Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Thatcher, Henry Knox, 1806-1880. |
| Title: | Henry K. Thatcher Letterbook |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1867-1868 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume. |
| Abstract: | Letterbook of an American naval officer. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Henry Knox Thatcher (1806-1880) was an admiral in the United States Navy who served during the American Civil War. He commanded the blockade of Mobile, Alabama, and on 10 May 1865, accepted the surrender of the Confederate Naval Forces in the waters of Alabama. Two ships were named after him (USS Thatcher, launched 1918, and USS Thatcher, launched 1942).
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Henry K. Thatcher Letterbook consists of one volume, a letterbook. Included are copies of letters, circulars and general orders relating to the administration of the North Pacific Squadron and containing information on relations with the government of Hawaii, voyages of ships to Alaska, and courts-martial of men under Thatcher's command.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Henry K. Thatcher Letterbook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 1967
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 12 Apr 2010
Revision history: 17 Oct 2018 - rehoused (MS)