Collection inventory

Biographical History

John Tagliabue (1923-2006) was an American poet and playwright. Born in Italy, Tagliabue came with his family to the United States while still a child. He studied English at Columbia University where his fellow students inluded Allen Ginsberg and Jack Kerouac, and over his career received six Fulbright fellowships which he spent in Italy, China, Japan, and Indonesia. He taught for more than 35 years (1953-1989) at Bates College in Lewiston, Maine, where he actively recruited notable poets like Denise Levertov and Stephen Sender to speak, and where he founded and presided over the "United Nations of Poetry," an informal gathering of students to read the poetry of others and their own work. He is the author of several books of poetry, including New and Selected Poems, 1942-1997 (National Poetry Foundation, 1998).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Tagliabue Papers comprise seventeen series, most of which are self-explanatory:

• Correspondence
• Correspondence, publicity and reviews
• Drama
• Essays
• Journals
• Lists of published work
• Miscellaneous
• Newspaper clippings
• Notebooks
• Poetry
• Poetry readings
• Portrait
• Published material
• Short stories
• Tapes
• Thesis
• Reviews

Correspondence, publicity and reviews contains material relating to Tagliabue's published books; the folder for The Buddha Uproar contains biographical material. Copies of Tagliabue's published books are located in Published material. Newspaper clippings contains articles of a general nature about Tagliabue and his work, as well as a review of the Mario Puppet Exhibit at Bates College, which included several collaborations between him and his wife, artist Grace Tagliabue.

There are numerous later accessions that have not been processed and are not yet open to researchers. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically by year; Correspondence, publicity and reviews is arranged alphabetically by title. Journals, Notebooks, and Poetry are arranged chronologically by the earliest year according to the groupings established by Tagliabue. Items with a title but no date are arranged alphabetically. Selections with neither a title nor a date are in "Undated" folders.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Tagliabue Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KBP
Date: Aug 1978
Revision history: 2 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Return to top