Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Walker, Ralph, 1889-1973.
Title:	Ralph T. Walker Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1895-1972
Quantity:	75 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American architect. Correspondence, articles, manuscript essays, speeches, notes and notebooks, photographs, project files, sketches, clippings, and scrapbooks.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Ralph Thomas Walker (1889-1973) was an American architect.

Walker attended Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and studied with Rhode Island architect Howard K. Hilton. In 1916 he went to work for the New York firm of McKenzie, Voorhees and Gmelin, where he remained for the rest of his career. In 1955 he led a group of architects sent to Berlin to participate in planning for the International Building Exhibition (IBA) to be held in 1957; as part of this effort, he and his team proposed building a Congress Hall, to "promote international understanding through the advancement of culture, education and science." The Benjamin Franklin Foundation, a joint German-American organization with Walker as its chairman, was created to oversee the planning and construction of the Berlin Congress Hall, completed in 1957. The Foundation went on to spend another 13 years in reconstruction projects in and around Berlin.

Most of Walker's buildings are in New York City, including the AT&T building on Broadway, the iconic One Wall Street (originally the Irving Trust Building), and the Barclay-Vesey Building (later known as the Verizon Building, severely damaged during the September 11, 2001 World Trade Center attacks).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ralph T. Walker Papers spans nearly sixty years, almost the entire career of the American architect. The collection is divided into 16 series.

Correspondence contains material foldered as such by Walker. Much of it relates to travel, including London and Trinidad. There is also some World's Fair material.

Walker was heavily involved with the International Union of Architects (IUA), including serving on its Executive Committee. This series includes meeting minutes, annual Congresses, reports, and other items.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) files include alumni and "friends of the library" material as well as material relating to his teaching at the School of Architecture and to the Charles Hayden Library, a project undertaken by Walker's firm.

Photographs are of various subjects, both personal (family and friends) and professional (projects undertaken by Walker and/or his firm). It includes glass slides which Walker used for teaching.

Project files consist primarily of two major projects, one in Berlin and the other in Trinidad. The Benjamin Franklin Stiftung (BFS) was created as a nonprofit foundation for the United States to fund and build the Berlin Congress Hall in time for the International Building Exhibit in Berlin (1957). Walker was chief architect as well as chairman of the Stiftung, which was also known as the Benjamin Franklin Foundation. The Trinidad material deals mostly with the work done to create Fort Read in Trinidad (near Cumuto) by the US Army during WWII, now known as Wallerfield. There is also a small amount of material relating to a project in Nicaro, Oriente Province, Cuba.

Published material is subdivided into material by Walker and/or his firm, and about Walker and/or his firm. There is also a small amount of miscellaneous published material which bears no clear connection to Walker or his firm.

Four Scrapbooks contain material relating to the American Institute of Architects, the Berlin Congress Hall, and other jobs.

Sketches includes pieces relating to specific jobs (MIT Library, Barclay-Vesey Building, Petroleum Building, Philadelphia Opera House) and to various topics (imaginary buildings, Rotch Scholarship, West Indies, World's Fairs). There are also a few sketches by other architects or artists.

The collection originally contained an alphabetical series of folders and a chronological series of folders, much of which overlapped or duplicated one another. These have been organized into a single Subject files series, arranged alphabetically. Included here is material related to Walker's expulsion from the American Institute of Architects (AIA), as well as files on various topics ranging from city planning and Frank Lloyd Wright to geometry and T.S. Eliot.

Finally, Writings contains Walker's written output -- articles, book reviews, books or book chapters, editorials, essays, poetry, speeches, and miscellaneous other items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Generally, the collection is organized alphabetically by series, subseries, and folder title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ralph T. Walker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ralph Walker, Mrs. Ralph Walker.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: JMB
Date: Jun 1978
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 7 Jun 2023 - oversize material rehoused, descriptions corrected/updated/expanded (MS); 25 Mar 2024 - entire collection reorganized and rehoused, inventory corrected, printed material transferred to Rare Books (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
		This series contains correspondence that was foldered and identified as such by Walker. Many of the other series also contain correspondence.
Box 1		"Atlanta, Georgia" 1950
Box 1		"London, Winter 1943" 1946-1947 - Walker self published a booklet of the speeches he gave in England in 1943. These are recipient's letters to receiving a copy.
Box 1		"7 Flights to Trinidad" 1940-1942 - Mostly personal correspondence between Walker and his wife, Lysette while working on Trinidad. includes photos. (3 folders)
Box 1		"Texas and New Orleans" 1950
Box 1		"Trip to Salt Lake City, Denver, West Coast" 1950
Box 1		"UNESCO Building [Paris]" 1951-1954
Box 1		[World's Fair, Chicago 1933] 1928-1933 (5 folders)
Box 2		[World's Fair, Chicago 1933] 1928-1933 (2 folders)
Box 2		Miscellaneous 1916-1969 (8 folders)

	International Union of Architects (Union Internationale des Architectes)
		The bulk of the material in this series consists of correspondence.
Box 3		Assembly of the IUA, Paris 1957 (2 folders)
Box 3		Bills 1951 - Associated with Europe and Morocco
		Committees 1948-1956 (4 folders)
		Congresses
Box 3			[1st] Lausanne 1948 - Includes photographs (3 folders)
Box 4			[1st] Lausanne 1948 - Includes photographs (2 folders)
Box 4			[2nd] Rabat 1951 Oct - Includes bills associated with Walker's trip (2 folders)
Box 4			[2nd] Rabat 1951 Oct - Includes bills associated with Walker's trip
Box 4			[3rd] Lisbon 1953 - published Final Report sent to Rare Books Cataloging Review (5 folders)
Box 5			[4th] The Hague 1955 - Includes some Executive Committee papers (4 folders)
Box 5			[5th] Moscow 1956-1957 - These are preparatory papers that include the disruption caused by the Soviet put down of the Hungarian Uprising (2 folders)
Box 5		Economic and Social Council (UNESCO) 1946-1956 (3 folders)
Box 5		Executive Committee and officers 1955-1957
Box 5		Executive Committee meeting, Sweden [Gothenburg] 1949
Box 6		Executive Committee meeting, Sweden [Gothenburg] 1949 (7 folders)
Box 6		Executive Committee Meeting, Cairo 1950 (Jan) - Includes expenses, clippings, travel documents (3 folders)
Box 7		Executive Committee Meeting, Cairo 1950 (Jan) - Includes expenses, clippings, travel documents (4 folders)
Box 7		Executive Committee Meeting, Paris 1950 (May) (3 folders)
Box 7		Executive Committee Meeting, Rome 1951 (May) (4 folders)
Box 8		Executive Committee Meeting, Paris 1952 (Jan) (2 folders)
Box 8		Executive Committee Meeting, Venice 1952 Sep
Box 8		Executive Committee Meeting, Paris 1953 Jan (2 folders)
Box 8		Executive Committee Meeting, Athens 1954 May - Includes photographs (6 folders)
Box 9		Executive Committee Meeting, Paris 1954 Oct
Box 9		Executive Comnittee Meeting, Capri 1956
Box 9		Executive Comnittee Meeting, Paris 1957 - includes other materials from 1955-1957
Box 9		Expenses: Executive Committee, Athens, Istanbul, etc. 1954
Box 9		Expenses: Lisbon, Luxembourg 1953
Box 9		Expenses: London, Dublin, Holland, Paris, Berlin 1955
Box 9		Expenses: Paris 1957
Box 9		Expenses: Paris, Chartres, Brussels 1954
Box 9		[Extraordinary Assembly Meeting] Paris 1950 Oct (3 folders)
Box 10		Finances 1948-1954 (2 folders)
Box 10		Housing 1956
Box 10		Minutes and bulletins 1946-1948
Box 10		National Architectural Organizations 1948-1950
Box 10		Paris meeting 1947-1948 - planning meeting prior to creation to the I.U.A. (3 folders)
Box 10		Paris meeting 1948 - correspondence (3 folders)
Box 11		Paris meeting 1948 - minutes (2 folders)
Box 11		Publications 1954 (2 folders)
Box 11		Report of delegates to Central Committee RIA [Reunions Internationales D'Architectes], Paris 1948
Box 11		Report of the American Institute of Architects' Delegation to the Constituent Assembly and the First Congress of the Union Internationale des Architects, Lausanne, Switzerland 1948
Box 11		Sections (Countries) 1948-1955
Box 11		Translations, Wallenberg & Wallenberg 1946-1953
Box 11		UN & UIA 1954
Box 11		World Council for Peace, Paris 1949
Box 11		Miscellaneous 1948-1957
Box 12		Miscellaneous 1948-1957 (4 folders)

