Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	United States. Navy. Recruiting Service
Title:	Your Navy Presents Recordings
Inclusive Dates:	circa 1960
Quantity:	26 items
Abstract:	52 programs of Your Navy Presents the Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk, on 26 long-playing vinyl phonodiscs
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

"Your Navy Presents" were 15-minute public radio broadcasting programs from the 1960's era. They aired weekly on the U. S. Navy Radio Network and the Armed Forces Radio and Television Service (AFRTS). Each show featured artists who were interviewed by the host in the studio during the program. These unique interviews are not available anywhere else, as the radio stations usually didn't keep the recordings.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Your Navy Presents Recordings comprises 26 long-playing vinyl phonodiscs containing 52 programs featuring dance orchestra music. Each program in the collection showcases music performances by Lawrence Welk, his orchestra, and his show's guests. Additionally, each program includes introductions by Lawrence Welk, interviews with guests, and recruitment advertisements, touting the opportunities offered by the United States Navy to young Americans.

Lawrence Welk (1903-1992) was an American accordionist, bandleader, and television impresario. He hosted The Lawrence Welk Show from 1951 to 1982, and his musical style was referred to as "champagne music" by his audiences on radio, television, and live performances.

Several programs have handwritten content notes on their sleeves. There is no content information for the others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Recordings are organized sequentially according to program number.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also U. S. Navy Band Showcase Recordings.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Your Navy Presents Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

There is no information on how the collection was obtained and its provenance.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: IRP
Date: 25 Jun 2024
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

	Recordings
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-1 and 9-2, "A" Series) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_001)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-3 and 9-4, "A" Series) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_002)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-5 and 9-6, "A" Series) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_003)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-7 and 9-8, "A" Series) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_004)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-11 and 9-12, "A" Series) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_005)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-13 and 9-14, "A" Series) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_006)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-15 and 9-16"A" Series) circa 1960 - accompanied by Headquarters, U. S. Army, Command Information Unit, letter to the World-Wide program director, list of contents for Programs 449- to 456. (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_007)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-17 and 9-18, "A" Series) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_008)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-19 and 9-20, "A" Series) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_009)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-21 and 9-22, "A" Series) circa 1960 - inscribed on sleeve: "I Love Life, by Joe Feeney; Ragtime piano" (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_010)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 9-23 and 9-24, "A" Series) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_011)
			Program 9-23: Invitation to Dance, M/C and TP; Everything that Touches You, Lennon Sisters; I think I know the Reason Why!, Johnny Hodges, guest; Song of Freedom; Program 9-24: That Old Black Magic; Everybody's Friend, Mills Brothers, guests; Ragtime Piano, Jo Anne Castle; Seems Like Long, Long ago, Mills Brothers.
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 79A and 80A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_012)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 81A and 82A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_013)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 83A and 84A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_014)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 85A and 86A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_015)
			Program LW 85: Winchester Cathedral, Jo Ann Castle; I Understand, Lennon Sister; A Spoonful of Sugar, Myron Floren, piano; Program LW 86: Georgy Girl, Lawrence Welk Orchestra; Cabanet, Jo Ann Castle; Moon River, Lennon Sisters; Elmer's Tune, Myron Floren; Mexicali Rose, Ensemble vocal.
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 87A and 88A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_016)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 89A and 90A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_017)
			Program LW-90A: On the Beach at Waikiki, Jo Ann Castle; Sound of Music.
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 91A and 92A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_018)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 93A and 94A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_019)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 95A and 96A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_020)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 97A and 98A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_021)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 99A and 100A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_022)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 101A and 102A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_023)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 103A and 104A) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_024)
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 105 and 106, "A" Series") circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_025)
			Program LW 105: [illegible], Lennon Sisters; April in Paris, Mills Brothers; Program LW 106: Because of you; The Bramble Bush, Mills Brothers.
Oversize 1		Your Navy Presents: The Champagne Music of Lawrence Welk (LW 107 and 108) circa 1960 (Vinyl record; running time 30:00) (ID#: your_navy_026)

Return to top