Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Whitaker, Frederic
Title:	Frederic Whitaker and Eileen Monaghan Whitaker Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1928-2005
Quantity:	157 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American artists, particularly known for their watercolors. Correspondence, artwork, exhibit catalogs and art records, photographs (including prints, slides, and negatives), memorabilia, published material, writings, etc.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Frederic Whitaker (1891-1980) was an award-winning American artist and writer on painting and art. Whitaker began his artistic career as a metalsmith, working for Gorham Manufacturing Company and Tiffany & Co. and later founding two companies of his own. However, it was as a watercolorist that he became most famous and when he retired in 1949 he devoted himself full-time to painting. He was also active in the promotion of the arts, particularly painting; he was a member of the National Academy of Design, a Fellow of Britain's Royal Society of Arts, served seven years as president of the American Watercolor Society, and founded Audubon Artists. He received numerous awards and recognitions for his work, and was the author of two books and numerous articles and essays on painting, art, and political topics of the day.

Eileen Monaghan Whitaker (1911-2005) was a painter of watercolors. Though less widely known than her husband, she was an important artist in her own right. The couple married in 1943 and often exhibited their work in joint shows. Eileen was a member of the American Watercolor Society, the recipient of many awards, and in 1978 she became only the second woman to be elected to the National Academy of Design's watercolor division.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederic and Eileen Monaghan Whitaker Papers is divided into eight series: American Watercolor Society, Artwork, Correspondence, Eileen Monaghan Whitaker, Memorabilia, Printed material, Subject Files, and Writings .

American Watercolor Society (AWS) contains correspondence, committee information, publications such as newsletters and publicity, the AWS constitution and revisions, meeting minutes, reports, material on special projects undertaken by the AWS, and more. Much of this material dates from Frederic's tenure as president of the Society.

Artwork contains both original artwork and reproductions. Works include sketches, drawings, pencil tracings, and of course watercolors. Included here are some examples of the Whitakers' work used in publications, as for example the Prudential Company's annual report.

Correspondence includes both incoming and outgoing correspondence with artists, galleries, publishers,art schools, art organizations, and family and friends. Correspondents of note include Walt Disney, Clara Fasano, Boyland Fitzgerald, William Gropper, Jimmy Hatlo, Anna Hyatt Huntington, Janice Lovoos (Whitaker biographer), Edmondo Quattrocchi, and more.

Eileen Whitaker material consists of a material related solely to Eileen Monaghan Whitaker. This includes awards, biographical material, clippings, correspondence with family including her brother Kevin and sister Connie, portfolios of her work, scrabooks, and high school yearbooks.

Memorabilia contains a wide range of items, from address books and awards to scrapbooks and travel notes. The bulk of this series consists of photographs taken by the Whitakers both in the United States and other countries.

Printed material includes articles, clippings and exhibit catalogs. The majority of the clippings related to either Frederic or Frederic and Eileen, but there is also one folder of clippings related solely to Eileen.

Subject files contains clippings, photographs, artwork, and other materials depicting various types of subject matter -- balloons, boats, flowers, insects, raccoons, .seagulls, and so on. These may have been used as artistic reference material by the Whitakers.

The bulk of Writings consists of essays by Frederic on a wide range of topics (art, beauty, charity, equality, free enterprise, non-citizens/immigrants, taxes, prostitution, and more). There are a few items by Eileen, drafts of Frederic's autobiography, and a small number of other items such as poetry.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Within each series, material is arranged alphabetically with the exception of clippings and articles, which are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a listening copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A large number of published books and monographs by and about the Whitakers have been removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. To locate these items, please refer to Libraries Search and search for "Gift of Frederic Whitaker".

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederic Whitaker and Eileen Monaghan Whitaker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: JMB
Date: Sep 1978
Revision history: 16 Oct 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 12 Sep 2011 - additions processed (JMB); 10 May 2016 - updates and minor corrections (MRC); 17 Jan 2018 - Eucharistic Congress drawings, tube 1, added (MRC); 20 Sep 2018 - Eucharistic Congress drawings, OS 6, added (MRC); Oct 2024 - 92 linear ft. of adds processed (MS. MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	American Watercolor Society
Box 1		Arcier Project
		Awards
Box 1			Data and possibilities 1952
Box 1			Letters to donors 1957
Box 1			Watercolor of the Year Award 1951
		AWS organizational material
Box 1			Annual Report and Foreword 1958
Box 1			Letters to Fred (Pre-Presidency) 1956-1968 (3 folders)
Box 1			Meeting minutes 1978-1981 (2 folders)
Box 1			Newsletters 1993-2005 (2 folders)
Box 1			AWS Annual 1956
Box 1			AWS Annual Show 1951
Box 1			AWS Expansion undated
Box 1			AWS Information Center undated
Box 1			AWS Miscellaneous
Box 2		Changes for 1953 1953
Box 2		Cocktail Party Press
		Committees
Box 2			Advertising 1953-1954
Box 2			Associated Members 1953
Box 2			Awards 1955
Box 2			Catalog 1954
Box 2			Catalog Advertisements 1953
Box 2			Constitution Revision 1952
Box 2			Cultural Relations 1952
Box 2			Demonstrations 1953
Box 2			Dinner 1953-1954
Box 2			Duties
Box 2			Exhibition 1954
Box 66			Exhibitions 1945-1983, 2005 - catalogs from AWS annual exhibitions (10 folders)
Box 2			Finance 1954
Box 2			Gasser / Grumbacher undated
Box 2			Gifts and Bequests 1952-1953
Box 2			Historian 1950-1952
Box 2			Members 1952-1953
Box 2			Officers, Addresses 1952
Box 2			Olson Awards
Box 2			Personnel of Committees 1953-1954
Box 2			Public Relations 1953
Box 2			Regional 1952-1953
Box 2			Regional Washington
Box 2			Society-Tie Up 1952
Box 2		Cooper Spec. meeting
		Correspondence
Box 2			Allied Artists
Box 2			Arrangements with NAD
Box 2			Awards
Box 2			AWS material 1954-1955
Box 2			Committees
Box 2			Eileen (2 folders)
Box 3			Eileen (Kent Day Coes)
Box 3			Gibson Art Company
Box 3			Members
Box 3			Non-Members
Box 3			Officers
Box 3			Secretary
Box 3			Treasurer
Box 3			Walleen
Box 3		Demonstrators
Box 3		Dinner 1952
Box 3		Exhibition 1951
Box 3		Fund-raising
Box 3		Fund-raising foundations
Box 4		Grand Prize
Box 4		Hague Certificate
Box 4		Information booklet
		Informative [material]
Box 4			1953-1955 Exhibition Schedule
Box 4			Artist Labs
Box 4			Constitution
Box 4			Data
Box 4			Duties of President and Vice President
Box 4			Schedules
Box 4			Voting results 1955
Box 4		Invitations to AWS Exhibit
Box 4		Jury of Awards 1982
Box 4		Letterhead design
		Letters
Box 4			Alphaeus Cole protest
Box 4			Art Jury in Action
Box 4			Associated member leaflets
Box 4			AWCS printed forms
Box 4			AWS donor leaflets
Box 4			Biographical questionnaire
Box 4			Membership in AWS
Box 4			Miscellaneous
Box 4			President Harry S. Truman
Box 4			President's Report Feb 1954
Box 4			President's Report Aug 1954
Box 4			To members
Box 4			To new members
Box 4			Various forms
Box 4			Why AWS needs money
Box 4		M.C.
Box 4		Meeting material
Box 4		Mildew on paper
Box 4		Miscellaneous papers
Box 4		New donors / Patrons
		Paper
Box 4			Advertising
Box 4			Agreement
Box 4			Arcier
Box 4			AWS paper advertising
Box 4			Grumbacher endorsement
Box 4			Kornreich insurance
Box 4			Stevens-Nelson Paper Company
Box 4		Plessner picture project
Box 5		Press releases 1945-1949
Box 5		Publicity 1955
Box 5		Publicity material ideas 1954
		Records
Box 5			AIMS undated
Box 5			Financial 1951-1952
Box 5			Lena Newcastle 1952
Box 5			Letters to speakers 1951
Box 5			Meeting material 1951-1954
Box 5			Treasury figures 1954-1958
		Reports
Box 5			Minutes, official records 1951-1954
Box 5			National Arts Club dinner 1950
Box 5			Speeches to AWS 1953-1954
Box 5		Robert Lesch Company 1955
		Special projects
Box 5			AWA undated (2 folders)
Box 5			Grumbacher undated
Box 5			History 1953
Box 5			Publicity AWCS undated
Box 5			Reuel, Estill, Co. 1950
Box 5		The Spanish Institute 1955
Box 5		Vital statistics 1953
Box 5		Voting data 1955
Box 5		Walter White plan 1952 (*)

