Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

L. Frank Baum Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1980

Biographical History

L. Frank Baum (1856-1919) was an American author known for the Oz book series. Baum was born in Chittenango, New York, and raised in Mattydale, New York. From 1888 to 1891, Baum and his wife lived in Aberdeen, South Dakota, where he ran a general store called Baum's Bazaar and edited the local newspaper. Following the failure of the newspaper, the Baums moved to Chicago.

In 1900, Baum wrote and published the best-selling children's book The Wonderful Wizard of Oz in collaboration with illustrator William Wallace Denslow. Baum and Denslow worked with composer Paul Tietjens to adapt the book into a successful stage musical, directed by Julian Mitchell, in 1902. Baum wrote a total of fourteen Oz books, as well as a number of other novels and short stories under various pseudonyms.

Following Baum's death in 1919, the Oz series was continued by other authors, including Ruth Plumly Thompson, John Neill, and Jack Snow. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz has had a number of notable theater and film adaptations, including the 1939 musical film The Wizard of Oz and the 1974 musical The Wiz.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The L. Frank Baum Collection contains materials related to L. Frank Baum and his family, materials related to the Oz franchise, and materials collected by Oz enthusiast Russell P. MacFall.

The Baum and family series contains biographical materials and correspondence relating to the Baum and Gage families, photographs of Baum and his family members, and writings and productions by Baum unrelated to the Oz series. It also includes draft typescripts of To Please a Child, the first biography of Baum, cowritten by Frank J. Baum and Russell P. MacFall.

The Oz materials series contains materials relating to assorted audio, film, theater, and print adaptations of the Oz series, as well as artwork, writings, products, and miscellaneous press materials and scrapbooks. Additionally, the series includes clippings and photographs related to the yearly OzFest (now the Oz-stravaganza Festival) celebration in Chittenango, NY, and materials from the International Wizard of Oz Club.

Russell P. MacFall research materials primarily consists of correspondence-subject files relating to his research on L. Frank Baum and the Oz franchise, including his communications with publishers, authors, illustrators, and the Baum family.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is aranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Additional Oz and Baum material may be found in the Fred M. Meyer Papers, the Sue Ferrara Collection of Baum Research Material, and the W. W. Denslow Collection collections.

Subject Headings

Persons

Baum, Frank Joslyn, 1883-1958.
Baum, Harry Neal.
Baum, L. Frank (Lyman Frank), 1856-1919.
Baum, L. Frank (Lyman Frank), 1856-1919. Wizard of Oz.
Baum, Maud Gage.
Denslow, W. W. (William Wallace), 1856-1915.
Eubank, Bill.
MacFall, Russell P.
Martin, Dick, 1927-1990.
Meyer, Fred M., 1926-2004.
Neill, John R. (John Rea)
Tietjens, Paul.

Corporate Bodies

International Wizard of Oz Club.
Oz Film Manufacturing Co.

Associated Titles

Wizard of Oz (Motion picture : 1939)

Subjects

Authors, American.
Books -- Marketing.
Children's literature -- Film adaptations.
Children's literature -- Stage adaptations.
Children's literature, American.
Fans (Persons)
Illustrated children's books.
Illustrators -- United States.
Popular culture -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Board games (game sets)
Book reviews.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Coloring books.
Correspondence.
Drawings (visual works)
Genealogies (histories)
Jigsaw puzzles.
Manuscripts for publication.
Memorabilia.
Obituaries.
Phonograph records.
Photographs.
Posters.
Scrapbooks.
Scripts (documents)
Sheet music.
Sound recordings.
VHS.

Occupations

Authors.
Illustrators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

L. Frank Baum Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from rare books, 1970,1982; purchase from Russel P. MacFall, 1973,1977; OzFest materials gift of Susan Keeter, 1994

Table of Contents

Baum and family

Oz materials

Russell P. MacFall research materials

Inventory