	Massachusetts Institute of Technology files
		The bulk of the material in this series consists of correspondence.
Box 2		Alumni Association 1951-1962
		Friends of the Library
Box 2			Acknowledgments, MIT Library Program 1950 - letters acknowledging the program Walker sent, commemorating the opening of the Charles Hayden Memorial Library at MIT
Box 13			Address index cards undated
Box 14			Book Illustration Exhibit 1939-1940 (2 folders)
Box 14			Bookplates 1936-1939
Box 14			Books acquired or purchased (gifts) 1947-1955
Box 14			Collection contest 1938-1939
Box 14			Contest 1940-1942
Box 14			Contributions, answers, etc. 1944
Box 14			Data for Mr. McHugh re: Vail Library 1946-1948
Box 14			Desiderata 1936-1940 (2 folders)
Box 14			Dewey Memorial 1938
Box 14			Dinner 1937
Box 15			Dinner 1937
Box 15			Donations, answers to form letters 1943
Box 15			Finance 1937-1940
Box 15			Footnotes #1 1937-1938 - bulletin of the Friends of The Library
Box 15			Footnotes #2 1939
Box 15			Footnotes #3 and #4 1941-1942
Box 15			Footnotes, James R. Killian 1948-1950 - inlcudes galley material
Box 15			Footnotes, miscellaneous 1946-1948
Box 15			Footnotes, raw material 1938-1944 - includes Footnotes no.1, 4, 5, 6
Box 15			Footnotes, Willis Whitney 1947-1948 - Includes galley material
Box 15			Form letters, companies 1944
Box 15			Form letters, individuals 1944
Box 15			Formal reports 1936-1941
Box 15			Formation and other matters 1936-1940
Box 16			Friends of the Library groups 1938 - publication from American Library Association
Box 16			General 1935-1940 (2 folders)
Box 16			Gifts 1936-1940 (2 folders)
Box 16			Library Fellowship 1944 - Carnegie-Illinois Steel Corporation
Box 16			Library Fellowship 1943-1944 - Diamond Akali Company (2 folders)
Box 16			Library plan 1940-1942
Box 16			MIT members of Friends of the Library 1935-1940 (2 folders)
Box 16			Meeting notices and reports 1939-1942
Box 17			Membership lists 1939-1944 (2 folders)
Box 17			Other libraries, friends, etc. 1950-1952
Box 17			Other schools 1935-1938 (4 folders)
Box 17			Publicity 1937-1939
Box 17			Purchases 1937-1939 (2 folders)
Box 17			Speical Collections, Veil-Clark, Industrial Relations et al. 1947-1948
Box 17			Tea 1940-1941
Box 17			[Untitled] 1940 - arranged chronologically
Box 18			[Untitled] 1941-1947 - arranged chronologically (8 folders)
Box 18			Miscellaneous 1947-1954 (3 folders)
Box 19			Miscellaneous 1947-1954 (2 folders)
Oversize 21		Fundamental Studies, The Library at M.I.T. undated - presentation book of sketches, building plans
Box 19		MIT Club of New York 1939-1964
Oversize 21		Preliminary Studies, The Library at MIT 1946 - presentation book of sketches, building plans
Box 19		Program for a new library building 1945
Box 19		Program for dedication 1950-1951 - dedication of the Walker-designed Charles Hayden Memorial Library (2 folders)
Oversize 22		[Project binders] 1945 - 2 binders detailing different aspects of the Charles Hayden Library project from Walker's firm
Oversize 23		[Project binders] 1945 - 2 binders detailing different aspects of the Charles Hayden Library project from Walker's firm
Box 19		School of Architecture and Planning symposium 1962
		Visiting committees
Box 19			Library 1949-1955 (3 folders)
Box 19			School of Architecture and planning 1935-1945
Box 20			School of Architecture and planning [cont.] 1935-1945
Box 20		Miscellaneous 1926-1961 (3 folders)

	Photographs
Box 91-105		Lantern slides (15 small boxes)
Oversize 8		Mounted photographs on foamcore (1 item)
Oversize 12		Mounted photographs on foamcore (4 items)
Oversize 13		Mounted photographs on foamcore (4 items)
Oversize 14		Mounted photographs on foamcore (4 items)
Oversize 24		Mounted photographs on foamcore
Oversize 25		Mounted photographs on foamcore
Box 20		Negatives (7 folders)
Box 21		Negatives - includes 1 folder of slides (5 folders)
		Portraits of Walker, family, others
Box 21			"Bethlehem Steel Site" 1959
Box 21			National Institutes of Health visit 1958
Box 21			Walker birthday party
Box 21			Miscellaneous - includes photo with Frank Lloyd Wright (4 folders)
Oversize 24			Miscellaneous
		Projects of Walker or his firm
Box 22			AFL-CIO headquarters [Washington]
Box 22			Argonne National Laboratory [?] - sketches
Box 22			Barclay-Vesey building [New York] - also known as the New York Telephone Company Building (3 folders)
Box 22			Belgian Embassy, Washington, DC
Box 22			Bell Laboratories Summit [Murray Hill], NJ
Box 22			Bethlehem Steel, Homer Research Laboratory, Bethlehem, PA - includes models and plans
Box 22			Brooklyn Edison
Box 22			"Buildings designed for the U.S. Army at Trinidad and others, drawings by Chester B. Price" - Price did many of the drawings for Walker's firm
Box 22			Charles Hayden Memorial Library - Massachusetts Institute of Technology - plans
Box 22			Coty - drawing, model, and plan
Box 22			David A.Reed house in New Canaan, CT - plans
Box 12			"A Development of the Air Rights Over the Illinois Central and Michigan Central Railroads Property at the Norht End of Grant Park," Chicago, IL - plans
Box 22			Dupont Laboratories, Wilmington, DE - model
Box 22			Esso Laboratories - models, plans, clippings for three projects: Baton Rouge, LA; Florham Park, NJ; Linden, NJ
Box 22			Fordham [University], Lincoln Center [Campus], [New York] - first model
Box 22			Franklin Roosevelt Memorial [Washington, DC] - model and plans for competition; includes negatives
Box 22			"Gardens at Walkerburn" - Walker's home in Chappaqua, NY
Box 22			General Electric "he Knolls" Research Laboratory [Niskayuna, NY] - drawings, site plan
Box 22			General Foods Laboratories [Tarrytown, NY]
Box 22			Grace Rainy Rodgers Auditorium [Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York]
Box 22			IBM Poughkeepsie - mainly of the Research Laboratories
Box 23			Longwood Library - Longwood Foundation was in Kennett Square, PA, but this appears to have been built in Delaware
Oversize 24			Longwood Library - Longwood Foundation was in Kennett Square, PA, but this appears to have been built in Delaware
Box 23			Loyola Jesuit Seminary chapel [Shrub Oak, NY] - drawings
Box 23			Luxembourg military cemetery - model
Box 23			Macy's - model
Box 23			National Institute of Arts and Letters - exhibit of Walker's work
Box 23			New York Life Insurance Company, Fresh Meadows [NY] - model
Box 23			New York Telephone building, Syracuse, NY
Box 23			New York Telephone building, Brooklyn, NY
Box 23			New York Telephone, other locations
Box 23			Philadelphia auditorium - plans
Box 23			Prudential Insurance Building, Newark, NJ
Box 12			Roger Williams Memorial, Providence, RI - preliminary drawings
Box 23			Senator Clark's House, New Canaan, CT
Box 23			Soldier and Sailors Memorial, Providence, RI - competition designs
Box 23			South Brooklyn Savings Bank
Box 23			Traffic tower competition 1921 - competion sponsored by the Fifth Avenue Association to design traffic towers (precursor to traffic lights) on that street in New York City; includes correspondence and a clipping
Box 23			Traveler's Insurance Executive Offices, Hartford, CT - interior photos
Box 23			Union Carbide - model
			United Nations - Interior photos from the temporary places the UN was housed at before their move to their permanent headquarters in Manhattan
Oversize 26				Hunter College album 1946
Oversize 27				Lake Success [NY] album 1946
Box 23				Miscellaneous loose photos undated
Box 23			United States Lines Inc., New Trans-Atlantic Liners - plans and illustrations for a passenger ship
Box 23			Western Union Building, New York
Box 23			Woodrow Wilson Memorial, Princeton University - drawings
Box 23			World's Fair, Chicago 1933 (5 folders)
Box 12			World's Fair, Chicago 1933
Box 23			World's Fair, New York 1939
Box 12			World's Fair, New York 1939
Box 24			Miscellaneous unidentified projects (5 folders)
		Miscellaneous
Box 24			"Composition Studies" - reproductions
Box 24			"Notes on the Theatre" - includes building plans (2 folders)
Box 24			"The President's Jewel" - award of the American Institute of Architects
Box 12			"Trinidad Portfolio" - 16 photo reproductions in a portfolio
Box 24			Miscellaneous
Box 12			Miscellaneous
Box 24			Miscellaneous album - photostats of vaious buildings collated in an album
Box 14			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Oversize 15			Miscellaneous - photographs of models, sketches, finished projects (3 folders)
Oversize 16			Miscellaneous - includes photographs of Walker

