Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Administrative Information

Inventory

Correspondence-agencies and boards

Correspondence-general and business

Council of Bishops

Dakotas

Elections

Illinois

McKendree

Miscellaneous

Sermons

Simpson College

printer friendly version

Edwin Edgar Voigt Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Voigt, Edwin Edgar, 1892-
Title: Edwin Edgar Voigt Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1932-1963
Quantity: 7.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American Methodist clergyman and educator. Correspondence, general files, material related to the Council of Bishops, and manuscript sermons (1932-1963).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Edwin Edgar Voigt (1892-1977) was an American Methodist clergyman and educator. He received a BS (1917) and MA (1922) from Northwestern University; a BD (1921) and DD (1942) from Garrett Bible Institute in Evanston, Illinois; and a PhD from Yale University in 1924. After teaching at both Northwestern University and the Garrett Bible Institute, Voigt served as an associate pastor at the First Methodist Church of Evanston, Illinois from 1932 to 1936. From 1936 to 1942, he was pastor of the First Methodist Church and director of the Wesley Foundation in Iowa City. He became president of Simpson College in 1942. In 1952 he resigned from Simpson and was elected a bishop of the Methodist Church, serving in the Dakota Area district 1952-1960 and the Illinois Area 1960-1964. From 1964 to 1968 he was president of McKendree College in Lebanon Illinois. He was also the author of several books including Biblical Hebrew for Beginners and Methodist Worship in the Church Universal.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edwin Edgar Voigt Papers are arranged in ten categories.

Correspondence-agencies and boards contains items from the various administrative boards and committees Voigt served on, including the Wesley Foundation.

Correspondence-general and business contains other correspondence.

Council of Bishops contains correspondence with other Methodist bishops.

Dakotas contains items from Voigt's time as bishop of the Dakota Area.

Elections contains correspondence related to his election as a Methodist bishop.

Illinois contains items from his time as the bishop of the Illinois Area.

McKendree contains items from his time as the president of McKendree College.

Miscellaneous contains academic materials including lectures and items related to Voigt's various articles and books.

Sermons contains the text of sermons Voigt gave as pastor at Evanston and Iowa City and as bishop of the Dakotas and Illinois Areas.

Simpson College contains items related to his time spent as President of Simpson College.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Subjects in each category are arranged alphabetically. Sermons are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Voigt, Edwin Edgar, 1892-

