Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Young, John Russell, 1841-1899.
Title:	John Russell Young Correspondence
Inclusive Dates:	1874-1905
Quantity:	0.25 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American journalist, diplomat, Librarian of Congress. Incoming personal correspondence addressed to Young and his wife, May. Notes of congratulations on his wedding, responses to invitations, and letters concerning Mrs. Young's efforts to collect and publish her husband's writings after his death.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

John Russell Young (1841-1899) was an American journalist, editor and foreign minister. Born in Tyrone County, Ireland, Young emigrated at early age with his family to Pennsylvania. He served as a U.S. Civil War correspondent and was one of the first to report on the Battle of Bull Run. In 1877, General Grant invited him on an international tour, which spawned his book Around the World with General Grant and also resulted in Young's appointment to the post of minister to China.

In addition to his international work, Young also worked as editor for the New York Tribune, the New York Herald, and was appointed Librarian of Congress in 1897 by President McKinley. He died in 1899.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Russell Young Correspondence consists of incoming letters sent during 1890-1905. A number of the letters were written after Mr. Young's death and are addressed to his wife, May. Subjects include congratulations upon Young's marriage, responses to social invitations, acknowledgements of the birth of the Youngs' son, and answers to social correspondence. Correspondents include Alvey Adee, Edward P. Alexander, Edward Bok, George Cortelyou, F. Marion Crawford, Augustin Daly, L. Clarke Davis, Henry George, Arthur P. Gorman, Frederick Grant, Elijah Halford, Henry Cabot Lodge, Clarence Mackay, Nelson Miles, William W. Phelps, Whitelaw Reid, Daniel Sickles, David Sickles, Charles Emory Smith, Sara Yorke Stevenson, and Herbert Beerbohm Tree.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by correspondent name.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Russell Young Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 23 Apr 2009 - converted to EAD (AM); 5 May 2017 - Carpenter letter added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Adee, Alvey Augustus 22 Nov 1890 (1 letter)
Box 1		Alexander, Edward Porter 22 Apr 1895 (1 letter)
Box 1		Bok, Edward William undated (1 letter)
Box 1		Carpenter, Matthew Hale, to "Dear Merchant" 1 Aug 1874 (1 letter)
Box 1		Cortelyou, George Bruce 17 Feb 1902, 1 Oct 1902 (2 letters)
Box 1		Crawford, F. Marion 21 Dec 1897 (1 letter)
Box 1		Daly, Augustin 16 Dec 1891, 18 Jan 1899 (2 letters)
Box 1		Davis, L. Clarke 5 June 1896 (1 letter)
Box 1		George, Henry 28 Nov 1890 (1 letter)
Box 1		Gorman, Arthur Pue 22 Nov 1890 (1 letter)
Box 1		Grant, Frederick Dent undated (1 letter)
Box 1		Halford, Elijah Walker 22 Nov 1890 (1 letter)
Box 1		Jefferson, Sarah A. undated (1 letter)
Box 1		Lodge, Henry Cabot 31 Jan 1899 (1 letter)
Box 1		MacKay, Clarence Hungerford 31 May 1905 (1 letter)
Box 1		Miles, Nelson Appleton 20 Aug 1903 (1 letter)
Box 1		Phelps, William Walter 21 Feb 1892 (1 note on calling card)
Box 1		Reid, Whitelaw 1902 (1 letter)
Box 1		Sickles, Daniel Edgar 24 Nov 1890 (1 letter)
Box 1		Sickles, David Banks 23 Nov 1890 (1 letter)
Box 1		Smith, Charles Emory 30 Oct 1901 (1 letter)
Box 1		Stevenson, Sara Yorke 9 Apr 1896 (1 letter)
Box 1		Tree, Herbert Beerbolm 14 Mar 1895, 15 Mar 1895, undated (3 letters)
Box 1		Whitney, Henry H. 16 Dec 1898 (1 letter)
Box 1		Unidentified 23 Dec 1897, undated (2 letters)

Return to top