	Project Files
		Berlin, Benjamin Franklin Stiftung (BFS)
			The Stiftung was created as a nonprofit foundation for the United States to fund and build the Berlin Congress Hall in time for the International Building Exhibit in Berlin (1957). Walker was chairman of the Stiftung, which was also known as the Benjamin Franklin Foundation. Note that nearly all folder material is mostly correspondence between the parties involved in the project.
Box 25			Additional work 1958
Box 25			Audio facility for the Berlin Congress Hall 1956
Box 25			Bank correspondence, US and Germany 1956-1958 (2 folders)
Box 25			Berlin Building, AIA communication 1955-1956 (2 folders)
Box 25			Berlin Building Exhibition, Book I 1955
Box 25			Berlin Building Exhibition, Book II 1957
Oversize 28			Berlin Hospital Survey: A Report to the [U.S.] Department of State 1958 - sprial-bound volume
Box 25			Berlin Speech, dummy 1957
Box 25			Bids 1956-1961
Box 25			Board meetings, New York and Washington 1957
Box 25			Book for meetings 1955-1956
Oversize 28			Building program for the Medical Center, Free University of Berlin 1958 - spiral-bound volume
Box 26			Business report of the foundation, Luftbrückendank 1960
Box 26			Ceremonies at Opening II 1957 (2 folders)
Box 26			Ceremonies at Opening III 1955-1958 (3 folders)
Box 26			Ceremonies at Opening, USIA [United States Information Agency], ANTA [American National Theatre and Academy] 1956-1958 (2 folders)
Box 26			Ceremonies, transfer of title to Berlin Senate 1956-1958 (3 folders)
Box 26			Construction data 1956 - bids, payments, etc.
Box 27			Contract USA-BFS, new board of director, chairman, etc. re: hospital 1958
Box 27			Convocation dedication 1957-1958
Box 27			Copies of documents placed in cornerstone of Congress Hall 1956
Box 27			Cornerstone 1956 (3 folders)
Box 27			Cornerstone ceremonies 1956 - spiral-bound volume
Box 27			Cornerstone laying 1956
Box 27			Cornerstone speech 1956
Box 27			Correspondence: letters of appeal 1956-1957 - for help funding opening ceremonies (2 folders)
Box 28			Directors and officers 1956-1957 (2 folders)
Box 28			Documents 1955-1960 - includes correspondence and legal documents (3 folders)
Box 28			Excavation and foundation 1956-1957
			Expenses - filed chronologically
Box 28				Director's meeting Jan 1956
Box 28				Capri via Apr 1956
Box 28				Cornerstone Oct 1956
Box 28				Trip to Berlin May 1957, Apr-May 1958
Box 28				Dedication Sep 1957
Box 28				Miscellaneous Dec 1955-Oct 1958
Box 29				Miscellaneous Dec 1955-Oct 1958 (4 folders)
Box 29			Extras, contract meetings 1958
Box 29			Finances I: Berlin Bank deposits and withdrawals 1956-1958
Box 29			Finances II: Taxes 1957
Box 29			Franklin and Marshall College Scholarship 1956
Box 29			Gifts, testimonials, scholarships, etc. 1956-1958
Box 29			Guest correspondence 1957-1958 - includes photographs (2 folders)
			Hospital survey
Box 30				[General] 1958
Box 30				Finance 1958
Box 30				Meetings 1958
Box 30				Miscellaneous 1958-1959
Box 30			Interbau [International Building Exhibit] Berlin 1957
Box 30			Management and use of hall 1956-1958
Box 30			Mayor [of Berlin, Otto] Suhr 1955-1957
Box 30			Medical University, Berlin, Germany 1958 - preliminary design report; spiral-bound volume
Box 30			Meetings 1955-1957 (3 folders)
Box 31			Memos of meetings and resolution 1955-1956
Box 31			Miscellaneous 1955-1959
Box 31			Negatives und (2 folders)
Box 31			News clippings 1958 - German press. Includes some handwritten English translations
Box 31			Payments to associated construction firm 1956-1957
Oversize 28			Photographs - includes a collated album of construction photos of the hall, and 2 photographs of a 1957 meeting of the Stiftung
Box 31			Photos, publicity, newspaper articles, etc. 1955-1958 (4 folders)
Box 32			Photos, publicity, newspaper articles, etc. 1955-1958
Box 32			Presentation book, Hugh Stubbins Associates, Kongresshalle Berlin 1957
Box 32			Progress reports I 1956-1957
Box 32			Progress reports II 1956
Box 32			RW's remarks at dedication 1957
Box 32			Richtfest ceremonies 1957
Box 32			[Hugh] Stubbins 1955-1957 (3 folders)
Box 32			Transfer funds, government to BFS 1955-1956
Box 33			Transfer funds, government to BFS 1955-1956
Box 33			Trips 1955-1958 (2 folders)
Box 33			Turnover of title to Hall [from BFS to German Government] 1957-1958
		Nicaro, Oriente Province, Cuba
Box 33			Building sketches 1942
Box 33			Lecture letter 1942
Box 33			Site plans, etc. 1942
		Trinidad
			Most of this material deals with the work done to create Fort Read in Trinidad (near Cumuto) by the US Army during WWII, now known as Wallerfield. Included here is correspondenece with an entity called "Caribbean Architect-Engineer," with which Walker's firm was involved in contracting with the War Department for several projects in the Caribbean. Fort Read on Trinidad was the largest but they also did work on Antigua, British Guiana, and St. Lucia.
Box 33			Climate control for housing in the tropics and sub-tropics c.1941 - report
			Correspondence
Box 33				"Carbons from Mr. [Max Henry] Foley" Apr-Dec 1941 (3 folders)
Box 34				"Caribbean Architect-Engineer" 1941-1942 (4 folders)
Box 34				"Caribbean Architect-Engineer - Personal" 1942 - mostly correspondence between Max Foley and Ralph Walker (2 folders)
Box 34				"War Department" 1941
Box 34				[Miscellaneous, by month] Jan-Feb 1942 (3 folders)
Box 35				[Miscellaneous, by month] Feb-Jun 1942 (10 folders)
Box 36				[Miscellaneous, by month] Jun-Aug 1942 (3 folders)
Box 36			Estimates and costs 1941
Box 36			Job meetings 1941-1942 (3 folders)
Box 36			Meetings, reports, minutes 1941-1942
Box 36			Memoranda 1941
Box 36			Photographs 1942
Box 36			Progress reports 1941-1942 (2 folders)
Box 36			Site plans und - for Caribbean Army Bases in Trinidad, St. Lucia, Antigua, British Guiana
Box 36			Status bulletins 1941-1942 (2 folders)
Box 37			Status bulletins 1941-1942 (4 folders)
Box 37			Work orders 1940-1941
Box 37			Miscellaneous 1941-1942 (3 folders)

