Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Index to interviews

Inventory

Interview scripts

Interview audiorecordings

The Hate That Hate Produced (documentary)

printer friendly version

Mike Wallace Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Wallace, Mike, 1918-2012.
Title: Mike Wallace Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1959-1961
Quantity: 14 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the television journalist and news commentator. Television documentary, interview scripts and audiorecordings of interviews. People represented include Edward Albee, Cleveland Amory, George Axelrod, William F. Buckley Jr., Marcel Duchamp, Max Eastman, Anne Francis, Gus Hall, Ben Hecht, Henry Kissinger, Shirley MacLaine, Bishop James A. Pike, Ayn Rand, Carl Sandburg, Gore Vidal, and Tennessee Williams.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Myron Leon "Mike" Wallace (1918-2012) was an American journalist, interviewer, actor, host and commentator.

Born in Brookline, Massachusetts on May 9, 1918, he received his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Michigan after attending the University from 1935 to 1939. Wallace first appeared on radio as a regular guest on the quiz show Information Please in 1939, and began the transition to television work in 1949. During his early career, Wallace hosted the television interview programs Night Beat on WABD-New York (1955-1957),The Mike Wallace Interview on ABC (1957-1958), PM East for Westinghouse Broadcasting (1961-1962), and the David Wolper-produced Biography series in the early 1960s. In 1959, Wallace co-produced with Louis Lomax a five-part documentary on the Nation of Islam, The Hate That Hate Produced. After hosting The CBS Morning News for many years, in 1968 Wallace began his long tenure on the CBS News program, 60 Minutes, where he served as a host and corresponsdent for the next forty years of his career. Over the course of his distinguished career, Wallace received many awards and recognitions, including 21 Emmy Awards, 3 Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards and 3 George Foster Peabody Awards. In 2003 he was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Emmy.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mike Wallace Papers consists of transcripts and audiorecordings of interviews with a wide variety of personalities, including authors, entertainers, religious leaders, political figures, and more. Notable interviewees include Edward Albee, Cleveland Amory, George Axelrod, William F. Buckley Jr., Marcel Duchamp, Max Eastman, Anne Francis, Gus Hall, Ben Hecht, Henry Kissinger, Shirley MacLaine, Bishop James A. Pike, Ayn Rand, Carl Sandburg, Gore Vidal, Tennessee Williams, and many more. The collection also contains the 1959 documentary on the Nation of Islam, The Hate That Hate Produced in film (telecine) and videotape formats.

Although the collection may contain both script(s) and audiorecording(s) for a given person, they are not necessarily from the same interview. A complete index of all interview participants is available at the end of this finding aid.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Scripts are arranged alphabetically by interviewee. Audiorecordings are in order by ID number.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

All recordings in the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

The University of Michigan, Wallace's alma mater, holds the majority of Mike Wallace's papers. The University of Texas at Austin's Harrry Ransom Center has a video collection of Wallace interviews, accessible at http://www.hrc.utexas.edu/collections/film/holdings/wallace/.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Albee, Edward, 1928-
Amory, Cleveland.
Axelrod, George.
Buckley, William F., Jr., 1925-2008.
Duchamp, Marcel, 1887-1968.
Eastman, Max, 1883-1969.
Francis, Anne, 1932-2011.
Hall, Gus.
Hecht, Ben, 1894-1964.
Kissinger, Henry, 1923-
MacLaine, Shirley, 1934-
Pike, James A. (James Albert), 1913-1969.
Rand, Ayn.
Sandburg, Carl, 1878-1967.
Serling, Rod, 1924-1975.
Vidal, Gore, 1925-2012.
Wallace, Mike, 1918-2012.
Williams, Tennessee, 1911-1983.

Associated Titles

The hate that hate produced.

Subjects

Actors -- Interviews.
Actresses -- Interviews.
Authors -- Interviews.
Comedians -- Interviews.
Journalists -- United States.
Politicians -- Interviews.

Genres and Forms

Documentary film.
Film reels.
Interviews.
Sound recordings.
Transcripts.
Videotapes.

Occupations

Journalists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mike Wallace Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Aug 1967
Revision history: 17 Sep 2007 - converted to EAD (JPK); 11 Apr 2012 - updated bio (MRC); 26 Aug 2013 - added box 12, audiorecordings (MRC); 19 Dec 2013 - audiorecordings updated (MRC); 2 Jun 2014 - box no's added for recordings (MRC); 27 Jul 2015 - biography updated; film and videotape holdings added (MBD); 6 Mar 2018 - added Soraci, tape #232, also #092 missing (MRC); 12 Dec 2022 - media descriptions and containers updated (MRC/IRP)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

