Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Book-Shaped Vanity Case

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2023

Biographical History

Faux books, sometimes called "blooks" (as in, they look like books) have a long history. Over the centuries, items ranging from clocks to spice jars to cigarette dispensers have been made in the appearance of books. Some serve serious purposes (an 18th century wooden volume that opens up into a small altar); others are useful (safekeeping for valuables); still others are humorous (a comb and brush inside a "book" whose author is "Y.B. Untidy").

Scope and Contents of the Collection

This Book-shaped vanity case consists of a small box created to look like a book of sextodecimo (16mo) size. The internal shape suggests it was used to carry two small flasks, perhaps of perfume or smelling salts. The "book" is bound in red morocco with gilt decorations and a small black label with the "title" Oeuvre Chretien.

Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Subjects

Books -- Specimens.
Books in art.
Fashion -- History.
Realism in art.

Places

France -- 18th century.

Genres and Forms

Accessory boxes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Book-Shaped Vanity Case,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2023.

Table of Contents

Artifacts

Inventory