	Published materials - items that contain mention or photo of Walker, his firm, or associated building have a white flag marking the relevant page
		Booklets
Box 37			About Walker or mentioning him, his projects, or firm 1954-1956 (2 folders)
			Produced by Walker's firm
Oversize 17				Charles Hayden Memorial Library at M. I. T. 1946 - Voorhees, Walker, Foley & Smith, architects & engineers (2 copies)
Oversize 29				Miscelleneous 1958-1964, undated
			Miscellaneous
Oversize 17				Blueprint #1 1936
Oversize 17				Downtown Progress / Downtown Streets and Places 1962, 1965 - issued by the National Capital Downtown Committee, Inc; includes photocopied clippings regarding Washington’s urban development plans (2 copies each)
Oversize 17				The Village in the City, by Lavenburg Foundation circa 1961
		Books
			Except for the item listed below, all books within the collection have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.
Oversize 16			Venice of Today, by H. Hopkinson Smith (NY: Henry T. Thomas Company) 1895 - foilio with plates and sections
		Journals - issues of trade journals and popular magazines
Box 37			About Walker or mentioning him, his projects, or firm (2 folders)
Box 38			About Walker or mentioning him, his projects, or firm
Oversize 30			About Walker or mentioning him, his projects, or firm
Box 38			Miscellaneous (6 folders)
Oversize 17			Miscellaneous Oct 1934 - one issue of Applied Photography
		Pamphlets
Box 38			About Walker or mentioning him, his projects, or firm 1948-1965
Box 38			Miscellaneous
		Presentation books - most are of projects done by Walker's firm
Oversize 31			American Federation of Labor, Headquarters Building, Washington, D.C. 1953
Oversize 32			Colony for the Aswan Fertilizer Factory Egyptian Government 1951
Oversize 21			Esso Research Center, Florham Park, New Jersey 1957
Oversize 32			General Foods Corporation general offices building, White Plains, New York 1951 - design data
Oversize 31			Luxembourg American Cemetery und - 2 copies
Oversize 18			Midtown Manhattan: Report to Groups Four and Five / New York City Savings Banks Study of Proposed Zoning Amendments, Voorhees Walker Foley and Smith 1944 - includes clippings
Oversize 31			Office Building Center, Union Carbide & Carbon Corporation, Westchester County, New York und - 2 copies
Oversize 21			Philadelphia auditorium 1932
Oversize 19			Plan for permanent world capitol at Flushing Meadow Park / New York City Mayor’s Committee on Plan and Scope Sep 1946
Oversize 18			A Plant for Coty, by Voorhees Walker Foley and Smith 1944
Oversize 21			Report of the consultant committee on the development of a master plot plan for the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland 1961
Oversize 21			Retreat House, Loyola Seminary, Shrub Oak, New York 1958
Oversize 18			Trinidad B.W.I. Fort Read Camouflage / War Department, Corps of Engineers, US Army, Office of Caribbean; Architect: Voorhees Walker Foley and Smith / Engineer: Parsons Klapp Brinckerhoff and Douglas circa 1942 - plans and site description (2 copies)
Oversize 31			Miscellaneous unidentified projects undated
		Reports
Box 38			Miscellaneous 1930-1967 (2 folders)

	Scrapbooks
Oversize 20		American Institute of Architects, Centennial Medal of Honor 1957 - letterbook
Oversize 19		Congress Hall, Berlin - photos, clippings, documents
Oversize 17		Enduring Memory - sliced pages and photos from the book Enduring Memory: In stone, in metal, in beauty, from the National Sculpture Society

	Sketches - including reproductions
Box 39		"Across a Crowded Room" (4 folders)
Box 39		"All Fellow Travelers"
Box 39		Art commissions
Box 39		Buildings and gardens (2 folders)
Box 39		Buildings (Imaginary) and FDR Memorial Competition
Box 40		Christmas cards (2 folders)
Box 40		Christmas cards, finished - includes note (3 folders)
Box 40		Figure studies
Box 40		Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial Competition
Box 40		Interior
Box 40		Library, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
Box 40		Men (3 folders)
Box 41		New York World's Fair, General Electric and AT&T
Box 41		Rotch [scholarship] - includes a 2-sided watercolor
Box 41		"Seeking a Job" - sketches submitted to the architect Betram Goodhue, where Walker worked for 6 months, as part of a job interview; includes note
Box 41		"Sketches Made in France" 1918 - includes note
Box 42		Suggestions for Printing (2 folders)
Box 42		Travel - includes 1 watercolor
Box 42		Watercolors - although labled as 'watercolors', they are all sketches (2 folders)
Box 42		West Indies
		World War I
			See "Sketches Made in France" above.
Box 12		Miscellaneous - mostly by Walker or his firm
Oversize 12		Miscellaneous - some done by Walker or his firm, others unclear