All recordings in the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Interview scripts
Although the collection may contain both script(s) and audiorecording(s) for a given person, they are not necessarily from the same interview. A complete index of all interview participants is available at the end of this finding aid.
Box 1 Aadland, Beverly Nov 10 1959
Box 1 Aherne, Brian Apr 1 1960
Box 1 Albee, Edward Feb 15 1961
Box 1 Albert, Eddie Jan 17 1961
Box 1 Allen, Mel May 12 1959
Box 1 Allen, Steve Oct 10 1960
Box 1 Amory, Cleveland Dec 10 1959, Dec 5 1960, Dec 19 1960
Box 1 Andrews, Dana Apr 6 1959
Box 1 Anka, Paul Nov 22, 1960
Box 1 Ashmore, Harry May 19 1960
Box 1 Atkinson, Ted Mar 4 1959
Box 1 Aumont, Jean Pierre Mar 10 1960
Box 1 Axelrod, George Mar 30 1960, Apr 20 1960
Box 1 Baldwin, James Mar 24 1961
Box 1 Balin, Ina Sep 13 1960
Box 1 Bancroft, Anne Mar 6 1959
Box 1 Baxley, Barbara Nov 21 1960
Box 1 Bean, Orson Mar 18 1959
Box 1 Beatty, Clyde Apr 9 1959
Box 1 Bedford, Duchess of Oct 25 1960
Box 1 Begin, Menachem Nov 28 1960
Box 1 Belfrage, Sally Mar 23 1959
Box 1 Bendix, William Oct 31 1960
Box 1 Bennett, Tony Mar 29 1961
Box 1 Berman, Shelley Apr 20 1959
Box 1 Bikel, Theodore Nov 20 1959
Box 1 Blansherd [Blanshard?], Paul Jan 14 1960
Box 1 Block, Martin Mar 12 1959
Box 1 Bloeth, Jane Aug 17 1959
Box 1 Bonomi, John Dec 20 1960
Box 1 Boswell, Connee Dec 19 1960
Box 1 Bowles, Chester Dec 17 1959
Box 1 Boyington, Pappy May 5 1959
Box 1 Bracken, Eddie Sep 16 1959
Box 1 Bradley, William Apr 13 1959
Box 1 Branden, Nathaniel Feb 29 1960
Box 2 Bricktop Mar 3 1961
Box 2 Brooks, Mel Jan 17 1961
Box 2 Bucholz, Earl Feb 9 1961
Box 2 Buckley, William F., Jr. Dec 5 1960, Feb 29 1960
Box 2 Burnett, Carol Mar 17 1960
Box 2 Caldwell, Erskine Nov 6 1959
Box 2 Calloway, Cab Sep 24 1959
Box 2 Calvert, Captain James Nov 1 1960
Box 2 Campanella, Roy Nov 27 1959
Box 2 Carey, James B Oct 29 1959
Box 2 Carnera, Primo Mar 10 1961
Box 2 Carroll, Diahann Feb 10 1961
Box 2 Cassevetes,John Oct 31 1960
Box 2 Cassini, Oleg Jan 6 1961
Box 2 Cater, Douglass Oct 4 1960
Box 2 Cerf, Bennett Nov 19 1959
Box 2 Channing, Carol Mar 3 1961
Box 2 Charell, Lissa Apr 1 1960
Box 2 Chase, Ilka Oct 10 1960
Box 2 Cobb, Lee J. May 10 1960
Box 2 Cohen, Alexander Dec 4 1959
Box 2 Cohen, Benjamin Jun 17 1959
Box 2 Comden, Betty and Green, Adolph Feb 17 1961
Box 2 Conniff, Frank Jan 6 1961
Box 2 Conreid, Hans Feb 24 1959
Box 2 Cousy, Bob Sep 16 1959
Box 2 Cowles, Fleur Oct 15 1959
Box 2 Cox, Wally Oct 5 1959
Box 3 Crawford, Christina Sep 19 1960
Box 3 Crawford, John Aug 17 1959
Box 3 Crawford, Kenneth Nov 7 1960
Box 2 Crosby, Gary Mar 23 1961
Box 2 Crosby, John Oct 28 1959, Nov 7 1960
Box 2 Crowther, Bosley Apr 3 1960
Box 3 Cugat, Xavier Mar 30 1959
Box 3 Dahl, Roald n.d.
Box 3 D'Amato, Gus May 12 1959
Box 3 Danielsen, Terry Jul 23 1959
Box 3 Darcel, Denise Nov 4 1959
Box 3 Darin, Bobby May 31 1960, Mar 16 1961
Box 3 Dash, Samuel Nov 4 1959
Box 3 Dauphin, Claude Mar 3 1960
Box 3 Davis, Sammy, Jr. Mar 2 1959, Dec 28 1960
Box 3 Day, Dorothy Sep 9 1959
Box 3 Dee, Ruby Mar 30 1961
Box 3 DeHaven, Gloria Nov 14 1960
Box 3 Demara, F.W. Jul 7 1959
Box 3 Desai, Morarji Oct 4 1960
Box 3 DeSeversky, Alexander Apr 22 1960
Box 3 de Toledano, Ralph Apr 29 1960
Box 3 Diller, Phyllis Oct 17 1960
Box 3 Douglas, Jack Apr 6 1959
Box 3 Douglas, Melvyn Oct 9 1959
Box 3 Downs, Hugh Sep 12 1960
Box 3 Duchamp, Marcel Dec 12 1960
Box 3 East, P.D Mar 10 1961
Box 3 Eastman, Max Apr 13 1959
Box 3 Edmondson, J. Howard Oct 26 1959
Box 3 Ellis, Dr. Albert Mar 26 1959
Box 3 Emerson, Faye May 30 1960
Box 3 Evans, Maurice Nov 20 1959
Box 4 Fabian Sep 26 1960
Box 4 Falkenberg, Jinx Aug 24 1959
Box 4 Feiffer, Jules Mar 30 1960
Box 4 Fitzgerald, Ed Jan 8 1960
Box 4 Fletcher, Joseph Oct 3 1960
Box 4 Foch, Nina Oct 12 1959
Box 4 Ford, Phil and Hines, Mimi Jan 12 1961
Box 4 Francis, Anne Sep 15 1959
Box 4 Francis, Arlene Feb 24 1959
Box 4 Francis, Connie Nov 16 1960
Box 4 Frank, Gerold Mar 18 1959
Box 4 Furness, Betty Oct 1 1959, Mar 10 1961
Box 4 Gabor, Eva Jun 10 1959
Box 4 Gabor, Jolie Jul 2 1959
Box 4 Gabor, Zsa Zsa Feb 9 1961
Box 4 Galento, Tony May 1 1959
Box 4 Gang Leader Sep 30 1959
Box 4 Gardner, Hy Apr 22 1959
Box 4 Gerlich, Jackie May 1 1959
Box 4 Gifford, Frank Mar 9 1961
Box 4 Gillespie, Dizzy Mar 23 1961
Box 4 Gonzalez, Pancho Apr 15 1959
Box 4 Graham, Sheilah Feb 23 1959
Box 4 Granville, Joseph Dec 12 1960
Box 4 Gray, Robert K. Feb 3 1961
Box 4 Greco, Jose Apr 15 1960
Box 4 Greene, Gael Apr 17 1960
Box 4 Gregory, Dick Apr 10 1961
Box 4 Griffin, John Howard Mar 22 1960
Box 4 Griffith, Andy May 5 1959
Box 4 Guttmacher, Alan Jul 29 1959
Box 5 Haigh, Kenneth Mar 10 1960
Box 5 Hall, Gus Dec 17 1959, Jan 6 1961
Box 5 Hansberry, Lorraine May 8 1959
Box 5 Hardwicke , Sir Cedric Apr 2 1959
Box 5 Harriman, Averell Jul 27 1959
Box 5 Hart, Moss Oct 28 1959
Box 5 Hartford, Huntington May 12 1959
Box 5 Hauser, Gayelord Jan 26 1961
Box 5 Havoc, June Feb 25 1959
Box 5 Hayakawa, Sessue Apr 20 1959
Box 5 Hecht, Ben Mar 23 1959
Box 5 Hildegarde Nov 5 1959
Box 5 Hilgemeier, Ed Aug 10 1959
Box 5 Hillary, Sir Edmund Aug 3 1959
Box 5 Hingle, Pat Jan 14 1960
Box 5 Hodges, Luther Apr 14 1961
Box 5 Hoffmann, Dr. Richard Feb 21 1961
Box 5 Horwich, Frances Sep 16 1959
Box 5 Hughes, Emmet John Nov 5 1959
Box 5 Huie, William Bradford Mar 16 1959
Box 5 Humphrey, Hubert Mar 9 1959
Box 5 Hunter, Kim Apr 30 1961
Box 5 Hutchinson, Admiral Elmo Dec 10 1959
Box 6 Irwin, Monte Mar 14 1960
Box 6 Isaacs, Stanley Dec 23 1959
Box 6 Israel Interviews (opens and closes) n.d.
Box 6 Jaffe, Rona Sep 21 1959
Box 6 Jessel, George Aug 31 1959
Box 6 Jorgensen, Christine Apr 22 1959
Box 6 Kenny, Nick Oct 30 1960
Box 6 King, Dennis Mar 2 1961 (?)
Box 6 King, Martin Luther Feb 2 1961
Box 6 Kinkead, Eugene Mar 18 1959
Box 6 Kintner, Earl Feb 16 1960
Box 6 Kissinger, Henry Mar 2 1961
Box 6 Kitt, Eartha Jun 17 1959, Apr 14 1961
Box 6 Kline, Nathan Mar 10 1960
Box 6 Koch, Leo F. Nov 16 1960 - additional informational material
Box 6 Laine, Frankie Apr 15 1959
Box 6 Lanchester, Elsa Aug 31 1959, Feb 23 1961
Box 6 Landis, James M. Jan 11 1961
Box 6 Lane, Abbe Mar 30 1959
Box 6 Lane, Frank Jan 24 1960
Box 6 Lanphier, Thomas Jun 2 1960
Box 6 Laurence, William L. Oct 2 1959, May 30 1960
Box 6 Laurie, Piper Jan 24 1960
Box 6 Lehman, Herbert H. Dec 30 1959
Box 6 Lemmon, Jack Oct 31 1960
Box 6 Leonard, Jack E. Mar 25 1960
Box 6 Leonetti, Tommy Mar 23 1959
Box 6 Lerner, Max Oct 10 1960
Box 7 Levin, Meyer Sep 28 1959
Box 7 Levy, Raoul Sep 23 1959
Box 7 Leyra, Camilo Weston Apr 2 1959
Box 7 Lilo Nov 14 1960
Box 7 London, Ephraim Apr 28 1959
Box 7 Loos, Anita Apr 6 1961
Box 7 Lorre, Peter Feb 17 1960
Box 7 Louis, Joe May 26 1960
Box 7 Louise, Tina Mar 2 1960
Box 7 Lovejoy, Frank Apr 14 1960
Box 7 Loy, Myrna Oct 17 1960
Box 7 Lumet, Sidney Feb 25 1960
Box 7 Lynley, Carol Mar 3 1961
Box 7 Lytess, Natasha Nov 21 1960
Box 7 MacDonald, Jeanette Aug or Sept 1959
Box 7 Machado, China Mar 21 1961
Box 7 Maclver, Joyce Feb 3 1961
Box 7 MacLaine, Shirley Nov 23 1959
Box 7 Mailer, Norman Nov 18 1959
Box 7 Malden, Karl Mar 17 1961
Box 7 Mankowitz, Wolf Mar 16 1960
Box 7 Mannes, Marya Apr 3 1960, Oct 25 1960
Box 7 March, Hal Mar 9 1961
Box 7 Mason, Pamela Dec 26 1960
Box 7 Maurois, Andre Nov 16 1960
Box 7 Maxwell, Elsa Apr 14 1961
Box 7 McBride, Mary Margaret Dec 13 1960
Box 7 McDonald, Marie Apr 6 1959
Box 7 McDowell, Roddy Apr 14 1961
Box 7 McKay, Gardner May 19 1960
Box 7 McManus. Virginia n.d.
Box 7 McVey, Jackson Apr 3 1960
Box 7 Meacham. Anne Nov 28 1960
Box 7 Meadows, Jayne Mar 26 1959
Box 7 Medina, Harold Sep 2 1959
Box 7 Menon, V.K. Krishna Nov 6 1959
Box 7 Merriam, Eve Nov 7 1960
Box 7 Merrick, David Jan 12 1961
Box 7 Mesta, Perle Apr 14 1960
Box 7 Meyer, Frank Jan 5 1961
Box 7 Michelfelder, William Oct 3 1960
Box 8 Michener, James Sep 27 1960
Box 8 Mineo, Sal May 10 1960, Sep 19 1960
Box 8 Montagu, Ashley Sep 13 1960
Box 8 Mr. John Apr 28 1959
Box 8 Muggeridge, Malcolm Sep 26 1960
Box 8 Mulligan. Gerry Jul 1 1959
Box 8 Murray, Ken Feb 11 1960
Box 8 Murray, Mac Nov 18 1959
Box 8 Myerson, Bess Oct 18 1960
Box 8 Nagel, Conrad Oct 16 1959
Box 8 Newmar, Julie Apr 15 1959, Feb 23 1961
Box 8 Nichols, Mike Dec 20 1960
Box 8 Novarro, Ramon Nov 27 1959
Box 8 Obolensky, Serge Mar 30 1959
Box 8 O'Brien, Margaret Mar 9 1961
Box 8 Odero-Jour, J.G. Nov 16 1960 (?)
Box 8 O'Keefe, Dennis Sep 15 1959
Box 8 O'Leary, Frank Jul 9 1959
Box 8 Pasternak. Joseph Oct 30 1959
Box 8 Pauling, Linus, Dr. Oct 24 1960
Box 8 Paxinou, Katina Oct 5 1959
Box 8 Pernot, Dom Placide Sep 19 1960
Box 8 Petrovskaya, Kyra May 8 1959
Box 8 Pike, Bishop James A. Feb 21 1961
Box 8 Pincus, Gregory, Dr. Nov 22 1960
Box 8 Poston, Tom May 22 1959
Box 8 Powell, Adam C. Mar 16 1959
Box 8 Preminger, Otto Jun 23 1959, Jan 12 1961
Box 8 Prinz, Joachim Jan 8 1960
Box 8 Quill, Michael J. Apr 22 1959, Sep 26 1960
Box 8 Rand, Ayn Feb 25 1959, Apr 18 1960, Mar 17 1961
Box 8 Randall, Tony Sep 2 1959
Box 8 Randell, Ron Aug 5 1959
Box 8 Randolph, A. Philip Oct 21 1959
Box 8 Regler, Gustav Mar 3 1960
Box 9 Remick, Lee Aug 26 1959, Jan 27 1960
Box 9 Reuther, Walter Oct 4 1960
Box 9 Reynolds, Quentin Sep 27 1960 n.d.
Box 9 Rich, Buddy Sep 3 1959, Dec 6 1960
Box 9 Riesel, Victor Oct 23 1959, Dec 28 1960
Box 9 Ritchard, Cyril Apr 14 1961
Box 9 Robbins, Dr. Lewis Feb 10 1961
Box 9 Robustelli, Andy Apr 11 1961
Box 9 Rocca, Antonino Apr 22 1960
Box 9 Roosevelt Jr., Franklin D. Jr. May 25 1959
Box 9 Roosevelt, James May 25 1959
Box 9 Roosevelt Jr., Mrs. Theodore Jul 24 1959
Box 9 Rosenfeld, Henry Nov 8 1960
Box 9 Rosensohn, William Jun 23 1959
Box 9 Rosten, Leo Oct 7 1959
Box 9 Roth, Philip Mar 28 1960
Box 9 Ruark, Robert Sep 1959 (?)
Box 9 Rule, Janice Apr 11 1961
Box 9 Sahl, Mort Apr 6 1960
Box 9 St. John, Robert Oct 18 1960
Box 9 Salisbury, Harrison Oct 22 1959
Box 9 Sandburg, Carl Sep 12 1960
Box 9 Schary, Dore Mar 16 1961
Box 9 Scopes, John T Oct 10 1960
Box 9 Scott, Hazel Apr 14 1961
Box 9 Scott, Zachary Feb 2 1961
Box 9 Seal, Elizabeth Jan 12 1961
Box 9 Seberg, Jean Mar 17 1961
Box 9 Segal, Harry "Champ" Feb 15 1961
Box 9 Serling, Rod Sep 15 1959
Box 9 Sheean, Vincent Mar 7 1960
Box 9 Sherek, Henry Dec 30 1959
Box 9 Shirer, William Nov 29 1960
Box 9 Shor, Toots May 15 1959
Box 9 Sillman, Leonard Oct 23 1959
Box 9 Skinner, Cornelia Otis Oct 2 1959
Box 9 Smith, H. Allen Mar 14 1960
Box 10 Smith, Merriman Feb 10 1961
Box 10 Sokolsky, George Mar 9 1960
Box 10 Soraci, Carmelo Apr 6 1961
Box 10 Soustelle, Jacques Mar 30 1960
Box 10 Stapleton, Maureen May 1 1959
Box 10 Steiger, Rod Nov 22 1960
Box 10 Sterling, Jan Mar 16 1960
Box 10 Stern, Bill Oct 9 1959
Box 10 Stern, Isaac Jan 12 1961
Box 10 Stevens, Inger Dec 20 1959
Box 10 Stevens, Leslie Apr 6 1960 (?)
Box 10 Stevenson, Adlai Sep 14 1959
Box 10 Stone, Willis Oct 11 1960 - additional informational material
Box 10 Stritch, Elaine Mar 12 1959 (?)
Box 10 Styne, Jule Mar 2 1960
Box 10 Susskind, David Apr 28 1959, Sep 20 1960
Box 10 Taylor, Renee Jan 6 1961
Box 10 Tillstrom, Bur Nov 8 1960
Box 10 Todd, Mike Jr. Feb 11 1960
Box 10 Torme, Mel Feb 17 1961
Box 10 Tracy, Vincent Jan 5 1961
Box 10 Trapp, Maria Dec 6 1960, Dec 20 1960
Box 10 Umeki, Miyoshi Apr 20 1959
Box 10 Uphaus, Willard Dr. dec 13 1960
Box 10 Ustinov, Peter Jul 21 1959
Box 10 Vallee, Rudy Jul 14 1959
Box 10 Vanderbilt, Amy Nov 25 1959
