Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Window Display Photographs |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1948-1959 |
| Quantity: | 0.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Photographs of shop windows displaying women's fashion in New York and California. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
In 1947, Christian Dior's new fashion line, the "New Look," emerged and became an instant success. It featured a nipped-in waist and full-skirted silhouette which dominated women's fashion of the 1950s. There was emphasis on elegance, formality, and femininity. There were often bright patterns which demonstrates a playfulness and experimentation in fashion.
As the decade progressed, new designers introduced different silhouettes. Clothing became less structured and straighter in cut. The straight-cut suit emphasized a woman's natural shape. Meanwhile, the craze for sportswear continued, and designers created clothing for women to wear in any sort of occasion, such as the sundress, swimsuit, or even slacks. Regardless of occasion, however, it was exceedingly important that a woman always be impeccably groomed.
Window displays first made their appearance by the 1920s, but it wasn't until the 1950s that department store retailers realized the potential of their window displays to attract customers. Mannequins made their way to the windows, and retailers became creative in their elaborate displays, maintaining how they wanted their stores and products to be perceived. 1950s window displays are a glimpse into the psychology of women's fashion and advertising in the mid 20th century, emphasizing the values and aspirations of women to be fashionable and well-groomed.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Window Display Photographs contains black and white photographs depicting shop window displays from various stores in New York City and California. Almost half are of the department store Peck & Peck, and a good number are of Sterne's, Buffums', and others. Most feature women's clothing products on mannequins, while a few display children's clothes or home goods. The displays are arranged as aspirational narratives around travel, parties, and leisure activities.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Window Display Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchased May 13 2022.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: GU
Date: 31 Oct 2022
Revision history:
Inventory
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Buffums' [department store] 1948 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Curtis Furniture Co. undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Franklin Simon [department store] 1953 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Mary Marsh [department store] undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Peck & Peck [department store] undated (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Sterne's [department store] undated (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | T. W. Mather Co. [department store] undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Unidentified fashion displays undated (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Unidentified home goods displays 1949, undated | ||||||||||