	Sketches, mounted
Oversize 1		Barclay-Vesey Building - 10 sketches, 2 matted pieces, 9 photocopies, 1 negative of sketch; iIncludes 3 sketches of the Western Union Building
Oversize 2		Barclay-Vesey Building interior - 24 sketches (3 folders)
Oversize 3		Belgian Embassy - 4 sketches
Oversize 3		Brooklyn Edison [Flatbush] Substation - 8 sketches
Oversize 3		Domestic Scale - 15 sketches
Oversize 4		Drawings odds and ends - 24 sketches, some of which are watercolors (2 folders)
Oversize 3		Houses - 11 sketches
Oversize 4		Idea for A Child’s History of Architecture - 6 sketches, 1 matted writing, 1 sheet of printed writing
Oversize 4		Massachusetts Institute of Technology Library - 6 sketches
Oversize 4		Nicaro [Cuba] 1942 - 8 sketches
Oversize 5		Perspective studies - 22 sketches (2 folders)
Oversize 5		Philadelphia Opera House tapestries 1930 - 8 sketches
Oversize 5		Planning, large scale, Chicago and New York - 19 sketches and photos of sketches (2 folders)
		Rotch Traveling Scholarship 1916, [1920]
			Walker was a Rotch scholar for 1916. There is evidence he received one in 1920 as well, though his name is not on the official list of winners for that year.
Map-Case			Rubbings - 17 VERY large charcoal rubbings, mostly of the mosaics on the floor of San Clemente
Oversize TBD			Sketches - 3 VERY large matted sketches
Oversize 6			Miscellaneous - 4 sketches, 5 matted reproductions, 20 matted photos, mosaic floor rubbings, pamphlet of Rotch Scholarship rules, Italy itinerary map, other photos (4 folders)
Oversize 6		San Clemente, Rome - 12 sketches of the floor of this Roman church; likely related to Walker's mosaic floor rubbings and his Rotch scholarship
Oversize 7		Sketches for printed matter: covers, cards, etc. - 23 large, 21 small, 18 front covers of Pencil Points (2 folders)
Oversize 8		Studies for a bedroom and furniture, Metropolitan Museum of Art - 8 sketches
Oversize 8		Studies for a city hall - 5 sketches
Oversize 8		Woodrow Wilson Memorial, Princeton NJ - 10 sketches
		World's Fairs
Oversize 9			Chicago 1933 - 2 original sketches,1 reproduction (unmatted), 3 reproductions, 9 architectural model photographs
Oversize 9			New York, AT&T Building 1939 - 10 sketches
Oversize 9			New York and Chicago 1933, 1939 - 9 sketches, 3 reproductions, some possibly by others
Oversize 9			New York, Petroleum Building 1939 - 17 sketches
Box 14			New York, General Electric and AT&T 1939
Oversize 10			Miscellaneous - 22 sketches (2 folders)
Oversize 18		Philadelphia Auditorium 1932 - shop drawings, 1 bound stack
Oversize 11		Miscellaneous (4 folders)

	Sketches by others
Box 42		Caricatures
Oversize 8		Miscellaneous

	Subject files
		Most of the folders in this series bear the titles originally assigned by Walker. They are not always accurate or helpful.
		American Institute of Architects, expulsion from
Box 43			Booklet, "Ralph Walker. The American Institute of Architects. 1921-1961" 1961
Box 43			Correspondence 1961-1962 (2 folders)
Box 43			Defense briefs 1958-1961 (6 folders)
Box 43			Institute bylaws 1957, 1963
Box 43			New York Supreme Court appellant's brief undated
Box 43			New York Supreme Court brief for petitioner/petitioners undated
Box 44			New York Supreme Court record on appeal undated
Box 43			New York Supreme Court reply brief for appellant undated
Box 43			Petition to reinstate 1963
Box 45			Replies to defense 1961 (3 folders)
Box 45		Alfred Kamin 1966 - correspondence, clippings, and publications (3 folders)
Box 45		American Military Cemetery, Hamm, Luxembourg 1948-1954 - includes "Report to the American Battle Monuments Commission" from Voorhees Walker Foley & Smith (2 folders)
Box 45		An idea for a carved door mat 1961-1967 - clippings
Box 45		Architectural examples 1963-1971 - clippings
Box 45		Art 1945-1961 - clippings (2 folders)
Box 45		Articles by others 1930-1959 - includes correspondence with the article's authors.
Box 46		Articles by others 1930-1959 - includes correspondence with the article's authors.
Box 46		Articles on laboratories 1946-1953 - includes correspondence and drafts, article by Walker, mostly regarding the General Electric Research Laboratory designed by Walker's firm
Box 46		Awards, invitations, programs, etc. 1921-1969 (4 folders)
Box 46		Bauhaus 1961-1970 (2 folders)
Box 46		Biography 1950-1956, undated - includes booklists, author and composer biography, and a small work about Charles Dickens
Box 46		Brewer 1955-1965 - clippings; unclear what Walker's folder title has to do with the contents
Box 46		Bureau of Urban Research, Princeton University 1940-1954 - firm partner Stephen Voorhees was on the organizing committee; includes documents and publications (2 folders)
Box 47		Bureau of Urban Research, Princeton University 1940-1954 - firm partner Stephen Voorhees was on the organizing committee; includes documents and publications (5 folders)
Box 47		Cartoons undated - mostly corespondence from Alfred Bendiner, including his caricatures of Walker
Box 106-110		Catalog cards for Ralph Walker's books and pamphlets undated - 5 boxes
Oversize 18		Certificates and awards
Box 47		[Chappaqua NY] 1950-1969
Box 47		[Chappaqua NY schools] 1960-1963 - (Walker lived in this school district)
Box 47		[Cinerama] 1954-1955 - Walker was a sponsor/investor of the company; includes programs and reviews
Box 47		"The City"' source materials 1967 - clippings
Box 47		City and community planning 1945-1948 (2 folders)
Box 48		City planning 1937, 1966, undated - clippings
Box 48		Clippings, miscellaenous 1931-1972 (11 folders)
Box 49		Clippings, miscellaenous 1931-1972 (5 folders)
Box 49		Columbia University 1947-1957 - mostly copies of lectures given during the Bicentennial Celebration, Conference I, "The Metropolis in Modern Life", some with handwritten remarks by Walker (6 folders)
Box 50		Contemporary design 1969
Box 50		Criticism, general 1950 - clippings
Box 50		Criticism, Saturday Review 1949-1952 - clippings (2 folders)
Box 50		Dartmouth Eye Institute 1945-1946, undated - reports (4 folders)
Box 50		"Disregarding Media" 1967 - clippings
Box 50		Education 1945-1949 - clippings
Box 50		Eero Saarinen 1961 - clippings
Box 51		Finance 1945-1949 - clippings
Box 51		Food 1949 - clippings
Box 51		Foreign policy, United States Government 1945-1949 - clippings (2 folders)
Box 51		Form and color undated - clippings
Box 51		Frank Lloyd Wright 1931-1965 - mostly clippings and articles (2 folders)
Box 51		Frank Lloyd Wright 1931-1965 - Mostly clippings and articles (4 folders)
Box 51		Fred L. Lavanburg Foundation 1946-1960 (2 folders)
Box 52		Fred L. Lavanburg Foundation 1946-1960 (7 folders)
Box 52		[General Foods Corporation] 1952-1954 - Walker's firm designed the new headquarters office building
Box 52		Geometry und - Primarily printed articles
Box 52		Graduate faculty, New School of Social Research 1958
Box 52		Graduate programs 1969
Box 53		Guggenheim Bandshell, Lincoln Center 1957-1969 - spiral-bound booklet of plans and correspondence
Box 53		[Henry Ford Hospital] 1949 - report given to trustees of the hospital with data and assistance from Walker's firm
Box 53		[Home Electric Architectural Competition] 1935 - competition sponsored by General Electric, Walker served as chairman
Box 53		Horace [M.] Kallen 1955-1970 - mostly printed pamphlets, articles
Box 53		Housing data 1935, 1942 - includes correspondence related to the Trinidad files
Box 53		Illustrations, miscellaneous undated - clippings, correspondence and photos
Box 53		Japan trip 1939 - photographs, maps, postcards, blueprints
Box 54		Laboratory design 1950-1953 - correspondence, draft and article clippings
Box 54		Land use density 1971
Box 54		Le Corbusier 1959-1960 - clippings
		Literature
Box 54			French 1925
Box 54			Poetry 1872-1958
Box 54			Miscellaneous und
Box 54		Literature of Fun City 1967 - draft by Walker, clippings, and typed copied sections of clippings
Box 54		Maps undated
Box 54		Mayor's Committee on City Planning 1934-1936 - related to Buildings and Zoning subcommittee, of which Walker was Chairman
Box 54		Monsanto 1952
Box 54		The Nation's Roll of Honor 1926
Box 54		[New York Building Congress] 1940-1943 - meeting information
Box 54		New Yorker, "Skyline" column 1937-1960 - clippings
Box 54		Newspaper Items 1967 - typed extracts from newspaper clippings
Box 55		Notes on art and aesthestics 1961-1964 - clippings
Box 55		One Wall Street 1959
Box 55		Pan-American Congress of Architects, Lima 1947
Box 55		Pan-American Congress of Architects, Havana 1950 - medal, photo, key, reports, correspondence (4 folders)
Box 55		Poetry reviews undated - Clippings
Box 55		Post war planning: Citizen's Housing Committee 1941-1942 (2 folders)
Box 111-112		Postcards undated
Box 55		Princeton University Bicentennial Conference, "Planning Man's Physical Environment" 1946-1947 - includes remarks Walker made at the Conference (2 folders)
Box 56		Princeton University Bicentennial Conference, "Planning Man's Physical Environment" 1946-1947 - includes remarks Walker made at the Conference ( folder)
Box 56		Proposal for a zoning resolution. City of New York. Project no. 2201 1957
Box 56		Ralph Walker bibliography 1919-1861 (2 folders)
Box 56		[Regional Plan Association, New York, NY] 1935-1969 - reports and periodicals
Box 56		Robert Moses 1943-1945 - clippings
Box 56		Sol Feinstone 1967-1970
Box 56		Syllabus for course in architecture, Briarcliff Junior College 1938
Box 56		Syracuse University Library 1967-1969
		T.S. Eliot
Box 56			Criticism on 1931-1949 (2 folders)
Box 57			Journal articles 1919-1951 (5 folders)
Box 57			Letter with autograph 1937
Box 57			The Listener 1929-1946 (3 folders)
Box 57		Tax Payers' Committee, New Castle [New York] 1932-1933 (3 folders)
Box 58		Taxes 1969-1971 - clippings (2 folders)
Box 58		Tennyson Society 1963-1964
Box 58		Theatre 1931-1963 - clippings, correspondence (3 folders)
Box 58		Theatre 1931-1963 - clippings, correspondence (5 folders)
Box 58		Walter Gropius 1950-1968 - clippings
Box 59		Walter Gropius 1950-1968 - clippings
Box 59		Washington, D.C. 1961-1965 - mostly planning reports during the time Walker was involved (7 folders)
Box 59		Westchester County 1951-1960 - mostly County statistics (2 folders)
Box 60		Westchester County 1951-1960 - mostly County statistics (2 folders)
Box 60		[Westchester County planning] 1944-1957 - publications and reports
Box 60		What is Beautiful, What is Good: The Aesthetics of the Impersonal 1936-1970 - clippings; possibly related to speech of the same name (2 folders)
Box 60		World's Fair, Chicago 1928-1934 - includes minutes of the Architectural Commission, which Walker served on (5 folders)
Box 61		"World's Fair" 1928 - 2 issues of Zeitschrift für Bauwesen which seem to have no connection to folder title
Box 61		Zoning,New Castle [New York] 1925-1940 - minutes, appeals, meeting notices, and legal petitions (5 folders)

