Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Whitaker, Patience. |
| Title: | Patience Whitaker Account Book |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1787-1794 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume. |
| Abstract: | Account book for an 18th century weaver and seamstress in southwestern Vermont. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Patience Whitaker (fl. 1787-1794) was a weaver and seamstress, in southwestern Vermont.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Patience Whitaker Account Book consists of a single handwritten volume. The book, a home-made notebook of white kidskin with edges bound in linen, records weaving, spinning and sewing work accomplished. It does not record remunerations received.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Patience Whitaker Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 1968.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 9 Sep 2010
Revision history: 18 Oct 2018 - rehoused (MS)