Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Will Barker Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DMW
Date: 25 Sep 1979

Biographical History

Will Barker (1908-?) was an American author from Troy, New York. Following his military service, he enrolled in the Veterans Authors Workshop which started him on a career as a full-time writer. In addition to several natural history books for children and numerous articles, he wrote for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (1949-1954) and edited books for the New York Times Book Review. He also lectured, appeared at children's book fairs, did the photography and illustrations for his own books, and taught seminars at writing workshops. He received awards from the National Wildlife Federation for his work in conservation education.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Will Barker Papers consist of corespondence, writings, published material and memorabilia.

Correspondence has both business and personal letters dating from 1852 to 1970.

Writings contains material for five nature books, several articles, and lectures for school and writing workshops. Also included is some of Barker's editing work.

Published material includes mainly books, magazines and newspapers.

Memorabilia contains photographs, scrapbooks, personal papers, material on family history, and a small amount of Masonic papers.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. All other series are arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Barker family.
Barker, Will.

Subjects

Conservation of natural resources -- Juvenile literature.
Animal behavior.
Authors, American.
Freemasons -- United States.
Zoology -- Juvenile literature.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Book reviews.
Calendars (documents)
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Genealogies (histories)
Manuscripts for publication.
Memorabilia.
Pamphlets.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Will Barker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Writings

Published material

Memorabilia

Inventory