Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

Foundation for Change Collection

An inventoryof the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 May 2021

Revision history:

Biographical History

Foundation for Change was a New York City community service non-profit, whose mission was "to develop public understanding and support for minority needs and aspirations in the New York Metropolitan area." It provided a range of educational and informational materials intended to combat bigotry and economic hardship, including quizzes, conversation starters, kits for schools/parents, reprints of articles and letters, and so on. Their outreach efforts encompassed individuals, parents, schools, and organizations.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Foundation for Change Collection contains printed material from the New York anti-poverty and anti-racism non-profit. The "Parents kit" is intended to help parents evaluate and improve their child's school and educational materials; it includes an article on integrating the curriculum, tips for textbook evaluation, and so on. The other miscellaneous material includes reprinted articles, a booklet "Black power and me" by Jean Smith, brochures with quizzes on notable Black Americans, reading lists, and more.

Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Foundation for Change (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Anti-racism.
Economic assistance, Domestic -- United States.
Poor -- United States.
Poverty -- New York (State)
Racism.

Places

New York (N.Y.) -- Economic conditions.
New York (N.Y.) -- Social conditions.

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Reading lists.
Reprints.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Foundation for Change Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2021.

Table of Contents

Printed material

Inventory