Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Martin Buxbaum Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1966

Biographical History

Martin Buxbaum (1912-1991) was an American poet, author and editor. Born in Richmond, Virginia, Buxbaum was blind but underwent a cataract operation which restored his sight. As Director of Communications for Marriott Corporation, he edited their monthly publication Table Talk for many years and received much acclaim for it. After retiring Buxbaum went on to write eleven books, including Rivers of Thought and The Underside of Heaven, and became known as a photographer, artist and humorist. He and his wife Alice had eight children. [Family information obtained from Buxbaum's granddaughter.]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Martin Buxbaum Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence, subject files, manuscripts and published material.

Biographical material consists of a biographical sketch.

Correspondence, subdivided into business and personal, is mostly incoming with only a small amount of outgoing.

Subject files include book covers, Christmas cards, photographs, and two audiotapes.

Manuscripts includes those of books, magazine articles, poems, short stories, speeches and other items.

Published material contains a first edition of Buxbaum's book Rivers of Thought along with fliers, magazines with articles both by and about Buxbaum, and news clippings.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection comprises two separate accessions which have not been physically integrated; related material may therefore be scattered across several boxes. To simplify locating all relevant material, the inventory below lists the contents of the collection in logical, not physical, order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Buxbaum, Martin.

Corporate Bodies

Marriott Corporation -- Publishing.
Marriott Hot Shoppes.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Customer relations.
Hotels -- Public relations.
House organs.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Essays.
House organs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Poems.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Martin Buxbaum Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published material

Inventory