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Methodist Church -- Clergy.
Methodists -- United States.
Sermons, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edwin Edgar Voigt Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 10 Oct 2009 - EAD updated (LMD)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-agencies and boards
Board of Education
Box 1 Division of Higher Education Bulletin
Box 1 Division of Local Church
Box 1 Editorial Division
Box 1 John 0. Gross ministerial training
Box 1 Myron Wicks
Box 1 Theological education
Box 1 Wesley Foundation (2 folders)
Box 1 Board of Evangelism
Board of Missions
Box 1 Ashton Almond, Tres.
Box 1 Department of Town and County
Box 1 Director Department of Local Church
Box 1 Division of National Missions
Box 1 Division of World Missions
Box 1 Missionary personnel
Box 1 Women's Division of Christian Service
Box 1 Board of Pensions
Box 1 Christian Vocations Committee
Christian Vocations, Interboard Committee
Box 1 Regional meetings
Box 1 Council on World Service and Finance
Box 1 Interboard Committee on Christian Vocations
Box 1 Study Commission on Theological Education
Box 1 University Senate
Box 1 Vocations
Correspondence-general and business
Box 1 Anderson, Arlow
Box 1 Anderson, Hurst
Box 1 Approved evangelists
Box 1 B-miscellaneous
Box 1 Baker, Dr. Eric
Box 1 Baker University
Box 1 Barnett, Albert
Box 1 Bosley, Harold A.
Box 1 Bucke, Emory Stevens
Box 1 Bullis, Harry A.
Box 1 C-miscellaneous
Box 1 Centenary program
Box 1 Chambers, Arthur A.
Box 1 Church architecture
Box 1 Church, Marguerite Stitt, congresswoman
Box 1 Church Music Workshop 1961
Box 1 Church Union Committee
Box 1 D-miscellaneous
Box 1 Denman, Harry
Box 1 Dickhaut, John W.
Box 1 Dyk, Leroy
Box 1 E-miscellaneous
Box 1 Eastern Asia Trip
Box 1 F-miscellaneous
Box 1 Foreign correspondence
Box 1 G-miscellaneous
Box 1 Garrett Bible Institute
Box 1 General Conference 1968
Box 1 Georgia Pastors' School
Box 1 Goff, Charles Ray
Box 1 H-miscellaneous
Box 1 Holter Inauguration
Box 1 Hyde, Melvin W.
Box 1 Hymn Society of America
Box 1 I-miscellaneous
Box 1 Iliff School of Theology (2 folders)
India
Box 1 Central Conference 1961
Box 1 India Church Union
Box 1 Correspondence
Box 2 Itinerary 1960-1961
Box 2 Reports
Box 2 Irwin, John C.
Box 2 J-miscellaneous
Box 2 James, James
Box 2 K-miscellaneous
Box 2 Kansas
Box 2 Kendall College
Box 2 Kennedy, John F.
Box 2 Kirkpatrick, Dow Koontz
Box 2 Kresge Foundation
Box 2 L-miscellaneous
Box 2 Law, William G.
Box 2 Lee, Mrs. Y.O.
Box 2 Lindstrom, David E.
Box 2 Louisiana Pastors' School
Box 2 Lovelace, Austin C.
Box 2 M-miscellaneous
Box 2 Malaya
Box 2 Martin, Stanley H.
Box 2 Mather, James Rev.
Box 2 Methodist Story, The
Box 2 Minnesota Pastors' School
Box 2 Monohan, Sherman
Box 2 Moore, Arthur Jr.
Box 2 Morris, Sam
Box 2 Mundt, Karl E.
Box 2 N-miscellaneous
Box 2 National education
North Central Jurisdiction
Box 2 Committee on Ministerial Recruitment (2 folders)
Box 2 Jurisdictional Conference 1964
Box 2 Regional Workshop - Jacksonville
Box 2 0-miscellaneous
Box 2 Ohio Wesleyan, Pres. Lockmiller
Box 2 Older Youth Report
Box 2 P-miscellaneous
Box 2 Pennington, Chester A.
Box 2 Perkins, E. Benson
Box 2 Quillian, Joseph
Box 2 R-miscellaneous
Box 2 Rice, Allen B.
Box 2 Rodman, Earl A.
Box 2 Rural Short Course 1963
Box 2 S-miscellaneous
Box 2 Rapid City, South Dakota
Box 2 Sahai, Rev. George S.
Box 2 Sargent, Fred W.