	Writings
		Articles
Box 62			Advantage of clutter und
Box 62			Aesthetic slum at The President's Meadow 1967 - includes photographs
Box 62			Aesthetics of the U.N. headquarters 1947
Box 62			American architecture and the architect 1935
Box 62			An architect's concept of postwar city needs 1943
Box 61			An architect's viewpoint 1957
Box 62			Architect and the standard of living 1938
Box 62			Architectural aids 1958
Box 62			Architectural engineering 1956
Box 62			Architecture 1931 - extracts only
Box 62			"Architecture in Nature" - 2 articles: "Nature and the Architect's Geometry" and "The U.N. in Hunter College, 1946"
Box 62			Architecture, professional preparation for 1970
Box 62			Architektura 1957
Box 62			Automobiles 1947 - includes correspondence
Box 61			Barclay-Vesey Building and its interior 1927 (2 folders)
Box 62			Birth of an idea 1953 - included in book New Screen Techniques, edited by Martin Quigley, Jr. NY: Quigley Publishing Company, 1953
Box 62			Books, design and content 1959
Box 62			Bringin' home a kitten 1936
Box 62			British architect and London 1944
Box 62			The city: Visions of urban life 1968
Box 62			The city Is important 1943
Box 62			Come to the fair! 1939
Box 62			Contemporary American industrial art 1940
Box 62			Density of population 1935
Box 63			The education necessary to the professional practice of architecture 1950-1951 (3 folders)
Box 63			Education of an architect 1969
Box 63			Financial aid to housing: Actual progress pade in housing and the methods employed to promote it 1948
Box 63			Fragmentary culture 1970
Box 63			Frank Lloyd Wright: His contribution to our American culture 1956
Box 63			Geometry of man-made landscape 1956
Box 63			Good design in architecure 1951
Box 63			Housing for Britain, pt.1 1944
Box 63			"If This Be Sentiment…": Some thoughts on the proposed extension of our capitol's east front 1958 - similar to the speech "Comments on Alfred Poor's Defense Concerning the Moving of the East Front of the National Capitol"
Box 63			Impact of the automobile on the American city 1952, 1962 - two different versions; 1952 folder has Italian translation (3 folders)
Box 64			"In Search of a Culture" and "The Exacting Word" 1968 (3 folders)
Box 64			Is this peace? 1950 - includes French version
Box 64			Japanese house 1940
Box 64			"Landscaping" [folder labeled as such, may not be correct] 1961-1962 - 2 articles: "Geometry of the Man-Made Landscape" and "Landscape Design: Homer Research Laboratories"; includes correspondence
Box 61			Leo Friedlander 1936
Box 64			L'habitation de Le Corbusier 1950 - correspondence and photographs
Box 64			London plan 1944
Box 64			Mies Van Der Rohe: Prophet of negation 1955-1956 (2 folders)
Box 61			Modernism 1930
Box 64			A new architecture 1926
Box 64			Opinion in American architecture IV: The ambiguous skyscraper 1935
Box 64			Our national capital 1957
Box 64			Pan American Congress 1948
Box 61			Paper, romance and the humble architect 1931
Box 64			Paradise here and now 1959
Box 61			Planning for the peace 1942
Box 65			A program for urban research 1934 (2 folders)
Box 61			Prophets and 'isms' 1931
Box 65			Research moves to the country 1946
Box 65			Science and the American home 1936
Box 65			A search for simplicity 1939 - Japan
Box 65			Seventy-six going on seventy-seven 1967 (2 folders)
Box 65			Slum clearance: City planning, LaGuardia Comm. 1958
Box 65			Statement by the architect 1960
Box 65			Strange flowers of anonymity 1951
Box 65			A straw man or two 1936 - critique of the journal Pencil Points
Box 65			Suggestions [for] bicentennial celebration, United States of America: How to influence the greatest number 1969
Box 65			Telephone building 1926
Box 65			Theatre und
Box 65			Thoughts of others 1951
Box 65			UNESCO Conference of Arts and Letters at Venice 1953
Box 66			Why ornament? 1970
Box 66			A window for Chartres 1954
Box 66			Miscellaneous 1930-1934, 1943 (3 folders)
Box 61			Miscellaneous galleys 1947
Box 66		Book reviews und
		Books - related to books Walker was included in, as well as (possibly) chapters of a book he was working on
Box 66			The architect and the machine 1959-1960 - includes outline; may be a part of "Each Day Anew" and/or "Machine, Aesthetics and Architecture'," both of which have a similar chapter (3 folders)
Box 66			Architectural practice 1947, 1958 - foreword
Box 66			Architecture at mid-century 1954 - foreword; unclear if this is for a book or a committee report
Box 66			Art of building cities 1944-1946, 1955 - introduction to the English translation of Camillo Sitte's book; includes correspondence
Box 66			Caribbean 1940-1941 - reminiscences of Walker's time in the Caribbean during World War II with the Army Corps of Engineers .
Box 67			Caribbean 1940-1941 - reminiscences of Walker's time in the Caribbean during World War II with the Army Corps of Engineers . (3 folders)
Box 67-68			Each day anew undated - (9 folders)
				This material has been arranged alphabetically by chapter title, with the exception of folders labeled as '"Miscellaneous" which were variously called "They Were Giants", "There Were Giants", and "Giants in Those Days." Many of these chapters are from Walker's other writings and life recollections. He may have collected them with plans to turn them into a book, but if so it was never published/
Box 69			Engineering enrollment in the United States 1956-1957 - chapter, "Architectural Engineering"; includes correspondence
Box 69			Fly in the amber: Comments on the making of architecture 1957 - self-published printed volume
Box 69			Laboratory design 1946-1951 - drafts for parts of two chapters for National Research Council report on design, construction and equipment of laboratories; correspondence with publisher and editor
Box 69			Library buildings for library service 1947 - Chapter, "Section E. Engineering Problems", along with correspondence; differs from the chapter eventually published, which was "The legal and financial aspects of building planning"
Box 69			Machine, aesthetics and architecture undated - many of these chapters are from Walker's other writings and life recollections; he may have collected them with plans to turn them into a book, but if so it was never published (8 folders)
Box 70			Machine, aesthetics and architecture und - many of these chapters are from Walker's other writings and life recollections; he may have collected them with plans to turn them into a book, but if so it was never published (8 folders)
Box 70			New screen techniques 1953 - chapter, "The Birth of an Idea"