	Artwork
Box 66		Cards - Eileen's card designs for different holidays
Box 67		Christmas cards - mostly artwork of Eileen's, some for the family's annual Christmas card, also Book of the Month Club (7 folders)
Oversize 7		Christmas cards, Eileen's
Oversize 12		Christmas cards, Eileen's
Box 6		Color reproductions
Box 6		Color sketches (9 folders)
Box 67		Commercial work, Eileen's (3 folders)
Oversize 8		Commercial work, Eileen's
Box 6		Drawings for American Watercolor Society
		Illustrations, Eileen's
Oversize 9			"Chac Mool" 1973 - all relate to the watercolor piece called 'Chac Mool'
Box 67			"Material for Painting"
Box 68			"Material for Painting"
Oversize 19			"Material for Painting"
Oversize 9			"Night Lights"
Box 68			Miscellaneous (4 folders)
		Illustrations, Frederic's
Box 68			"Glories of Painting"
Box 68			"Guide to Painting Better Pictures" - used as illustrations for the book
Oversize 9			"Guide to Painting Better Pictures" - used as illustrations for the book
Oversize 9			"Tree Book"
Oversize 11			"25 Watercolorists at Work" - used as illustrations for the book
Box 68			"Whitaker on Watercolor" - used as illustrations for the book (3 folders)
Oversize 8			"Whitaker on Watercolor" - used as illustrations for the book (2 folders)
Box 68			Miscellaneous book illustrations
Oversize 11			Miscellaneous book illustrations
Oversize 12			Miscellaneous book illustrations
Box 6		Illustrations for articles
Box 69		Illustrations, miscellaneous - could be either Eileen's or Frederic's, as most are unsigned.
Oversize 11		Illustrations, miscellaneous - could be either Eileen's or Frederic's, as most are unsigned.
Oversize 12		Illustrations, miscellaneous - could be either Eileen's or Frederic's, as most are unsigned.
Tube 1		National Eucharistic Congress, 8th, held in October of 1938 in New Orleans, LA 1938 - designs, working drawings, and sketches for ostensorum, candelabra, crucifixes, etc., at various levels of detail
Oversize 6		National Eucharistic Congress, 8th, held in October of 1938 in New Orleans, LA 1938 - drawings for coats of arms and shields for archdiocese of New Orleans
Box 7		Paintings (matted) (3 folders)
		Pencil sketches
Box 7			[General] (4 folders)
Oversize 1			[General] (oversize)
Box 7			Church (2 folders)
Box 7			Manufactured goods
Box 7			Mexico and Spain
Box 8			Mexico and Spain (cont.)
Box 8		Pencil tracings
		Photographs of artwork
			Albums
Oversize 13				Eileen's work (2 albums)
Oversize 14				Eileen's work (4 albums)
Oversize 15				Eileen's work (1 album)
Oversize 17				Frederic's work (2 albums)
Oversize 18				Frederic's work (2 albums)
			Color separations
Box 69				Eileen's work (3 folders )
Box 69				Frederic's work (2 folders)
			Color transparencies
Box 69				Eileen's work
Box 69				Frederic's work (2 folders)
Box 70				Frederic's work (8 folders)
			Negatives
Box 70				Eileen's work (4 folders)
Box 71				Eileen's work (4 folders)
Box 71				Frederic's work (8 folders)
Box 72				Frederic's work (3 folders)
			Prints
Box 72				Eileen's work (8 folders)
Box 73				Eileen's work (5 folders)
Box 73				Eileen's work, Copley book - all related to the book Eileen Monaghan Whitaker Paints San Diego released in 1986 (5 folders)
Box 74				Frederic's work - some may also be Eileen's (11 folders)
Box 75				Frederic's work - some may also be Eileen's (11 folders)
Oversize 7				Frederic's work
Box 76				Miscellaneous - mostly Eileen's, includes reproductions (2 folders)
			Slides
Box 76				Eileen's work (9 folders)
Box 77				Eileen's work (2 folders)
Oversize 27				Eileen's work - OVERSIZE - slides
Box 77				Frederic's work (7 folders)
		Photographs of FW [MISSING May 2016] (2 folders)
Box 8		Photostats (2 folders)
Box 77		Photostats - reproduced from sketchbook; seems like Eileen's work, but not named
Box 8		Printed miscellanea
		Prudential
Box 8			Annual report 1971
Box 8			Calendar undated
Box 8			General 1963 - includes b&w photographs of sketches
Box 8			Houston 1963
Box 8			Los Angeles 1964 (2 folders)
Box 8			Minneapolis undated
Box 8			Newark 1964
Box 8			Toronto 1964
Box 77		Reproductions - of various FW and EMW works
Box 78		Sketchbooks - Eileen's work (14 items in 7 folders)
Box 79		Sketchbooks - Eileen's work (7 items in 4 folders)
Oversize 8		Sketchbooks - Eileen's work (4 volumes)
Oversize 16		Sketchbooks - Eileen's work (4 volumes)
Oversize 11		Sketchbooks - Eileen's work (1 volume)
Oversize 19		Sketchbooks - Eileen's work (1 volume)
		Sketches
Oversize 11			"Life Class Quick Sketches" - Eileen's work, from a college class
Oversize 11			Miscellaneous
Oversize 10			Miscellaneous
Oversize 19			Miscellaneous
Box 8		Watercolors (2 folders)
Box 9		Watercolors (4 folders)
Box 9		Watercolor sketches (6 folders)
Box 10		Watercolors (6 folders)
Oversize 2		Watercolors
Box 10		Watercolors, matted (2 folders)
Box 79		Miscellaneous art (4 folders)

