Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Jenkins, C. Francis (Charles Francis), 1867-1934 |
| Title: | Vision by Radio Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1922-1927 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Book Vision by Radio, and two original photographs, among the earliest transmitted by radio |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Charles Francis Jenkins (1867-1934) was an early American television and motion picture pioneer. In 1894 he gave what was probably the first live-action film screening in front of an audience using his own invention, the Phantoscope. He later shifted his focus to television, giving the first public demonstration of the transmission of images by "wireless" in June of 1925. In 1928, the Jenkins Television Corporation opened the first television broadcasting station in the U.S., W3XK in Maryland.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Vision by Radio Collection consists of a first edition of Charles Francis Jenkins' book Vision By Radio (1925), signed and inscribed by the author, and two original radio-transmitted images created at Jenkins Laboratories during the development and testing of Jenkins' process.
Arrangement of the Collection
Bound volume with two loose items laid inside the front cover.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Vision by Radio Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2021.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 20 Feb 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| Miscellaneous | |||||||||||
| SC 884 | Book, Vision by Radio by C. Francis Jenkins 1925, 1927 - signed and inscribed by the author | ||||||||||
| SC 884 | Wire photos 1922-1923 - portrait of Sybil Almand, stamped on the back as having come from Jenkins Laboratories; a few lines of Japanese, noted on the back as "first Japanese radio message in native characters" and signed by a "Capt. Kuroda" (2 items) | ||||||||||