Box 70			Ralph Walker. The American Institute of Architects, 1921.1961 1961 - self-published printed volume. An account of Walker's severing of ties to the AIA in 1961
Box 61		Editorials 1936-1938 - mostly from Pencil Points, but others as well
		Essays
Box 71			The architect and his education as related to the Architectural School at Columbia 1934
Box 71			Bauhaus] 1969-1970 - title on piece is "The Myth of Bauhaus and Others'"; includes photos
Box 71			The city 1968-1969 - clippings; one folder is labeled "Chapter IV" and has contents entiled 'The City: Ideal or Otherwise" (6 folders)
Box 71			Dialogue: Korax - Eubatos 1947 (2 folders)
Box 12			Dialogue: Korax - Eubatos 1947 - includes galleys and correspondence (2 folders)
Box 72			Diversions 1965 (4 folders)
Box 72			Mr. Nixon 1970 - includes clippings
Box 72			Notes for a letter to Pietro Belluschi 1953-1954
Box 72			Notes on the theatre 1959 (3 folders)
Oversize 31			Notes on the theatre 1959 - booklets
Box 72			Sayings of Louise 1970
Box 72			Tax reform and government of cities 1969 (2 folders)
		Poetry - self-published; date given is published date, poems themselves could be from earlier
Box 73			Cyma recta 1968-1969
Box 73			Screaming egos, fragile ids 1966
Box 73			Vagrants 1966
Box 73			Vidi 1951
		Speeches, lectures, talks, forums, addresses, presentations, etc. [includes papers presented]
			Many of the following folders are titled by Walker with the speech title but include drafts, correspondence, research material, clippings, photos, galleys, printed materials, etc. which may or may not be related to the speech itself.
Box 73			American Institute of Architects convention, Washington 1950 - multiple speeches (2 folders)
Box 73			American Institute of Architects convention, Chicago 1951 - multiple speeches
Box 73			Aesthetics of architecture and full employment 1945 - includes printed address of this with slightly different title, "Esthetics of Architecture"
Box 73			Aesthetics of the modern city: The overwhelming wave of bigness 1957 (2 folders)
Box 73			American Legion, Chappaqua Post 1945-1946 - 2 speeches
Box 73			American Planning and Civic Association 1959
Box 73			American Society of Civil Engineers, Junior Branch Metropolitan 1956 (2 folders)
Box 73			American Society of Landscape Architects, New York Chapter 1949
Box 74			The architect and his compensation 1949
Box 74			The architect and His Education 1946 - an earlier version of "The Contemporary Architect and His Education"
Box 74			The architect and the city: The need for a designer 1944
Box 61			The architect and the post war world 1946
Box 74			The architect and the post war world 1946 (2 folders)
Box 74			The architect and the university library 1951 (2 folders)
Box 74			The architect as a modern 1949 (2 folders)
Box 74			The architect as a student 1949
Box 74			The architect asks why 1949
Box 74			The architect's public relations 1949
Box 74			Architectural League 1946
Box 74			Architecture and today's living 1957 (2 folders)
Box 74			Architecture of housing 1940
Box 74			Architecture of our national capital 1957 (2 folders)
Box 75			Architecture: Profession or business? 1950 (2 folders)
Box 75			Art Alliance talk: Expositions 1939 - 2 different speeches delivered at 2 different locations
Box 75			Art Director's Club 1939 - talks on Japan
Box 75			Arts Forum, Columbia University 1955 (2 folders)
Box 75			Basis of design 1961
Box 75			Beauty in wood 1954 (2 folders)
Box 75			Behind the Venetian blind: Further thoughts on the quality of light 1951-1952 - 2 versions (4 folders)
Box 75			Benjamin Franklin Stiftung 1956-1958 - speeches given at various points during the building of Berlin's Congress Hall, including "Cornerstone Ceremonies," "Dedication Ceremonies" and "Passing of title" (3 folders)
Box 76			Book and Author supper, Cosmos Club 1958 (2 folders)
Box 76			Building for the tropics 1952 (2 folders)
Box 76			Building materials 1956 (2 folders)
Box 76			Building Trades Employers Association 1951 (2 folders)
Box 76			California [folder titled as such, may not be correct] 1951 - miscellaneous speeches made during a 1951 trip, all previously used; includes correspondence (3 folders)
Box 76			California Council of Architect's Convention, Palm Springs 1949 (2 folders)
Box 76			Centennial Banquet, AIA: Sans Dogme, Sans Monotonie 1957 - Walker's receipt of Centennial Medal of Honor
Box 76			Central New York Chapter, AIA 1943 - notes for luncheon talk
Box 76			A Certificate of Honorary Fellowship 1955 - includes much correspondence with Royal Institute of British Architects, where this speech was given
Box 76			Changing philosophy of architecture 1954
Box 77			Chappaqua Library 1952, 1967 - includes clippings and program notes (2 folders)
Box 77			Citizens' Housing and Planning Council of New York, Inc. meeting 1942, 1949 - introductory remarks
Box 77			City planning 1929 - radio talk on WJZ
Box 77			City planning and architecture today 1956
Box 77			Classics vs. poppycocks and "hit parades" 1956 (3 folders)
Box 77			Color in architecture 1927
Box 77			"Comments on Alfred Poor's defense concerning the moving of the east front of the national capitol" 1958 - similar to the article "If This be Sentiment…"
Box 77			Commuting to Cumuto 1941 (3 folders)
Box 77			The contemporary architect and his education 1947 - includes correspnondence and illustrations (2 folders)
Box 78			Contemporary design 1939
Box 78			Decorators Club [New York] 1943 - notes for talk, correspondence
Box 78			Design of communities 1949 - includes "The architect and his society" (2 folders)
Box 78			Designing buildings for research 1954-1955 (2 folders)
Box 78			Designing conveniences for research 1952 (2 folders)
Box 78			Designing the modern skyscraper 1929 - radio talk
Box 78			Disregarding media 1968-1971
Box 78			Education necessary to the professionalpractice of architecture 1950
Box 78			Education of the architect 1952 (2 folders)
Box 78			Education of the architect in America 1952 (3 folders)
Box 79			Essence of tradition 1959 (2 folders)
Box 79			The federal city 1958 (2 folders)
Box 79			The field of the architect 1949 (2 folders)
Box 79			Fly in the amber (alt title: The changing philosophy of architecture) 1954 (2 folders)
Box 79			Form follows function 1935
Box 79			Frank Lloyd Wright: Gold Medal National Institute of Arts and Letters 1953
Box 79			Frank Lloyd Wright Testimonial Dinner 1955 (2 folders)
Box 79			Friends of the Columbia Libraries 1951 (2 folders)
Box 79			Functionalism in architecture 1931
Box 79			The future city 1942
Box 79			Geometry of man-made landscapes 1959 (2 folders)
