Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Women's Pentagon Action. |
| Title: | Women's Pentagon Action Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1980-1983 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | printed and handwritten material relating to the three largest demonstrations held by the anti-nuclear anti-war group |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Women's Pentagon Action was an American grassroots feminist organization focused on anti-military and environmental issues. The group organized two large demonstrations at the Pentagon in Washington, DC in 1980 and 1981. Many of the women were arrested during the various protests, both national and local, and served brief amounts of prison time.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Women's Pentagon Action Collection contains pamphlets, fliers, press packets, and handwritten documents related to the two largest demonistrations held by the group in 1980 and 1981, including planning, fundraising, the action itself, and the aftermath. There are some items such as poems and statements, from the women who were jailed.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Women's Pentagon Action Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs)
Date: 9 Dec 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.