Box 10 Van Dyke, Dick Feb 17 1961
Box 10 Van Fleet, General James Jun 9 1959
Box 11 Van Horne, Harriet Apr 29 1960
Box 11 Van Rensselaer, Philip Apr 15 1960
Box 11 Veeck, Bill Jan 24 1960
Box 11 Vidal, Gore May 8 1959, Apr 18 1960, Dec 12 1960, Dec 13 1960
Box 11 Vidie, Ambassador D. Mar 17 1960
Box 11 Wagner, Robert F. Jan 25 1960
Box 11 Walcott, Jersey Joe Aug 1959 (?)
Box 11 Walker, Nancy Feb 3 1961
Box 11 Wallach, Eli Dec 4 1959, Jan 26 1961
Box 11 Waters, Ethel Apr 9 1959
Box 11 Waugh, Alec Apr 8 1960
Box 11 Wechsler, James May 23 1960
Box 11 Wertham, Dr. Frederic Jan 28 1960, Apr 25 1960, Nov 1 1960
Box 11 Wheeler, Bert May 5 1959
Box 11 Whiteman, Paul May 18 1960
Box 11 Williams, Governor G. Mennen Apr 15 1959
Box 11 Williams, Tennessee Nov 14 1960
Box 11 Winters, Jonathan Mar 25 1960
Box 11 Wismer, Harry Nov 8 1960
Box 11 Wiznitzer, Louis Oct 18 1960
Box 11 Wyman, Louis Dec 19 1960
Box 11 Youngman, Henny Jan 26 1961
Box 11 Zolotow, Maurice Apr 4 1960, Nov 14 1960
Interview audiorecordings
Although the collection may contain both script(s) and audiorecording(s) for a given person, they are not necessarily from the same interview. A complete index of all interview participants is available at the end of this finding aid.
Note on alternate formats: All recordings in the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Brian Aherne undated - television interview with Brian Aherne (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:20) (ID#: wallace_m_022)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Eddie Albert undated - television interview with Eddie Albert; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:15) (ID#: wallace_m_209)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Steve Allen (Part 2) and Myrna Loy undated - television Interview with Steve Allen and Myrna Loy (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:48) (ID#: wallace_m_129)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dana Andrews undated - television interview with Dana Andrews (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:53) (ID#: wallace_m_104)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Paul Anka undated - television interview with Paul Anka; with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:50) (ID#: wallace_m_169)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Harry Ashmore undated - television interview with Harry Ashmore (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:51) (ID#: wallace_m_056)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Harry Ashmore undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:42) (ID#: wallace_m_269)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ted Atkinson undated - television interview with Ted Atkinson; label notes: "jockey/horse racing" (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:16) (ID#: wallace_m_098)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jean Pierre Aumont 03/17/1960 - television interview with Jean Pierre Aumont (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:52) (ID#: wallace_m_010)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: George Axelrod undated - television interview with George Axelrod (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:51) (ID#: wallace_m_042)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: James Baldwin and Mischa Jac Feld undated - TV Interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 48:47) (ID#: wallace_m_285)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ina Balin and Hugh Downs undated - television interview with actress Ina Balin and Hugh Downs (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 31:39) (ID#: wallace_m_118)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Anne Bancroft undated - television interview with Anne Bancroft (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:15) (ID#: wallace_m_053)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Barbara Baxley and the News (2 segments) undated - Mike Wallace interview of Barbara Baxley and the news; with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:06) (ID#: wallace_m_183)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Orson Bean undated - TV Interview of Orson Bean by Mike Wallace (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:13) (ID#: wallace_m_223)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Orson Bean [MISSING] undated - television interview with Orson Bean; empty box (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 29:00) (ID#: wallace_m_105)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Clyde Beatty undated - television interview with Clyde Beatty; circus lions. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:11) (ID#: wallace_m_100)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sally Belfrage, Gerald Frank, Eugene Kinkead, Rube Goldberg, Gov. G. Mennen Williams, and Clyde Beatty undated - television interview with Sally Belfrage, Gerald Frank, Eugene Kinkead, Rube Goldberg, Gov. G. Mennen Williams, and Clyde Beatty (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 171:37) (ID#: wallace_m_242)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Duchess of Bedford undated - television interview with the Duchess of Bedford (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:42) (ID#: wallace_m_164)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Menachem Begin and a Promotional O.T.A. [on the air?] undated - television interview with Menachem Begin and a Promotional O.T.A. [on the air?] (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 14:49) (ID#: wallace_m_149)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Harry Belafonte undated - television interview with Harry Belafonte (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:45) (ID#: wallace_m_061)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: William Bendix and Gael Greene 11 January 1961 - television interview with William Bendix and Gael Greene; label notes "includes slate" (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 27:28) (ID#: wallace_m_137)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Richard Rodgers and Tony Bennett undated - TV Interview of Richard Rodgers and Tony Bennett; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 41:39) (ID#: wallace_m_225)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Shelley Berman undated - television interview with Shelley Berman (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:45) (ID#: wallace_m_095)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: John Bonomi and Cleveland Armory undated - (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:31) (ID#: wallace_m_160)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Connie Boswell undated - Mike Wallace interview of Connie Boswell (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:46) (ID#: wallace_m_185)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Eddie Bracken undated - television interview with Eddie Bracken (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:15) (ID#: wallace_m_093)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Nathaniel Branden 03/18/1960 - television interview with Nathaniel Branden (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:52) (ID#: wallace_m_011)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Mel Brooks undated - television interview with Mel Brooks (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:50) (ID#: wallace_m_139)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Earl Bucholz undated - television interview with tennis player Earl Bucholz; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:42) (ID#: wallace_m_192)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: William F. Buckley Jr. 03/07/1960 - television Interview with William F. Buckley, Jr. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:40) (ID#: wallace_m_002)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: William F. Buckley, Jr. (Part 1) undated - television interview with William Buckley, Jr (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:15) (ID#: wallace_m_086)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: William F. Buckley Jr. undated - television interview with William F. Buckley Jr.; with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:15) (ID#: wallace_m_170)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Carol Burnett undated - television interview with Carol Burnett (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:19) (ID#: wallace_m_027)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Carol Burnett undated - television interview with Carol Burnett; slug inserted at 14:39:317 by [?] (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:39) (ID#: wallace_m_101)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Captain James Calvert undated - television interview with Captain James Calvert (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:57) (ID#: wallace_m_158)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Roy Campanella, Buddy Rich, Admiral Elmo Hutchinson, Ramon Navarro and Cleveland Amory undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_261)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: James B. Carey undated - television Interview with James B. Carey; label notes: "labor" (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:12) (ID#: wallace_m_113)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Primo Carnera and Betty Furness undated - television interview with Primo Carnera and Betty Furness; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 41:17) (ID#: wallace_m_216)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Diahann Carroll undated - television interview with Diahann Carroll; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:43) (ID#: wallace_m_197)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: John Cassevetes; Dialing the News: World Series (fragment) undated - television interview with John Cassevetes; Dialing the News (frag[ment]) (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:07) (ID#: wallace_m_175)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Oleg Cassini undated - television interview with Oleg Cassini (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 21:49) (ID#: wallace_m_172)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Carol Channing undated - television interview with Carol Channing; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:17) (ID#: wallace_m_210)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Lissa Charell undated - television interview with Lissa Charell (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:18) (ID#: wallace_m_029)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ilka Chase and Steve Allen undated - television interview with Ilka Chase and Steve Allen (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:50) (ID#: wallace_m_128)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ilka Chase and Steve Allen undated - Tv Interviews of Col. Pappy Boyington, Bert Wheeler, Huntington Hartford, James Roosevelt, Franklin D. Roosevelt Jr., Mel Allen (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 116:54) (ID#: wallace_m_248)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Lee J. Cobb undated - television interview with Lee J. Cobb on location in Israel (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:21) (ID#: wallace_m_074)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jacqueline Cochran undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 17:18) (ID#: wallace_m_270)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Benjamin Cohen undated - television interview with Benjamin Cohen (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:46) (ID#: wallace_m_078)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Betty Comden and Adolph Green 2/17/1961 - television interview with Comden and Green; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:20) (ID#: wallace_m_207)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Frank Conniff, Moss Hart (frag.) and Christine Jorgensen (frag.) undated - television interview with Frank Conniff, Moss Hart and Christine Jorgensen (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 22:03) (ID#: wallace_m_186)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Gary Crosby and Dizzy Gillespie undated - television interview with Gary Crosby and Dizzy Gillespie; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 47:11) (ID#: wallace_m_214)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: John Crosby undated - Mike Wallace interview of John Crosby; with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 17:34) (ID#: wallace_m_182)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Bosley Crowther undated - television interview with Bosley Crowther (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:52) (ID#: wallace_m_030)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Roald Dahl undated - TV Interview of Roald Dahl by Mike Wallace (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 22:56) (ID#: wallace_m_229)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Denise Darcel undated - television interview with Denise Darcel (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:20) (ID#: wallace_m_090)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Bobby Darin undated - television interview with Bobby Darin (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:44) (ID#: wallace_m_065)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Bobby Darin and Karl Malden undated - television interview with Bobby Darin and Karl Malden; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 45:23) (ID#: wallace_m_215)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sam Dash undated - television interview with Sam Dash on wiretapping, invasion of privacy (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:16) (ID#: wallace_m_102)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Claude Dauphin 03/11/1960 - television interview with Claude Dauphin (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:53) (ID#: wallace_m_006)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sammy Davis Jr. undated - television interview with Sammy Davis, Jr. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:16) (ID#: wallace_m_083)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sammy Davis Jr. undated - television interview with Sammy Davis Jr. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:36) (ID#: wallace_m_156)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Mr. & Mrs. Sammy Davis Jr. undated - television interview with Mr. & Mrs. Sammy Davis Jr. w/ commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 21:01) (ID#: wallace_m_157)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dorothy Day, Eddie Bracken, Harold Medina, Betty Furness, Cab Calloway, Rona Jaffe undated - TV Interviews (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 164:25) (ID#: wallace_m_253)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Moshe Dayan undated - television interview with Moshe Dayan on location in Israel. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:45) (ID#: wallace_m_067)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Gloria DeHaven undated - television interview with Gloria DeHaven (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:38) (ID#: wallace_m_150)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Fred Demera undated (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:53) (ID#: wallace_m_271)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Fred Demara [MISSING] undated - television interview with Fred Demara; empty box (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:00) (ID#: wallace_m_079)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Phyllis Diller and Dr. Charles Shulman (Rabbi) undated - television interview with Phyllis Diller and Dr. Charles Shulman (Rabbi) (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:09) (ID#: wallace_m_132)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jack Douglas, Marie MacDonald, Dana Andrews, Ethel Waters, Capt. William Bradley, and Mike Quill undated - television interviews with Jack Douglas, Marie McDonald, Dana Andrews, Ethel Waters, Capt. William Bradley, and Mike Quill (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 173:28) (ID#: wallace_m_243)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Melvyn Douglas 1960 - television interview with Melvyn Douglas (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:15) (ID#: wallace_m_097)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: William Douglas undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:43) (ID#: wallace_m_272)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Marcel Duchamp undated - television interview with Marcel Duchamp; with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:38) (ID#: wallace_m_174)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Cyrus Eaton undated - television interview with Cyrus Eaton (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:48) (ID#: wallace_m_055)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Cyrus Eaton undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:38) (ID#: wallace_m_273)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Abba Eban undated - television interview with Abba Eban on location in Israel. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:20) (ID#: wallace_m_066)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Albert Ellis undated - television interview with Dr. Albert Ellis on “Morality of Sex , Love and Marriage” (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:25) (ID#: wallace_m_076)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Faye Emerson undated - television interview with Faye Emerson (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:44) (ID#: wallace_m_064)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Maurice Evans undated - television interview with Maurice Evans (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:43) (ID#: wallace_m_114)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Maurice Evans, Beverly Aadland, Theodore Bikel, A. Phillip Randolph, Amy Vanderbilt and Shirley MacLaine undated - television interviews (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 179:34) (ID#: wallace_m_260)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jinx Falkenberg undated - television interview with Jinx Falkenberg (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:10) (ID#: wallace_m_115)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jules Feiffer undated - television interview with Jules Feiffer (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:45) (ID#: wallace_m_039)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Joseph Fletcher and William Michelfelder (Part 1) undated - television interview with Joseph Fletcher and William Michelfelder (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 31:36) (ID#: wallace_m_125)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Phil Ford & Mimi Hines and Henry Rosenfeld undated - television interview with Phil Ford & Mimi HInes and Henry Rosenfeld (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:34) (ID#: wallace_m_161)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Arlene Francis, Frank O’Leary, Rudy Vallee, Averell Harriman, Peter Ustinov, Terry Danielsen undated - TV Interview of Arlene Francis, Frank O’Leary, Rudy Vallee, Averell Harriman, Peter Ustinov, Terry Danielsen (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 174:37) (ID#: wallace_m_251)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Connie Francis undated - television interview with Connie Francis including commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:24) (ID#: wallace_m_154)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Erich Fromm undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:47) (ID#: wallace_m_274)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Zsa Zsa Gabor 1959 - television interview with Zsa Zsa Gabor (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:39) (ID#: wallace_m_085)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Zsa Zsa Gabor undated - TV interview of Zsa Zsa Gabor; studio banter and cues; no commercials; first introduction is an out take (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 36:00) (ID#: wallace_m_231)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Frank Gifford, Hal March, and Two Production Elements for a Winston Churchill Documentary undated - tv interview of Frank Gifford, Hal March and Winston Churchill documentary (2 fragments); studio banter and cues (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 53:50) (ID#: wallace_m_220)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Rube Goldberg undated - televsion interview with Rube Goldberg (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:17) (ID#: wallace_m_058)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sheilah Graham undated - television interview with Sheilah Graham (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:53) (ID#: wallace_m_082)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Robert Gray undated - television interview with Robert Gray; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 17:13) (ID#: wallace_m_193)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jose Greco undated - television with Jose Greco (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:50) (ID#: wallace_m_037)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: John Howard Griffin undated - television interview with John Howard Griffin (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:17) (ID#: wallace_m_024)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Kenneth Haigh 03/23/1960 - television interview with Kenneth Haigh (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:54) (ID#: wallace_m_014)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Gus Hall 1/5/1961 - television interview with Gus Hall; Take 1 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:30) (ID#: wallace_m_142)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Gus Hall, Stanley Isaacs, Inger Stevens (2 parts), Chester Bowles, Joachim Prinz and Herbert Lehman undated - television interviews (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_262)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Lorraine Hansberry undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 29:18) (ID#: wallace_m_266)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Lorraine Hansberry undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:51) (ID#: wallace_m_267)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sir Cedric Hardwicke undated - television interview with Sir Cedric Hardwicke (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:13) (ID#: wallace_m_099)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sir Cedric Hardwicke, Camilo Weston Leyra, Shelley Berman, May Eastman, Hy Gardner undated - television interviews with Sir Cedric Hardwicke, Camilo Weston Leyra, Frankie Laine, Shelley Berman, May Eastman, Hy Gardner (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 174:52) (ID#: wallace_m_245)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Moss Hart undated - television interview with Moss Hart (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:43) (ID#: wallace_m_088)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Gayelord Hauser undated - television interview with Gayelord Hauser; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:07) (ID#: wallace_m_200)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: June Havoc undated - television interview with June Havoc (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:19) (ID#: wallace_m_081)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: June Havoc, Cyrus Eaton, Sheila Graham and Sammy Davis Jr. 03/9/1959; 03/10/1959; 03/12/1959; 03/13/1959 - television interviews with June Havoc, Cyrus Eaton, Ayn Rand and Sammy Davis Jr. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 104:29) (ID#: wallace_m_239)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sessue Hayakawa, David Susskind (1 & 2), Ephraim London, Lorraine Hansberry, Gore Vidal undated - television Interviews with Sessue Hayakawz, David Susskind, Ephriam London, Lorraine Hansberry and Gore Vidal; illegible note with Lorraine Hansberry addressed on top. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 145:59) (ID#: wallace_m_246)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ben Hecht undated - television interview with Ben Hecht; same as wallace_m_294 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:28) (ID#: wallace_m_077)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ben Hecht [copy] undated - television interview with Ben Hecht; label notes: "E.S. Bird Library Syracuse University"; this is an access copy of wallace_m_077 (Audio cassette; running time 26:28) (ID#: wallace_m_294)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ben Hecht and Dore Schary undated - television interview with Ben Hecht and Dore Schary; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 46:03) (ID#: wallace_m_213)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Edmund Hillary, Dr. Alan Guttmacher, Jane Bloeth, Ed Hilgemeier, George Jessel undated - TV Interviews of Edmund Hillary, Dr. Alan Guttmacher, Jane Bloeth, Ed Hilgemeier, George Jessel (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 135:52) (ID#: wallace_m_252)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Richard Hoffmann undated - television interview with Dr. Richard Hoffman (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:05) (ID#: wallace_m_211)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Emmet J. Hughes 1959 - television interview with Emmet J. Hughes, chief foreign correspondent for Time and Life magazines (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:11) (ID#: wallace_m_075)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Emmet John Hughes, Leonard Sillman, Otto Preminger, Victor Riesel, Joe Pasternak, James B. Carey undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 166:51) (ID#: wallace_m_257)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: William Bradford Huie 03/24/1960 - television interview with William Bradford Huie (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:55) (ID#: wallace_m_015)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Herbert Humphrey, Hans Conreid, Ted Atkinson, Clayton Pruell, Martin Block and Orson Bean undated - television interviews with Hubert Humphrey, Hans Conreid, Ted Atkinson, Clayton Pruell, Martin Block and Orson Bean. Dates are given as 3/17, 3/18, 3/19, 3/20, 3/23, 3/24; no year. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 154:00) (ID#: wallace_m_240)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Kim Hunter and Ruby Dee undated - television interview with Kim Hunter and Ruby Dee (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 46:39) (ID#: wallace_m_233)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Robert Hutchins undated - television Interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:47) (ID#: wallace_m_275)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Aldous Huxley undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:09) (ID#: wallace_m_276)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: George Jessel undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:10) (ID#: wallace_m_278)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: George Jessel [MISSING] undated - television interview with George Jessel; box contains empty reel (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:30) (ID#: wallace_m_092)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Mr. John[?], Kyra Petrovskaya,Maureen Stapleton, Tony Galento, Jackie Gerlich, Andy Griffith undated - TV Interviews of Mr. John, Kyre Petrovskaya, Maureen Stapleton, Tony Galento, Jackie Gerlich, and Any Griffith (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 175:37) (ID#: wallace_m_247)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Christine Jorgensen undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 29:37) (ID#: wallace_m_268)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: William Michelfelder (Part 2) and Nick Kenny undated - television interview with William Michelfelder and Nick Kenny (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:28) (ID#: wallace_m_126)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Henry Kissinger and Dennis King undated - TV Interview of Henry Kissinger and Dennis King; studio banter and cues (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 36:01) (ID#: wallace_m_224)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Martin Luther King Jr. (Part 1 of 2) undated - television interview with Martin Luther King Jr. (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_190)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Martin Luther King Jr. (Part 2 of 2) undated - television interview with Martin Luther King Jr. CONTINUED (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_191)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Earl Kintner undated - television interview with Earl Kintner (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:55) (ID#: wallace_m_020)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Henry Kissinger undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:43) (ID#: wallace_m_277)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Eartha Kitt undated - TV Interview of Eartha Kitt by Mike Wallace; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 22:19) (ID#: wallace_m_230)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Nathan Kline 03/25/1960 - television interview with Dr. Nathan Kline (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:53) (ID#: wallace_m_016)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Leo Koch; Dialing the News (fragment) undated - Interview with Leo Koch; Dialing the News (fragment) (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:37) (ID#: wallace_m_181)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Francis Lally undated - TV Interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:54) (ID#: wallace_m_279)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Elsa Lanchester 2/23 [no year] - television interview with Elsa Lanchester; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:03) (ID#: wallace_m_208)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jim Landis 1/11/1961 - television interview with Jim Landis; Take 2 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 29:31) (ID#: wallace_m_143)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Thomas F. Lanphier, Jr. undated - television interview with Thomas F. Lanphier, Jr. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:34) (ID#: wallace_m_071)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: William L. Laurence undated - television interview with William L. Laurence, Science Editor for The New York Times (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:22) (ID#: wallace_m_073)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Piper Laurie undated - television interview with Piper Laurie (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 21:41) (ID#: wallace_m_147)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jack Lemmon and Marya Mannes undated - television interview with Jack Lemmon and Marya Mannes (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:26) (ID#: wallace_m_134)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jack E. Leonard undated - television interview with Jack E. Leonard (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:58) (ID#: wallace_m_035)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Tommy Leonetti undated - television interview with Tommy Leonetti (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:41) (ID#: wallace_m_089)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Tommy Leonetti; Zsa Zsa Gabor, William Buckley Jr., Jayne Meadows, Ben Hecht, and Dr. Albert Ellis undated - television interview with Tommy Leonetti; Zsa Zsa Gabor, William Buckley Jr., Jayne Meadows, Ben Hecht, and Dr. Albert Ellis (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 175:51) (ID#: wallace_m_241)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Max Lerner and Robert St. John undated - television interview with Max Lerner and Robert St. John (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:37) (ID#: wallace_m_130)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Meyer Levin undated - television interview with Jewish activist and author Meyer Levin (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:24) (ID#: wallace_m_103)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Meyer Levin, Bill Stern, William Laurence, Cornelia Otis Skinner, Wally Cox, Raoul Levy undated - TV Interviews; all with commercials; “Newscast @ end of side b ‘Newsbreak’” “Van Doren/ Dance Party” (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_254)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Raoul Levy undated - television interview with Raoul Levy (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:19) (ID#: wallace_m_108)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Lilo undated - television interview with Lilo (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 21:06) (ID#: wallace_m_144)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Peter Lorre 03/08/1960 - television interview with Peter Lorre, actor (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:46) (ID#: wallace_m_003)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Joe Louis undated - television interview with Joe Louis, boxing (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:45) (ID#: wallace_m_063)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Tina Louise 03/09/1960 - television Interview with Tina Louise (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:58) (ID#: wallace_m_004)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Frank Lovejoy undated - television interview with Frank Lovejoy (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:49) (ID#: wallace_m_040)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Carol Lynley and “Bricktop” undated - Mike Wallace TV Interview with Carol Lynley and “Bricktop”; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 39:43) (ID#: wallace_m_222)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Natasha Lytess undated - television interview with Natasha Lytess; label notes: "Other bits WNTA" (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:42) (ID#: wallace_m_152)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: China Machado 3/2/1961 - television interview with China Machado; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 27:21) (ID#: wallace_m_206)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Joyce MacIver undated - television interview with Joyce MacIver; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 21:01) (ID#: wallace_m_219)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Norman Mailer undated - television interview with Norman Mailer (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:12) (ID#: wallace_m_091)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Norman Mailer 11/21/1960 - television interview with Norman Mailer; interview was recorded the day before Mr. Mailer was arrested for the stabbing of Mrs. Adele Mailer on 11/22/1960. The NYPD was allowed to view the tape before broadcast (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:22) (ID#: wallace_m_177)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Wolf Mankowitz 03/31/1960 - television interview with Wolf Mankowitz (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:48) (ID#: wallace_m_019)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Marya Mannes undated - television interview with Marya Mannes (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:05) (ID#: wallace_m_032)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Pamela Mason undated - television interview with Pamela Mason (Mrs.James Mason); with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:23) (ID#: wallace_m_167)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Andre Maurois and Christina Crawford undated - Interview of Andre Maurois and Christina Crawford; includes news fragment, commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 43:44) (ID#: wallace_m_180)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Elsa Maxwell undated - television interview with Elsa Maxwell; Studio banter and cues; no commercials; 1 out take (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 21:16) (ID#: wallace_m_234)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Mary Margaret McBride and Joesph Granville undated - television Interview with Mary Margaret McBride and Joesph Granville (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:27) (ID#: wallace_m_155)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Roddy McDowall and Hazel Scott undated - television interview with Roddy MacDowall and Hazel Scott; studio banter with cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 42:45) (ID#: wallace_m_235)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Gardner McKay undated - television interview with Gardner McKay (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:20) (ID#: wallace_m_060)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jackson McVey undated - television interview with Jackson McVey (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:46) (ID#: wallace_m_023)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Anne Meacham undated - television interview with Anne Meacham; poor recording (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:02) (ID#: wallace_m_168)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Golda Meir undated - television interview with Golda Meir (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:20) (ID#: wallace_m_068)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: V. K. Krishna Menon undated - television interview with V. K. Krishna Menon (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:47) (ID#: wallace_m_094)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Eve Merriam undated - television interview with Eve Merriam; with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 21:17) (ID#: wallace_m_173)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: David Merrick 1/11/1961 - television interview with theatrical producer David Merrick (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:21) (ID#: wallace_m_138)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Perle Mesta undated - television with Perle Mesta (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:45) (ID#: wallace_m_038)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Frank Meyer undated - television interview with Frank Meyer (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:52) (ID#: wallace_m_162)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: James Michener and Quentin Reynolds (Part 1) undated - television interview with James Michener and Quentin Reynolds (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 31:09) (ID#: wallace_m_124)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sal Mineo undated - television interview with Sal Mineo on location in Israel (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:23) (ID#: wallace_m_072)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sal Mineo undated - television interview with Sal Mineo (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:53) (ID#: wallace_m_145)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Profiles: Marilyn Monroe, Harry Belafonte, Carl Sandburg, Sammy Davis Jr., Tony Curtis, Jack Paar, Liz Taylor, Frank Sinatra, Zsa Zsa Gabor, Dean Martin undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_284)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ashley Montagu and David Susskind (part 1 of 2) undated - TV Interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:57) (ID#: wallace_m_287)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Malcolm Muggeridge (Part 1 & 2) undated - television interview with Malcolm Muggeridge (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:46) (ID#: wallace_m_122)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Gerry Mulligan undated - television interview with Gerry Mulligan (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:51) (ID#: wallace_m_087)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Mae Murray undated - television interview with Mae Murray (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:18) (ID#: wallace_m_051)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Bess Myerson and Col. Gregory "Pappy" Boyington undated - television interview with Bess Myerson and Col. Gregory (Pappy) Boyington (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 31:48) (ID#: wallace_m_131)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Paul Newman undated - television interview with Paul Newman on location in Israel. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:16) (ID#: wallace_m_070)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Mike Nichols undated - television interview with Mike Nichols; with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 21:24) (ID#: wallace_m_171)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Reinhold Niebuhr 04/27/1958 - TV Interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:54) (ID#: wallace_m_280)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ramon Novarro undated - television interview with silent film actor Ramon Novarro (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:45) (ID#: wallace_m_106)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Margaret O’Brien, P.D. East and Winston Churchill documentary fragment undated - TV Interview of Margaret O’Brien, P.D. East and Winston Churchill documentary (frag.); studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 47:18) (ID#: wallace_m_221)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dennis O’Keefe, Melvyn Douglas, Juvenile gang leader, Nina Foch, Flair [Flournoy?] Coles, Abe Burrows undated - TV interviews (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 164:51) (ID#: wallace_m_255)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Col. Serge Obolensky, Abbe Lane, Xavier Cugat, Pancho Gonzalez, Miyoshi Umeki and Christine Jorgensen undated - television interviews with Col. Serge Obolensky, Abbe Lane, Xavier Cugat, Pancho Gonzalez, Miyoshi Umeki and Christine Jorgensen (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 148:41) (ID#: wallace_m_244)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Katina Paxinou, Francis Harwich, Conrad Nagel, Bob Cousy, John Crosby, Geraldine Page undated - TV Interviews (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 168:00) (ID#: wallace_m_256)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Joseph Pasternak undated - television interview with Joseph Pasternak (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:44) (ID#: wallace_m_116)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Linus Pauling undated - television interview with Dr. Linus Pauling (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:56) (ID#: wallace_m_153)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Charles Percy 07/06/1958 - TV Interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:18) (ID#: wallace_m_281)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Bishop James Pike 2/21 [no year] - television interview with Bishop James Pike; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 29:21) (ID#: wallace_m_204)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Gregory Pincus undated - television interview with Dr. Gregory Pincus, birth control pill inventor (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:44) (ID#: wallace_m_151)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Tom Poston, Ben Cohn, Jolie Gabor,Gerry Mulligan, Fred Demara, Mrs. Theodore Roosevelt, David Susskind (fragment) undated - TV interviews of Tom Poston, Ben Cohn, Jolie Gabor, Gerry Mulligan, Fred Demara, Mrs. Theodore Roosevelt, David Susskind (fragment) (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 176:51) (ID#: wallace_m_250)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Otto Preminger undated - television interview with Otto Preminger on location in Israel. