Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Vann Family Photograph Album |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1860s |
| Quantity: | 1 volume |
| Abstract: | Small photo album, velvet covers with metal fittings, with posed portrait photographs of men, women, and children |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Samuel R. Vann and Catherine Goodwin Vann of the Town of Ulysses, Tompkins County, New York. Irving Goodwin Vann (1842-1921), son of Samuel and Catherine Vann, was a prominent lawyer in Syracuse, New York and served as Mayor of Syracuse (1879-1880), Associate Justice of the New York State Supreme Court (1880-1895), and Associate Justice of the New York State Court of Appeals (1896-1912).
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Vann Family Photograph Album consists of a small (6" x 5" x 2") photograph album containing 30 photographs of the family of Samuel R. Vann and Catherine Goodwin Vann of Ulysses, New York. Printed information on the verso of the images identifies studios and photographers from New York (Ithaca, Brooklyn), Ohio, and several other states.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Vann Family Photograph Album,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unknown.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 8 Jun 2023
Revision history: 4 Oct 2024 - bioghist updated (MRC)
Inventory
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Photograph album circa 1830-1870 | ||||||||||
| A small (6" x 5" x 2") photograph album with posed portrait photographs of men, women, and children. The album has reddish brown velvet covers with brass fittings and a blank brass heraldic plate on the front cover. Apart from the first photograph, which is labeled "Samuel R. Vann," none of the images are identified. Location(s) are also unknown; information on the verso includes photographers and studios in New York (Ithaca, Brooklyn), Ohio, and other places. | |||||||||||