Box 2 Seamands, David
Box 2 Shipman, Raymond M.
Box 2 Smith, Rockwell C.
Box 2 Strohl, C. Orville
Box 2 T-miscellaneous
Box 2 Teacher Training Certificates
Box 2 Thornburg, Amos A.
Box 2 Tillman, Mrs. J. Fount
Box 2 Trott, Norman L.
Box 2 U-miscellaneous
Box 2 Usman, K. M. Rev., India
Box 2 V-miscellaneous
Box 2 Virginia Pastors' School
Box 2 W-miscellaneous
Box 2 Who's Who in America
Box 2 Wiebe, Howard F.
Box 2 World Council of Churches
Box 2 World Methodist Council
Box 2 Worship and Hymnal
XYZ-Miscellaneous
Council of Bishops
Box 2 Council of Bishops
Box 2 New bishops
Box 2 Ralph T. Alton
Box 2 Hobart B. Amstutz
Box 2 Armstrong, James
Box 2 Theodore Arvidson
Box 2 James Chamberlain Baker
Box 2 Hiram Bouz
Box 2 J.W.E. Bowen
Box 2 Charles W. Brashares
Box 2 William R. Cannon
Box 2 Clair, M.W. Jr.
Box 2 D. Stanley Coors
Box 2 Kenneth Copeland
Box 2 Fred T. Corson
Box 2 Ralph Cushman
Box 2 Cana Dawson
Box 2 Roberto Elphick
Box 2 F. Ensley
Box 2 Charles W. Flint
Box 2 Eugene, M. Frank
Box 2 Paul N. Garber
Box 2 Edwin R. Garrison
Box 2 C. F. Golden
Box 3 A. Raymond Grant
Box 3 Odd Hagen
Box 3 Paul Hardin, Jr.
Box 3 N. B. Harmon
Box 3 Bishop Harman
Box 3 Costeu J. Harrell
Box 3 Bachman G. Hodge
Box 3 Ivan Lee Holt
Box 3 F.E. Kearns
Box 3 Gerald H. Kennedy
Box 3 Willis J. King
Box 3 W. Earl Ledden
Box 3 Hyungki J. Lew
Box 3 Lodger, D.E.
Box 3 Lord, J.W.
Box 3 Edgar A. Love
Box 3 J. Ralph MaGee
Box 3 Paul E. Martin
Box 3 W.C. Martin
Box 3 James K. Matthews
Box 3 W. Vernon Middleton
Box 3 George A. Miller
Box 3 Shot K. Mondol
Box 3 Arthur J. Moore
Box 3 Noah W. Moore, Jr.
Box 3 T. Otto Nall
Box 3 Fredrick Buckley Newell
Box 3 H. Clifford Northcott
Box 3 G. Brumley Oxnam
Box 3 Aud Oxnam
Box 3 Everett W. Palmer
Box 3 Glenn R. Phillips
Box 3 J. Waskom Pickett
Box 3 W.K. Pope
Box 3 T.M. Pryor
Box 3 Clare Purcell
Box 3 Richard C. Raines
Box 3 Marshall Reed
Box 3 Clement Rocky
Box 3 Roy Ho Short
Box 3 Ferdinand Sigg
Box 3 Mangel Singh
Box 3 Eugene Slater
Box 3 A. Frank Smith
Box 3 W. Angie Smith
Box 3 J.D. Smith
Box 3 J. McKendre Springer
Box 3 James H. Straughn
Box 3 B. Foster Stockwell
Box 3 John A. Subhan
Box 3 G. Sundaram
Box 3 L.S. Thomas
Box 3 Donald H. Tippett
Box 3 Wade, Raymond J.
Box 3 Ward, Ralph
Box 3 William T. Watkins
Box 3 H. Bascom Watts
Box 3 Webb, Lance
Box 3 Welch, Herbert
Box 3 Hazen G. Werner
Box 3 Lloyd Wicke
Box 3 Fredrich Wunderlich
Bishops
Box 3 Deceased
Bishop's Mission
Box 3 Louisiana Conference
Box 3 Nov. 18-20 (2 folders)
Box 3 N.Y. Oct. 9-11
Box 3 Retired
Box 3 Committee on Ordination Ritual
Box 3 Judicial Council
Box 3 Mission on the Ministry
Box 3 Ordination procedures
Box 3 Ordinations
Dakotas
Box 3 Articles 1952-1960
Box 3 Beeman, Paul J.
Box 3 Case, Francis H.
Box 3 Conference 1965
Box 3 Customs 1958-1959
Box 3 Dakotas Area correspondence (2 folders)
Box 3 Early, Dr. Jack J.
Box 3 Flint, Robert
Box 3 Foss, Joe
Box 3 Garrett Centennial Committee
Box 3 Garrison
Box 3 General correspondence
Box 3 General letter
Box 3 India Trip
See also Correspondence-general and business: India
Box 3 Kildal, W. Morris
Box 3 Lease
Box 3 Liang, Mrs. Monte
Box 3 Lockridge, F.E.
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Box 3 Person to Person Article
Box 3 Southeast Asia Expense Account
Box 4 Smith, Matthew
Box 4 Travel-Switzerland
Box 4 Trost, Harold G.
Voigt
Box 4 Correspondence A-M
Box 4 Correspondence N-Z
Box 4 Weeks, President I.D.
Elections
Box 4 Academic friends