	Correspondence
Box 11		Abrahamsen, Christian 1958-1974
Box 11		Academic Artists Association 1959, 1965-1970, 1953-1962, 1958-1960
Box 11		Abbott, Robert undated
Box 11		Acevedo, Guillermo 1968-1972
Box 11		Acker, Perry 1965-1974
Box 11		Addison Gallery of American Art 1939
Box 11		Allied Artists of America 1944-1966 (2 folders)
Box 11		Allied Publications, Inc. 1962-1967
Box 11		Amateur Artists Association of America, Inc. 1951-1957
Box 11		American Art in Sports, Inc. 1957-1958
Box 11		American Artist 1943-2004 (3 folders)
			See also Meyer, Susan and Watson-Guptill.
Box 11		American Artists Group, Inc. 1945
Box 11		American Artists Professional League, Inc. 1948-1970 (3 folders)
Box 12		American Artists Professional League, Inc. 1963, 1968, 1979-1980
		American Artist Societies, Council of
			See Council of American Artiist Societies.
Box 12		American Society of Miniature Painters 1956-1958
Box 12		American Artist Professional League 1948
Box 12		American Veteran's Society of Artists Inc. 1950-1971
Box 12		America's Artists in Particular 1959-1960
Box 12		Anargyros, Spero 1966-1967
Box 12		Anderson, Harry 1958, 1968
Box 12		Archdiocese of New Orleans 1972
Box 12		Architectural League of New York 1945, 1956
Box 12		Argent Galleries 1941
Box 12		Arizona Highways 1972
Box 12		Armory Show 1964
Box 12		Arms, John 1945-1947
Box 12		Arroyo, Mercedes (Mrs. Nicolas) 1966-1969
Box 12		Art Association Guild 1964
Box 12		Art Association of Newport 1945
Box 12		Art Centre of the Oranges 1945-1959
Box 12		Art Centre of Rancho Santa Fe 1974-1978
Box 12		Art Institute of Chicago 1944
Box 12		Art League of Long Island, Inc. 1957
Box 12		The Art Times 1959-1964
Box 12		Artist Publishing Company 1954-1961
Box 12		Artists and Craftsmen Associated (Dallas, Texas) 1962-1972 (2 folders)
Box 13		Artists' Fellowship, Inc 1948-1974
Box 13		Artists Guild Incorporated 1941
Box 13		The Artists Magazine 1993
Box 13		Artists U.S.A. 1970
Box 13		Arts Club of Chicago 1942-1943
Box 13		The Arts Centre of Rancho Santa Fe 1974-1978 (2 folders)
Box 13		Arvidson, Betsy 1997-2004
Box 13		Athenaeum 1966
Box 13		Attleboro Museum, Inc. 1950
Box 13		Audubon Artists 1965-1980
Box 13		Avery, Ralph 1957-1969
Box 125		A, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 13		Babishvili, Vladimir undated
Box 13		Baker Gallery 1978-1982
Box 13		Baltimore Watercolor Club 1950-1966
Box 13		Barnaby, Conrad 1966-1969
Box 13		Barnum Festival Art Show 1962
Box 13		Barrington Art Show undated
Box 13		Bartell, George 1968
Box 13		Beaugureau-Schimmel Gallery 1956-1967, undated
Box 13		Bender, Bill 1972-1973
Box 13		Bernard & Grunning 1938 (4 folders)
Box 13		Betts, Edward 1968-1969
Box 13		Blair Galleries 1967-1970
Box 13		Blegvad, Eric 1961
Box 13		Bockhorst, Paul 2002-2003
Box 14		Bohnert, Rosetta 1955-1956
Box 14		Boston Arts Festival 1956
		Boston Committee for Fair Representation in Art Exhibitions
			See Committee for Fair Representation in Art Exhibitions,
Box 14		Boston Museum of Fine Arts 1957-1958
Box 14		Boston Society of Water Color Painters 1953-1957
Box 14		Bradshaw Gallery 1996-1997
Box 14		Brandon, Warren 1966-1973
Box 14		Brandt, Rexford and Joan 1966
Box 14		Brewl, Harold 1943-1964, undated
Box 14		Bridgeport Art League 1959
Box 14		Brinker, Aquinas P. 1943-1951
Box 14		Brommer, Gerald 1972-2005
Box 14		Bruggers Fine Arts and Transfer Co., Inc. undated
Box 14		Burr Galleries 1957-1959
Box 14		Butler Institute of American Art 1942-1959
Box 125		B, miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 14		California Exposition Art Show 1970-1971
Box 14		California Watercolor Society 1949-1968
Box 14		Campbell, Cameron 1994-2001
Box 14		Camelback Galleries 1949
Box 14		Campos Photography 1998-1999
Box 14		Carnes, Michael and Suzanne 1986-2003
Box 14		Carr, Jim Gordon 1959-1968
Box 14		Carter, Mary 1955-1989
Box 14		Castaňon Custom Frames 1990-2004
Box 14		Catherine Lorillard Wolfe Art Club 1963
Box 14		Cayuga Museum of History and Art 1944-1955
Box 14		Challis Galleries 1966-1967
Box 14		Chase National Bank 1949-1960
Box 15		Chouinard Art Institute 1956
Box 15		Checkley, David 1961-1972
Box 15		Cianfarani, Aristide B. 1946-1960
Box 15		Circle Gallery 1974-1996
Box 15		Cirino, Antonio 1965-1977
Box 15		Clark, Eliot 1954-1962
Box 15		Clement, Charles 1966-1967
Box 15		Close, Frank (Mrs.) 1969-1973
Box 15		Coes, Kent 1955-1966
Box 15		Code of Fair Practice 1948-1952
Box 15		Committee for Fair Representation in Art Exhibitions 1961
Box 15		Community Art Project 1942
Box 15		Conacher Galleries 1970
Box 15		Connecticut Academy of Fine Arts 1957-1958
Box 15		Connecticut Classic Arts 1959, 1962
Box 15		Connecticut Watercolor Society 1948-1959
Box 15		Cooper, Mario 1960-1972
Box 15		Copenhagen Gallery 1976
Box 15		Copley Newspapers 1974-1984
Box 15		Corrigan, James 1952-1959
		Council of American Artist Societies
Box 15			About
Box 15			Artist/manufacturer relations 1963
Box 15			Candidates for membership
Box 15			Correspondence 1962-1972 (2 folders)
Box 16			Exhibits and juries
Box 16			Meetings 1965-1968
Box 16			Miscellaneous
Box 16		Council of Traditional Artists Societies 1967-1970
Box 16		Court, Lee Winslow 1961-1968
Box 16		Cowboy Artists of America 1974
Box 16		Cowboy Hall of Fame 1973-1975
Box 16		Cowie Galleries 1952
Box 16		Cox, Barbara 1992-1994
Box 16		Crafton Hills College 1980
Box 16		Creative Club 1963
Box 16		Crisp, Arthur 1956
Box 16		Currier Gallery of Art 1944
Box 125		C, miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 16		Daggett, Noel 1962
Box 16		Damrosch, Walter 1947
Box 16		Danbury Academy of the Arts 1963
Box 16		Dartmoor Artists 1954
Box 16		DeHellebranth, Elena M. 1958-1965
Box 16		DeLue, Donald 1952-1969
Box 16		DeMaine, Harry and Lucy 1942, 1974
Box 16		Desert-Southwest Art Gallery 1960-1970
Box 16		Dictionary of Artists 1966-1967
Box 16		Discussion conducted by Frederic Whitaker 1947-1955 - panel, "Why the conflict over modern art"
Box 16		Disney, Walt 1965
Box 16		Dixie College 1965-1967
Box 16		Dole, John S 1966-1967
Box 16		Donald Art Publications 1944
Box 16		Douglaston Art League 1959
Box 16		Doyle, William and Anita Figueredo 1967-2003
Box 125		D, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 16		Eccles, Albert E. (Mr. and Mrs.) 1960-1973
Box 16		Edward-Dean Museum of Decorative Arts 1967-1970
		Edwin Austin Abbey Scholarship Fund
			See Incorporated Edwin Austin Abbey Memorial Scholarship Fund.
Box 16		Egan, John 1981
Box 16		Eighth Street Gallery & Art School 1942
Box 16		El Camino Memorial Park 1980-1995
Box 16		Eliot O'Hara Watercolor School 1955
Box 16		Ellenshaw, Peter 1972
Box 17		Ellison, Cy 1966-1994
Box 17		Emerson-Bailey, Richard 1961
Box 17		Engel, Michael 1944-1963
Box 125		E, miscellaneous
Box 17		Fabri, Ralph 1947-1974
Box 17		Falsone, Jack 1992, 2002
Box 17		Famous Artists School 1950-1962
Box 17		Faragil Galleries 1940-1942, 1963
Box 17		Fasano, Clara 1957
Box 17		Feeley, Joe and Velma 1965-1968 (2 folders)
Box 17		Fifty American Artists 1953
Box 17		Fine Arts Collectors Club, Inc. 1966-1967
Box 17		Fine Arts Federation of New York 1947-1964
Box 17		Fine Arts Gallery of San Diego 1964-1977 - includes San Diego Art Guild
Box 17		Fischer, Frederick 1969-1970
Box 17		Fitzgerald, Boyland 1958-1959
Box 17		Fitzgerald, Edmond J. (Jim) 1955-1957, 1962, 1970-1981, 1985-1989
Box 17		Fleuridas, Andre 1967
Box 17		Flint, Russell 1950
Box 17		Florida Southern College 1950-1952
Box 17		Foster, Walter 1967
Box 17		Foster, Will 1972
Box 17		Founders Gallery, University of San Diego 1981-1994
Box 17		Francis, Emily A., Contemporary Arts Gallery 1960
Box 17		Frank Reilly's School of Art 1962
Box 17		Franklin Mint 1973-1974
Box 17		Franz, Leslie 1968
Box 17		Frohlich, Minnette 1966-1967, 1982
Box 17		Frye Museum 1980-1994
Box 18		Frye Museum 1980-1994
Box 18		Fuller, Harvey 1983, 1994-1995
Box 126		F, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 18		Galleria Cortez 1976
Box 18		Galerie du Jonelle 1966-1967
Box 18		The Gallery of Distinguished Artists 1970
Box 18		Gallery of Southwestern Art 1953-1954
Box 18		Gammell, R.H. Ives 1959-1960
Box 18		Garth, John 1964-1970
Box 18		Gasser, Henry 1946, 1955-1969
Box 18		Gibson, George 1970-1992
Box 18		Glanzman, Louis 1962
Box 18		Glicksman, Allen 1960
Box 18		Global Advertising Services, Inc. 1965-1966
Box 18		Gorman, Bill 1968, 1986, 1989
Box 18		Gorsline, Douglas 1964
Box 18		Gramatky, Hardie 1959-1968
Box 18		Gramatky-Smith Family 1989-2001
Box 18		Grand Central Art Galleries 1944-1971 (2 folders)
Box 18		Grant, Gordon 1941, 1943, 1954
Box 18		Graphology 1987
Box 18		Greenwich Society of Artists 1953
Box 18		Gropper, William undated
Box 18		Grumbacher 1943, 1945, 1962-1963, 1967
Box 18		Gubing, Ruth 1966-1970
Box 18		Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 1956
Box 18		Guild of Boston Artists 1959
Box 18		Guatemala 1991-1998
Box 18		Gute, Herbert J. 1961-1964
Box 126		G, miscellaneous
Box 18		Haddock, Arthur 1955-1956
Box 18		Hall of Fame [of American Artists] 1960-1970
Box 19		Halladay, Allan 1960-1970
Box 19		Hammond, A.H. Knighton 1959-1960
Box 19		Harbor Art Galleries 1955
Box 19		Hardin, Adlai S. 1960
Box 19		Hartford Society of Women Painters, Inc. 1958
Box 19		Hartley, Harrison 1955-1964
Box 19		Harvey, Gerald (G. Harvey Gallery) 1965
Box 19		Harvey, Paul 1962
Box 19		Hassrick, Royal B. 1974
Box 19		Hatfield Gallery 1966-1969
Box 19		Hatlo, Jimmy 1950
Box 19		Heffernan, R.C. 1943-1944, 1973, 1981, 1993, 1996, 1998
Box 19		Heitland, Bill 1949-1962
Box 19		Henry & Cahill, LLP. 2002
Box 19		Herman, Vic 1968-1973
Box 19		Hermes, Ernest 1940
Box 19		Hibiscus Alley 1949-1950
Box 19		Hillbom, Henrik undated
Box 19		Hill, Thomas J. 1958-1971
Box 19		Hines, Diane C. 1990-1991
Box 19		Hoban, Russell C. 1961
Box 19		Hobbelink-Kaastra Art Gallery 1958
Box 19		Holden, Donald 1965-2004 (3 folders)
Box 19		Holly, Harold 1965-1970
Box 20		Horatio Alger Award 1973-1976
Box 20		Horse Museum 1957
Box 20		Houlihan, Raymond F. 1965
Box 20		Hudson Valley Art Association 1950-1961
Box 20		A. Huney Gallery 1975-1990 (2 folders)
Box 20		Hunt, Dr. E. Woodrow 1953
Box 20		Huntington, Anna and Archer Miton 1951-1959, 1963-1967
Box 20		Huntingtons, Jon Kery 1928
Box 20		Huntington Hartford Foundation 1963-1965
Box 126		H, miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 20		Incorporated Edwin Austin Abbey Memorial Scholarship Fund 1952
Box 20		International Art Services, Inc. 1988
Box 20		International Association of Plastic Arts 1953-1956
Box 20		International Studio Art Corporation 1940
Box 20		Irvington Art and Museum Association 1952
Box 20		Isaac Delgado Museum of Art 1951
Box 20		Ishikawa, Shinji 1952-1974 (2 folders)
Box 21		Insurance companies 1942
Box 126		I. miscellaneous
Box 21		Jambor, Louis 1945 (2 folders)
Box 21		Jenckes, Thomas A. 1936-1938
Box 21		Jennings, Jan 1972-1977, 1997-2005 - correspondence including Whitaker Foundation; manuscript of an FW bio (4 folders)
Box 21		Jones, Franklin 1966
Box 21		Jones Gallery 1966
Box 21		Jordan Marsh Company 1958-1961
Box 21		Jung, Kwan Y. and Yee Wah 1971-2002 (2 folders)
Box 126		J. miscellaneous
Box 21		Kabat, Jack 1963-1964
Box 21		Kaep, Louis 1951-1973
Box 21		Kalin, Victor B. 1988-2002
Box 21		Kappa Pi National Honorary Art Fraternity 1949-1952
Box 21		Kelly, Deidre 1991-2003
Box 22		Kennedy Galleries, Inc. 1957-1958
Box 22		Kenneth Lynch & Son, Inc. 1941
Box 22		Kent, Norman 1960-1971 (5 folders)
Box 22		Kery, Jon 1972-1992 (3 folders)
Box 22		Kester, Lenard 1959-1967, 1992
Box 22		Kinghan, Charles 1961-1969, 1977 - includes hand-painted envelopes
Box 22		Kingman, Dong 1957, undated
Box 22		Kinney, Beulah 1972-1977
		Kinyon, Robert
			See Millsap & Kinyon.
Box 22		Klein, George 1944-1950, 1972
Box 22		Knickerbocker Artists 1956-1957
Box 23		Koch, John 1964
Box 23		Kocherthaler, Mina 1957-1964
Box 23		Kohler Art Center 1974
Box 23		Kosa, Emil 1951-1968
Box 23		Kroll, Leon 1945-1946
Box 126		K, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 23		La Jolla Art Association 1967
Box 23		La Jolla Branch, San Diego Public Library 1996-2003
Box 23		La Jolla Lodge 1976
Box 23		La Jolla Museum 1969
Box 23		La Jolla Village News 1996-1999
Box 23		La Revue Moderne 1960
Box 23		Lacy, Ernest 1974, 1988
Box 23		Laguna Beach Art Association 1960-1967
Box 23		Lamb, Adrian 1962
Box 23		Lancaster Open Juried Art Show 1959
Box 23		Lang, Ann 1943-1944
Box 23		Lange, Herman and Natja 1971-1983
Box 23		Larsen, Edwin (Ted) and Carol 1960-1965, 1971, 1978
Box 23		Laszlo, George 1946
Box 23		Lathrop, Gertrude K. 1966
Box 23		Le Vitrail Francais 1957
Box 23		Leason, Max A. 1963-1964
Box 23		Leason, Percy 1945-1959
Box 23		Leith-Ross, Harry 1957
Box 23		Liberty Lobby 1976
Box 23		Lincourt, Evelyn 1967-1969
Box 23		Lindsay, Marion and Henry 1962-1963
Box 23		Liturgical Arts Society, Inc. 1942-1943
Box 23		Lloyd, R. McAllister 1964-1982
Box 23		Lober, Georg 1945-1946
Box 23		Logan, Kickapoo 1971-1973
Box 23		Lovell, Tom 1990-1997
		Lovoos, Janice - relating to her book on Whitaker
Box 23			[General] 1965-2002
Box 24			[General, cont.] 1965-2002 (2 folders)
Box 24			Correspondence 1970
Box 24			Captions 1970
Box 24			Miscellaneous 1970
Box 24			Reference material 1970
Box 24		Loring, Ginny (Mrs. Paule) 1959-1969
Box 24		Longheed, Robert E. 1957-1974
Box 24		Lowe Foundation 1954-1955
Box 24		Lowell Art Association 1961
Box 24		Lukits, Theo N. undated
Box 24		Lulz, Dan 1968
Box 126		L, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 24		Maccoy, Guy 1973-1974
Box 24		MacDowell Colony 1968-1969
Box 24		MacLeod, Robert 1965, 1978-1993 (2 folders)
Box 24		Macomber, Allison 1950
Box 24		Madsen, Roy and Barbara 1970-1986
Box 25		Madsen, Roy and Barbara 1987-2005, undated - includes notes and typescript
Box 25		Mahoney, Charles A. 1984-1988
Box 25		Manno, Joseph undated
Box 25		Marans, Moissaye 1963
Box 25		Marblehead Arts Association 1952
Box 25		Martin, Linda Whitaker 2003-2005
Box 25		Mary Moore Gallery 1987
Box 25		Mason, Roy 1950-1965, 1973-1974, undated (3 folders)
Box 25		Massachusetts College of Art 1998-2003
Box 25		Maxwell, John 1977-1983
Box 25		McCann, Mrs. Charles 1971-1972
Box 25		McCleery-Cumming Company, Inc. 1969
Box 25		McGrew, R. Brownell 1971
Box 25		Meier, Henry 1967-1972
Box 25		Metropolitan Museum of Art 1950-1985
Box 25		Meyer, Susan 1971-1975 - editor of American Artist
			See also American Artist and Watson-Guptill.
Box 25		Miller, Barse 1952-1968
Box 26		Miller, Gerhard 1963-1969
		Millsap, Darrell W.
			See Millsap & Kinyon.
Box 26		Millsap & Kinyon 1968
Box 26		Mingei Museum 1996-2003
Box 26		Mint Museum undated
Box 26		Mississippi State College for Women 1965
Box 26		Moddie, John 1963
Box 26		Mofchum, Gerald 1963-1968
Box 26		Monaghan, Kevin 1945, 1963, 1977
Box 26		Mongerson Gallery 1974, 1984, 1986
Box 26		Monjo, Enrique 1956-1963
Box 26		Monroe, Lee and Barbara ("Bobbie") 1985, 1994, 2004
Box 26		Montclair Art Museum 1946
Box 26		Montgomery, Jack 1965-1973
Box 26		Morgan, Neil 1979-2004
Box 26		Mueller, Chris 1971
Box 26		Muganini, Joseph 1974
Box 26		Municipal Art Society 1946-1947
Box 26		Munson, Ruth 1969
Box 26		Museum of Art, Science & Industry 1961-1966
Box 26		Museum of Fine Arts, Little Rock, Arkansas 1959
Box 127		M, miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 26		Nancarrow, Loren 1996
		National Academy of Design
Box 26			[General] 1940-1959 (3 folders)
Box 27			[General] 1960-2001 (12 folders)
Box 28			[General] 2000-2005, undated (5 folders)
Box 28			Changes to be considered 1961
Box 28			Constitution 1950s, 1960s,1990s - mostly about changes and amendments (3 folders)
Box 28			EXH Committee 1963
Box 28			Informative 1960
Box 28			Membership 1956
Box 28			Membership Committee 1961
Box 28			Watercolor subcommittee 1948-1949
Box 28			Watercolor Committee 1948
Box 28			Miscellaneous 1961-1962
Box 28		National Arts Club 1964-1980
Box 29		National Arts Club (cont.) 1964-1980
Box 29		National Council for U.S. Art, Inc. 1955
Box 29		National Council on the Arts and Government 1956
Box 29		National Cowboy Hall of Fame 1943-1944
Box 29		National Orange Show Exhibition 1970
Box 29		National Sculpture Society 1951-1958
Box 29		National Society of Mural Painters 1945-1946
Box 29		National Society of Painters in Casein, Inc. 1955
Box 29		National Watercolor Society 1991-1992
Box 29		Negrón, David 1970
Box 29		Neville Public Museum 1945
Box 29		New Britain Museum of American Art 1961, 1973
Box 29		New England Watercolor Society 1985-1986
Box 29		New Haven Paint and Clay Club, Inc. 1951-1963
Box 29		New Jersey Watercolor Society 1946, 1955
Box 29		New York World's Fair 1964
Box 29		Newhouse Galleries, Inc. 1954
Box 29		Newton Galleries 1960
Box 29		Nicholas, Thomas A. 1966-1971
Box 29		Nisbet, Robert H. 1959-1963
Box 29		Nixon, Richard 1968
Box 29		Noble, Houston 1966-1972
Box 29		Norfolk Museum 1956-1966
Box 29		North Shore Arts Association 1944
Box 29		Northland Press 1969-1985 (2 folders)
Box 29		Northlight 1966-1982
Box 29		Norton Gallery and School of Art 1943-1945
Box 29		Nye, Vernon 1967-1974
Box 127		N, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 29		O'Brien's Art Emporium 1971-1973
Box 30		O'Brien's Art Emporium (cont.) 1974-1977, 1981, 1987-1988
Box 30		Oakland Art Gallery 1942-1950
Box 30		Oakley, Thorton 1951
Box 30		Oehler, Helen 1945-1974
Box 30		Oklahoma Museum of Conservative Art 1963
Box 30		Oklahoma Museum of Art 1969-1976
Box 30		Old Bergen Art Guild 1966-1969
Box 30		Old Town Circle 1972
Box 30		Old Town Galleries 1966-1976, 1981, undated (3 folders)
Box 30		Olsen, Herb 1957-1968
Box 30		Ortlieb, Robert undated
Box 127		O, miscellaneous
Box 30		Palm Desert Gallery 1970-1973
Box 30		Panoras Gallery 1957-1958
Box 30		Parkersburg Fine Arts Center 1943
Box 30		Parrish Art Museum 1962
Box 30		Partridge, Roi 1972-1975
Box 30		Pauma Village Art Gallery undated
Box 30		Peirce, Gerry 1967
Box 30		Pellew, John C. 1962-1972, 1982-1988
Box 30		Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts 1967
Box 31		Permanent Pigments, Inc 1957-1958
Box 31		Petersen, Christian 1956-1961
Box 31		Philadelphia Museum College of Art 1960
Box 31		Philadelphia Water Color Club 1947-1959
Box 31		Phillips, James March 1968
Box 31		Phoenix Art Museum 1971-1972, 1979
Box 31		Pike, John 1943, 1965-1970
Box 31		Pilots Employment Agency 1956
Box 31		Pincus, Robert 2003
Box 31		Pitz, Henry 1956-1958, 1970
Box 31		Plainfield Art Association 1944
Box 31		Pleissner, Ogden 1956-1957, 1983, undated
Box 31		Portman, John Raymond (Monsignor) undated
Box 31		Post Publishing Co. 1958, 1962
Box 31		Potts, Thos. 1965
Box 31		The Print Room 1955
Box 31		Procter, Burt 1962, 1971-1974
Box 31		Providence Art Club 1939-1947, 1964
Box 31		Providence Watercolor Club 1943, 1955, 1957, 1968, 1972, 1975-1976
Box 31		Purdy, Donald R. undated
Box 31		Putman, Donald 1967-1969
Box 31		Puzinas, Paul and Austra 1970-1975
Box 127		P, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 31		Quattrocchi, Edmondo 1961, 1996-1998
Box 31		Raveson, Sherman 1955
Box 31		Rawlins, Eva 1965-1969, undated
Box 31		Ray, Ruth 1956
Box 31		Reading Public Museum and Art Gallery 1962-1964
Box 31		Reagan, Ronald 1967, 1971
Box 31		Reed, Doel 1967-1968
Box 32		Reed, William 1971
Box 32		Regan, Catherine 1979-2000
Box 32		Reid, Albert T. 1952
Box 32		Reilly, David (Reilly, Oliver & Olsen, Ltd.) 1996-1997
Box 32		Reilly, Richard 1975-2002, undated (2 folders)
Box 32		Reinhold Publishing Company 1961-1965 (2 folders)
Box 32		Reiss, Lionel S. 1955
Box 32		Rembert, William and Jean 1973
Box 32		Reynard, Grant 1954
Box 32		Reynolds, Pat 1987-1981
Box 32		Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) 1939-1969
Box 32		Rhode Island Water Color Society (RIWCS) 1975-1984
Box 32		Richards, Walter D. 1984-1997
Box 32		Ridgewood Art Association, Inc. 1947
Box 32		Riggs Gallery 1989-1990
Box 32		Riley, Bernard 1958
Box 32		Riley, Kenneth 1958
Box 32		Rochester Art Club 1954
Box 32		Rockport Publishers 1996-1999
Box 32		Rockwell, Norman 1974
Box 32		Rogers, Charles B. 1964-1974 (2 folders)
Box 33		Rogers, Charles B. 1975-1982, undated
Box 33		Romney, George 1966
Box 33		Roosevelt, Eleanor 1942
Box 33		Rose, John C. 1973-1974
Box 33		Ross, Alex 1968-1973
Box 33		Royal Society of Arts 1954-1980 (2 folders)
Box 33		Royal Society of British Artists 1951
Box 33		Royal Society of Painters in Water Colours 1962
Box 33		Ruiz, José 1962
Box 127		R, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 33		Saalburg, Grace (Mrs. Charles) 1962-1966
Box 33		Sachs, Shelly 1966
Box 33		Safford, Ruth Perkins 1956-1968
Box 33		Sail-making 1957-1958
Box 33		St. Lawrence University 1970-1974
Box 33		St. Luke Art Guild 1963
Box 33		St. Peter's Evangelical Lutheran Church 1953-1956
Box 34		Salmagundi Club 1943-1965
		San Diego Art Guild/Fine Arts Gallery
			See Fine Arts Gallery of San Diego.
Box 34		San Diego Art Institute 1967-1970, 2004
Box 34		San Diego Museum of Art 1975-2004
Box 34		San Diego Tribune 1966-1987
Box 34		San Diego Union 1966-2004 (2 folders)
Box 34		San Diego Watercolor Society 1965-1993
Box 34		San Diego Zoo 1999-2003
Box 34		San Francisco, City of 1971 - various departments, offices, etc.
Box 34		Sanborn, Herbert J. 1932
Box 34		Sandra Wilson Gallery 1972
Box 34		Sands, Jennifer 1983-2000
Box 34		Saris, Anthony 1958-1959
Box 34		Savage, Eugene 1961-1965
Box 34		Scalise, Nicholas P. 1992
Box 34		Scarsdale Art Association 1957
Box 34		Schaefer, Rockwell B. 1943, 1956, undated
Box 34		Schimmel, William 1970-1973
Box 34		Schmitt, Paul A. 1969-1970
Box 34		Scholastic Magazines Art Awards 1956
Box 34		Scott, Beth 1966
Box 34		Scripps Memorial Hospital 1974-1979, 1999-2002
Box 34		Shaara, Joseph 1969-1973
Box 34		Shackelford, Lyne T. 1966-1972
Box 34		Sheets, Millard 1964-1973
Box 35		Sheldon Swope Art Gallery 1950-1957
Box 35		Sherman, Stowell B. 1945-1946
Box 35		Shilstone, Arthur 1960
Box 35		Shinn, Everett 1942-1943
Box 35		Shneour, Polly 2001-2003
Box 35		Silverman, Burt 1999
Box 35		Silvermine Guild of Artists 1951-1958
Box 35		Simpson, Maxwell Stuart 1962
Box 35		Sisson, Frederick 1943-1945
Box 35		Sleicher, Robert S. 1965
Box 35		Smith, Bissell Phelps undated
Box 35		Snidow, Gordon 1971-1973
Box 35		Society of Western Artists 1960-1980
Box 35		Sonneman, Anna 1998
Box 35		Sorel, Edward 1960
Box 35		Southwest Art 1975-1981
Box 35		Sowinski, Stanislaus 1998-2005
Box 35		Spanish Village Art Center 1969
Box 123		Spooner, Maryjane 1960-2004, undated (7 folders)
		Spriggs, Maryjane
			See Spooner, Maryjane.
Box 35		Springfield Museum of Fine Arts, Springfield, Massachusetts 1959-1971
Box 35		Springfield Art Museum [Missouri] 1963-1968, 1971
Box 35		Springville High School Art Association/Gallery [Utah] 1959-1969
Box 35		Springville Museum of Art [Utah] 1968-1974
Box 35		Staten Island Institute of Sciences 1944-1946
Box 35		Stefan, Ross 1979-1989 (2 folders)
Box 35		Steinke, Bettina 1968-1969
Box 36		Stevens, Marjorie 1967-1968
Box 36		Stevens, Stanford 1963
Box 36		Strisik, Paul 1971
Box 36		Sullivan, Mary 1992-1999
Box 36		Sundblom, Haddon 1953-1956
Box 36		Syndicate Publications 1953-1955
Box 36		Syracuse University 1964-1998, undated (4 folders)
Box 36		Szabo, Laszlo 1961
Box 127		Sa-Sc, miscellaneous
Box 128		Se-Su, miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 36		Talbot, Vernon 1955-1958
Box 36		Taylor, Bailee 1988-2000
Box 36		Teague, Donald 1957-1965
Box 36		Thielke, Luanne 2001-2004
Box 36		Thurston family 1955-1957, 1975-1976, 1980-2000 - includes FW's design for silver salad tongs (3 folders)
Box 36		Tiffany, Paul and Ruth 1964-1970
Box 37		Today's Art 1963-1966, 1970, 1976
Box 37		Tompkins, Agnes (Mrs. Erwin C.) 1967-1974
Box 37		Trailside Galleries 1973-1987 (3 folders)
Box 37		Tschamber, George H. 1943-1945
Box 37		Tucson Watercolor Guild, Inc. 1955
Box 37		Twentieth Century Realists 1966-1968
Box 128		T, miscellaneous (2 folders)
		United States Congress
Box 37			Dondero, George 1952, 1956
Box 37			Goldwater, Barry 1961-1962, 1971
Box 37			House Un-American Activities Committee (HUAC) 1955-1969
Box 37			Miscellaneous 1955-1975 - including some related to H.R. 6874
Box 37		University of San Diego 1944-1971
Box 37		Utopian Club undated
Box 128		U, miscellaneous
Box 37		Vassos, John 1954
Box 37		Vavra, Ron 1995-2000
Box 37		Vebell, Edward 1961
Box 37		Village Art Center Gallery 1948-1964
Box 37		Vogue Wright Studios 1957
Box 37		Vose Galleries 1953-1955
Box 128		V, miscellaneous
Box 38		Walker, Gilbert A. 1962
Box 38		Ward Eggleston Galleries 1955
Box 38		Washington Square Outdoor Art Exhibit 1948-1949
Box 38		Washington Water Color Association 1942-1960
Box 38		Watercolor Correspondence School (Metropolitan Group) 1951
Box 38		Watercolor U.S.A. 1970
Box 38		Watercolor West 1970-1981, 1986-1988, 1996-2005 (2 folders)
Box 38		Watson, Ernest 1946, 1962-1967, 1972
Box 38		Watson-Guptill Publications 1955-1956, 1968-1976
			See also American Artist and Meyer, Susan.
Box 38		Weaver, Jay 1946, 1950, 1961
Box 38		Weaver, Paul 1984-2002
Box 38		Weibel, Kathy 1985, 1989-2005, undated (5 folders)
Box 38		West Coast Watercolor Society 1966-1974
Box 38		West, James H. 1976-1977
Box 38		The Westerners 1970, 1974
Box 38		Westport Artists 1950-1958
Box 38		Wheat, John 1957-1958
Box 38		Whitaker Foundation 1991, 1994-2007
		Whitaker, Eileen
Box 124			Personal, to and from 1944-1987 - letters and information about her early career; including EW's parents
				See also Eileen Monaghan Whitaker : Family.
Box 124			On FW's death 1980 - condolences, clippings, etc.
				See also Memorablia : FW's death.
Box 124		Whitaker, Frederic, to Eileen - love notes and letters
Box 124		Whitaker, misc family 1939-1968, 1973, 1979, undated (3 folders)
Box 39		Whitney, Edgar A. 1965-1973
Box 39		Whitney, Joseph F. 1966-1976
Box 39		Who's Who in American Art 1958
Box 39		Who's Who in Art Gallery 1978-1980
Box 39		Wichita Centennial National Art Exhibit 1970
Box 39		Wichita State University 1971-2003
Box 39		Wieghorst, Olaf 1972
Box 39		Wilbur, Lawrence Nelson 1957
Box 39		Wilkey, Roscoe S. 1970
Box 39		Williams, John Scott 1959-1977
Box 39		Williams, Wheeler 1957-1965
Box 39		Wilson, Ivan 1954-1966
Box 39		Witt, Samuel A. 1964-1969
Box 39		Wollheim-Rosequist Galleries 1975-1989
Box 39		Wong, Frederick 1967-1968
Box 39		Wood, Robert E. 1967-1970
Box 39		Wostrel, Nancy 1994-2004
Box 39		Wright, Barton A. 1969
Box 39		Wright, Frank C. 1967
			See also Council of American Artist Societies : Correspondence above.
Box 39		Wurlitzer Foundation 1969-1970
Box 39		Wyeth, Andrew 1948, 1951, 1966
Box 39		Wyoming Valley Art League 1960-1961
Box 128		W, miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 39		Yaros, Ken 1997-2002
Box 39		Zornes, Milford 1966-1970
Box 128		Y-Z, miscellaneous
Box 80		Christmas cards, miscellaneous (5 folders)
Box 39		First name only (3 folders)
Box 39		Unidentified

