Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Title:	Women's Ephemera Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1910-1988
Bulk Dates:	1970-1988
Quantity:	1.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Material relating to Equal Rights Amendment, abortion, housing, and other women's issues, chiefly from New York state with some material from Florida.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives

Biographical History

New York has seen several notable events in the history of women's rights, most notably the Seneca Falls Convention on women's rights held in July 1848, hosted by Lucretia Mott, Mary Ann M'Clintock and Elizabeth Cady Stanton.

The National Organization for Women (NOW) was founded in 1966 by Betty Friedan and Pauli Murray in an effort to confront with concrete action the issues of political, professional, and social inequality between the sexes. As early as its second conference in 1967, NOW adopted the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) and repeal of all abortion laws, becoming the first national organization to support the legalization of abortion. NOW intensely campaigned for passage of the ERA, which was approved in the House of Representatives and the Senate and submitted to state legislatures for ratification in 1972. The organization has chapters in all 50 U.S. states and Washington DC.

The Coordinating Committee of Women in the Historical Profession (CCWHP) was formed in 1969 in response to the exclusion and sexism rampant in the American Historical Association (AHA). The goals of the organization included recruiting more women into the profession, alleviate discrimination, and encourage the study and teaching of women's history. The CCWHP quickly became affiliated with the AHA and in 1974 the Conference Group on Women's History (CGWH) was formed. In 1955 the CCWHP and CGWH were combined to form the Council for Women in History (CCWH), which it is known by today.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Women's Ephemera Collection consists of material relating to women's issues, chiefly in New York State with some material related to Florida. One item dates from before 1919; the rest of the material dates from the 1970s and 1980s.

Correspondence-subject files consists mainly of newsletters and advertising material such as flyers and brochures.

Printed material consists of clippings and posters.

Writings consists of articles, speeches, bibliographies, poetry, and other material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are arranged first alphabetically by organization, then chronologically, with unidentified or undated material at the end. Printed material is arranged chronologically with undated material at the end. Writings are arranged alphabetically by last name with unidentified material at the end.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The Special Collections Research Center has a plethora of information related to women's rights. Please search our collections for more material.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Women's Ephemera Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Original collection, unspecified, 1989. Additional material acquired via purchases.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010
Revision history: 12 Feb 2019 - processed (KD); 11 Mar 2025 - additions (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 1		Cayuga County Community College 1979, undated
		Coordinating Committee on Women in the Historical Profession
Box 1			CCWHP newsletter 1979-1983
Box 1			CCWHP CGWH newsletter 1979-1981
Box 1			CGWH newsletter 1980-1984
Box 1		Dykes, Disability. & Stuff 1988-1989 - 4 issues of their newsletter
Box 1		Dykes Opposed to Nuclear Technology (DONT) 1980 - 2 issues of their newsletter
Box 1		Elizabeth Cady Stanton Foundation 1980-1986, undated
Box 1		Florida Women's Political Caucus 1971-1975, undated
Box 1		Journalism and Women Symposium, JAWS newsletter 1987
Box 1		Medusa's Revenge 1979-1980 - 4 flyers from the experimental lesbian theater founded by two Cuban exiles
Box 1		National Abortion Rights Action League (NARAL) circa 1978 - includes preprinted "and I vote" postcards and map of violent anti-choice incidents
		National Organization for Women (NOW)
Box 1			Do It NOW 1971-1973, 1977 (2 folders)
Box 1			National NOW Times 1977-1981 (4 folders)
Box 2			Organizational information
		National Organization for Women (NOW), Florida
Box 2			Correspondence 1973-1980, undated
Box 2			Newsletters 1976 (1 item)
		National Organization for Women (NOW), New York
Box 2			Central New York NOW Times 1979-1980
Box 2			Correspondence 1970-1980, undated (2 folders)
Box 2			New York State newsletter 1980
Box 2			News Greater Syracuse Chapter 1980
Box 1		National Women's Political Caucus circa 1973 - includes issue of their newsletter
Box 2		New York State History Network newsletter 1979-1984
Box 1		New York Women's School 1973-1974 - fall course catalog; flyer advertising slide show on "women's herstory"
Box 2		Planned Parenthood 1973-1981
Box 2		Project on the Status and Education of Women 1980-1982
Box 2		Society of American Archivists Women's Caucus 1980-1986
Box 2		Steinem, Gloria undated
Box 2		Upstate New York Women's History Conference 1971-1988, undated (2 folders)
Box 2		A Woman's Place 1974-1982 - includes flyer for fundraiser slide show by Tee Corinne, prominent lesbian photographer and author
Box 2		Women and the Arts Conference 1979, undated
Box 2		Women's Division of the State of New York newsletter 1979-1981
Box 2		Women's Information Center 1979-1980
Box 2		Women's Studio Workshop Print Center 1983-1984 - includes small portfolio of sample printed items
Box 2		Miscellaneous, A-D - alphabetical by organization; includes local, state, regional, and national groups, both formal and grassroots
Box 3		Miscellaneous, R-W - alphabetical by organization; includes local, state, regional, and national groups, both formal and grassroots (3 folders)

	Printed material
Box 3		Clippings 1971-1987, undated - includes article by Germaine Greer (4 folders)
Map-Case		Posters
			Women's Liberation Movement, 1970 abortion rights poster listing incidents of violence against abortion providers abortion rights poster from Mexican abortion rights group FNALIDM "Save Our Children" poster by Faith Ringgold, related to Atlanta child murders

	Writings
Box 3		Articles, speeches, etc. - includes "Why are there no great women painters" by Germaine Greer and handwritten text of speech regarding women's suffrage circa 1910
Box 3		Bibliographies
Box 3		Poetry - includes booklet of poems by Judith Minty
Box 3		Miscellaneous - includes "How to prevent rape" guide

Return to top