Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Marty Glickman Interviews

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 11 Jan 2010

Biographical History

Marty Glickman (1917-2001) was a Jewish American athlete, and a sports broadcaster and commentator for more than fifty years.

Glickman graduated from Syracuse University where he was an All-American football player; he later had brief careers in both professional football and basketball. He was a member of the U.S. Olympic team for track and field at the 1936 Summer Olympics in Berlin; for reasons never fully explained, he and Sam Stoeller, also Jewish, were replaced at the last minute in the 4 x 100-meter relay by two non-Jewish teammates and did not compete.

During Glickman's radio career he was "the voice of the New York Giants" from 1948 to 1971, as well as for the New York Jets (1972-1979, 1987-1989), the New York Knicks (1946-1970), and hosted pre-game and post-game shows for the (Brooklyn) Dodgers and the New York Yankees for 22 years. He also narrated news reels and served as commentator for a wide range of sports, from baseball to horse racing to lacrosse.

Glickman's honors and awards include the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame’s Curt Gowdy Award (1991), the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame Award (1992), and the American Sportscasters Hall of Fame (1993).

[Portions of this biographical sketch adapted from "MARTIN 'MARTY' GLICKMAN" on the International Jewish Sports Hall of Fame website, http://www.jewishsports.net/BioPages/MartyGlickman.htm.]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Marty Glickman Interviews consists of 32 audiocassettes containing Glickman's reminiscences and recollections of his life and career, recorded by Stan Isaacs. Stan Isaacs assisted Glickman in the writing of his autobiography, The Fastest Kid on the Block: The Marty Glickman Story (1996). Glickman talks about growing up in the Bronx, his time at Syracuse University, his experiences at the Berlin Olympics in 1936, important sports figures such as Howard Cosell and Wilt Chamberlain, and more.

Also included in the collection are five audiocassettes of radio broadcasts, including several of Glickman covering New York Jets football games.

The item titles given in the inventory below are exactly as written on the tapes themselves, so some names or abbreviations may not be correct. Where possible, notes are included to clarify. Throughout, Glickman used the abbreviation "Anncer" for "Announcer".

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is in no particular order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

All tapes have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

See also the Steven H. Scheuer Television History Interviews for other interviews with Glickman.

Subject Headings

Persons

Auerbach, Red, 1917-2006.
Brown, Jim, 1936-
Cosell, Howard, 1918-1995.
Glickman, Marty, 1917-2001.
Holland, Jerome H., 1916-
Isaacs, Stan -- interviewer.
Leonard, Sugar Ray, 1956-
Stern, Bill, 1907-1971.
Wilkinson, Bud, 1916-1994.

Corporate Bodies

New York Jets (Football team)
Olympic Games (11th : 1936 : Berlin, Germany)
Tampa Bay Buccaneers (Football team)

Subjects

Athletes -- United States.
Jewish athletes -- United States.
Olympics -- Political aspects.
Sportscasters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Broadcasts.
Interviews.
Oral histories (literary works)

Occupations

Sportscasters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marty Glickman Interviews,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Stan Isaacs, 2005.

Table of Contents

Recollections

Sports broadcasts

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

All tapes have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.