	Eileen Monaghan Whitaker
Box 40		Awards undated
Box 80		Balboa Theatre 2001-2004 - Eileen's involvement with the Balboa Theatre restoration in San Diego; includes photos (2 folders)
Box 40		Biographical 1955
Box 80		Biographical
Box 40		Book clippings undated
Oversize 15		Brushes - sampling of Eileen's paintbrushes
Box 40		Clippings 1967
Box 40		Contract 1980
Box 80		Copley book 1982-1986 - relating to planning and execution of Eileen's book, Eileen Monaghan Whitaker Paints San Diego; correspondence, legal contract; clippings, reviews of book, etc. (3 folders)
Box 40		Exhibitions of Eileen's work 1961-1996
		Family - Monaghan family members, mostly Eileen's siblings
			See also Correspondence : Whitaker, Eileen.
			Constance (Connie) Monaghan (sister)
Box 81				Artwork - includes art sent to Connie from her brother Kevin and Art Fuller
Box 81				Certificates 1930, 1934, 1962-1965 - for nursing and art
Box 81				Clippings
Box 81				Correspondence 1929-1979 - most from Eileen's brother Kevin and sister Connie (8 folders)
Box 82				Correspondence 1980-1984, undated (3 folders)
Oversize 19				Diplomas
Box 82				Photographs - Includes negatives (7 folders)
Box 82				Poems of others - author(s) unclear, many are handwritten and unsigned
Box 82				Miscellaneous
Oversize 19				Miscellaneous
			Kevin Monaghan (brother) - lived in Dublin, Ireland for many years; also painted
Box 83				Address books
Box 83				Artwork - includes paintings for Christmas cards, reproductions of gouache paintings, inventories (3 folders)
Oversize 7				Artwork - one item, Christmas card design
Oversize 19				Certificates and diplomas
Box 83				Clippings
Box 83				Correspondence 1938-1961 - much is from his time in the US military during WWII, some with drawings; many letters between himsef and his sisters Constance and Eileen (8 folders)
Box 84				Correspondence 1962-1991, undated - many letters between himsef and his sisters Constance and Eileen; letters from Eileen in clearing his estate after Kevin died (12 folders)
Oversize 21				Door knocker
Box 85				Exhibitions 1955-1988 - includes his piano playing perfomances (2 folders)
Box 85				Official documents - passports, death certificate
Box 85				Photographs - includes negatives (8 folders)
Box 86				Photographs - includes negatives (3 folders)
Box 86				Poems - includes a few non-poems
Box 86				Slides of Kevin's artwork (4 folders)
Box 86				Slides, miscellaneous
Box 86				Transparencies of Kevin's artwork
Box 86				Miscellaneous
Box 40		Inventory of office 1993
Box 87		Notebooks from college - costume class at Massachusetts School of Art (today Massachusetts College of Art and Design) (2 folders)
		Portfolios
Box 87			"Eileen Monaghan Whitaker"
Box 87			Guatemala
Box 87			Kachinas
Box 87			Mexico
Box 87			Painting From the Heart
Box 88			Miscellaneous
Box 40		Quotes and miscellaneous 1982
		Scrapbooks
Box 88			Clark and Emma Frye Art Museum, one person show 1990 - photos and exhibit invite
Box 88			Copley book 1986 - clippings and photos about her book debut, Eileen Monaghan Whitaker Paints San Diego (3 volumes in 3 folders)
Box 40		United States International University 1981-1983
Box 88		Yearbook 1929 - Holyoke High School inn Massachusetts; drawings of Eileen's appear within the book
Box 89		Yearbook 1929 - Holyoke High School inn Massachusetts; drawings of Eileen's appear within the book

