Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
McIntosh & Seymour Board of Directors Records
An inventory of the company's records at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | McIntosh & Seymour Corp. |
| Title: | McIntosh & Seymour Board of Directors Records |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1929-1936 |
| Quantity: | 0.75 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Records from McIntosh & Seymour's Board of Directors meetings. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
McIntosh & Seymour was an American locomotive company, established in 1886 in Auburn, New York. It was responsible for the manufacturing of steam and internal combustion engines in the early 1900s, and diesel engines beginning in 1910. In the 1930s, McIntosh & Seymour merged with the American Locomotive Company (ALCO). [Source: Article by Bill Vossler, August/September 2013]
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The McIntosh & Seymour Board of Directors Records consists of meeting reports.
Meeting reports consist of assembled packets from meetings. These packets were assembled after their respective meetings, as shown by the inclusion of an attendance sheet for the meeting recording who was present. Members of the board and committee changed often, which is reflected on the attendance sheets. Most of the packets include the following: financial reports (including orders and bills), letters of resolution, statement submissions, personalized letters to members requesting attendance, RSVPs for meetings, memos and notices, receipts and vouchers for fees, votes for board members (called certificates of inspectors), letters acknowledging position appointments, letters of resignation, letters accepting resignations, correspondence between board members, and lists of active prospects. A few of the packets include lists of engines, notations on engines, handwritten notes, complaints filed about a contract (3 Sep 1931), and a proposal to repeal the company code and adopt a new one (Dec 1929).
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
See also the American Locomotive Company (ALCO) Records and the ALCO Collection.
The Smithsonian Institution possesses the bulk of McIntosh & Seymour's archives. Their collection includes letter books, instruction manuals, price and data sheets, notebooks, design notes, blueprints and drawings, calculations and specifications, sketches, and photographs.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
McIntosh & Seymour Board of Directors Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Original source and acquisition date unknown.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: ZEC
Date: 23 Sep 2020
Revision history:
Inventory
| Meeting reports | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Minutes 1929 Dec 3 - 2 packets included in folder; one for the regular meeting held at 11:00 am and one for a "second special meeting" held at 11:30 am | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Minutes 1930 - each folder contains a packet for a separate meeting: Feb, Mar, May, Jul, Sep, Nov (6 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Minutes 1931 - each folder contains a packet for a separate meeting: Feb, Mar, Apr, Jun, Sep, Oct, Dec (7 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Minutes 1932 - each folder contains a packet for a separate meeting: Jan, Feb, Mar, May, Jun, Jul, Sep (7 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Minutes 1933 - each folder contains a packet for a separate meeting: Jan, Mar, Apr, Oct (4 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Minutes 1934 Feb 1 - 2 packets included in folder; one for a meeting of the executive committee and one for the regular board meeting, both held on the same day | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Minutes 1934 - meeting held in Mar | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Minutes 1934 - each folder contains a packet for a separate meeting: May, Jul, Sep, Oct (4 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Minutes 1935 - each folder contains a packet for a separate meeting: Jan, Mar, May, Jun, Aug (5 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Minutes 1935 Sep 12, Sep 25 - 2 packets included in folder; one for a meeting of the executive committee held on Sep 12, and one for the regular board meeting held on Sep 25 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Minutes 1935 - meeting held in Nov | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Minutes 1936 - each folder contains a packet for a separate meeting: Jan, Mar, May, Jun, Aug (5 folders) | ||||||||||