Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Kitchin, Thomas. |
| Title: | Thomas Kitchin Map of Africa |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1780 |
| Quantity: | 1 item |
| Abstract: | map of Africa |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Thomas Kitchin (1718-1784) was an English engraver and cartographer, who served as Royal Hydrographer to the King of England. He also wrote a book on the history of the West Indies, which was published in 1778.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Thomas Kitchin Map of Africa consists of a single map entitled "Africa: Drawn from the latest and best authoriesi byy Thos. Kitchin." Below the title is a penciled date of 1780.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Thomas Kitchin Map of Africa
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of David Jan Baker, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 19 Jul 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
| Maps | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | “AFRICA Drawn from the latest and best Authorities by Thos. Kitchin” 1780 | ||||||||||
| Printed map with added light outline color, 20” x 18 ¾”. A penciled date of 1780 was presumably added by a dealer at some point. The coverage is from 30°W to 70°E and from 40°N to 35°S. Labeled on the map are countries, regions, ports, bays, rivers, seas, islands, and so on. Some are still in use today, including Ethiopia, Benin, Madagascar, and the Zaara Desart; others are entirely unfamiliar to modern cartography, such as Jinjiro, Monomotapa, and the land of the Hottentots. | |||||||||||