Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Arthur P. Gorman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Biographical History

Arthur Pue Gorman (1839-1906) was a United States Senator from Maryland. Beginning as a page in the House of Representatives (1852), he was transferred to the Senate through the influence of Illinois senator Stephen A. Douglas, who made him his private secretary. Gorman subsequently served the Senate as page, messenger, assistant doorkeeper, assistant postmaster, and finally postmaster. In September of 1866, Gorman was appointed collector of internal revenue for the fifth district of Maryland, and he served as director and later as president of the Chesapeake Ohio Canal Co.

Gorman served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1869 to 1875, with one session as speaker of the house. He served in the Maryland State Senate (1875-1881) and then in the United States Senate (1881-1899 and 1902-1906), where he soon became a leader of the conservative wing of his party (the "Bourbon Democrats"). During his congressional tenure he was the Democratic caucus chairman (1890-1898), chairman of the Senate Committee on Printing, and a member of the Senate Committee on Private Land Claims. He played a major role in financial and tariff legislation, especially the Wilson-Gorman Tariff of 1894.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Arthur P. Gorman Papers consist of Correspondence-subject files (1838-1935); Cpeeches; and Memorabilia.

Correspondence-subject files includes letters with family, politicians and business people (most notably with railroad executives) . A list of the names of correspondents who have not been given unique folders was created in an earlier arrangement of this collection. It is included and has been anotated to indicate in which folder letters from each person are now filed.

Speeches contains printed text as well as notes and fragments. Speeches given by Senator Gorman on the floor of the Senate are filed with other legislative material from the session of Congress during which they were delivered.

Memorabilia includes extensive clippings, personal financial records, copies of newspaper editorials, printed material , a set of weekly banking circulars, Postmaster's bonds miscellaneous documents and souvenirs.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are arranged alphabetically. Speeches are arranged alphabetically by title or subject except for Senator Gorman's speeches on the floor of the Senate which are included with other legislative material from the session of Congress during which they were delivered. Memorabilia is arranged by type of material.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Ammen, Daniel, 1820-1898.
Bayard, Thomas F. (Thomas Francis), 1828-1898.
Belmont, August, 1813-1890.
Berret, James G. (James Gabriel), 1815-1901.
Bryan, William Jennings, 1860-1925.
Butler, M. C. (Matthew Calbraith) 1836-1909.
Carroll, John Lee, 1830-1911.
Chaille-Long, C. (Charles), 1842-1917.
Cleveland, Grover, 1837-1908.
Cole, William H. (William Hinson), 1837-1886.
Crisfield, John W. (John Woodland), 1806-1897.
Crisp, Charles F. (Charles Frederick), 1845-1896.
Cullom, Shelby M. (Shelby Moore), 1829-1914.
Davis, Henry Gassaway, 1823-1916.
Dimmick, Mary Scott Lord, 1858-1948.
Douglas, Henry Kyd, 1838-1903.
Frémont, Jessie Benton, 1824-1902.
Gibson, Charles H. (Charles Hopper), 1842-1900.
Gorman, Arthur P. (Arthur Pue), 1839-1906.
Groome, James Black, 1838-1893.
Harrison, Benjamin, 1833-1901.
Hayes, Thomas G. (Thomas Gordon), 1844-
Howell, Evan P. (Evan Park), 1839-1905.
Jones, James K. (James Kimbrough), 1839-1908.
Lamont, Daniel Scott, 1851-1905.
Lapham, Elbridge Gerry, 1814-1890.
Latrobe, Ferdinand Claiborne, 1833-1911.
Maddox, John W., 1848-1922.
Moltke, Helmuth, Graf von, 1800-1891.
Murphy, Jeremiah Henry, 1835-1893.
Parsons, William Henry, 1826-1907.
Randall, Samuel J. (Samuel Jackson), 1828-1890.
Ransom, Matt W. (Matt Whitaker), 1826-1904.
Stevenson, Adlai E. (Adlai Ewing), 1835-1914.
Vance, Zebulon Baird, 1830-1894.
Warner, A. J. (Adoniram Judson), 1834-1910.
Webster, Edwin H. (Edwin Hanson), 1829-1893.

Corporate Bodies

Democratic Party (Md.)
Democratic Party (U.S.)
United States. -- Congress (49th: 1885-1887)
United States. -- Congress (50th: 1887-1889)
United States. -- Congress (51st: 1889-1891)
United States. -- Congress (52nd: 1891-1893)
United States. -- Congress (53rd: 1893-1895)
United States. -- Congress (54th: 1895-1897)
United States. -- Congress (55th: 1897-1899)
United States. -- Congress (58th: 1903-1905)

Subjects

Legislators -- Maryland.
Legislators -- United States.
Patronage, political -- United States.
Silver question (1886)

Places

Baltimore (Md.) -- Politics and government.
Maryland -- Politics and government, 1865-1950.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Arthur P. Gorman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchases, 1964-1969.

Table of Contents

Correspondence-subject files

Speeches

Memorabilia

Inventory