William R. Davey Papers An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Return to finding aids search

William R. Davey Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: --
Date: circa 1965?

Revision history:

8 Sep 2008

converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator:

Davey, William R.

Title:

William R. Davey Papers

Dates:

1894-1963

Quantity:

5.5 linear ft.

Abstract:

Papers of the American educator, includes correspondence (1894-1963); lesson plan notebooks; photographs; and financial records.

Language:

English

Repository:

Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

William R. Davey was Professor of Classics at Syracuse University from 1911-1940.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William R. Davey Papers includes correspondence, scrapbooks, general subject files, lesson plans, lesson plan notebooks, and manuscripts and financial ledgers.

Correspondence is both incoming and outgoing. Of particular note is the correspondence with American author Theodore Dreiser. Other notable correspondents include Elizabeth Cleasby, Harold W. and Mary Davey, Helen (Patges) Dreiser, and Phyllis F. Field.

Scrapbooks, cards and postcards contains various memorabilia and souvenir items. Postcards are blank.

General subject files contains announcements and brochures, bank statements, bills, income tax files, family legal documents, and a few writings by others (poetry by Elizabeth Cleasby Davis, for example).

Lesson plans contains notes and research material for lectures and a few student reports. The subject mattery is the history of the Church.

Manuscripts and financial ledgers consists of the manuscripts of Dr. Davey's dissertation entitled "Semitic Phallicism With Particular Reference to the Hebrews Preceded by a Sketch of Non-Semitic Phallicism," a manuscript on science and religion, and two financial ledgers.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically with the exception of the Theodore Dreiser letters, which appear at the end of the chronology but before the undated material. The remaining series are arranged alphabetically by topic or type of material.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Davey family.
Davey, Elizabeth Cleasby, 1878-
Davey, William R. -- Archives.
Dreiser, Helen Patges, d. 1955.
Dreiser, Theodore, 1871-1945.

Subjects

Educators -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Bank statements.
Bankbooks.
Checks (bank checks)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Greeting cards.
Lecture notes.
Photographs.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William R. Davey Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Correspondence

Scrapbooks, cards, postcards

General files

Lesson plans of Dr. Davey

Manuscripts and financial ledgers

Inventory

Correspondence

Box 1

1894-1906 (5 items)

Box 1

1907 (4 items)

Box 1

1908 (1 items)

Box 1

1909 (6 items)

Box 1

1910 (6 items)

Box 1

1911 (3 items)

Box 1

1912 (2 items)

Box 1

1913 (William Davey) (4 items)

Box 1

1913 (2 items)

Box 1

1914 (William Davey) (9 items)

Box 1

1914 (1 items)

Box 1

1915 (1 items)

Box 1

1916 (2 items)

Box 1

1917 (2 items)

Box 1

1918 (1 items)

Box 1

1919 (8 items)

Box 1

1920 (4 items)

Box 1

1921 (5 items)

Box 1

1922 (6 items)

Box 1

1924 (5 items)

Box 1

1925 (1 items)

Box 1

1926 (8 items)

Box 1

1927 (10 items)

Box 1

1928 (8 items)

Box 1

1929 (3 items)

Box 1

1930 (15 items)

Box 1

1931 (15 items)

Box 1

1932 (7 items)

Box 1

1933 (12 items)

Box 1

1934 (2 items)

Box 1

1934 (Phyllis Field) (41 items)

Box 1

1935 (6 items)

Box 1

1935 (Elizabeth Davey) (31 items)

Box 1

1935 (Harold Davey) (4 items)

Box 1

1935 (William Davey) (2 items)

Box 1

1935 (Phyllis Field) (48 items)

Box 1

1936 (22 items)

Box 1

1936 (Elizabeth Davey) (3 items)

Box 1

1936 (Harold Davey) (8 items)

Box 1

1936 (Phyllis Field) (39 items)

Box 2

1937 (19 items)

