Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Congress of Racial Equality (Syracuse Chapter) Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 15 Oct 2008

Biographical History

Formed in 1942, the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) began as an organization committed to non-violent, interracial activism. As the Civil Rights movement gained momentum in the mid-20th century, CORE became a significant force in the African-American freedom movements. The organization used a variety of tactics such as sit-ins, pickets, and boycotts. By the 1960s, CORE became increasingly radical due to the influence of media attention and activists such as Malcolm X. CORE succeeded in playing a dominant role in the Civil Rights movement, but by the end of the 1960s the organization lost much of its national influence.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Congress of Racial Equality (Syracuse Chapter) Collection contains a variety of materials including newsletters, publications, and mailings from the Syracuse chapter of the organization.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into five series: Correspondence, Photographs, Press releases, Printed materials, and Miscellaneous. The Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by recipient and Printed material is organized alphabetically by title. Meanwhile, Press releases are arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Congress of Racial Equality. Syracuse Chapter.

Subjects

Civil rights movements, New York (State), Syracuse.
Civil rights movements, Societies, etc.

Genres and Forms

Newsletters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Congress of Racial Equality (Syracuse Chapter) Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Photographs

Press releases

Printed materials

Miscellaneous

Inventory