Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Harry L. Custard Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CMV
Date: Jan 1979

Biographical History

Harry Lewis Custard (1893-1966) was an American author, philosopher, and educator. Born in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, Custard lived in Scranton until he attended Syracuse University from 1916-1918, at which time military service interrupted his studies. He was able, however, to finish school while in the service and graduated in 1920. He went on to attend Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration from 1920-1922. He later taught at Lehigh University and Simmons College after which he worked for the federal government. With his wife, Edith May, he authored The Unity of Knowledge and the Organization of Thought (1940).

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harry L. Custard Papers consists of general files, memorabilia, published material, and writings. The entire collection pertains to Custard's work in the philosophical field of "unity of knowledge."

General files contains files of information on various subjects which interested Custard as well as files of correspondence with people who expressed an interest in his research. This series also contains games devised by Custard, complete with playing cards and rules. Biographical material may be found in the "Personal" folder. Of particular interest to the researcher may be the signed letter from Margaret Truman in the "Graphology: signatures" folder and a signed letter from C. G. Jung in the first folder of "Correspondence: General: 1934-1948."

Memorabilia contains two items, a Harvard business school yearbook (1926-1927) and a Tambourine and Bones Award.

Published material contains articles written by Custard's wife Edith as well aas books on subjects related to Custard's research.

Writings contains typescripts and published examples of Custard's work, along with notes of various types (daily jottings, notes on books he read, and similar).

Arrangement of the Collection

General files are in alphabetical order by subject. Published material and writings are in alphabetical order by type and within that by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search Libraries Search for these related materials.

See also the Jeremiah Custard Papers.

Subject Headings

Persons

Brown, William Moseley, 1894-
Castetter, Luther L., 1895-
Clements, George R.
Custard, Edith May (Best), 1900-
Custard, Harry Lewis, 1893-1966 Archives.
Dillaway, Newton, 1904-
Foster, Laurence, 1903-1969.
Holbrook, Isabel B.
Hutchins, Robert Maynard, 1899-1977.
Jung, C. G. (Carl Gustav), 1875-1961.
Piper, Raymond Frank.
Tatsch, J. Hugo (Jacob Hugo), 1888-1939.
Tolley, William Pearson, 1900-
Truman, Margaret, 1924-
Zitko, Howard John, 1911-

Subjects

Authors, American.
Educators -- United States.
Knowledge, Theory of.
Philosophers -- United States.
Philosophy, Modern.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Memorabilia.
Notes (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Educators.
Philosophers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harry L. Custard Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

General files

Memorabilia

Published material

Writings

Inventory