Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Carter, John. |
| Title: | John Carter Journals |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1862-1893 |
| Quantity: | 1 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Journals of John Carter, 19th century Quaker. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Scope and Contents of the Collection
A collection of four diaries by John Carter. Member of the Philadelphia Monthly Meeting, giving extensive details on life and current events during the Civil War and Reconstruction period, with particular attention given to machinations of the Quaker Community and social causes 1862-1877; one addition journal by John's daughter Sarah Carter circa 1893.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
John Carter Journals,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of , 2025.
Purchase, 2025.
Processing Information
The collection is unprocessed.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 17 Jan 2025
Revision history:
Inventory
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.