	Memorabilia - mostly Frederic's; for Eilieen's, see previous series
Oversize 3		Address book
Box 89		Address book and addresses
Oversize 3		American Watercolor Society silver-handled paintbbrush
Box 89		Army Reserve documents 1887 - documents of FW's father Edward Whitaker
Oversize 7		Art News advertising displays
Box 89		Artwork of others
Oversize 20		Artwork of others
Oversize 19		Artwork of others
Box 89		Awards and certificates 1942-1996 (2 folders)
Oversize 7		Awards and certificates
Oversize 19		Awards and certificates
Oversize 21		Awards and certificates - medals and plaques
Oversize 3		Book of pressed flowers
Box 89		Book review 1986 - of EMW's book, Eileen Monaghan Whitaker Paints San Diego
Oversize 3		Brushes
Oversize 15		Brushes, Eileen's
Oversize 3		Caricature of Fred
Oversize 20		Charcoal portraits of FW by W.M. Oberhardt - photostats and prints, no originals
Box 89		Christmas cards, Mexican (2 folders)
Box 41		EMW, personal undated (5 folders)
Box 89		Exhibition brochures 1951-2007, undated (3 folders)
Box 90		Exhibition brochures 1951-2007, undated (6 folders)
Oversize 20		Exhibition posters 2002
Oversize 19		French bullfight prints
		FW's death
			See also Correspondence : Whitaker, Eileen : On FW's death.
Box 41			Appraisals of Fred's work 1982
Box 41			Condolence letters 1980
Box 41			Distribution of Fred's work 1981
Box 41			Obituaries and tributes 1980
Box 41			Will and Testament 1981
Oversize 3		Gastebuch
Box 90		Horatio Alger award 1974 - booklet of that year's award winners
Box 90		Invitations
Box 90		Letterhead
Box 90		"The Making of an Artist" - bound rough layout of an unpublished book by Janice Lovoos about Eileen
Box 90		Maps and directions - many hand drawn maps by Eileen, showing/explaining directions (2 folders)
Box 91		Maps and directions
Box 91		Menus
Box 91		Music scores
Box 91		Official documents, miscellaneous
		Photographs
			Albums
Box 91				"Fred and Eileen - Friends and Family" 1964-1979 - originally in album which was disintegrating; removed and foldered
Box 91				[Western trip] 1921, 1931 - album of photos of FW with others outdoors in Colorado and Wyoming during 1931; includes a few photos of outdoor camping in 1921 in New Hampshire (2 folders)
Oversize 23				Miscellaneous (3 volumes)
Box 91			Negatives (2 folders)
			Prints
Box 41				Amish and Pennsylvania Dutch
Box 41				Animals (2 folders)
Box 91				"Animals, Birds, Misc." (2 folders)
Box 91				"Arthur Fuller's Photos" - fellow artist Arthur Davenport Fuller (who wrote to Connie Monaghan), mostly hunting and outdoors
Box 92				"Arthur Fuller's Photos" - fellow artist Arthur Davenport Fuller (who wrote to Connie Monaghan), mostly hunting and outdoors (2 folders)
Box 92				[Artwork by others]
Box 92				"Balboa Park"
Box 92				"Boat yard, Saugatuk"
Box 41				Boats
Box 92				Boats
Box 41				Buildings
Box 92				Buildings
Box 41				Canada (Quebec)
Box 92				Cattle
Box 92				"Central Park and Vicinity (includes Sherman Monument)"
Box 92				"Cornucopia, Plaza Hotel"
Box 41				Connecticut
Box 42				Corn shocks
Box 42				Delaware
Box 42				Donkeys
Box 92				Eileen
Box 92				Eileen, di Gesu photos - photos taken and signed by famous photographer Antony di Gesu, who lived in San Diego
Box 92				Eileen's family - older prints
Oversize 20				Eileen's family - older prints; Eileen's father as a young man
Box 92				Eileen in Mexican costume and others - includes negatives (2 folders)
Box 92				Eileen with family/friends (2 folders)
Box 93				Eileen with family/friends (4 folders)
Box 42				France
Box 93				"France, Portugal"
Box 93				Frederic (3 folders)
Oversize 22				Frederic
Oversize 20				Frederic
Box 93				Frederic and Eileen, others
Oversize 20				Frederic, Masonic Lodge and Council 1931-1933
Box 94				Frederic with others (3 folders)
Box 94				Frederic's family (older prints)
Box 94				Friends and family - last folder includes empty envelopes and loose pieces of paper with names (3 folders)
Box 42				Germany
Box 42				Gloucester (Mass.)
Box 94				Grand Army Arch, Brooklyn
Box 94				"Grass. Corn, Leaves, Vegetation"
Box 94				[Guatemala] 1988-1991 - some of Eileen and friends during her trips to Guatemala; includes negatives (5 folders)
Box 95				[Guatemala] 1988-1991 - some of Eileen and friends during her trips to Guatemala; includes negatives (3 folders)
Box 95				"Harvey Fuller's Paintings" - photos of artwork of illustrator Harvey K. Fuller
Box 95				"Houses, Small Buildings"
Box 95				"Indian Materials"
Box 42				Ireland
Box 95				Ireland
Box 42				Italy
Box 95				"Little Church Around the Corner"
Box 42				Louisiana
Box 95				"Mack Truck"
Box 95				"Madison Square"
Box 42				Maine
Box 95				"Maine Monument and Maine Lobster Floats"
Box 95				"Mexicans, Adults" (4 folders)
Oversize 20				"Mexicans, Adults"
Box 95				"Mexicans, Children"
Box 42				Mexico (3 folders)
Box 43				Mexico (4 folders)
Box 95				"Mexico, Churches"
Oversize 20				"Mexico, Churches"
Box 96				"Mexico, Miscellaneous" (2 folders)
Box 96				"Mission Material"
Box 96				"Municipal Building Arch, Woolworth Building, N.Y.C."
Box 44				New Jersey quarry
Box 96				New Orleans
Box 44				New York (2 folders)
Box 96				"Newcastle - Wilmington"
Box 44				Norwalk (Connecticut)
Box 96				Nova Scotia
Box 96				"NY Public Library"
Box 96				"NYC Buildings and Scenes, Misc."
Box 96				"Olsen Nudes"
Box 44				Pennsylvania
Box 44				Piermont
				Portugal [MISSING May 2016] 1956
Box 96				"Religious Items"
Box 44				Rhode Island
Box 44				Rocks
Box 44				Roslyn
Box 96				"Sailing Vessels, Fishing Boats, etc."
Box 96				"Sand Dunes, Wingerchek [sic] Beach"
Box 96				"Sherman Monument"
Oversize 22				"Ships - Tugs - Steam"
Box 44				Skiffs
Box 44				Spain, A-C 1956 (4 folders)
Box 45				Spain, C-T 1956 (8 folders)
Box 46				Spain, V-Y 1956
Box 96				Spain, miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 46				Spain, miscellaneous 1956 (2 folders)
Box 96				"St. Patrick's Cathedral"
Box 46				Tobacco plants
Box 46				Trees
Box 46				Tugs
Box 96				"Under Brooklyn Bridge"
Box 96				"U.S.A"
Box 97				"U.S. Indians"
Box 47				United States, various
Box 46				Unknown
Box 46				Vermont
Box 46				Of FW
Box 97				"Washington Arch"
Box 97				"Yale University" - includes sketches, notes, and maps
Box 43				Miscellaneous, A-R (3 folders)
Box 44				Miscellaneous, S-Z
Box 44				Miscellaneous, unlabeled
Box 97				Miscellaneous black and white prints - mostly of places in California and the American Southwest, some of Connecticut; includes negatives (9 folders)
Box 98				Miscellaneous black and white prints - mostly of places in California and the American Southwest, some of Connecticut; includes negatives
Box 98				Miscellaneous color prints, Roman numeral series as written on envelope 1984-1985 - mainly around the San Diego area outdoors; includes some negatives (8 folders)
Box 98				Miscellaneous color prints - mostly outdoors in Southern California, also interior house shots along with artwork of EMW; includes some negatives (3 folders)
Box 99				Miscellaneous color prints - mostly outdoors in Southern California, also interior house shots along with artwork of EMW; includes some negatives (12 folders)
Box 100				Miscellaneous color prints - mostly outdoors in Southern California, also interior house shots along with artwork of EMW; includes some negatives (2 folders)
			Slides and transparencies
Box 100				Artwork by others
Box 100				of FW's medals - includes 2 negatives
Box 100				Miscellaneous (5 folders)
			Stereo slides - mostly of landscapes and travels; subheadings taken from titles on larger original boxes
Oversize 28				"Alamos Trip 1965; Guaymas 1955"
Oversize 29				"Animals - Birds - Fish - Insects"
Oversize 30				"Arrizona and New Mexico"
Oversize 31				"Baja California - Sonora, Palm Springs vicinity"
Oversize 32				"California Scenes - 1965"
Oversize 33				"Chiapas - Oaxaca - Yucatan 1959-1960"
Oversize 34				"Landscape Components: Skies, Boats, Trees, Flowers, Barns, Saw Mills, Cactus, Windmills, Figures"
Oversize 35				"Missions"
Oversize 36				"Nev - Ore - Wash. Calif Trip 1967" - includes Arizona and Colorado as well
Oversize 37				"New England excluding Norwalk District" and "Trip East 1970"
Oversize 38				"New England. South of Mason Dixon" and "South of Mason Dixon and Quebec"
Oversize 39				"Norwalk and District"
Oversize 40				"People - U. S. - Friends, Costumes, etc"
Oversize 41				"Portugal, England, France, Ireland"
Oversize 42				"Seasons, Moods. Winter, Autumn, Fog, Rain, etc."
Oversize 43				"Spain - A to Ocaña
Oversize 44				"Spain - K to Z Mallorca, Sardanas"
Oversize 45				Miscellaneous stereo slides
Oversize 46				Miscellaneous glass stereo slides
Oversize 3		Plaque from San Diego Watercolor Society
		Postcards
Box 46			France 1956 (2 folders)
Box 100			Guatemala
Box 48			Spain
Box 46			Miscellaneous, A-M
Box 48			Miscellaneous, M-W
Box 100			Miscellaneous
Oversize 47			Miscellaneous
Box 100		Quotes
		Records
Box 48			Art records 1971
Box 48			Artists known
Box 48			Awards, etc. 1957, 1974
Box 48			Biographical materials undated
Box 48			Consignment papers 1974
Box 48			Copyright registration 1942
Box 101			Exhibit lists 1951-1990 - lists and prices of paintings appearing in exhibits; last 2 folders were originally in 2 notebooks (6 folders)
Box 101			FW Watercolors - list of FW's watercolors by title, date produced, and dimensions
			Index card files
Oversize 47				Eileen's list of collectors [and their works]
Oversize 47				Frederic's list of collectors [and their works]
Oversize 48				Frederic's paintings, A-B - also called "Slides of Paintings"
Oversize 49				Frederic's paintings, C-Z - also called "Slides of Paintings"
Oversize 47				List of owners of graphics
Oversize 48				Paintings, current
Oversize 48				Paintings sold
Box 101			"List printouts" - printout of the Whitakers' paintings, with images and location notes
Box 101			Mailing Lists
Box 48			Member lists 1962
Box 48			Museums represented 1970
Box 101			Record of insured paintings 1964-1978 - originally in notebook
Box 48			Regarding ownership of Whitaker paintings 1957-1975
Box 48			Watercolor owners 1976-1978
Box 101			Miscellaneous
Box 102		Rubiyat of Omar Khayyam 1986 - compiled, bound, and inscribed by Joseph W. Shaara; combines 5 editions of Edward Fitzgerald's work, also a sheet of song lyrics, "Imperial Beach", by Shaara
		Scrapbooks
Oversize 24			Clippings 1952-1963, 1973-1974 (2 scrapbooks)
Oversize 23			Clippings 1965-1973
Oversize 25			Clippings 1977-1986
Oversize 26			Clippings 1986-2001
Oversize 4			Scrapbook
Oversize 4			Scrapbook
Oversize 5			Scrapbook
Oversize 5			Scrapbook
Oversize 3		Sheet music gift
Box 65		Horatio Alger Awards May 1974 - audiorecording of event (1 reel) (ID#: whitaker_001)
			Box 20 above contains information relating to the Horatio Alger Award 1973-1976; this tape is undated but probably comes from that time span. Tape box indicates May, 1974. Accompanied by business cards for Cecil Earle Baker, President of Horatio Alger Awards Committee.
Oversize 3		Tools
		Travel
Box 49			France
Box 49			Ireland
Box 49			London
Box 49			Portugal
Box 49			Spain
Box 102		Travel notes 1952-1991, 1996 - EW's notes; many have been assembled into little booklets tied with string and include mementos and her sketches (7 folders)
Oversize 20		Whitaker Watercolor Foundation, materials for advertising 2001
Box 49		War ration book undated
Box 102		Miscellaneous

