Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Subhan, John A.
Title:	John A. Subhan Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1939-1966
Quantity:	3.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the Methodist clergyman; born a Muslim in Calcutta in 1899. Collection includes correspondence, manuscript articles, and clippings about a Methodist bishop in India.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

John A. Subhan was born August 8, 1899 in Calcutta, India into a Muslim home, and his early education was in that faith. When he was 11 years old he converted to Christianity and later attended English schools in India. He graduated from Allahabad University in 1923 and went on to earn a B.D. degree in 1931 from Serampore College. In 1962 he received an honorary D.D. degree from Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore, Kentucky and another that same year from Serampore College. Subhan taught at St. Peter's College at Agra, the Methodist Theological Seminary at Bareilly, and at the Henry Martyn Institute of Islamic Studies. From 1957-1964 he served as Bishop of the Hyderabad Area. After retiring, Subhan moved to Boston and taught theology at Boston University. He and his wife, Dorothy Sinclair Day, had three children.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John A. Subhan Papers include biographical material, correspondence, manuscripts, and published material. Correspondence consists of incoming and outgoing correspondence from individuals and organizations in India and elsewhere. Subject files consists of material on various topics, including Anglo-Indian schools, charges against Bishop Subhan, christian marriage, Hyderabad Conference, and Protestantism. Manuscripts contains manuscripts of articles. Published material consists of a newspaper clipping and a newsletter.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Manuscripts and Published material are arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John A. Subhan Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: Apr 1967
Revision history: 11 Jul 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		A 1948, 1958-1960, 1965, 1966
Box 1		Ali, Syed Hadi 1959
Box 1		American Express Co., Inc. 1960, 1962, 1963, undated
Box 1		Arabindo, Bishop 1961
Box 1		B 1947, 1949, 1950, 1958-1961, 1963, 1964
Box 1		Balarem, Rt. Rev. Bishop P.C.B. 1964-1966
Box 1		Baldwin Boys' High School 1948, 1951, 1959, 1960-1964
Box 1		Bhajjan, Dr. S.V. 1962, 1965
Box 1		Bidar District Situation 1959-1961
Box 1		Bombay Conference 1946-1950, 1954, 1955
Box 1		Bryant, H. Noel 1959, 1960
Box 1		C 1948, 1958, 1959-1966
Box 1		Christian Book Centre 1961-1963
		Church Union
Box 1			Calcutta 1962
Box 1			Foreign 1959, 1961
Box 2			Miscellaneous 1944, 1947, 1953-1958, 1960-1963
Box 2		Council of Evangelism, Mission to Fiji 1962, 1963
Box 2		D 1947, 1948, 1959, 1960, 1962-1964
Box 2		David, Rev. M. 1957, 1963-1966
Box 2		Douglas, Ian 1964-1966, undated
Box 2		Durrani, Rev. M.H. 1944, 1948, 1950, 1959-1963
Box 2		F 1947, 1959
		Foreign
Box 2			1957-1959
Box 2			1960
Box 3			1961
Box 3			1962
Box 3			1961-1962
Box 3			1963
Box 3			1964, undated
Box 3			Miscellaneous 1957, 1962
Box 3		Franklyn, T.B. 1963, 1965
Box 3		G 1956, 1959, 1963-1966
Box 3		H 1948, 1958, 1962-1966
Box 3		I 1959, 1961, 1963-1966
Box 3		J 1958, 1961, 1962, 1964, 1965
Box 3		Job, H. 1960
Box 3		Jones, E. Stanley 1954, undated
Box 3		Jones, Mr. and Mrs. Frank L. 1958, 1959, 1961
Box 3		Jones, Mrs. L. Bevan 1959, 1960
Box 3		Joshua, Rev. O. 1953, 1958, 1963-1965, undated
Box 3		K 1947, 1958, 1960, 1964, 1965
Box 3		Karodi, Rev. J.P. 1959
Box 4		L 1947, 1954, 1957-1959, 1962-1966
Box 4		Lacey, Henry A. 1962-1965, undated
Box 4		Leonard Theological College 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964-1966, undated
		Local
			Incoming
Box 4				A-Y 1957, 1958, 1963-1965
Box 4				Methodist Church 1963, 1965
Box 4				Unidentified 1959, 1961, 1963, 1965
			Outgoing
Box 4				1956, 1958-1961, 1963-1965, undated
Box 4		Lucknow Publishing Co. 1959, 1961
Box 4		M 1949, 1950, 1959-1966
Box 4		Mathews, James K. 1952, 1953, 1957-1960
Box 4		Mehrotra, B.N. 1965
Box 4		Mission Hospital Court Case, Bidar I and II 1959, 1960
Box 4		Nondol, Bishop S.K. 1953, 1954, 1957-1964, 1966, undated
Box 5		N 1959, 1963, 1964, 1966
Box 5		Nath, Rev. R.V. 1958-1960
Box 5		O, P, Q 1948, 1954, 1959-1961, 1963-1966
Box 5		Paul, Rev. E.B. 1957-1959, 1962-1963
Box 5		Priestly, Bishop E. 1960, 1961, 1964, 1965
Box 5		R 1948, 1956, 1959, 1962-1966
Box 5		Raines, Richard C. 1963-1965
Box 5		Reddy, E.C. 1957-1959, 1960-1962
Box 5		S 1939, 1948, 1950, 1952, 1956, 1958, 1959, 1961-1966
Box 5		Short, Bishop Roy H. 1961, 1962, 1964-1966
		Singh, Bishop Mangel
Box 5			I, II and III 1959-1964
Box 5			1959, 1962-1966, undated
Box 6		Subhan, Eunice 1966
Box 6		Sudershanam, Ratna 1959-1961, 1965
Box 6		Sully, Ven'ble Dr. T.D. 1958, 1959, 1961, 1964
Box 6		Sumitra, Rev. H. 1958, 1960, 1961
Box 6		Sundarem, Bishop 1958-1965, undated
Box 6		T 1948, 1949, 1961, 1964, 1966
Box 6		Taylor, Bishop Prince A. 1965
Box 6		Tewarson, S.B. 1962-1965, undated
Box 6		U, V 1949, 1958, 1964, 1966
Box 6		W, Z 1952, 1959, 1960, 1964, 1966
Box 6		Whittaker, Rt. Rev. Frank 1958
Box 6		Wicke, Bishop Lloyd C. 1964, 1965
Box 6		Williams, Mrs. E.W. 1959
Box 6		World Council of Churches 1963, 1965, 1966
Box 6		Unidentified 1957, 1958, 1962, 1963

	Subject files
Box 7		Anglo-Indian Schools 1959, 1962, 1963
Box 7		Bills, receipts 1959, 1965
Box 7		Charges against Bishop Subhan 1962
Box 7		Christian marriages 1964
Box 7		Church Union 1949, 1953-1955, 1957, 1959, 1961
Box 7		Hyderabad Conference undated
Box 7		Legal documents (copies) 1959, 1964
Box 7		Meetings, minutes and programs 1958, 1960, 1962, 1964, 1966
Box 7		Methodist Boys School, Hyderabad 1961
Box 7		Methodist missions 1961, 1963
Box 7		Protestantism family tree
Box 7		Reports 1957-1959, 1961, 1964, undated
Box 7		Schedules 1947

	Manuscripts
Box 7		Articles on church union undated
Box 7		Articles, general

	Published material
Box 7		Newsletter 1964
Box 7		Newspaper clippings about Subhan 1959

Return to top