Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Viereck, Peter, 1916-2006. |
| Title: | Peter Viereck Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1904-1966 |
| Bulk Dates: | 1963-1965 |
| Quantity: | 0.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | American poet and conservative theorist. Collection contains correspondence and manuscripts of his poetry. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Peter Viereck (1916-2006) was an American Pulitzer Prize-winning poet, historian, and conservative theorist, widely considered one of the founders of the American conservative movement. Viereck graduated from Harvard University, served as an Army intelligence analyst during World War II, and was a professor of history at Mount Holyoke College for many years.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Peter Viereck Papers consists of correspondence and writings.
Correspondence sonsistes of two incoming letters.
Writings consists of handwritten worksheets and handwriten and typed drafts of poems for a five-poem cycle entitled "Some walks on the edge." The vast majority of these are photocopies.
Arrangement of the Collection
Material within each series is in roughly chronological order.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Peter Viereck Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Manuscripts, gift of Peter Viereck, 1965. Correspondence, purchase, 1966.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2010
Revision history: 23 Jul 2024 - processed (MRC)
Inventory
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Incoming 1904, 1910 | ||||||||||
| Poems | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Some walks on the edge 1963-1965 - worksheets (8 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Some walks on the edge [1966] - drafts (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Some walks on the edge [1966] - final version | ||||||||||
| Five poems: I. Stairs to the sea II. The race is almost meaningful III. A wreath for a plunge IV. More than wings can bear V. Counter-walk, reversals |
|||||||||||