Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Pathé frères (France) |
| Title: | Women's Suffrage Speeches |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1915 |
| Quantity: | 1 item |
| Abstract: | audiorecordings of two speeches in favor of women's suffrage, by Rabbi Stephen Wise and Gertrude Foster Brown |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
Rabbi Stephen Wise (1874-1949) was an an early 20th-century American Reform rabbi and Zionist leader. He was a founding member of the Men's League for Women's Suffrage (1910) and the NAACP, and was an early member of the ACLU.
Gertrude Foster Brown (1867-1956) was a concert pianist, a member of the Carrie Chapman Catt's Women's Suffrage Party, active in the League of Women Voters, and was elected president of the New York State Woman Suffrage Association in 1913.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Women's Suffrage Speeches consists of a single phonodisc containing two speeches in favor of giving women the right to vote, given in 1915. Side A contains a speech by Rabbi Stephen Wise titled "Woman and Democracy." Side B contains a speech by Gertrude Foster Brown titled "Why Women Want the Vote."
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
WNYC's New York Public Radio Archives and Preservation division has a digitized copy of both Side A (Wise's speech) and Side B (Brown's speech) of this disc.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Women's Suffrage Speeches,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 26 Feb 2025
Revision history:
Inventory
| Recordings | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Two speeches on women's suffrage [1915] | ||||||||||
| Side A: Rabbi Stephen Wise, "Woman and Democracy" Side B: Gertrude Foster Brown, "Why Women Want the Vote" |
|||||||||||