Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Zaccai, Gianfranco |
| Title: | Gianfranco Zaccai Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | TBD |
| Quantity: | 5.0 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Computer media, ephemera, correspondence, slides, designs, photographs, clippings, and publications related to Zaccai's career with his company Continuum; also a portfolio with some student work |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Gianfranco Zaccai is an Italian industrial designer. His design firm Continuum, founded in 1983, has done design work for Herman Miller as well as for various health care needs. They also created the Swiffer cleaning system for Procter & Gamble. He is the founder of The Foundation for Augmented Intelligence which, according to their website, "seeks to develop, stimulate, and leverage technological, educational, and organizational innovation to enable and empower individuals with intellectual disabilities, their families, and their communities, in order to improve quality of life, enhance independence and productivity, lower cost, and benefit society as a whole."
Zaccai holds degrees in industrial design from Syracuse University and architecture from the Boston Architectural College. He also holds honorary doctorates from North Carolina State University and Syracuse. He has won numerous award over his career, including the Industrial Designers Society of America, “Design of The Decade” award and a Presidential Award for Design Excellence, from President Bill Clinton for the Egis Explosives Detection System.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Gianfranco Zaccai Papers contains computer media, ephemera, correspondence, slides, designs, photographs, clippings, and publications related to Zaccai's career with his company Continuum; also a portfolio with some student work.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Gianfranco Zaccai,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Gianfranco Zaccai, 2022.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2013
Revision history:
Inventory
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.