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:25) (ID#: wallace_m_069)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Otto Preminger 1/12/1961 - television interview with Otto Preminger (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:29) (ID#: wallace_m_140)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Anthony Quinn undated - TV Interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:35) (ID#: wallace_m_286)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Mike Quill and Father Dom Placide Pernot undated - television interview with Mike Quill and Father Dom Placide Pernot (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:36) (ID#: wallace_m_121)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ayn Rand undated - television interview with Ayn Rand (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:12) (ID#: wallace_m_043)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ayn Rand undated - television interview with Ayn Rand (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:47) (ID#: wallace_m_084)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ayn Rand undated - TV Interview of Ayn Rand by Mike Wallace; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:23) (ID#: wallace_m_226)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Gustav Regler undated - television interview with Gustav Regler (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:47) (ID#: wallace_m_028)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Walter Reuther, parts 1 and 2 undated - television interview with Walter Reuther (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 31:55) (ID#: wallace_m_127)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Quentin Reynolds (Part 2) and Fabian undated - television interview with Quentin Reynolds and Fabian (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 33:00) (ID#: wallace_m_123)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Buddy Rich undated - television interview with Buddy Rich (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:15) (ID#: wallace_m_163)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Victor Riesel undated - television interview with Victor Riesel; with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:42) (ID#: wallace_m_187)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Cyril Ritchard and Luther Hodges undated - television interview with Cyril Richard and Luther Hodges; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 44:26) (ID#: wallace_m_236)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Lewis L Robbins 02/10/1961 - television interview with Dr. Lewis L Robbins; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 21:04) (ID#: wallace_m_212)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Antonino Rocca undated - television interview with Antonio Rocca (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:54) (ID#: wallace_m_041)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Mrs. Theodore Roosevelt, Jr. undated - television interview with Mrs. Theodore Roosevelt, Jr. (Eleanor Butler Alexander-Roosevelt) (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:12) (ID#: wallace_m_080)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Leo Rosten undated - television interview with Leo Rosten (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:13) (ID#: wallace_m_107)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Leo Rosten, Norman Mailer, Bennett Cerf, Mae Murray, Sam Dash and Erskine Caldwell undated - television interviews (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 176:74) (ID#: wallace_m_259)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Philip Roth undated - television interview with Philip Roth (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:46) (ID#: wallace_m_050)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Janice Rule and Andy Robustelli undated - TV Interview of Janice Rule and Andy Robustelli; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 45:13) (ID#: wallace_m_228)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Mort Sahl 04/06/1960 - television interview with Mort Sahl (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:21) (ID#: wallace_m_025)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Harrison Salisbury, Moss Hart, Krishna Menon, Denise Darcel, Hildegarde and Howard Edmondson undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 163:62) (ID#: wallace_m_258)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Carl Sandburg, parts 1 and 2 undated - television interview with Carl Sandburg (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 30:51) (ID#: wallace_m_117)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Hazel Scott and Dick Gregory undated - television interview with Hazel Scott and Dick Gregory; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 41:58) (ID#: wallace_m_237)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Zachary Scott undated - television interview with Zachary Scott (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 27:33) (ID#: wallace_m_188)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Elizabeth Seal 1/12/1961 - television interview with Elizabeth Seal; Take 1 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 22:06) (ID#: wallace_m_141)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jean Seberg and Ayn Rand (fragment) undated - TV Interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 29:03) (ID#: wallace_m_288)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Harry "Champ" Segal 02/15/1961 - television interview with boxer Harry "Champ" Segal; with studio banter and cues (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:54) (ID#: wallace_m_203)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Alexander P. de Seversky undated - TV Interview of Alexander P. de Seversky by Mike Wallace; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:49) (ID#: wallace_m_227)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Alexander P. De Seversky undated - television interview with Major Alexander P. De Seversky (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:23) (ID#: wallace_m_047)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Vincent Sheean 03/16/1960 - television interview with Vincent Sheean (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:53) (ID#: wallace_m_009)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Henry Sherek, Ed Fitzgerald, Robert F. Wagner, Paul Blanchard, Pat Hingle and Diana Barrymore undated - television interviews (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_263)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: William L. Shirer undated - television interview with William L. Shirer, author of The Rise And Fall Of The Third Reich (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:58) (ID#: wallace_m_159)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Harry Allen Smith undated - television interview with Harry Allen Smith (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:58) (ID#: wallace_m_021)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Merriam Smith undated - television interview with Merriam Smith; with studio banter and cues; no commercials; no footnote or close at end (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:02) (ID#: wallace_m_198)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: George Sokolsky (1) 03/21/1960 - television interview with George Sokolsky (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:53) (ID#: wallace_m_012)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: George Sokolsky (2) 03/22/1960 - television interview with George Sokolsky - Part 2 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:52) (ID#: wallace_m_013)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Carmelo Soraci, Anita Loos undated - TV Interviews of Carmelo Soraci and Anita Loos; studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:27) (ID#: wallace_m_232)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jacques Soustelle undated - television interview with Jacques Soustelle (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:49) (ID#: wallace_m_026)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Robert St. John II undated - television interview with Robert St. John II (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:23) (ID#: wallace_m_133)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Maureen Stapleton undated - television interview with Maureen Stapleton (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:50) (ID#: wallace_m_054)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Rod Steiger undated - television interview with Rod Steiger (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 22:15) (ID#: wallace_m_189)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jan Sterling 03/30/1960 - television interview with Jan Sterling (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:19) (ID#: wallace_m_018)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Isaac Stern 01/11/1961 - television interview with Isaac Stern; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 29:31) (ID#: wallace_m_201)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Leslie Stevens undated - television interview with Leslie Stevens (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:46) (ID#: wallace_m_033)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Inger Stevens undated - television Interview with Inger Stevens (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:52) (ID#: wallace_m_096)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Willis Stone undated - television Interview with Willis Stone (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:45) (ID#: wallace_m_146)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jule Styne 03/14/1960 - television interview with Jule Styne (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:52) (ID#: wallace_m_007)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: David Susskind (part 1) undated - television interview with David Susskind (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:10) (ID#: wallace_m_109)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: David Susskind (part 2) undated - television interview with David Susskind (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:41) (ID#: wallace_m_148)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: David Susskind [MISSING] undated - television interview with David Susskind; empty box (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_119)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: David Susskind (part 2) [MISSING] undated - television interview with David Susskind; empty box (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 28:30) (ID#: wallace_m_110)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: David Susskind and Christina Crawford undated - television interview with David Susskind and Chirstina Crawford (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 34:16) (ID#: wallace_m_120)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Leo Sziliard undated - television interview with Dr. Leo Sziliard; with studio banter and cues; no commercials; unimportant fluffs, false starts,and tech problems edited from transfer (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 27:04) (ID#: wallace_m_199)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Renee Taylor undated - television interview with Renee Taylor; take 1; studio banter and cues, slate (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:56) (ID#: wallace_m_165)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Burr Tillstrom; Dialing the News (fragment) undated (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:08) (ID#: wallace_m_179)
Interview with Burr Tillstrom, Kukla and Ollie the Dragon about their show at the Kuklapolitan Room, NYC among other subjects; Dialing the News (fragment); with commercials.
