheimer, Joseph

Box 32

Heyward, DuBose

Box 32

Hird, Frank

Box 32

Hoffman, Phoebe

Box 32

Hoge, Dorothy Anderson

Box 32

Hoisington, May Folwell

Box 32

Holme, Jamie Sexton

Box 32

Huckfield, Leyland

Box 32

Inman, Arthur

Box 32

Jackinson, Alex (agent)

Box 32

Jenkins, Charles Francis

Box 32

Jennings, Leslie Nelson

Box 32

Johnson, Edith Warner

Box 32

Johnson, Ida Judith

Box 32

Johnson, Josephine

Box 32

Johnson, Julia Davis

Box 32

Johnson, Robert Underwood

Box 32

Keith, Joseph Joel

Box 32

Kelly, Charles Arthur

Box 32

Kendrick, Lucile

Box 32

Kenyon, Bernice Lesbia

Box 32

Kindler, Hans

Box 32

King, Ethel

Box 32

Kinsolving, Sally Bruce

Box 32

Kittredge, George Lyman

Box 32

Klapp, William H.

Box 32

Kreymborg, Alfred

Box 32

John Lane Company

Box 32

Laramore, Vivian Yeiser

Box 32

Laurin, Thorsten

Box 32

Leach, Henry Goddard

Box 32

Lee, Gerald Stanley

Box 33

Leitch, Mary Sinton

Box 33

Lewis, William Draper

Box 33

Lindabury, Richard V.

Box 33

Lindsay, Vachel

Box 33

Livesay, Florence Randal

Box 33

Long, Haniel

Box 33

Long, John Luther

Box 33

Longfellow, Herbert H.

Longstreth, Morris

See Longstreth, Thomas Morris

Box 33

Longstreth, Thomas Morris 1905-1968, undated (3 folders)

Box 33

Longstreth, William

Box 33

Lowell, Amy

Box 33

Lowry, Robert

Box 33

Lundbergh, Holger M. (2 folders)

Box 33

McCall, Virginia

Box 33

McCarter, Henry

Box 33

McCluskey, Katherine Wisner

Box 33

McCoy, Samuel Duff

Box 33

Edward MacDowell Memorial Association

Box 33

McGee, Margaret B.

Box 33

Mackaye, Percy

Box 33

McKenzie, Ethel and Robert Tait

Box 33

Maclagan, Eric Robert Dalrymple

Box 33

MacLeish, Archibald

Box 33

Macmillan Company

Box 33

Mahler, Alma

Box 33

Markham, Anna Catherine

Box 33

Markham, Lucia Clark

Box 33

Marks, Jeannette Augustus

Box 33

Masefield, John

Box 33

The Masses

Meigs, Margaret Wister

See Wister, Margaret

Box 33

Mencken, H. L.

Box 33

Middleton, Scudder

Box 33

Mitchell Kennerley, Publisher

Box 33

Montgomery, Roselle Mercier

Box 34

Moreland, John Richard

Box 34

Morley, Christopher

Box 34

Morris, Harrison S.

Box 34

Morris, Kenneth

Box 34

Morton, David

Box 34

Mowrer, Paul Scott

Box 34

Mukerji, Dhan Gopal

Box 34

Murphy, Charles R.

Box 34

Myers, Albert Cook

Box 34

The Nation

Box 34

Nevin, Hardwick (2 folders)

Box 34

Newton, A. Edward

Box 34

Nickerson, Paul Sumner 1922-1958, undated (2 folders)

Box 34

Nimitz, Chester W.

Box 34

Novak, Sonia Ruthele 1918-1926, undated (3 folders)

Box 34

Nutter, Medora Addison

Box 34

Oakley, Thornton

Box 34

O'Conor, Norreys Jephson

Box 34

Olsen, Charles

Box 34

Olson, Ted

Box 34

O'Sheel, Shaemas

Box 35

P (3 folders)

Box 35

Page, Curtis Hidden

Box 35

Page, Dorothy 1921-1945, undated (3 folders)

Box 35

Pageant Press

Box 35

Palmer, George Herbert

Box 35

Parrish, Maxfield

Box 35

Patterson, Antoinette

Box 35

Patterson, Marjorie

Box 35

Peel, Robert P.E.N.

