Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Joni, Icilio Federico. |
| Title: | Icilio Federico Joni Book Covers |
| Inclusive Dates: | undated |
| Quantity: | 2 items |
| Abstract: | two decorated wooden panels created in imitation of Renaissance tavolette bindings |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Icilio Federico Joni (1866–1946) was an Italian artist and forger. Trained in a gilding shop in Siena, Italy, Joni originally had a restoration business but eventually turned his talents to forgery as a faster way to make money. Skilled in working with wood, plaster, and paint, he focused on replicas of Medieval and Renaissance works of art such as panel paintings, triptychs, wooden caskets, and tavolette di Biccherna. Tavolette, from the same root as the Latin "tabula" and the English "tablet," were small panels or tablets painted or engraved on small wood, stone, or metal panels. Common in the Middle Ages and Renaissance, they were used for various purposes including as covers for books.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Icilio Federico Joni Book Covers consists of two separate wooden panels, painted and decorated with metal details and brass bosses. The style imitates fifteenth-century tavolette di Biccherna book covers.
Note: The panels were identified as Joni's work by Nancy Turner of the Department of Paper Conservation at the J. Paul Getty Museum. We are grateful for her assistance.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Icilio Federico Joni Book Covers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unknown.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 10 Jun 2024
Revision history: