Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Tintype, unidentified |
| Inclusive Dates: | late 1880s to early 1900s? |
| Quantity: | 1 item (SC) |
| Abstract: | Tintype of unidentified building, possibly large hotel, with Black and white individuals standing outside it |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
A tintype, also known as a melainotype or ferrotype, is a photograph made by creating a direct positive on a thin sheet of metal coated with a dark lacquer or enamel and used as the support for the photographic emulsion. Tintypes were most widespread during the 1860s and 1870s, being cheap, easy, and fast to produce.
The original owner of this particular tintype was Charles E. Williams, who received a bachelor's and master’s degrees from Syracuse University School of Forestry in the late 1930s.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
This Tintype, unidentified, is a rear view of a large three-story building and grounds (possibly a school, hotel, or resort), with 20-30 Black and white men and women standing in and around the building.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Tintype, unidentified,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of John Fuller, on behalf of Dr. Patricia Williams.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 21 Feb 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| SC 882 | Tintype, unidentified late 1880s to early 1900s? | ||||||||||
| This tintype shows a rear view of a large three-story building. Clearly designed to house many residents, it could be a hotel, resort, school, sanatorium, convent, or planned/utopian community. The lower story is of brick, the upper white or light-colored wood siding. Several staircases lead up to various entrances, and a balcony stretches across the center of the second floor. On the right the building has a small windowed tower, possibly a bell tower. A long walkway that appears to be made of planks runs from bottom center, up through a wide grassy area planted with young trees, to the main staircase. Standing on the stairs and balcony, in the grassy area and doorways, and at the windows are twenty or thirty people (mostly women), some Black and some white. It is unclear whether they are guests, residents, staff, or a combination of all three. | |||||||||||