Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Wells, Henry W., 1895-1978.
Title:	Henry W. Wells Papers
Inclusive Dates:	ca. 1968-1978
Quantity:	5.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American author and poet. Died 1978. Manuscript poems and essays by Wells; also correspondence and poems written to Wells by John Tagliabue.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry W. Wells Papers consists of correspondence and writings. Correspondence is composed entirely of poems written to Wells by John Tagliabue. Writings is composed of Wells's essays and poetry.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry W. Wells Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MPK
Date: Jul 1978
Revision history: 17 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (AMCon)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Correspondence (6 folders)

	Writings
		Published works
Box 1			Miscellaneous items (3 folders)
		Unbound typescripts
Box 1			Traditional Chinese Humor (2 folders)
		Bound typescripts
Box 1			Acting Version of Little Clay Cart
Box 1			Art and the Theatre
Box 1			Arts Observe Each Other
Box 1			Asian Art
Box 2			Asian Poetry and Drama
Box 2			Byron
Box 2			Chaucer
Box 2			Drama and Poetry
Box 2			Eighteenth Century Poets
Box 2			Elizabethan Drama, Part II
Box 2			General Literature
Box 2			Hardy
Box 3			Ben Johnson
Box 3			Landscape and Man
Box 3			Little Clay Cart
Box 3			Music and the Theatre
Box 3			O'Neill
Box 3			Play of Coventry
Box 3			Poetic Theatre
Box 3			Poetry of the British Dominions
Box 4			Poets and Artists
Box 4			Pope
Box 4			Roots of Drama
Box 4			Sandburg
Box 4			Shakespeare As Poet, Pt. I (2 vols.)
Box 4			Shakespeare As Poet
Box 4, 5			Shakespeare on the Stage
Box 5			Shelley
Box 5			Spenser
Box 5			Television Plays
Box 5			Translations
Box 5			Verse
Box 5			Whitman
Box 5			William Carlos Williams

Return to top