Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Norman Hackman Abrams Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Jan 2018

Biographical History

Norman Hackman Abrams (1926-2011) was an American artist and art teacher.

Abrams attended Syracuse University on the G. I. Bill, graduating in 1952 with a degree in graphic design. He worked as director of both television and print ad campaigns for New York ad agencies for more than ten years. After earning an M.A. in art education from Columbia University, Abrams taught art at every level, from kindergarten to graduate school, including Iowa State University and the University of Kansas. When he retired he returned to Syracuse, where he was a fine artist for 20 years.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Norman Hackman Abrams Papers consists of artwork, games, movies, and miscellaneous.

Artwork is primarily in digital format (CD and DVD, but there is also one portfolio containing prints of various works.

Games contains assorted game and game design material (playing fields, score sheets, instructions, cards, playing pieces, etc.). One game, in its original box, is entitled "Shoot the Moon: A New Space Age Card Game." The bulk of the material, however, stored in several tins, appears to be football- or baseball-related games played with cards, including one called "Pigskin Cardball." It is difficult to say whether more than one game is represented here. Some material is in digital (PDF) format on CDs.

Movies consists of Side Issue, a motion picture by Norman Abrams and Robert Lorr, original score by Martha Folts, production of Iowa State University. The collection contains a 16mm film (possibly the original), and transfers onto DVD.

Miscellaneous contains a VHS tape (not labeled, but possibly a video transfer of Side Issue), and a hard drive whose contents are unknown.

Arrangement of the Collection

Game materials, including CDs and DVDs, have been kept in the various tins in which they were donated, on the assumption that this represents some logical grouping. Other material is physically subdivided by type of media (magnetic media, film, paper) but is listed in logical order in the inventory below.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Digital portions of this collection (CDs, DVDs, etc.) are not currently accessible to researchers.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Abrams, Norman Hackman.

Associated Titles

Pigskin cardball (Game)
Side issue.

Subjects

Artists -- United States.
Card games -- Design and construction.
Card games -- Equipment and supplies.
Graphic artists -- United States.
Sports in popular culture.

Genres and Forms

Card games (game sets)
DVDs.
DVDs.
Digital art (visual works)
Game pieces (game elements)
Hard drives.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Norman Hackman Abrams Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of James Abrams, Bruce Abrams, Suzanne Abrams, and James DeRin, 2017

Table of Contents

Artwork

Games

Movies

Miscellaneous

Inventory