Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Lillian B. Gilkes Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: SEH
Date: Oct 1993

Biographical History

American author, educator, biographer of Cora Crane.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lillian B. Gilkes Papers comprises the correspondence, writings, research notes, and memorabilia of the American author, educator, and biographer of Cora Crane (b. 1902). The collection not only illuminates Gilkes' professional writings, but also reveals a personal life marked by political activity and connections with radical artists and writers of the early to mid-20th century.

Spanning the years 1900 to 1976, the alphabetically arranged Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-4) consists of any combination of incoming and/or outgoing correspondence, clippings, photographs, miscellaneous printed material, and writings. Correspondence includes that of family members (Louise Davidson, Fannie Gilkes, Fannie E. Taylor); authors (Benjamin Appel, Margaret Culkin Banning, Paul Corey, Martha Dodd (Stern), Janet Flanner, Gladys Benjamin Goddard, Josephine Herbst, Robert Hillyer, Langston Hughes, Helen R. Hull, Ruth Lechlitner, Robert Morss Lovett, Grace Lumpkin, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Jennings Rice, Felizia Seyd, Genevieve Taggard, Richard Wright, Leane Zugsmith); Gilkes' co-authors (Millen Brand, Dorothy Brewster); performing artists (Geradine Farrar, Georgette Leblanc, Eva Le Gallienne, Enrico and Dorothy Caruso); political figures (Henry Wallace); and publishers (Margaret C. Anderson, Houghton, Mifflin and Company, and Charles Scribners's Sons). Subject files contain a variety of documents relating to anti-ballistic missile systems, an anti-fascist anthology project, Gilkes' New York University short story writing class, Nixon and Watergate, the Progressive Party (of which Gilkes was a member), and the Southern Tenant Farmers Union and Works Progress Administration (WPA).

Produced between 1926 and 1972, the twenty-two articles, several book reviews, three books, and notes constitute Writings (Boxes 5-6).

Memorabilia (Box 6) includes photographs of Gilkes; printed material, such as clippings, periodicals, British political pamphlets and flyers, Democratic Party publications, and programs; writings by others; and miscellany, including a World War I armband, a "Normandie" hatband, and a photograph.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The Lillian Gilkes Research Files on the American realist author Stephen Crane and his wife, Cora, are inventoried and housed in the Stephen Crane Collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Alpert, Hollis, 1916-2007.
Anderson, Margaret C.
Appel, Benjamin, 1907-1977.
Babcock, Edwina Stanton.
Banning, Margaret Culkin, 1891-1982.
Bessie, Alvah Cecil, 1904-1985.
Bigelow, Gordon E.
Brand, Millen, 1906-1980.
Brewster, Dorothy, 1883-1979.
Brickell, Herschel, 1889-1952.
Bruccoli, Matthew J. (Matthew Joseph), 1931-2008.
Caruso, Dorothy.
Caruso, Enrico, 1873-1921.
Corey, Paul.
Davidson, Louise.
Deiss, Joseph Jay.
Dodd, Martha, 1908-1990.
Downes, Anne Miller.
Dykeman, Wilma.
Farrar, Geraldine, 1882-1967.
Fielding, Alfred.
Flanner, Janet, 1892-1978.
Gilkes, Fannie.
Gilkes, Lillian B. (Lillian Barnard), 1902-1977.
Goddard, Gladys Benjamin.
Hard, Margaret M.
Hard, Walter R., 1882-
Herbst, Josephine, 1892-1969.
Hills, Mathilda M.
Hillyer, Robert, 1895-1961.
Hughes, Langston, 1902-1967.
Hull, Helen R. (Helen Rose), 1888-1971.
Le Gallienne, Eva, 1899-1991.
Leblanc, Georgette, 1869-1941.
Lechlitner, Ruth, 1901-1989.
Lovett, Robert Morss, 1870-1956.
Lumpkin, Grace.
McBride, Mary Margaret, 1899-1976.
Namara, Marguerite, 1888-
O'Brien, Edward J. (Edward Joseph), 1890-1941.
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan, 1896-1953.
Rice, Jennings, 1900-
Schlauch, Margaret, 1898-1986.
Seyd, Felizia.
Taggard, Genevieve, 1894-1948.
Wallace, Henry A. (Henry Agard), 1888-1965.
Whipple, Chandler.
Wright, Richard, 1908-1960.
Zugsmith, Leane, 1903-1969.

Corporate Bodies

Charles Scribner's Sons.
Houghton, Mifflin and Company.
Progressive Party (U.S. : 1948)

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Anti-fascist movements -- United States.
Authors and publishers.
Authors, American.
Biographers -- United States.
Peace movements -- United States.
Political letter-writing -- United States.
Political oratory -- United States.
Progressivism (United States politics)
Teachers as authors -- United States.
Women authors, American.
World politics -- 20th century.

Places

Europe -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
Soviet Union -- Description and travel.
Soviet Union -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
United States -- Exiles.
United States -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Notes (documents)
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lillian B. Gilkes Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence-Subject Files

Writings (by Gilke)

Photographs

Printed material

Writings (by others)

Miscellany

Inventory