Box 35

Penniman, Josiah Harmar

Box 35

Percy, Wlliam Alexander

Box 35

Pfeiffer, Edward H.

Box 35

Phelps, William Lyon

Box 35

Pinder, Frances Dickenson

Box 35

Poetry

Box 35

Poetry Society of America

Box 35

Porcher, Mary F. Wckham

Box 35

Post, Chandler Rathfon

Box 35

Pound, Ezra

Price, Frederic Newlin

See Ferargil

Box 36

Rains, Claude

Box 36

Rathbone, Basil

Box 36

Ravenel, Beatrice St. Julian

Box 36

Reese, Lizette Woodworth

Box 36

Ribbing, Martha 1920-1950, undated (10 folders)

Box 36

Rittenhouse, Jessie Belle

Box 36

Ritter, Margaret Tod

Box 36

Roberts, Mary Eleanor

Box 36

Robinson, Edwin Arlington

Box 36

Robinson, Henry Morton

Box 36

Roe, Robert J.

Box 36

Roerich Museum

Box 36

Rolvaag, O. E.

Box 36

Rosenberg, Solomon

Box 36

Ryan, Kathryn White

Box 37

S (2 folders)

Box 37

Sarett, Lew

Box 37

Sargent, Mary

Box 37

The Saturday Review

Box 37

Saul, George Brandon

Box 37

Schauffler, Robert Haven

Box 37

Schelling, Felix Emanuel

Box 37

Seiffert, Marjorie Allen

Box 37

Shaw, Bernard

Box 37

Sinclair, Upton

Box 37

Sinkler, Caroline

Box 37

Skinner, Constance Lindsay

Box 37

Skinner, Otis and Maud

Box 37

The Smart Set

Box 37

Smith, Alice Ravenel Huger

Box 37

Smith, Chard Powers

Box 37

Smith, May Riley

Box 37

Spencer, Lilian White

Box 37

Speyer, Leonora

Box 37

Spiers, Alexander Guy Holbern

Box 37

Stillman, Mildred Whitney

Box 37

Stokowski, Leopold

Box 37

Storey, Violet Allyn

Box 37

Stork, Theophilus Baker 1906-1932, undated (2 folders)

Box 38

Summers, Elizabeth Montgomery

Box 38

Summers, Hazel Thane 1918-1932, undated (3 folders)

Box 38

Taylor, Elkanah East

Box 38

Teasdale, Sara

Box 38

Thayer, Georgiana

Box 38

Thayer, Mary Dixon

Box 38

Thayer, William R.

Box 38

Towles, Alice Otis Bird

See Bird, Stephen Moylan

Box 38

Tumbull, Margaret

Box 38

Turner, Lillian Elizabeth

Box 38

Untermeyer, Louis

Box 38

Van Slyke, Berenice

Box 38

Victor, Josephine

Box 38

Viereck, George Sylvester

Box 38

Vinal, Harold

Box 38

The Virginia Quarterly Review

Box 39

W (2 folders)

Box 39

Wachtmeister, Axel Raoul

Box 39

Wagenar, Bernard

Box 39

Wallace, Emma Gray

Box 39

Washburn, Oliver M.

Box 39

Washington, H. Wyatt

Box 39

Wattles, Willard Austin

Box 39

Weil, James L.

Box 39

Welch, Catharine

Box 39

Welles, Winifred

Box 39

Wheelock, John Hall

Box 39

Whibley, Leonard

Box 39

White, Barbara Ackerman

See Ackerman, Barbara

Box 39

Whiteside, Mary Brent

Box 39

Widdemer, Margaret

Box 39

Wilkinson, Marguerite Ogden Bigelow

Box 39

Williams, Oscar

Box 39

Wilson, John French

Box 39

Wister, Margaret

Box 39

Wister, Owen

Box 39

Wood, Clement

Box 39

Wrinn, Mary J. J.

Box 39

The Yale Review

Box 39

Yeats, William Butler

Box 39

Young, Ruth Comfort Mitchell

Box 39

Yale University Press

Return to top

Collection inventory

Table of Contents