Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Clarke, Hermon. |
| Title: | Hermon Clarke Correspondence |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1862-1865 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Letters of Hermon Clarke of Oneida County, New York. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
Hermon Clarke (1837-1914) was a German-born American farmer who fought for the Union during the American Civil War. He grew up on a farm in Brookfield, New York, along with his father, Silas Clarke, his stepmother, and two stepsiblings Neiel and Elizabeth. In August of 1862, he joined the 117th New York Volunteer Infantry. He served until June of 1865, and returned to Waterville, New York, where he married Alice Cleveland in August of 1865. In 1902, he was elected clerk of Oneida County, a position he held for three years. Infomation was drawn from Back Home in Oneida: Hermon Clarke and his Letters by Jackson O'Donnell.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Hermon Clarke Correspondence contains mostly outgoing letters pertaining to Clarke’s service during the Civil War. The letters describe his military life. Most of the letters are addressed to either his father, Silas Clarke or his step brother, Neiel Clarke. Additionally, there is a letter to Hermon’s uncle and an unidentified person. There is also an incoming letter from a Sergeant Evvans [sic] to Clarke.
Arrangement of the Collection
This collection has been arranged alphabetically by correspondent and within the folders chronologically.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
Please note that the collection is housed off-site, and advance notice is required to allow time to have the materials brought to the Reading Room on campus.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Hermon Clarke's letters were transcribed and published in Jackson O'Donnell's book Back Home in Oneida: Hermon Clarke and his Letters, which is available in the Syracuse University principal collections.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Hermon Clarke Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of William Goff, 2023.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 17 Jan 2025
Revision history:
Inventory
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Clarke, Neiel 1863-1864 - outgoing | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Clarke, Silas 1862-1865 - outgoing (5 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Evvans [sic], [Sergeant] 1865 - incoming | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Unidentified 1864, undated - outgoing | ||||||||||