Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

John Cobb Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Apr 2010

Biographical History

John B. Cobb, Jr. (1925- ) is an American theologian, professor, and environmentalist.

Cobb is known for his work in the development of process theology and integrating Alfred North Whitehead's metaphysics into Christianity. He is also known for his interest in social and environmental justice. Cobb encouraged dialogue between Christianity and Mahayana Buddhism, arguing that interfaith dialogue is needed for a richer understanding of Christ. He co-founded the Center for Process Studies, a faculty research center at the Claremont School of Theology, in 1973. He taught for more than thirty years in the Claremont School of Theology at Claremont College. He is married to his wife, Jean L. Cobb.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Cobb Papers consists of conference material, correspondence, printed material, writings, and writings of others.

Conference materials are comprised of conference programs, memos, papers, and correspondence with other conference attendees. Notable conferences include the F and Q Colloquium, the Hermeneutical Council, and the Theology of Survival, a conference which focused on matters of environmentalism in Christianity.

Correspondence contains letters from a variety of sources: publishing houses, other theologians, laypeople, ministers, and a radio station. A majority of the correspondence is from Cobb's time spent at Claremont College. There is also correspondence with another theologian known only as "Tom."

Printed materials consists of three booklets that were sent to Cobb via correspondence. They include a booklet of the teachings of an Indian guru, a Jehovah's Witnesses text, and a creationist booklet.

Writings contains articles, book reviews, books, conference papers, lectures, and sermons by John Cobb. Materials are a mix of handwritten and typed, and include drafts, manuscripts, and notes.

The bulk of Writings by others consists of chapters for The Theology of Altizer, an anthology which Cobb co-authored and edited with other prominent theologians. There are a few other small items.

Arrangement of the Collection

Conference materials are arranged alphabetically by conference name. Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender. Cobb's writings are subdivided by type, and then arranged alphabetically within each type. Printed material and Writings by others are arranged alphabetically by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

Please note that the collection is housed off-site, and advance notice is required to allow time to have the materials brought to the Reading Room on campus.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Altizer, Thomas J. J.
Cobb, John B.
Gier, Nicholas F., 1944-
King, Winston L. (Winston Lee), 1907-2000.
Ross, James Robert, 1934-
Rubenstein, Richard L.
Runyon, Theodore.

Corporate Bodies

Claremont College.
Methodist Church (U.S.)

Subjects

Environmental ethics.
Process theology.
Religion and ethics.
Theologians -- United States.
Theology -- Study and teaching.

Genres and Forms

Booklets.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Lectures.
Manuscripts for publication.
Programs (documents)
Research notes.
Sermons.

Occupations

Theologians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Cobb Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Cobb, 1969, 1971.

Table of Contents

Conference materials

Correspondence

Printed materials

Writings

Writings by others

Inventory