Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

David Emmert Brumbaugh Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Sep 1994

Biographical History

David Emmert Brumbaugh (1894-1977) was an American banker, insurance executive and legislator. He served in the U.S. Army during World War I, and later was a U.S. Representative from Pennsylvania (1943-1947) and a member of the Pennsylvania state senate (1963-1967). In 1947 Pennsylvania Governor James A. Duff appointed him the state's Secretary of Banking, a position he held until 1952. He was a Pennsylvania delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1952, 1956 and 1960.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David Emmert Brumbaugh Papers contain three types of material. Because the material is in original order, this material is scattered throughout the collection. The researcher is advised to review the entire inventory carefully to ensure locating all relevant material.

Campaigns and elections material consists of campaign receipts and expenditures, county and town lists of voter registrations, lists of Republican committeemen, candidate's petitions, press releases, election results, and congratulatory messages from constituents.

Material relating to the 78th and 79th Congresses includes the correspondence of Brumbaugh's predecessor, James E. Van Zandt. Much of this correspondence points up the legislative responsibilities of a congressman during World War II and its aftermath. There are letters from constituents requesting help in obtaining passports, sugar, farm deferments, and military discharges. Also included is correspondence relating to the mustering-out pay bill for members of the armed forces, the soldier vote bill, the Continuation of Commodity Credit Corporation with Anti-Food Subsidy provision, the overriding of the President's veto tax bill, extension of the land-lease act, the G.I. Bill of Rights, Townsend Legislation, and more.

Also included in this series are texts of Brumbaugh's speeches before Congress.

Banking-related material covers Brumbaugh's career as Pennsylvania's Secretary of Banking and his correspondence with fellow bankers and banking association officers.

Correspondents of note in the collection include Pennsylvania Governors James A. Duff and Edward Martin, House Minority Leader Joseph W. Martin, Jr., Chester Bowles and Paul Porter.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and remains in original order with (for the most part) the donor's original subject headings.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Brumbaugh, David Emmert (1894-1977)
Van Zandt, James E. (James Edward), 1898-

Subjects

Bankers -- Pennsylvania.
Legislators -- Pennsylvania.
Legislators -- United States.

Places

Pennsylvania -- Politics and government -- 1951-

Genres and Forms

Bills (legislative records)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Bankers.
Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Emmert Brumbaugh Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of James Emmert Brumbaugh, circa 1965.

Table of Contents

Papers

Inventory