Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Alice Rogers Hager Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: ca. 1962

Biographical History

Alice Rogers Hager (1894-1969) was an American journalist, author and novelist, known for her coverage of aviation news (she traveled to every continent except Antarctica and logged more than a half-million air miles) and books on Brazil.

Born in Peoria, Illinois, she was the daughter of Harry James and Caroline Augusta (Sammis) Rogers. She received her A.B. at Leland, Stanford University in 1915, and did her graduate work at the University of California in 1917. Ms. Hager began her career in 1918 as a special agent for the Business of Labor Statistics, United States Department of Labor, but left after only a few years to take a position as reporter for the Los Angeles Herald from 1923 to 1924. From 1927-1929 she was Chief of Public Information for the United States Department of Labor, then returned to journalism as a writer for the New York Times and Washington Star (1929-1934). She reported on aviation for the North American Newspaper Alliance (1934 -1940) and served as Chief of Public Information for the Civil Aeronautics Board (1940-1942). In 1944 she served for a year as Washington editor and war correspondent in China-Burma-India theater for Skyways, after which she was appointed Public Affairs Officer for the United States Embassy in Brussels (1948-1952) and served as Foreign Affairs officer for the Department of State (1952-1953) and Area Officer of the United States Information Agency (1953-1957).

In addition to her public relations and newspaper work, Ms Hager authored several award-winning books, both fiction and non-fiction; among them were Brazil, Giant to the South (1945), Wings of the Dragon: The Air War in Asia (1945), Janice, Air Line Hostess (1947), The Canvas Castle (1948), Washington, City of Destiny (1948), Dateline: Paris (1954), The Wonderful Ice Cream Cart (1955), Washington Secretary (1958), and Love's Golden Circle (1962).

Ms Hager was a member of several professional organizations including the American Geographical Society, Academy of Political Science, Childrens' Book Guild, Delta Delta Delta sorority, Episcopalian Clubs, O Versus Press, and the Women's National Press Club (of which she was President, 1946-1947). She was also a charter member of the Aviation and Space Association. In 1945 she received a U.S. War Department Certificate of Merit and theater ribbon, and Avon Gold Medal, for war correspondence and for her book on the air war in Asia, Wings for the Dragon; other awards include the Julia Ellsworth Ford Foundation Award for The Canvas Castle, 1948; Order of the Southern Cross (Brazil) for Brazil: Giant to the South, 1961; and the Order of merit of Santos Dumont for Frontier By Air, 1966.

She and her husband John Mansfield Hager had two children, Carolyn Anne and Helen.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alice Rogers Hager Papers consists of correspondence, memorabilia relating to her career, works by Ms Hager (i.e., writings), and publicity.

Correspondence contains both outgoing and incoming; much of it is related to Ms. Hager's books. Notable correspondents include Lyndon Johnson, John F. Kennedy, Senator Margaret Chase Smith, and Douglas MacArthur. Also included here are family letters spanning more than eighty years.

Material related to Hager's Career contains documentation for her works (notes, outlines, research material) and personal mementos and souvenirs of travels. The latter includes memorabilia concerning the Avon Gold Medal award she received in 1945, honorary certificates, photographs, and an extensive collection of items relating to the "First Trans-Atlantic Press Flight" in June of 1939.

Works consists of notes, outlines, manuscripts, typescripts, carbon copies, and final proof copies. Books represented include Dateline: Paris, Love's Golden Circle, The Canvas Castle, The Wonderful Ice Cream Cart, and Washington Secretary; there are also articles, interviews, and other pieces.

Publicity consists of printed material (book reviews, press releases, clippings, articles) for Hager's books as well as publicity concerning Hager herself, such as clippings regarding her Avon Gold Medal Award.

1967 additions consist of the manuscript and published version of Cathy Whitney, President's Daughter.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence consists of general outgoing (arranged chronologically) and general incoming (arranged alphabetically), followed by that from specific individuals or on specific topics (arranged alphabetically). Family letters are at the end of correspondence. The remaining series (Career, Works and Publicity) are arranged alphabetically by topic/title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Hager, Alice Rogers, 1894-1969.

Subjects

Women authors, American.
Women journalists -- United States.
Young adult fiction, American -- Authorship.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Book reviews.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Poems.
Press releases.

Occupations

Authors.
Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alice Rogers Hager Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Career

Works

Publicity

Additions, 1967

Inventory