Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Chaim Gross Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Aug 1994

Biographical History

Jewish American sculptor, 1904-1991.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1937 to 1964, the Chaim Gross papers comprises correspondence, artwork reproductions, writings and memorabilia of the American sculptor. With an emphasis on the early 1960s, the collection reflects Gross' later career and family life as well as his activities in the service of his Jewish community.

Incoming letters and related printed material constitute the Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-2), which forms the bulk of the collection. Although the collection contains few runs of correspondence, there are a number of social replies and a few business letters from fellow artists (George Biddle, Isabel Bishop, Henry Botkin, Federico Castellon, Anthony De Francisci, Philip Evergood, Estelle Goodman, Robert Gwathmey, Joseph Hirsch, Mary Mintz Koffler, Benjamin Kopman, Leon Kroll, Yasuo Kuniyoshi, Bruno Lucchesi, William McVey, Irving Marantz, Herman Maril, Arnold Newman, Abbo Ostrowsky, Abbott Pattison, John Rewald, Raphael Soyer); authors (Sidney Alexander, Edward Halper, Arthur Kaufmann, Peter Pollack, Meyer Schapiro, Gilbert Seldes, Carl Van Vechten); and entertainers (Theodore Bikel, Dick Button, Hedy Lamarr, Jan Peerce). Organizational correspondence includes that of educational institutions (Brandeis University, Educational Alliance, New School for Social Research, Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture); galleries and museums (Art Institute of Chicago, Butler Institute of American Art, Carlebach Gallery, Brooklyn Museum, Jewish Museum, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Museum of Art of Ogunquit, Museum of Modern Art, Shore Galleries, Whitney Museum of American Art); and professional affiliations (Association of American Artists, Committee of Artists' Societies, Federation of Modern Painters and Sculptors, National Academy of Arts and Letters).

The remainder of the collection (Boxes 3-4) includes printed Artwork reproductions of some of Gross' drawings and sculpture; Writings, a single-page proposal for a sculpture project; and printed Memorabilia. The latter includes articles (1937-1963), clippings (1946-1964), and exhibit catalogs for Gross' one-person and group shows (1938-1964).

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Alexander, Sidney, 1912-1999.
Biddle, George, 1885-1973.
Bikel, Theodore.
Bishop, Isabel, 1902-1988.
Caparn, Rhys, 1909-1997.
Castellón, Federico.
Evergood, Philip, 1901-1973.
Gross, Chaim, 1904-1991.
Gwathmey, Robert, 1903-1988.
Kopman, Benjamin, 1887-
Kroll, Leon, 1884-1974.
Kuniyoshi, Yasuo, 1889-1953.
Lamarr, Hedy, 1913-2000.
Lampell, Millard, 1919-1997.
Manantz, Irving.
Maril, Herman.
Peerce, Jan, 1904-1984.
Soyer, Raphael, 1899-1987.
Teichman, Sabina.
Van Vechten, Carl, 1880-1964.
Weston, Harold, 1894-1972.
Zorach, William, 1887-1966.

Corporate Bodies

Associated American Artists.
Butler Institute of American Art.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art.
Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.)
National Institute of Arts and Letters (U.S.)
New School for Social Research (New York, N.Y. : 1919-1997)
Whitney Museum of American Art.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Austrian Americans.
Jewish artists -- United States.
Jews, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Chaim Gross Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence-Subject files

Artwork

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory