Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

William O. Dapping Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Mar 2010

Biographical History

William O. Dapping (1880-1969) was a Pulitzer Prize-winning American journalist and editor from Auburn, New York.

Educated at Harvard under the patronage of Thomas Mott Osborne, Dapping wrote for the The Harvard Crimson under the direction of Franklin Roosevelt. It was here he discovered a love for journalism that would propel him to go into the news business. In 1905 he joined the newly christened Auburn Citizen (formerly the Auburn Bulletin, 1886-1905), becoming managing editor in 1917. In 1931 the paper merged with the Advertiser-Journal, becoming the Citizen-Advertiser (1931-1975). Dapping remained with the paper until his retirement in 1960. During his career Dapping covered sensational topics like the execution of Chester Gillette and the 1929 Auburn Prison Riots, the latter of which won him a special Pulitzer Prize in 1930.

Dapping was actively involved with numerous civic efforts in Auburn. He advocated for conservation organizations and legislation to protect the Finger Lakes, as well as New York’s nature and wildlife in general, and helped to found and run the New York State Fish, Game, and Forest League. An ardent Democrat, Dapping served as a presidential elector for New York from 1932-1969 and attended the presidential inaugurations of his old editor Franklin Roosevelt as well as Roosevelt's successor Harry Truman. Due to his talent for news and connections with Thomas Osborne, Dapping was named secretary of the Auburn Publishing Company and oversaw its foray into the radio business (station WMBO).

Dapping was married to Ina Fairchild. He died August 1, 1969, in Auburn.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William O. Dapping Papers contains business correspondence, personal correspondence, memorabilia, and writings.

Business correspondence, making up the bulk of the collection, contains material relating to the Auburn Publishing Company (including a few items connected with its precursor, the Auburn Bulletin Co.), Empire State School of Printing, New York State Publishers Association, and radio station WMBO.

Personal correspondence contains correspondence with friends and family, including Dapping's mentor Thomas Mott Osborne; and organizations such as the New York Fish, Game, and Forest League, the Conservation Department, and others.

Memorabilia contains awards, clippings, newsletters and other material relating to Dapping's various clubs and societies, photographs, materials for various presidential inauguration dinners, scrapbooks, and miscellaneous items.

Writings consists mostly of manuscripts for Dapping's book The Muckers, A Narrative of the Crapshooter's Club. There are also a few other typed manuscripts and miscellaneous notes.

Arrangement of the Collection

Most of the collection is arranged alphabetically. Correspondence within the various business sub-series is arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Dapping, William O.
Gillette, Chester.
Osborne, Thomas M.

Corporate Bodies

Auburn (N.Y.) Citizen.
Democratic Party (N.Y.)
Finger Lakes Association.
George Junior Republic (Freeville, N.Y.)
New York (State). -- Fisheries, Game and Forest Commission.
WMBO (Radio station : Auburn, N.Y.)

Subjects

Conservation -- New York (State)
Journalism -- New York (State)
Journalists -- New York (State)
Radio broadcasting--New York (State)

Places

Auburn (N.Y.)
Finger Lakes (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Administrative records.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Financial records.
Manuscripts for publication.
Minutes (administrative records)
Newsletters.
Photographs.
Printing plates.
Programs (documents)
Scrapbooks.
Specifications.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William O. Dapping Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William O. Dapping, 1969-1970.

Table of Contents

Business correspondence

Personal correspondence

Memorabilia

Writings

Inventory