Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Louis Fabian Bachrach Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: unknown

Biographical History

The Bachrach family has been in the commercial photography business for more than 140 years, and Bachrach Studios is believed to be the world's oldest continuously operating photography studio. The studio was instrumental in establishing the idea of formal portraiture, having made portraits of every American President since Abraham Lincoln.

David Bachrach (1845-1921) founded Bachrach Studios in 1868. His son Louis Fabian Bachrach (1881-1963) began his photographic career by working with his father in Washington and Baltimore and by helping several photographers in New York. Louis Fabian Bachrach, Jr. (1917-2010), known as Fabian Bachrach, introduced color photography to the studio in the 1950s, while his brother Bradford (1910 or 1911-1992) headed the company until 1978. Fabian's son Robert now (2017) heads the family business, while son Louis Fabian Bachrach III has his own independent portrait studio.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Louis Fabian Bachrach Papers consist of correspondence, subject files, writings, photographs, and a small amount of material added later.

Incoming correspondence contains letters received by Louis Fabian Bachrach, Sr. It is arranged alphabetically by the last name of the sender or organization. Outgoing correspondence contains carbon tyrescripts of letters sent by Bachrach.

Subject files contain material such as bills, cards, certificates, newspaper clippings, and notes.

Writings in the collection are in the form of manuscripts and published material. Manuscripts contains both handwritten and typescript manuscripts of interviews, speeches, notes, etc. by Louis Bachrach Sr. and others, including an essay by his grandaughter, entitled "The Most Interesting Person I Know." Published material contains magazine articles, newspaper clippings, books, pamphlets and press releases by and about Louis Bachrach.

Photographs contains portrait and other photographs taken by Louis Bachrach, his father David Bachrach, and his sons Bradford and Fabian (Louis Fabian Bachrach, Jr.).

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Outgoing carbons are arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically. Manuscripts and published material are subdivided by type and author. Miscellaneous photographs are subdivided by photographer; photographs of notable individuals are filed together in no particular order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Adams, Sherman, 1899-1986.
Alsop, Joseph, 1910-1989.
Alsop, Stewart.
Bachrach, David.
Bachrach, Fabian, 1917-2010.
Bachrach, Louis Fabian, 1881-1963.
Clark, Joseph S.
Collins, John F., 1888-
Cronkite, Walter.
Flanders, Ralph E. (Ralph Edward), 1880-1970.
Fulbright, J. William (James William), 1905-1995.
Goldwater, Barry M. (Barry Morris), 1909-1998.
Hilton, Conrad N. (Conrad Nicholson), 1887-1979.
Hodges, Luther Hartwell, 1898-1974.
Hoover, Herbert, 1874-1964.
Lippmann, Walter, 1889-1974.
Neuberger, Maurine Brown, 1907-
Onassis, Jacqueline Kennedy, 1929-1994.
Peale, Norman Vincent, 1898-1993.
Reston, James, 1909-
Romney, George W., 1907-1995.
Saltonstall, Leverett, 1892-1979.

Subjects

Photographers -- United States.
Photographs.
Photography, Artistic.
Portrait photography.
Presidents -- United States -- Portraits.

Places

United States -- Officials and employees -- Portraits.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Interviews.
Pamphlets.
Photographs.
Press releases.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Photographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis Fabian Bachrach Papers,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Bradford Bachrach, 1964-1971.

Table of Contents

Incoming correspondence

Outgoing correspondence

Subject file

Manuscripts

Published materials

Photographs

Louis Fabian Bachrach, Sr.

Inventory