Box 2

1937 (Elizabeth and William) (2 items)

Box 2

1937 (Harold Davey) (7 items)

Box 2

1938 (5 items)

Box 2

1938 (Elizabeth Davey) (1 items)

Box 2

1938 (William Davey) (7 items)

Box 2

1939 (3 items)

Box 2

1939 (Harold Davey) (4 items)

Box 2

1939 (William,Davey) (11 items)

Box 2

1940 (28 items)

Box 2

1940 (Elizabeth Davey) (1 items)

Box 2

1940 (William Davey) (1 item)

Box 2

1940 (Harold Davey) (34 items)

Box 2

1941 (9 items)

Box 2

1941 (Elizabeth Davey) (2 items)

Box 2

1941 (Harold Davey) (6 items)

Box 2

1942 (9 items)

Box 2

1942 (Harold and Mary Davey) (32 items)

Box 2

1943 (9 items)

Box 2

1943 (Mary Davey) (2 items)

Box 2

1944 (3 items)

Box 2

1944 (Harold and Mary Davey) (6 items)

Box 2

1944 (Dr. Donald McCord) (3 items)

Box 2

1945 (2 items)

Box 2

1945 (Harold Davey) (8 items)

Box 2

1945 (Dr. Donlad McCord) (1 items)

Box 2

1946 (6 items)

Box 2

1946 (Harold and Mary Davey) (9 items)

Box 2

1947 (2 items)

Box 2

1947 (Elizabeth DaveY) (1 items)

Box 2

1947 (Harold and Mary Davey) (18 items)

Box 2

1948 (32 items)

Box 2

1948 (Harold and Mary Davey) (7 items)

Box 2

1949 (26 items)

Box 2

1949 (Harold and Mary Davey) (20 items)

Box 3

1950 (22 items)

Box 3

1950 (Harold and Billy Davey) (21 items)

Box 3

1951 (15 items)

Box 3

1951 (Harold and Mary Davey) (24 items)

Box 3

1952 (25 items)

Box 3

1952 (Harold and Mary and Billy Davey)

Box 3

1953 (31 items)

Box 3

1953 (Harold Davey) (14 items)

Box 3

1954 (17 items)

Box 3

1954 (Harold and Billy Davey) (32 items)

Box 3

1955 (37 items)

Box 3

1955 (Harold and Billy Davey) (39 items)

Box 3

1956 (4 items)

Box 3

1956 (Harold and Mary and Billy tavey) (35 items)

Box 3

1957 (10 items)

Box 3

1957 (Harold Davey) (32 items)

Box 3

1958 (28 items)

Box 3

1958 (Harold Davey) (39 items)

Box 3

1959 (32 items)

Box 3

1959 (Harold and Billy Davey) (7 items)

Box 4

1960 (22 items)

Box 4

1960 (Harold and Mary Davey) (11 items)

Box 4

1961 (38 items)

Box 4

1961 (Elizabeth Davey) (1 items)

Box 4

1961 (Harold and Billy Davey) (20 items)

Box 4

1962 (57 items)

Box 4

1962 (Harold Davey) (34 items)

Box 4

1963 (18 items)

Box 4

1963 (Harold Davey) (30 items)

Theodore Dreiser Letters 1948-1952, undated

Box 4

Outgoing (Elizabeth Davey) (1 items)

Box 4

Incoming (Helen Dreiser) (6 items)

Box 4

Undated (Bill Davey) (2 items)

Box 4

Undated (Elizabeth Davey) (1 items)

Box 4

Undated (Harold Davey) (25 items)

Box 4

Undated (Harold Davey) (29 items)

Box 4

Undated (William Davey) (5 items)

Box 4

Undated (3 items)

Box 4

Undated C (4 items)

Box 4

Undated D (1 items)

Box 4

Undated E (1 items)

Box 4

Undated F (10 items)

Box 4

Undated G (2 items)

Box 4

Undated H (1 items)

Box 4

Undated K (1 items)

Box 4

Undated M (11 items)

Box 4

Undated 0 (1 items)

Box 4

Undated P (2 items)

Box 4

Undated R (2 items)

Box 4

Undated S (9 items)

Box 4

Undated T (1 items)

Box 4

Undated W (3 items)

Box 4

Undated , Unsigned (46 items)

Scrapbooks, cards, postcards

Scrapbook items

Box 5

Greeting card postcards 1906-1912, undated (3 folders, 126 items)

Box 5

Photographs (10 items)

Box 5

Souvenir pamphlets (photograph) (2 items)

Box 5

Greeting cards (3 folders)

Box 5

Postcards (2 folders)

General files

Box 6

Announcements 1900-1963, undated - brochures, pamphlets, Programs (6 folders)

Box 6

Announcements: insurance companies (stocks and bonds brokers)

Box 6

Bank statements 1900-1963 - books, cancelled checks, etc. (5 folders)

Box 7

Bills 1919-1963, undated - notices, receipts, miscellaneous (4 folders)

Box 7

Cleasby, Harold Loomis: "Salutory Address" April 27, 1894 - holograph; also includes newspaper clipping

Davey, Elizabeth Cleasby

Box 7

Poetry - includes 3 original typescript manuscripts with corrections; 8 carbon copy manuscripts with corrections; 1 holographic manuscript; 2 published manuscripts; 6 miscellaneous poetry notes (holograph and typescript) (20 items)

Box 7

Miscellaneous 1942-1962, undated (8 items)

Davey, Harold

Box 7

Miscellaneous 1912-1962, undated - announcements, notebooks, programs, souvenirs (15 items)

Box 7

Reports of Academic Rating and Diplomas (Honor Societies) 1931-1936 (35 items)

Box 7

Writings 1946-1950 - carbon copy manuscript; mimeographed reports (6 items)

Box 7

Writings 1956-1962, undated - newspaper clippings; holographic manuscripts; carbon copy manuscripts; published copies (9 items)

Box 7

Davey, William 1909-1932 - certificates and program (4 items)

Box 7

Datebook (diary) for 1925 and miscellaneous notebooks and address books 1925, undated (8 items)

Box 7

Income tax 1940-1955 - correspondence; forms; miscellaneous bills, etc.; incoming correspondence (13 items)

Box 7

Inventory of furnishings at 1024 Lancaster Avenue (Syracuse, N. Y.) - typescript lists

Box 7

Kiplinger Washington Letter news releases 1962-1963

Legal, photographs and miscellaneous

Box 8

Family legal matters 1924-1962 - contracts, settlements, wills (18 items)

Box 8

Old magazine and newspaper clippings 1889-1920, undated (3 folders)

Box 8

Magazine and newspaper clippings 1934-1962, undated (3 folders)

Box 8

Photographs (120 items, 3 folders)

Box 8

Miscellaneous 1896-1963, undated - anecdotes, notes, poems, recipes, souvenirs, etc. (2 folders)

Lesson plans of Dr. Davey

Box 9

Bibliographies and subject outlines (typescript)

Box 9

Holographic notes on the Church

Box 9

Holographic lecture notes (3 folders)

Box 9

Source material for lectures

Box 9

Student reports

Box 9

Holographic lecture notes on Church history 1902, 1904, 1905 (3 folders)

Box 10

Lecture notebooks of Dr. Davey 1905-1907, undated (5 notebooks)

Manuscripts and financial ledgers

Box 11

Doctoral degree manuscripts and notebooks - entitled in first and and second drafts for Howard University "Semitic Phallicism With Particular Reference to the Hebrews Preceded by a Sketch of Non-Semitic Phallicism" (2 volumes)

Box 11

Untitled holographic manuscript on science and religion (17 pp.)

Box 11

Financial ledgers (notebooks) 1916-1926 (2 volumes)

Collection inventory