	Printed material
		Articles
Box 55			About Eileen Monaghan Whitaker 1967, 1971-1975
Box 102			About or mentioning Eileen Monaghan Whitaker 1964, 1970-1971, 1974-1975, 1981-1983, 1987, 1990-1991, 2003-2004 (4 folders)
Box 55			About Frederic Whitaker 1939-1949, 1954-1980, undated (6 folders)
Box 102			About or mentioning Frederic Whitaker 1938-1949, 1953, 1959, 1967-1971, 1975-1977, 1980-1983, 1991, 2002-2004, undated (7 folders)
Box 103		Book catalogs 1972, 1976, 2002 - catalogs that include published books by the Whitakers (2 folders)
		Brochures and pamphlets - some, but not all, with mention of Whitakers
Box 103			American Watercolor Society 1954, 1972, undated
Box 103			National Academy of Design 1962-1982
Box 103			Miscellaneous undated
		Calendars
Box 104			A.I. Root Company 1947
Oversize 20			Frogs 1995
Box 55			General Tire International 1967
Box 55			New York Life Agent 1961
Oversize 20			Varig Brazilian Airlines 1970
Box 104			Miscellaneous 1974
		Clippings
Box 55			About Eileen
Box 55			About FW 1931-1945 (7 folders)
Box 56			About FW 1946-1960 (15 folders)
Box 57			About FW 1961-1986, undated (17 folders)
Box 104			About the Whitakers 1956-2004, undated (3 folders)
Box 57			About art, artists
Box 104			Advertisements for Whitakers
Box 57			Miscellaneous
Box 104			Miscellaneous 1971-2002, undated (3 folders)
Oversize 22			Miscellaneous
		Exhibit catalogs
			Included here are shows where FW and/or EMW's artwork was exhibited as well as shows where either or both were judges, or were involved or mentioned in some other way. Part of the series is arranged by organization and part is arranged chronologically. There is overlap between the two (for example, Allied Artists catalogs may also be found in the Miscellaneous chronological folders).
Box 104			Allied Artists 1947-1949, 1958
Box 104			Audubon Artists 1945, 1970, 1978-1980 (2 folders)
Box 104			California Water Society 1966-1968
Box 104			Grand Central Art Galleries 1965
Box 105			Metropolitan Museum of Art 1967
Box 105			National Academy of Design 1947, 1959-1980, 1983-1987, 1996-1998, 2003-2005 - FW served on the NAD council several times (9 folders)
Box 106			National Academy of Design 1947, 1959-1980, 1983-1987, 1996-1998, 2003-2005 - FW served on the NAD council several times (4 folders)
Box 106			San Diego Watercolor Society 1976, 1980, 1984
Box 106			Society of Western Artists 1966-1968 (2 folders)
Box 106			Southern California Expo 1971-1976, 1979
Box 107			Springville Museum of Art 1971, 1974, 1982
Box 107			Watercolor USA 1962, 1966 - Springfield, Missouri, Museum of Art
Box 107			Watercolor West 1974-1981, 1987-1988, 2002 (3 folders)
Box 50			Miscellaneous 1939-1950 (18 folders)
Box 51			Miscellaneous 1951-1959 (13 folders)
Box 52			Miscellaneous 1960-1966 (12 folders)
Box 53			Miscellaneous 1968-1972 (8 folders)
Box 54			Miscellaneous 1973-1980 (6 folders)
Box 54			Miscellaneous 1990-2000
Box 54			Miscellaneous undated (3 folders)
Box 107			Miscellaneous 1955, 1959, 1963-1972, 1977, 1980, 1983-1988, 1992 (5 folders)
Box 108		Exhibition catalogs of others 1955, 1962-1963, 1980-2000 (4 folders)
		Periodicals - magazines and journals
Box 108			Includes art of the Whitakers 1972, 1976
Box 108			Miscellaneous 1966
		Miscellaneous
Box 58			About FW
Box 58			Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) alumni publications 1944-1945, 1956, 1968-1969, 1972, 1975 (2 folders)

	Subject Files
Box 110		Alamos, Mexico (2 folders)
Box 110		Animals (2 folders)
Box 111		Animals (2 folders)
Box 111		Animals - cats and dogs
Box 111		Architecture
Box 111		Art (2 folders)
Box 111		Art - Graphics
Box 111		Art - Modern, Contemporary
Box 111		Artists - American (3 folders)
Box 112		Artists - American
Oversize 22		Artists - American
Box 112		Authentic - Architect, Decorative
Box 112		Authentic - Geograph[y]
Box 112		Balboa Park
Box 112		Balloons, Flags [also marked as 'Cars, Boats Machines, etc.']
Box 112		Birds (5 folders)
Oversize 20		Birds (OVERSIZE)
Box 112		Birds - Penguin, Poultry
Box 113		Birds - Penguin, Poultry
Box 113		Cactus
Box 113		Cattle
Box 113		Christmas
Box 113		Color (2 folders)
Box 113		"Contrasts that Complement" - Preliminary copy of a published book by Jan Jennings. There are 2 copies consisting of printed pages in a 3-ring binder, 1 with a CD-ROM and floppy disc. In addition, there is a publicity folder with a CD-ROM. THIS is the publicity folder and the first folder which has correspondence related to the book. (2 folders)
Oversize 23		"Contrasts that Complement" - Preliminary copy of a published book by Jan Jennings. There are 2 copies consisting of printed pages in a 3-ring binder, 1 with a CD-ROM and floppy disc. (2 binders)
Box 113		Costume
Box 113		Crows, Ravens
Box 113		Desert, Mtns.
Box 113		Drawings
Box 113		"Eileen Monaghan Whitaker and the Quest for Self-Actuallization" 1988 - Research report for college class by Joseph W. Shaara (2 reports)
Box 113		Extra Xeroxes
Box 113		Fashion
Box 113		Figures
Box 114		Figures (3 folders)
Box 114		Figures - Children
Box 114		Figures - Dance Music (2 folders)
Box 114		Figures - Men
Box 114		Figures - Sports
Box 114		Figures - Women (3 folders)
Box 114		Fish
Box 114		Flowers, Fruits, Veg's, Trees
Box 115		Flowers, Fruits, Veg's, Trees (2 folders)
Box 115		Gold Spike Album - Sketches and correpsondence for a booklet put out by Southern Pacific Railroad on the 100th commemoration of the completion of the transcontinental railroad. Both Eileen and Fred had a pinting in it.
Box 115		Guatemala - Includes sketches, watercolors, travel guides, clippings, periodicals, and some correspondence. (6 folders)
Box 116		Guatemala - Includes sketches, watercolors, travel guides, clippings, periodicals, and some correspondence.
Box 116		Heads, Hands
Box 116		Horses, Burros (2 folders)
Box 116		Ideas
Box 116		Indians
Box 116		Insects, Butterflies, Frogs
Box 116		Ireland
Box 116		Kachinas
Box 116		Landscape Architecture, Seascape
Box 116		Layouts
Box 117		Layouts and Ideas
Box 117		Local Shows
Box 117		Mexico (6 folders)
Box 117		Mexico - Drawings
Box 117		Mexico - Ideas
Box 117		Missions
Box 117		Music
Box 118		Night Lights
Box 118		Notes
Box 118		Owls
Oversize 20		Poland, Russia
Box 118		Putti and Pigs
Box 118		Quail and Pheasants
Box 118		Raccoons
Box 118		St. Francis of Assisi
Box 118		San Francisco
Box 118		Sculpture, Architecture
Box 118		Seagulls, Birds (2 folders)
Box 118		Sheep, Goats
Box 118		Silk Screen and Litho Prints
Box 118		Sketches - Figures (2 folders)
Box 119		Sketches of Kevin [Monaghan]
Box 119		Spain (also Portugal, Italy) (2 folders)
Oversize 20		Spain - OVERSIZE
Box 119		Still Life, etc. - Flowers, Trees (2 folders)
Box 119		Subversion in Art
Box 119		Surfers
Box 119		Technique - Design (2 folders)
Box 119		Trees
Box 119		U.S. and Quebec
Box 119		U.S. Indians (3 folders)
Box 120		U.S. Indians (4 folders)
Box 120		United States International University Luncheon 1982 - Includes correspondence, photographs, clippings.
Box 120		Virginia City, etc.
Box 120		Xerox Copies (2 folders)

