Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Betra, Millie. |
| Title: | Millie Betra Photograph |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1871 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Photograph of sideshow performer Millie Betra, "the Serpent Queen" |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
Millie Betra (dates unknown) was an American sideshow performer whose act featured snakes of various sorts.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Millie Betra Photograph consists of one carte-de-visite with a photograph of Betra on the front, standing, with one foot up on a fake tree stump. There are no snakes in the picture.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
See the Ronald G. Becker Collection of Charles Eisenmann Photographs for additional photographs of Betra.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Millie Betra Photograph,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 1988.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 21 Nov 2025
Revision history:
Inventory
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| SC 898 | Millie Betra, "The Serpent Queen" | ||||||||||
| This cabinet card shows a full-length portrait of Betra, a young white woman with curly dark hair. She is standing, with her left hand on her hip and her right foot on a fake tree stump. No snakes. Text below reads "Millie Betra, the Serpent Queen." Text at left and right reads "with Ringling Bros." and "world's greatest shows." The photographer is J.V. Brown of Milwaukee. | |||||||||||