Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Luise Kaish Papers

A description of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kaish, Luise.
Title: Luise Kaish Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1951-1995
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Exhibition catalogs and memorabilia relating to the American expressionist sculptor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Luise Kaish (1925-2013) was an American expressionist sculptor. She was the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, Rome Prize Fellowship (American Academy in Rome), and Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation Grant, and received the Arents Pioneer Medal from her alma mater, Syracuse University. She was Professor Emerita of Columbia University, where she Chaired the Division of Painting and Sculpture, and was the first woman Artist-in-Residence at Dartmouth College. She served as guest lecturer, critic, and panelist at numerous institutions and conferences, and was a Trustee Emerita of the American Academy in Rome. Her work has been exhibited in major art galleries around the country.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Luise Kaish Papers consist of exhibition catalogs and memorabilia relating to the American sculptor. Also included in the collection are architectural drawings and biographical material.

Biographical material consists of a curriculum vitae highlighting Kaish's career as an artist and sculptor.

Architectural drawings consists of drawings of The Binah Temple Beth Shalam and Holy Trinity Mission. It is unclear why the drawings are in the collection.

Exhibition catalogs contains catalogs that featured Kaish's artwork. Catalogs are for her group and solo exhibitions. There are also Sculptors Guild exhibition catalogs which highlighted her sculptures.

Memorabilia consists of awards, a brochure, calendars, clippings, a flyer, and an event program.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A 1944 Syracuse University yearbook was removed from the collection.

See also the Morton Kaish Papers.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kaish, Luise.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American.
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Architectural drawings (visual works)
Brochures.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Sculptors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Luise Kaish Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Luise Kaish, 2000.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 21 Jan 2010
Revision history: 24 Oct 2011 - corrected bio (MRC); 26 Jul 2017 - bio updated (MRC); 17 Feb 2022 - collection processed (DTF)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Curriculum vitae circa 1995
Architectural drawings
Oversize 1 The Bimah Temple Beth Shalam 1964
Oversize 1 Holy Trinity Mission undated
Exhibition catalogs
Box 1 Group exhibitions 1951-1969 (6 folders)
Box 2 Group exhibitions 1970-1979, 1981, 1992 (2 folders)
Box 2 Sculpture: Sculptors Guild 1960-1968, 1974, 1979 (4 folders)
Box 2 Solo exhibitions 1954, 1958, 1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 1988 (2 folders)
Memorabilia
Box 3 Awards 1951, 1955, 1959, 1962, 1964, 1974
Oversize 1 Brochure, Sanctuary Art dedication 1964
Oversize 1 Calendars, Winsor and Newton 1994-1995 - features one of her paintings
Box 3 Clippings 1963, 1974-1989
Box 3 Flyer, "Sculpture: A Poetic Force" lecture undated
Box 3 Program, Sanctuary Ark dedication 1964

Return to top