Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Vogue Record Company. |
| Title: | Vogue Picture Disc Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1946-1947 |
| Quantity: | 60+ discs |
| Abstract: | Collection of 78 rpm phonograph records printed with color pictures. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Vogue picture records were produced by Sav-Way Industries of Detroit, Michigan between 1946 and 1947. The first 10-inch Vogue picture record (catalog number R707) was released to the public in May 1946. Production ceased less than a year later in April 1947, with Sav-Way entering into receivership in August 1947. During this time, approximately seventy-four different 10-inch Vogue picture records were released.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Vogue Picture Disc Collection consists of phonograph records on the "Vogue" label which have a picture (an artist's
illustration) embedded in the transparent vinyl of the record. The illustrations on
each side of the record are usually related to the title of the song on that side.
The most common Vogue picture records are 10-inch, 78 RPM records, although a few
12-inch, 78 RPM Vogue picture records were also produced.
[Description adapted from the website of the Association of Vogue Picture Record Collectors (AVPRC) at http://www.voguepicturerecords.org.]
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Vogue Picture Disc Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
See catalog records for donor information.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: PJM
Date: 22 Sep 2011
Revision history: 1 May 2019 - updated to reflect items are cataloged (MRC)
Inventory
The entire collection has been cataloged. Please refer to Libraries Search and search for "Vogue" in the Call Number to locate items.