	Writings
		Articles - published/printed articles by the Whitakers
Box 58			By Eileen Monaghan 1959
Box 108			By Eileen Monaghan 1959, 1982
Box 58			By Frederic Whitaker 1947-1969 - most published in American Artist, Today's Artist, or The Artist (3 folders)
Box 108			By Frederic Whitaker 1944, 1947, 1954-1966, 1969-1974, 1980 - most published in American Artist, Today's Artist, or The Artist (5 folders)
Box 109			By Frederic Whitaker 1944, 1947, 1954-1966, 1969-1974, 1980 - most published in American Artist, Today's Artist, or The Artist (7 folders)
Box 58		Autobiography (2 folders)
			See also Manuscripts: Autobiography, below.
Box 58		Biographical sketches
		Drafts
Box 59			[General] (4 folders)
Box 59			Guatemala
Box 59			Notes on drawings
Box 59			Speech, "A New Division"
Box 59			Speeches
Box 59			The Artist of the Real World
		Essays - typescripts of essays on various topics, by FW
Box 59			Anti-Defamation 1974
Box 59			Anti-Discrimination
Box 59			Are Americans Too Generous 1971
Box 59			Are You A Genius? / Is It Smart
Box 59			Art (2 folders)
Box 59			Arts Organization
Box 59			Articles and Random Thoughts (complete set)
Box 59			Artistic Abnegation
Box 59			Assimilabilty
Box 59			Barnacles 1977
Box 59			Beauty is Where You Find It 1971
Box 59			Beggars 1973
Box 59			Blackmail
Box 59			Booby Traps 1977
Box 60			Can't Sleep Tonight 1971
Box 60			Charity 1975
Box 60			Concentration 1975
Box 60			Conversation with My Wife undated
Box 60			Copies 1973
Box 60			Creativity Is Not Easy 1975
Box 60			Credo 1974
Box 60			Cult of Irresponsibility undated
Box 60			Democracy Republic 1975
Box 60			Dependability 1976
Box 60			Design in Painting 1954
Box 60			Emerging Nations 1971
Box 60			Endless Results Follow Every Action 1972
Box 60			The Entrepreneur 1971
Box 60			Equality 1975
Box 60			Equality of Privilege undated
Box 60			Everyone Needs Help 1971
Box 60			Evolution versus Revolution 1954
Box 60			Eye Versus Camera undated
Box 60			Fairy tale, "The Glass Mountain" 1979
Box 60			Free Enterprise 1978
Box 60			Free Enterprise undated
Box 60			Freedom from Lice 1971
Box 60			Free-loaders 1975
Box 60			Friends, profiles of undated
Box 60			Genius - Artistic and Commercial undated
Box 60			Genius - Or the Tale of a Young Inventor 1977
			The Glass Mountain
				See Fairy tale, "The Glass Mountain"
Box 60			Guilty or Not 1977
Box 60			Habits of Unsalaried Assistants undated
Box 60			Helping Others 1971
Box 60			Hospitality 1976
Box 60			How a Left Wing Movement Operates undated
Box 60			How I Paint a Watercolor 1954
Box 60			How to Get Things Done 1972
Box 60			How to Clarify Your Thinking 1971
Box 60			How to Paint An Outstanding Watercolor undated
Box 60			How's Joe 1976
Box 60			I Know My Rights 1971
Box 60			I Marched in the Parade 1970
Box 60			Ideas Cut Two Ways 1971
Box 60			Illegal Aliens 1975
Box 60			Incidence of Chance 1971
Box 60			Income tax 1978
Box 60			The Indian Problem 1974
Box 60			Inflation Simplified 1974
Box 60			Invention 1976
Box 60			It Isn't Necessary Always to Access the Blame 1971
Box 60			Is Art A Vocation? undated
Box 60			Is Liberty a Cancer? undated
Box 60			Is Tolerance A One-Way Street? undated
Box 60			Jobs 1976
Box 60			Justice 1971
Box 60			Justice Can Be Bought 1971
Box 60			Legal Punishment 1971
Box 60			Legal vs. Intuitional Judgment 1971
Box 60			Let's Be Neat? undated
Box 60			Let's Be Practical undated
Box 60			Let's Teach Facts of Life 1970
Box 60			Life Is a Tough Ordeal 1974
Box 60			Malpractice Insurance 1975
Box 60			May we copy the work of others? 1975
Box 60			Medical Malpractice 1975
Box 60			Menial Labor 1971
Box 60			Merry Christmas Amigos undated
Box 60			Metamorphosis 1977
Box 60			Miscellaneous 1971-1976 (3 folders)
Box 60			Miscellaneous and drafts 1978
Box 61			Modernization of the Art Business undated
Box 61			Monstance 1978
Box 61			Moving Left in Government and Art undated
Box 61			Municipal Art Society of New York History 1948
Box 61			Negro Problem 1967
Box 61			Non-art 1971-1976 (3 folders)
Box 61			Not that much truth 1977
Box 61			Odors 1968
Box 61			Old Man in a Hurry 1975
Box 61			Our Debt to Past Generations 1975
Box 61			Painting from photographs
Box 61			Painting / Value of Money 1977
Box 61			Planting Seeds 1973
Box 61			Poverty 1975
Box 61			Poverty Problem 1969
Box 61			The Power of Law undated
Box 61			Power of the Individual 1975
Box 61			Pragmatism or Sentimentality 1971
Box 61			Prejudice and Discrimination undated
Box 61			Production 1976
Box 61			Production / Inflation 1976
Box 61			Prosperity Is Contagious 1967
Box 61			Prostitution 1977
Box 61			Pursuit of Happiness 1971
Box 61			Purveyors of Discourtesy 1975
Box 61			Questions 11A amd 11B on improving high schools and colleges today 1966
Box 61			Random Reflections on Matters Artistic 1967-1972 (6 folders)
Box 62			Rattlesnakes 1975
Box 62			Recollections undated (3 foldres)
Box 62			Reverie 1975
Box 62			Rewards for Virtue and Valor undated
Box 62			Right Without Thinking 1971
Box 62			Rights and Responsibilities 1974
Box 62			Says the Boss undated
Box 62			Self-Education undated
Box 62			Shipwreck / Cape Cod undated
Box 62			Should the Rich Be Nationalized undated
Box 62			Social issues 1970-1977 (3 folders)
Box 62			Solve Problems of Labor, Friction, Etc 1971
Box 62			Somebody Else 1975
Box 62			Source of Wealth 1968
Box 62			South of the Border undated
Box 62			Speaking / Writing / Thinking 1979
Box 62			The Spider 1951
Box 62			Stop Talking undated
Box 62			Success 1970
Box 62			Sudden Death / How It Feels 1972
Box 62			Talking from the Book undated
Box 62			Tax Payer's Strike 1971
Box 62			Technique undated
Box 62			Test Civilization undated
Box 62			The "Over" System 1972
Box 62			The Debt to Our Forebears 1970
Box 62			The -Ism Painters undated
Box 62			The Nature of Ferment undated
Box 62			Thoughts on Sex undated
Box 62			Thoughts While Listening 1971
Box 62			To organize an art society
Box 62			Today's Art / Take It Easy 1955
Box 62			Value of Human Life 1971
Box 62			Value of Time undated
Box 62			Wages 1978
Box 63			Watercolor Painting undated
Box 63			We Can't Expect to Reach the Peak 1971
Box 63			We Get What We Ask For undated
Box 63			We Think We Know What We Like undated
Box 63			Wealth 1971
Box 63			We're a Tough Lot 1955
Box 63			What's Wrong with Art Today? 1968
Box 63			Who Exploits the Workers 1977
Box 63			Who Owes What to Whom 1969
Box 63			Who Wins Prizes - And Why undated
Box 63			Why Does Art Need to Be Explained? undated
Box 63			Women Are Different undated
Box 63			Women Overload Everything 1971
Box 63			Women's Lib 1975
Box 63			Women's Lib #2 1977
Box 63			Word to Upcoming Generation 1971
Box 63			Working Over Watercolors 1955
Box 63			You Can Keep From Saying Anything 1971
Box 120			Miscellaneous, A-B (4 folders)
Box 121			Miscellaneous, C-W (17 folders)
Box 122			Miscellaneous, Y
Box 122			Miscellaneous untitled; notes and ideas (3 folders)
Box 63		Inspirational material for essays undated
Box 63		Letter to God 1979
		Manuscripts
Box 63			Autobiography, "I Marched in the Parade" 1966
				See also Autobiography, above.
Box 109			Autobiography, "I Marched in the Parade" draft A - typescript original (4 folders)
Box 110			Autobiography, "I Marched in the Parade" draft A (cont.) - typescript original (2 folders)
Box 110			Autobiography, "I Marched in the Parade" draft B - photocopy (5 folders)
Box 63			Organizing a Painting 1964
Box 63			Painting Perfection undated (2 folders)
Box 64			This Crazy Art Business undated (2 folders)
Box 64			This Crazy Art Business / The Artist and the Real World undated
Box 64		Poem, "I Play My Concertina" undated
Box 64		Rules undated
Box 64		Miscellaneous - letters to the editor, "quotable quotes," blurbs for other artists' exhibits, etc. (6 folders)
Box 110		Miscellaneous - loose papers, notes, scribblings, etc.

Return to top