Box 80			Henry Hering Medal. Architectural League of New York 1960
Box 80			The horns of the modern dilemma 1951
Box 80			Hospital consultants 1950
Box 80			Hospitals: Yale University 1951 (2 folders)
Box 80			How efficient is the building industry? 1949-1950 (2 folders)
Box 80			The human city 1951
Box 80			Human use of architecture 1952, 1954 - 2 versions; includes Italian translation (4 folders)
Box 80			Humans + materials = architecture 1939-1947 - booklets comprised of Walker's speeches from these years, Series I-II, 2 copies of each; correspondence. (3 folders)
Box 81			In quest of eutopia 1949
Box 81			In search of a humanistic art 1950
Box 81			The industrialization of buildings 1953 - includes correspnondence, research materials (2 folders)
Box 81			Landscape architects [New York Chapter American Society of Landscape Architects] 1949
Box 81			Legal and financial aspects of building planning 1946
Box 81			Library at MIT [Massachusetts Institute of Technology] 1948
Box 81			London, winter 1943 1943 - self-published booklet of speeches given during trip there
Box 81			The machine, aesthetics and architecture 1954 (2 folders)
Box 81			The machine and architecture 1930 - cannot find
Box 81			Masonry walls in modular dimensions 1956 (3 folders)
Box 81			The meaning of design 1946
Box 81			Modern design: After purity, what? 1951
Box 82			Modern House Design 1936
Box 82			Modernization of commercial buildings 1939
Box 82			Montclair Library 1955
Box 82			NAHO [National Association of Housing Officials] conference, Boston 1949
Box 82			National Citizens Planning Conference 1959 - undelivered speech (2 folders)
Box 82			National Housing Conference 1950
Box 82			Nature and the architect's geometry 1948
Box 82			New building techniques and clay products 1951
Box 82			New Hampshire and Vermont Chapters, AIA 1950 - 2 separate speeches
Box 82			New York Chapter, AIA 1949
Box 82			New York Chapter, AIA, Medal of Honor 1950
Box 82			Notes for New School luncheon 1958
Box 82			Outrage 1956
Box 82			The overwhelming sense of bigness 1957
Box 82			PTAmeeting, Chappaqua [NY] 1945 - notes for talk
Box 82			Paul Cret 1938
Box 82			Pensylvania Society of Architects symposium 1949
Box 82			Performance information needed by the architect 1960 - includes published version (2 folders)
Box 82			The planner's position in society today 1943 - Columbia University; includes correspondence
Box 82			Planning and zoning 1937
Box 82			Planning in a democratic community 1945-1946 - speech used twice at two different places and times
Box 83			Planning seminars, Columbia University 1943
Box 83			The potential city 1951
Box 83			Presentation of the Jewel of Office to President Chatelain 1958
Box 83			The president's jewel 1958
Box 83			Princeton University lectures 1934
Box 83			The problems of our education 1949 (2 folders)
Box 83			The problems of the modern city 1950
Box 83			The professional man 1944 (2 folders)
Box 83			Public relations 1949 (2 folders)
Box 83			The purpose of light 1949 (2 folders)
Box 83			Pyramidonics 1933 - includes slide diagrams
Box 83			Quality 1957 (3 folders)
Box 84			Quality 1957
Box 84			Reactions on the President's Advisory Committee on Housing policies and programs 1954 (2 folders)
Box 84			Relation of skyscrapers to our life 1930
Box 84			Return to encompassability 1953
Box 84			Rise of the factory style 1952-1953 - 2 versions; includes Italian translation (9 folders)
Box 12			Rise of the factory style 1954 - includes photographs, correspondence, and plans
Box 85			Roger Williams Memorial Dedication 1939 - includes booklet, "Exercises at the dedication of the Roger Williams Monument"
Box 85			Rotch Scholars: In Memorium to Annie Rotch Lamb [alt title: "Rotch Scholarship Dinner"] 1950 (2 folders)
Box 85			Sans dogme, sans monotonie 1957 -
				See also Centennial Banquet, AIA: Sans dogme, sans monotonie.
Box 85			Seminars and their possibilities 1949 (2 folders)
Box 85			Sixth Avenue rebuilt 1937
Box 85			Society of Architectural Historians 1952 (2 folders)
Box 85			Space devoted to God and how man can give it light 1956 (2 folders)
Box 85			Special residential and business area problems 1956 (2 folders)
Box 85			Standards 1944 - notes for panel at conference, "Financing the postwar building boom on a sound basis," hosted by the National Committee on Housing
Box 85			Stevens Institute 1937
Box 85			Talks on city planning 1942
Box 85			Trip to England: Articles and talks 1944 - correspondence and articles, mainly based on speeches presented on Walker's 1944 trip to England (2 folders)
Box 86			Trip to England: Articles and talks 1944 - correspondence and articles, mainly based on speeches presented on Walker's 1944 trip to England (2 folders)
Box 87			University of Toronto lecture on planning 1944
Box 86			Urban planning and the architect 1949 (2 folders)
Box 86			The urbanity of form 1953 (4 folders)
Box 86			We need teachers 1950 (2 folders)
Box 86			Westchester [N.Y.] Citizens' Housing Conference panel discussion 1959-1960
Box 88			What is beautiful, what is good 1965
Box 88			Where do we go from here? 1952, 1954 - one folder labled "Harvard Graduate School of Design"; Includes correspondence.
Box 88			Where do you go from here? 1952-1955 - appears to be the same speech as above, with slightly different title (3 folders)
Box 88			White Plains 1942-1944 - includes other speeches that are unrelated but from same time period
Box 88			The world we architects might hope to build 1950 (3 folders)
Box 88			Your profession and mine 1957 (2 folders)
Box 88			Miscellaneous 1930-1934, 1943, undated
Box 87			Miscellaneous galleys 1947 (2 folders)
		Miscellaneous
Box 88			"Architecture of Paranoia" 1972 - includes clippings and photos (3 folders)
Box 89			"Le Corbusier" 1929-1957 - draft fragments and clippings
Box 89			Drafts undated (2 folders)
Box 89			Fragments und
Box 89			"Frank Lloyd Wright"
Box 89			Notebooks undated - drafts (4 folders)
Box 90			Notes undated (2 folders)
Box 90			"Notes aphorisms etc" 1941-1942
Box 90			"Notes/Aphorisms/Manuscripts" 1941-1942 (2 folders)
Box 90			"Notes city planning" 1951
Box 90			"Notes London" 1943
Box 90			"Notes/Measurement/Zoning Law/ Chas. Haines 1916, 1930
Box 90			"Notes on Housing, Planning, etc." - drafts
Box 90			"Notes, Questionaires, Letters, etc [re:] Philadelphia Opera House" 1932 - includes 2 letters from Leopold Stokowski
Box 90			Pennsylvania Avenue 1964 - report note including correspondence and illustrations
Box 90			"The Theatre" - drafts and clippings
Box 90		Writings by others, miscellaneous

Return to top