Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Carlos Davila Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: circa 1975

Biographical History

Carlos Davila (1887-1955) was a Chilean statesman, diplomat, editor, and writer. Davila was born in Los Angeles, Chile, and studied law at the University of Chile, Santiago. There he was president of the Students' Federation. He founded and directed the newspapers La Nacion and Los Tiempos, and the magazine Hoy.

From 1927 to 1931 he was Chile's ambassador to the United States, and in 1932 he became President of Chile. He was a member of the Interamerican Financial and Economic Advisory Committee in 1939 and 1940, and was visiting professor of International Law for the Carnegie Peace Foundation. In 1941, Davila was a recipient of the Cabot Prize awarded by Columbia University's School of Journalism for distinguished service in Inter-American relations in journalism. He was on the social and economic council of the United Nations and from 1943-1946 was on the UN Relief and Rehabilitation Administration. He received degrees of Doctor of Law Honores Causa from Columbia University and Southern California University at Los Angeles. In 1954, Davila was elected Secretary-General of OAS. He was one of the most widely read South American writers and author of the book We of the Americas.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carlos Davila Papers consist of subject files, manuscripts, and published material (general as well as bound articles and books).

Subject files contains correspondence, photographs, clippings and related items.

Manuscripts contains manuscripts of articles, books, notes, speeches and lectures by Davila.

Published material contains addresses, articles, news clippings, pamphlets, periodicals, a report and a scrapbook. Addresses are by Davila, and by others; articles are by Davila; news clippings are about Davila, others and by Davila. Periodicals contain articles by or about Davila and are arranged first alphabetically, then chronologically.

Numbered articles by Davila contains bound articles and a bibliography. The articles are arranged chronologically and then by number.

Books consists of the collection owned by Davila; many of them are autographed.

Arrangement of the Collection

Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Manuscripts and Published material are arranged alphabetically by type. Numbered articles are bound in chronological order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Dávila, Carlos G., 1887-1955.

Subjects

Ambassadors -- Chile.
Journalism.
Journalists -- Chile.
Pan-Americanism.

Places

Chile -- Diplomatic and consular service -- United States.
Chile -- Foreign relations -- United States.
Chile -- History -- 1920-1970.
Chile -- Politics and government -- 1920-1970.
Latin America -- Foreign relations -- United States.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Chile.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Diplomats.
Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carlos Davila Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Donated by Frances Adams Dávila, 1966.

Table of Contents

Subject File

Manuscripts

Published Material

Numbered Articles by Davila

Books

Inventory