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Ralph de Toladano undated - television interview with Ralph de Toladano (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:49) (ID#: wallace_m_046)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Mel Torme 02/17/1961 - television interview with Mel Torme; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:57) (ID#: wallace_m_202)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Vincent Tracy 1/5/1961 - television interview with Vincent Tracy; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 19:43) (ID#: wallace_m_205)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Willard Uphous undated - television interview with Dr. Willard Uphous; with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:08) (ID#: wallace_m_184)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Peter Ustinov undated - television interview with Peter Ustinov (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:12) (ID#: wallace_m_112)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dick Van Dyke 02/17/1961 - television interview with Dick van Dyke; studio banter and cues; no commercials; Pre “Dick Van Dyke Show” (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:27) (ID#: wallace_m_218)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Gen. James van Fleet, Anne Bancroft, Eva Gabor, Gus D’Amato, Julie Newman, Toots Shor, David Susskind (fragment) undated - TV Interviews of Gen. James van Fleet, Anne Bancroft, Eva Gabor, Gus D’Amato, Julie Newman, Toots Shor, David Susskind (fragment) (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 143:26) (ID#: wallace_m_249)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Harriet Van Horne undated - television interview with Harriet Van Horne (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:54) (ID#: wallace_m_045)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Phillip Van Rensselaer undated - television interview with Mike Wallace Phillip Van Rensselaer (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:47) (ID#: wallace_m_049)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Amy Vanderbilt undated - television interview with Amy Vanderbilt (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:16) (ID#: wallace_m_052)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Gore Vidal undated - television interview with Gore Vidal (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 24:22) (ID#: wallace_m_044)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dobrivije Vidic undated - television interview with Dobrivije Vidic (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:45) (ID#: wallace_m_034)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jersey Joe Walcott undated - television interview with boxer Jersey Joe Walcott (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:14) (ID#: wallace_m_111)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Nancy Walker undated - television interview with Nancy Walker; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 17:41) (ID#: wallace_m_194)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Eli Wallach undated - television interview with Eli Wallach; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:49) (ID#: wallace_m_195)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Alec Waugh undated - television interview with Alec Waugh (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:47) (ID#: wallace_m_036)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Sylvester Weaver 06/08/1958 - TV Interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 27:55) (ID#: wallace_m_282)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: James Wechsler undated - television interview with James Wechsler (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:23) (ID#: wallace_m_062)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Fredric Wertham undated (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:53) (ID#: wallace_m_048)
Television interview with Dr. Fredric Wertham, German-educated American psychiatrist and crusading author who protested the purportedly harmful effects of violent imagery in mass media and comic books on the development of children.
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Fredric Wertham (1) Feb 1960 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:56) (ID#: wallace_m_001)
Television interview with Dr. Fredric Wertham, German-educated American psychiatrist and crusading author who protested the purportedly harmful effects of violent imagery in mass media and comic books on the development of children.
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Fredric Wertham (2) 03/15/1960 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:53) (ID#: wallace_m_008)
Television Interview with Dr. Fredric Wertham, German-educated American psychiatrist and crusading author who protested the purportedly harmful effects of violent imagery in mass media and comic books on the development of children.
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Fredric Wertham, Stanley Kramer, Bill Veeck, Mike Todd Jr., Ken Murray, Frank Lane undated - television interviews (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 164:20) (ID#: wallace_m_264)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Dr. Fredric Wertham and Louis Lomax undated - television interview with Dr. Fredric Wertham and Louis Lomax (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:38) (ID#: wallace_m_136)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Paul Whiteman undated - television interview with Paul Whiteman (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:19) (ID#: wallace_m_057)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Jonathan Winters undated - television interview with Jonathan Winters (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:52) (ID#: wallace_m_017)
Oversize 4 The Mike Wallace Interview: Harry Wismer and Morarji Desai undated - television interview with Harry Wismer & Morarji Desai (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 33:36) (ID#: wallace_m_135)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: William Workman 03/10/1960 - television Interview with William Workman (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:52) (ID#: wallace_m_005)
Oversize 2 The Mike Wallace Interview: Olgivanna Wright undated - television interview with Olgivanna Wright, widow of Frank Lloyd Wright. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:17) (ID#: wallace_m_059)
Oversize 7 The Mike Wallace Interview: Frank Lloyd Wright (Parts 1 & 2) undated - television interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 56:09) (ID#: wallace_m_265)
Box 13 The Mike Wallace Interview: Frank Lloyd Wright and Julie Newman undated - TV Interview (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 29:26) (ID#: wallace_m_283)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Louis Wyman undated - television interview with Louis Wyman (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 17:44) (ID#: wallace_m_166)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Henny Youngman undated - television interview with Henny Youngman; with studio banter and cues; no commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:47) (ID#: wallace_m_196)
Oversize 1 The Mike Wallace Interview: Maurice Zolotow undated - television interview with Maurice Zolotow (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:29) (ID#: wallace_m_031)
Oversize 5 The Mike Wallace Interview: Maurice Zolotow undated - television interview with Maurice Zolotow; with commercials (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 22:14) (ID#: wallace_m_178)
Oversize 3 The Mike Wallace Interview [MISSING] undated - empty box; label notes: "44-003 (18-22) 22; Reel 4 of 4" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_176)
Oversize 6 The Mike Wallace Interview [MISSING] undated - empty box (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_217)
Oversize 7 [MISSING] undated - empty box (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: wallace_m_238)
The Hate That Hate Produced (documentary)
Box 12 Transcript and binder of miscellaneous material
Reel The Hate That Hate Produced (Telecine) (Reel 1 of 2) Jul 1959 - this item is a Telecine of the July 22 broadcast; same as wallace_m_289 (16mm film; running time 23:00) (ID#: wallace_m_291)
Television documentary about Black Nationalism in America, focusing on the Nation of Islam and the United African Nationalist Movement. Elijah Muhammad, Malcolm X, Louis X (Louis Farrakhan) and James R. Lawson appear. Producers Mike Wallace and Louis Lomax were TV journalists for the WNTA-TV (New York) program, News Beat. The report was originally broadcast in five parts, July 13-17, 1959, and was subsequently rebroadcast with additional footage and in-studio interviews on July 22.
Reel The Hate That Hate Produced (Telecine) (Reel 2 of 2) Jul 1959 - this item is a Telecine of the July 22 broadcast; same as wallace_m_290 (16mm film; running time 26:57) (ID#: wallace_m_292)
Television documentary about Black Nationalism in America, focusing on the Nation of Islam and the United African Nationalist Movement. Elijah Muhammad, Malcolm X, Louis X (Louis Farrakhan) and James R. Lawson appear. Producers Mike Wallace and Louis Lomax were TV journalists for the WNTA-TV (New York) program, News Beat. The report was originally broadcast in five parts, July 13-17, 1959, and was subsequently rebroadcast with additional footage and in-studio interviews on July 22.
Oversize 7 The Hate That Hate Produced (VHS) [copy 1] Jul 1959 - this item is a Telecine of the July 22 broadcast; it is a dub of wallace_m_291 (VHS) (ID#: wallace_m_289)
Television documentary about Black Nationalism in America, focusing on the Nation of Islam and the United African Nationalist Movement. Elijah Muhammad, Malcolm X, Louis X (Louis Farrakhan) and James R. Lawson appear. Producers Mike Wallace and Louis Lomax were TV journalists for the WNTA-TV (New York) program, News Beat. The report was originally broadcast in five parts, July 13-17, 1959, and was subsequently rebroadcast with additional footage and in-studio interviews on July 22. This item is a Telecine of the July 22 broadcast.
Oversize 7 The Hate That Hate Produced (VHS) [copy 2] Jul 1959 - this item is a Telecine of the July 22 broadcast; it is a dub of wallace_m_292 (VHS) (ID#: wallace_m_290)
Television documentary about Black Nationalism in America, focusing on the Nation of Islam and the United African Nationalist Movement. Elijah Muhammad, Malcolm X, Louis X (Louis Farrakhan) and James R. Lawson appear. Producers Mike Wallace and Louis Lomax were TV journalists for the WNTA-TV (New York) program, News Beat. The report was originally broadcast in five parts, July 13-17, 1959, and was subsequently rebroadcast with additional footage and in-studio interviews on July 22.

Return to top

Index to interviews

The following is an alphabetical list of all interview participants as well as a few notable individuals who were the subject or topic of intervews (e.g., Winston Churchill). Each name is followed by a list of the script(s) and/or recording(s) available in the collection. Note that all audio interviews have been digitized.

Return to top