Box 4 Bishops
Box 4 Board secretaries
Box 4 Business friends
Box 4 Consecration services
Box 4 Faculty
Box 4 Family
Box 4 Friends (2 folders)
Box 4 Ministers
Box 4 Simpson students
Box 4 Trustees
Illinois
Box 4 Abingdon press action
Box 4 Advent supplement
Box 4 Answered correspondence
Box 4 Anti-communism
Box 4 Area historical data
Box 4 B-miscellaneous
Box 4 Baldwin Boys School
Box 4 Baptisms
Box 4 Bertholf, Lloyd C.
Box 4 Bishops, Retired
Box 4 Brown, Clifford C.
Box 4 C-miscellaneous
Box 4 Central Illinois
Box 4 Christian Advocate
Box 4 Church and State Conference 1961
Box 4 Civil defense
Box 4 Civil rights
Box 4 Conference-orders of worship
Box 4 Confirmation classes 1964
Box 4 Harvey Dibrell
Box 4 District meetings
Box 4 District superintendent's letter
Box 4 E-miscellaneous
Box 4 E.W.B
Box 4 Gantz
Box 4 R. Benjamin Garrison
Box 4 General (3 folders)
Box 4 H-miscellaneous
Box 4 Conrad P. Heins
Box 4 Chester Herr
Box 4 Illinois Area
Box 4 Illinois Area story
Box 4 Illyes
Box 4 L-miscellaneous
Box 4 Letters (2 folders)
Box 4 Lodger, Dwight E.
Box 4 MacMurray
Box 4 Michaelson
Box 4 Ministers-deceased
Box 4 M-N
Box 4 Missionary dinners
Box 4 Najim
Box 4 Ordination programs
Box 4 Pere Marquette
Box 4 Public relations
Box 4 Race relations
Box 4 Ragan, Raye L.
Box 4 Randle
Box 5 Reception
Box 5 S-miscellaneous
Box 5 Saint Paul's Cathedral
Box 5 Simpson, D.L.
Box 5 Southern Illinois (2 folders)
Box 5 Southern Illinois Conference (3 folders)
Box 5 Springfield installations
Box 5 Squire
Box 5 Stoody West
Box 5 Supreme Court
Box 5 Thomas Alton Hospital
Box 5 Together-advocate
Box 5 Unclassified
Box 5 United Church Women
Box 5 United Institutions
Box 5 Voigt
Box 5 Wesley Foundation
Box 5 Wilson, Bayne
McKendree
Box 5 Akers, Milburn P.
Box 5 Allen, Dr. Max
Box 5 Board meetings
Box 5 Committee on Academic Affairs
Box 5 Correspondence (2 folders)
Box 5 Director of Development
Box 5 Faculty Personnel Committee
Box 5 Financial affairs
Box 5 Fund drive
Box 5 Graduate School of Religion
Box 5 Letters (3 folders)
Box 5 McKendree campaign
Box 5 McKendree miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 5 Notes
Box 5 Programs
Box 5 Retirement
Box 5 Trustees, Board of
Miscellaneous
Box 6 Archeology (2 folders)
Box 6 Articles (2 folders)
Box 6 Bible
Box 6 Elementary Magazine
Box 6 Hebrew primer
Box 6 Lectures
Box 6 Magazines (16 issues)
Box 6 Publication
Box 6 R.T.N.J.
Box 6 Teaching outlines
Box 6 Together supplement
Sermons
Box 6 1932-1936 - Evanston
1936
Box 6 Iowa City, Sept.-Dec.
Box 6 Evanston-occasional sermons and addresses
1937
Box 6 Jan.-July
Box 6 Sept.-Dec.
1938
Box 6 Jan.-July
Box 6 Sept.-Dec.
1939
Box 6 Jan.-July
Box 7 Sept.-Dec.
1940
Box 7 Jan.-July
Box 7 Sept.-Dec.
Box 7 1941, Jan.-July
Box 7 1942, Sept.-Jan.
Box 7 1942-1943
Box 7 1944-1948
Box 7 1949-1950
Box 7 1951-1952
Box 7 1952-1954 - Dakotas
Box 7 1956
Box 7 1957 - Dakotas
Box 7 1957-1958 - Radio Talks
Box 7 1958
Box 7 1959 - Dakotas
Box 7 1960-1961
Box 7 1962
Box 7 1963
Simpson College
Box 7 Addresses and articles
Box 7 Berry, Don
Box 7 Bimson, Dean
Box 7 Bishop Oxnam Magee
Box 7 Chapel
Box 7 Hansher, Virgil M.
Box 7 Inauguration
Box 7 Iowa City 1936-1942
Box 7 John, Ralph C.
Box 7 Kersetter, William F.
Box 8 Kindred, Arthur J.
Box 8 First letters-Simpson
Box 8 Martin
Box 8 Personal correspondence of inauguration program
Box 8 Saint Boniface
Box 8 Simpson College
Box 8 W.S.U.I. Radio

Return to top